Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
18,378 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #51

Oct 102006

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought a new 2005 Jeep Cherokee and began having problems one year after I bought it. I had multiple problems with the car not starting, but itwas not the battery. Took it to the galeana dealership to get it fixed 5 times and they could not duplicate the problem, and eventually told me there was nothing they could do even though they knew the problem still existed because I videotaped several of the occurrences. The vehicle left me stranded everywhere. Then, the transmission failed, and the car almost caught on fire with me and my two children in it. We had to replace the entire transmission at 22,000 miles.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #50

Apr 232007

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles
Placed car in park with drivers door open and key in ignition (turned off). Car slipt into reverse and rolled backward. Tried to stop car from rolling and got pinned between car door and frame of garage door. Car door bent backward and was severely damaged. Garage door frame bent from weight of car. Owners lower back was injured from being pressed between car door and frame.

- Gambrills, MD, USA

problem #49

Feb 012006

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,000 miles
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4X4. - transmission started to slip at 6,000 miles. Took it to dealer, who did a service, and said all was fine. Ran terrible from then on. - transmission failed at 24,000 miles. Dealer said this was rare. Took 2 weeks to replace! ran decently for 10,000 miles or so then problems came back. - transmission failed at 38,000 miles, in an intersection with my kid in the car. Dealer then admitted that this was a problem with Jeep. Took 5 weeks to replace. - transmission starting to slip and skip again at 68,000 miles. No service planned as I am turning it back in from my lease and never getting a Jeep again!

- Winston-Salem, NC, USA

problem #48

Dec 302006

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The vehicle is a 6 cylinder with a nag 1 transmission, 30000 miles, transmission surges and does not want to change gears while accelerating. Dangerous on highway... cannot pick up speed had been shuddering at various times. Vehicle does not seem to know how to shift properly and hesitates when accelerating or pulling in to traffic check engine ligth come on every Friday and come off on saturdays. I took the car to dealer 5 times and every time they have a new upgrade for the computers but no fix, is a safety isue!!!!

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #47

May 142005

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,000 miles
Vehicle transmission has always made strange clunking noises. Vehicle began to drop out of gear while driving and then finally (and currently) will completely shut off while driving. This has happened on numerous occasions and dealership says that they cannot duplicate the problem. A customer service manager did tell me that Jeep is aware of the problem and this is a common problem among V8 models such as mine but that they just do not know how to fix it so they have not yet issued a recall. However, Jeep is putting so many people at risk of an accident. Not only the vehicle drive but everyone else on the road around the vehicle. The vehicle now shuts off while in motion driving on a fairly regular basis but with no consistent pattern. $34,000 dollars worth of worry.

- Martinez, GA, USA

problem #46

Oct 192006

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The current and failure mileage was 25,000. It took 1 to 3 minutes to move the shift gears when the vehicle was cold. The vehicle stalled when it was hot or cold. However, when the vehicle was not cold it started immediately. Also, the vehicle lost power and shut off while accelerating. The contact was able to restart the vehicle after it stalled. The mechanic stated that the torque converter needed to be replaced. The vehicle continued to stall after the torque converter was replaced. The transmission had a delay. The air bag light illuminated. The sunroof leaked water. Updated 03/19/07.

- Cleveland, TN, USA

problem #45

Feb 092007

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I had a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee limited with approximately 24,000 miles on it. In December 2006 it down shifted itself into low gear while doing a forward speed of approximately 10 mph. I took the car to the local Jeep dealer who after keeping it for the day told me that they could find nothing wrong with the vehicle. On February 9, 2007 with approximately 27,500 miles on the same vehicle it did the same thing again only this time at a speed of approximately 20 to 25 mph. The vehicle was basically uncontrollable. I took the car back to the dealer who told me once again that there was nothing wrong with the transmission and, in writing, told me to change my driving habits. They assumed I was down shifting the car by mistake. I had so little confidence in the vehicle that I traded it in on a new car. If this should happen at highway speed and the vehicle slips sideways it will roll over.

- Carlstadt, NJ, USA

problem #44

Jan 302006

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,000 miles
We leased a 2005 Jeep Cherokee in January 2005 and in January 2006 everything on the dashboard started to cut off including turn signals, odometer... and everything on the dash including the cd player, the buttons for the heater/ac would overheat and the car began to smoke for no apparent reason. We took it in to galeana, the local dealership and they could not find a problem, which apparently seems to happen quite often with chyrsler automobiles. Shortly after the car began to break down everywhere. If I parked the car at a store, work, home... and went back to start it, it would not crank. This happens 8 out of 10 times and the vehicle has been taken to the dealership 5 times and they could not "duplicate" a problem and now they tell me they can't do anything for me. Shortly after that at the end of 2006, as I was driving down the highway a "pebble" as the dealership calls it, went through my grill and hit the transmission coolant, spraying transmission fluid everywhere almost catching on fire with me and my two small children in it. We took it to the dealership and apparently the transmission was blown out, $4,000 dollars to replace. All of our other problems still exists and Chrysler does not want to fix the problems or let us out of the lease. I have tried talking to Chrysler and getting this issue resolved only to hear them telling me that this was not their problem. This is becoming a trend in their business and if they cannot fix the vehicles they manufactured they should not be making the vehicles in the first place.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #43

May 132006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 500 miles
: the contact stated while driving 35 mph through an intersection on normal road conditions, the engine stalled and could not be restarted. There were no warning lights prior to the incident. The vehicle was towed to the dealership, who diagnosed a fuel pump and fuel injection pump failure, both were replaced. After this incident, the vehicle presented transmission problems. The contact noticed a loss of power while driving 65 mph on a highway. Intermittently, the transmission made noise when shifted to second gear. The vehicle had been taken to the dealership 20 times, however no error codes identified the defect. In one of the incidents, the yellow malfunction light illuminated and the dealership identified the defect as the computer control module and the driver shaft, both were replaced, however the transmission problem persisted. The dealership determined the vehicle could not be repaired. The manufacturer was contacted who recommended to take the vehicle to a different dealership. The vehicle was not downshifting when going up hills and it would get stuck in second or third gear. The A/C and blower motor were inoperative, the dealer could not duplicate the consumers concern. The key became stuck in the ignition. All the dashboard lights were flashing, the cd player was broke. The brakes and rotors vibrated. The starter was replaced. The driveshaft and heater were replaced. The seats would not move back. The seat belts did not retract as they should. Updated 01/17/07. Updated

- Aliquippa, PA, USA

problem #42

Apr 012006

Grand Cherokee 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,550 miles
: the contact stated in April 2006, the vehicle accelerated on its own nearly causing an accident. The service dealer determined the computer system that runs the transmission was the problem. The computer issue allowed the transmission to leak improperly. Also, in October 2006 the vehicle stalled at 30 mph due to all the electric in the vehicle failing.

- North Haven, CT, USA

problem #41

Sep 092006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Transmission surges and does not want to change gears while accelerating. Dangerous on highway... cannot pick up speed Jeep authorized dealer replaced torque converter... problem still exists. In shop again today for repair.

- Streetsboro, OH, USA

problem #40

Aug 252006

Grand Cherokee

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,825 miles
I purchased a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee in January 2005. On August 25, 2006, I took the vehicle to normandin Chrysler Jeep because the check engine light had come on and the car was lurching, making noise and kept sliding into third gear. The car was returned to me after three plus weeks and the first time I drove it, my passenger and I were almost involved in an accident because the car died. The car was immediately returned to the dealership where it has been for over two weeks awaiting a "new" transmission. The car has been in the dealership for a total of 36 of the last 38 days. The car is still at the dealership.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #39

Sep 162006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,600 miles
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The vehicle is a 6 cylinder with a nag 1 transmission. The vehicle was bought new in Nov, 2005. It has around 17600 miles on it. The vehicle had been shuddering at various times, was inconsistent. Usually around 1500 rpms. Eagle auto mall, local Jeep dealer stated nothing was wrong. Coming home from store transmission started to whine and then stopped shifting. Pulling into my driveway engine compartment started to smoke badly, almost went on fire. Turned vehicle off. Observed tranny fluid all over the engine and alot of tranny fluid on the ground. Vehicle was towed to the Eagle dealer, who after a week in the shop said there was water in the tranny fluid and that they were going to have to take apart the transmission. Contacted Chrysler told them that a VIN check of my vehicle showed that it was not under the recall they had issued for this model, but there was a safety problem and that a new transmission should be placed in the vehicle.

- Manorville, NY, USA

problem #38

Nov 102005

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,546 miles
Vehicle has transmission issues and began at 641 miles after purchasing brand new. Transmission hesitation, vehicle does not seem to know how to shift properly and hesitates when accelerating or pulling in to traffic. Has caused several near misses when trying to pull in to traffic, pass on the interstate or safely get out of someone's way. Vehicle has had numerous parts replaced not relation directly to this issue. Vehicle has accelerated on its own when approaching a stop light and has tried to lurch forward without my foot on from the accelerator and firmly applied to the brake. Vehicle has been in for this issue on numerous occasions and manufacturer cannot locate issue. Airbag indicator light is supposed to come on to indicate airbag system is disabled when there is not enough weight in the passenger chair. It not only does this, it comes on and stays on with or without passengers in the chair. It triggers the drivers instrument panel light to come and chime repeatedly. This has been in for repair 4 times now and cannot seem to be rectified. I expect more than this from a brand new vehicle and feel I have not been treated fairly by Chrysler when trying to address this issue.

- Claremont, NH, USA

problem #37

Mar 062005

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 641 miles
Vehicle has transmission issues and began at 641 miles after purchasing brand new. Transmission hesitation, vehicle does not seem to know how to shift properly and hesitated when accelerating or pulling in to traffic. Has caused several near misses when trying to pull in to traffic, pass on the interstate or safely get out of someone's way. Vehicle has had numerous parts replaced not relation directly to this issue. Vehicle has accelerated on its own when approaching a stop light and has tried to lurch forward without my foot on from the accelerator and firmly applied to the brake. Vehicle has been in for this issue on numerous occasions and manufacturer cannot locate issue. Airbag indicator light is supposed to come on to indicate airbag system is disabled when there is not enough weight in the passenger chair. It not only does this, it comes on and stays on with or without passengers in the chair. It triggers the drivers instrument panel light to come and chime repeatedly. This has been in for repair 4 times now and cannot seem to be rectified. I expect more than this from a brand new vehicle and feel I have not been treated fairly by Chrysler when trying to address this issue.

- Claremont, NH, USA

problem #36

Jul 312005

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100 miles
Purchased vehicle on 7-31-06. Upon test drive the door locks would nt lock or unlock when using door key (any dr in the car). The remote did work. Salesman told us 2 bring it in if it cont'd. taken in 5 times since the 1st time in October 05', dealerships cannot dupt the issue. Last dealership said that if he toggled switch about 10 times it happened, but that was just "overheating the button & that is normal". problem is I work in a building w/a prkg garage & work all hrs. When I get into my car, 4 safety I lock the drs immed. There have been several occasions where I can't do that & have 2 wait 2 get the car moving over the 15mi an hour 2 lock the drs. Next issue is the delayed engagement in the transmission going 2 rev or drv. The car has been in on 3 occasions for this item of which the dealership clears codes or cannot dupt the issue. This issue became a an issue in a construction zone at a rr track near our home. Gates were down when I drove up & I was 3rd car back, the gates went up, 2 cars went through & I was almost at the tracks when the railroad arms started coming down again. I put on the brakes & shifted to reverse 2 back up & the delay nearly caused the rr arm 2 hit the car. I backed up just enough to clear the rr arm by less than 6 inches. The last item is the A/C. since late March of 06' we have been experiencing the A/C blowing cold, then the air turns 2 warm or hot air blowing from 3 sec 2 minutes of blowing humid air before the system will kick in again with cold air. This has been intermittently like the other 2 items above. 3 times into the dealerships & again it was stated they fixed it when it wasn't or "it's 114 degrees out, it is going 2 blow warm air". "using outside air will make the A/C blow warm air'. the incident date is hard since there are 3 issues so I put the day of purchase. The failures are also hard to calculate, but since these items happen intermittently & or everyday (A/C) I counted 3 mo worth.

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #35

Jul 172006

(reported on)

Grand Cherokee

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee transmission failed. The consumer was still having problems with the transmission after the recall was performed. When the consumer attempted to pull over, because the transmission would jumped from 4th to first and back to 4th gear. The consumer subsequently crashed into a pole.

- Unknown, DC, USA

problem #34

Jun 172006

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,090 miles
I have a 2005 Jeep Cherokee with 3,000 miles. I took it in for a transmission seal recall, E13. Two days after it was serviced, I was on the highway and the transmission burned up, leaving me stranded. Car had to be towed 150 miles to dealer who handled recall. My car has been in the shop a month. I am having to pay daily car rental which has now cost me over $1,200 in addition to having to make a car payment for a car I don't have. I keep getting different answers from dealer, said transmission ordered days ago from New Jersey, now says it was ordered yesterday, July 14, he says he can't tell me anything, when, if it is new or rebuilt, or how much longer I have to wait. I have never been treated so rudely by a dealership, manager, and service manager. I will never purchase a vehicle from that dealer again and I am inclined to never buy another Jeep product. I am at the point of turning the car back and seeking legal action if something isn't done about this outrageous situation.

- Lubbock, TX, USA

problem #33

Dec 042005

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles
I bought new a 2005 Grand Cherokee limited 2wd 4.7 at approx. 3K miles it seems to have transmission problems shifting into 3rd gear and a shuddering/ missing when cruising at any speed. Sometime when you stop there is a thank you can feel. The dealership I purchased it at doesn't want to service it because I submitted a bad service survey to Chrysler. A dealership in the next town told me they would need to replace the transmission. I waited one week for parts to come in then took it to the dealer which told me all it need was a update to the computer which had already been done by the selling dealer. I took it to the next biggest dealership which has worked with me on the transmission problems having it in the shop a week at a time a least twice. They replace seals in the transmission but it hasn't fixed the problem and it seems the more mile I put on it the worse it gets. Now I sometime have a loud roaring noise the sounds like a busted muffler coming from the transmission area.

- Ringgold, GA, USA

problem #32

Jun 182006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,005 miles
: the contact stated that while driving 55 mph on the highway the vehicle started to decelerate. This issue was intermittent. The independent repair shop was unable to determine the cause of the problem a week prior to the failure all of the symbols on the panel started to blink.

- Yonkers, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?