Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,100 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee miscellaneous problems

miscellaneous problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 4 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #14

Jun 132013

Grand Cherokee

  • 93,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Inside door handle failure, due to breakage of plastic support/housing. Presents safety hazard when attempting to exit vehicle. Door may only be opened from outside.

- Crosby, TX, USA

problem #13

Mar 102010

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
My Jeep is down to only the two front door handles which are completely cracked and ready to break off at any time. The rear doors have no handles and pose a serious risk if the vehicle is ever in a car accident and people are trapped inside. Jeep needs to step up and fix their mistake.

- Noblesville, IN, USA

problem #12

Mar 072011

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
I own a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Air conditioner would only function properly when on high setting. If I try to put it in a lower setting the air conditioner shuts off. Dealer service center stated that a hose needed to be replaced. The failure mileage was 40,000.

- Lahaina , HI, USA

problem #11

Jan 162012

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

All 4 interior door opening handles breaking/failing: 1 rear door totally inoperable. ***this is a dangerous safety issue if handles break or are inoperable in certain emergency situations, passengers may not be able to exit the vehicle, causing serious injury or death!*** manufacturer charge to replace/repair handles is prohibitively expensive: In my case, the cost of eight (8) monthly car payments! manufacturer safety recall warranty.

- Leitchfield, KY, USA

problem #10

Feb 192011

Grand Cherokee

  • 90,000 miles
The interior door panels on 3 of the 4 doors on my Grand Cherokee are broken and show stress fractures around the interoir door handle, the part of the door behind the interior door handle that is attached to the rest of the door panel. This part is very weak and prone to fracture, making the interior door handle fall free into the vehicle. The doors are barely operable and I am worried in a collision these doors will not function. The front panels cost $750 a piece and the rears cost $450. I can not afford the repairs so I am forced to drive an unsafe vehicle as this is my only vehicle. Jeep and Chrysler are well aware of the issue as I found out when I asked about the problem at the dealership. This issue needs to be fixed now and if Chrysler isn't going to do it willingly it falls to the ntsb to step in and prevent needless deaths due to faulty door handles.

- Navarre, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #9

Sep 092008

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 56,924 miles
All interior door panels on the 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee have cracked and, in some cases, broke apart around the door handle. I have had three repaired at a dealership at personal cost and one is pending. I believe it is a defect in the plastic resin manufacturing process for the early 2005 Grand Cherokee because all four door panels have cracked in the exact same place. Chrysler was contacted on numerous occasions and denies that this is an issue. This is a potential safety issue because if the door handle breaks loose, you cannot open the door to exit the vehicle from the inside. This exact issue has been documented several times by other Grand Cherokee owners and all of them have had similar results with Chrysler's denial of an issue.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #8

Feb 212011

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When opening rear door, handle broke in several places. Person opening door was only 4 so it was due to the over exertion. It is now not possible to open the rear door from inside the car.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #7

Oct 252007

Grand Cherokee

  • 35,000 miles
Summary: Latches/locks/linkages: I own a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo. The handle on the driver side and the front passenger door are breaking from the door panel, they are literally hanging by a thread. This is a huge problem as I can't get the doors open sometimes unless I roll the windows down and reach through. This is a huge safety concern because if in emergency we could be trapped in the vehicle. This problem started about 3 years ago and has escalated since. I don't feel as though I should be financially responsible for what seems to be a widespread problem with this vehicle. Chrysler is even denying that they know of any such problem, which is absolutely ridiculous. Something needs to be done about this!

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #6

Dec 052010

Grand Cherokee

  • 42,127 miles
Latches/locks/linkages in December 2010 at 42,000 miles our 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee (limited) developed a crack in the drivers' door handle housing causing the inside door handle to come loose from the inside door panel. (the door handle is set in a hole made of thin plastic that functions as a pivot hinge. Once the plastic cracks then the handle just pops out of the door panel.) then in January 2011, the right rear door handle developed the same problem and this door handle also came out of the handle housing, and it can no longer be opened from inside the car. Upon inspection we discovered that both the right front passenger door and rear left passenger door have developed cracks in the plastic in the same place, and will likely break soon. We note that there have been 42 identical complaints lodged on the NHTSA site involving this same problem on the 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Here in Florida, with frequent opportunities to run off the road into lakes or canals, this problem is extremely serious, possibly causing persons to drown in the car when unable to unlatch the door in an emergency. Chrysler customer service has said they do not have a record of this issue and they do not feel that they should cover the repairs if the vehicle is out of warranty. Some other persons who have reported the issue state that to repair the door handle requires a complete replacement of the side door panels at a cost of over $700 per door. It is entirely unreasonable that a car would have no workable door handles after just 5 years or 42,000 miles of use. This is not normal wear and tear, nor is it reasonable wear and tear. We rarely have back seat passengers in this vehicle. It is clearly a defective design and substandard materials. Chrysler needs to recall these vehicles to correct this dangerous situation.

- Coral Gables, FL, USA

problem #5

Dec 052010

Grand Cherokee

  • 42,127 miles
Latches/locks/linkages in December 2010 at 42,000 miles our 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee (limited) developed a crack in the drivers' door handle housing causing the inside door handle to come loose from the inside door panel. (the door handle is set in a hole made of thin plastic that functions as a pivot hinge. Once the plastic cracks then the handle just pops out of the door panel.) then in January 2011, the right rear door handle developed the same problem and this door handle also came out of the handle housing, and it can no longer be opened from inside the car. Upon inspection we discovered that both the right front passenger door and rear left passenger door have developed cracks in the plastic in the same place, and will likely break soon. We note that there have been 42 identical complaints lodged on the NHTSA site involving this same problem on the 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Here in Florida, with frequent opportunities to run off the road into lakes or canals, this problem is extremely serious, possibly causing persons to drown in the car when unable to unlatch the door in an emergency. Chrysler customer service has said they do not have a record of this issue and they do not feel that they should cover the repairs if the vehicle is out of warranty. Some other persons who have reported the issue state that to repair the door handle requires a complete replacement of the side door panels at a cost of over $700 per door. It is entirely unreasonable that a car would have no workable door handles after just 5 years or 42,000 miles of use. This is not normal wear and tear, nor is it reasonable wear and tear. We rarely have back seat passengers in this vehicle. It is clearly a defective design and substandard materials. Chrysler needs to recall these vehicles to correct this dangerous situation.

- Coral Gables, FL, USA

problem #4

Dec 052010

Grand Cherokee

  • 42,127 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Latches/locks/linkages in December 2010 at 42,000 miles our 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee (limited) developed a crack in the drivers' door handle housing causing the inside door handle to come loose from the inside door panel. (the door handle is set in a hole made of thin plastic that functions as a pivot hinge. Once the plastic cracks then the handle just pops out of the door panel.) then in January 2011, the right rear door handle developed the same problem and this door handle also came out of the handle housing, and it can no longer be opened from inside the car. Upon inspection we discovered that both the right front passenger door and rear left passenger door have developed cracks in the plastic in the same place, and will likely break soon. We note that there have been 42 identical complaints lodged on the NHTSA site involving this same problem on the 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Here in Florida, with frequent opportunities to run off the road into lakes or canals, this problem is extremely serious, possibly causing persons to drown in the car when unable to unlatch the door in an emergency. Chrysler customer service has said they do not have a record of this issue and they do not feel that they should cover the repairs if the vehicle is out of warranty. Some other persons who have reported the issue state that to repair the door handle requires a complete replacement of the side door panels at a cost of over $700 per door. It is entirely unreasonable that a car would have no workable door handles after just 5 years or 42,000 miles of use. This is not normal wear and tear, nor is it reasonable wear and tear. We rarely have back seat passengers in this vehicle. It is clearly a defective design and substandard materials. Chrysler needs to recall these vehicles to correct this dangerous situation.

- Coral Gables, FL, USA

problem #3

Jan 302009

Grand Cherokee

  • 60,000 miles
The driver and passenger door panel plastic mouldings surrounding and encasing the door handles has broken with pieces falling inside the door. The door panel no longer securely holds the handle mechanism and on occasion jams the handle.. these failures were not due to unusual circumstances or abuse, but rather failures occurred in normal entry and egress activity from the vehicle. No used replacement door panels can be found via used part outlets showing the extent of the problem, and oem replacement/repair costs are outrageous and is nearly $2000 (I understand these plastic mouldings are on natiional backorder). Numerous identical incidents of this failure are evidently prolific as sourced by internet customer satisfaction research on the Jeep Cherokee as well as complaints posted with the dot/nhts. Please add my most vocal and serious complaint about this obvious manufacturing defect. This obvious safety problem potentially prohibits exit from the vehicle should an accident require such action, not to mention the costs to the consumer due to a faulty product. A recall to correct this defect should be immediate and sustained for any consumer who expects to be able to open and close a vehicle door for the expected life of the vehicle.

- Atlanta , IL, USA

problem #2

Oct 012010

Grand Cherokee

  • 38,000 miles
The interior door handles, all 4, broke off, at almost the same time. There is a common manufacturers material defect, as the door handle "pocket" is made out a brittle plastic, and they just shattered, or cracked simply by using the interior door handle to exit the vehicle. This is dangerous because in an emergency, one would not be able to exit the vehicle if the door handle breaks off in your hand.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #1

Oct 192007

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at any speed, the vehicle shuts off whenever an object touches the ignition key. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealer. The current mileage was 22,200 and failure mileage was 18,000. Updated 05/19/08.

- Santa Fe, NM, USA

Not what you are looking for?