Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
18,378 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #31

Jun 132006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,356 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated while changing the gear from drive to reverse there was a clicking noise. This occurred intermittently. While attempting to apply pressure to the accelerator pedal the engine made a roaring noise and the vehicle failed to pick up speed. The dealership rebuilt the transmission, however no other repairs have been made. The manufacturer has been alerted. Updated 6/27/2006 - the vehicle battery would not hold a charge. The headliner had to be replaced because it was unraveling.. the sunroof motor had to be replaced. The transmission was rebuilt on 2-27-06 with on 90000 miles. The memory seat did not move back at times when the key was removed from the ignition. The tire pressure monitoring system was inoperative. The power steering pump was binding and had to be replaced. The air bag light illuminated on the dash. The rear windshield wipers were not flush with the windshield.

- Tobyhanna, PA, USA

problem #30

May 222006

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
Jeep 2005 Grand Cherokee. On several occasions, attempted to accelerate onto highway from 40 mph and engine just revs, tachs to 5 or 6 and still only going 40 mph in the meantime numerous close calls to getting hit by oncoming cars and trucks on highway because the Jeep simply isn't moving fast and just revving. Taken to dealer for complaint and repair at least 3-4 times and dealer states they can't "duplicate" the problem so "they are unable to fix it". I am told "nothing is wrong". I fear somebody will eventually get severely injured or killed due to this problem. Stuck in a lease of an unsafe vehicle.

- Cicero, NY, USA

problem #29

Apr 072006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles
I was driving down the road to go play golf when I noticed an odd sound from the rear end of my 2005 grand limited w/hemi. On the way home I noticed the sound was in all gears and all speeds but much more notable at low speeds. I drove it to the dealership as soon as possible and took a mechanic for a ride and he thought the noise was a bad pinion bearing. After closer inspection they determined the whole rear end of the car needed to be rebuild. 15,000 miles and I need a new rear end? for a $42,000 SUV this sure is not what I expected. So now I am out of my car for a week to two weeks while they get the parts and rebuild. So now I have a new "rebuilt" SUV for the same payments...doesn't seem right at 15,000 miles. Rkm.

- Scio, OH, USA

problem #28

Jan 312006

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Grand Cherokee shut off, locking in third gear. The vehicle has been taken to the dealer on several occasion for this problem but they have been unable to duplicate the problem. The check engine light illuminated when driving and the transmission would not shift out of third gear. When making a turn the traction light illuminated and the engine stalled out mainly on right turns.

- Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA

problem #27

Mar 212006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,698 miles
: the contact stated while driving 40 mph the engine stalled. While using the air conditioner or defroster water leaked into the transmission causing it to fail. There is a NHTSA recall, #05V396000 concerning the power train automatic transmission however the recall did not correct the problem. The dealer was alerted and the transmission was replaced which remedied the problem.

- Novelty, OH, USA

problem #26

Mar 022006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,500 miles
I have a 2005 Jeep Cherokee with a V8 engine that was not included in the recall. My car sat for 5 days while I was on vacation. Upon returning the battery was completely dead, I had the battery jumped and drove home from airport. The battery was dead again the next morning, vehicle was towed to dealership. After replacing the battery and an oil change, the vehicle began stalling when stopped at red lights or stop signs. The vehicle was also lunging forward when stopped. I have had the vehicle at the dealership four times for this problem and have gotten the same response "road tested- normal condition at this time". the service rep even called me to tell me he drove the vehicle and thought it was the transmission, that there is a hesitating shift and a jerks hard forward on acceleration. However they were unable to find anything wrong. Vehicle has 9,000 miles.

- Shelby Township, MI, USA

problem #25

Mar 092006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,258 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated while driving at various speeds the vehicle surged forward without warning. The rpms increased very rapidly. Upon inspection the dealership determined there was a problem with the electrical system and the transmission. The dealer replaced multiple parts in an attempt to remedy the problem however, the surging problem continued.

- Orange Beach, AL, USA

problem #24

Jul 012005

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,200 miles
: the contact stated the check engine light illuminated and transmission fluid leaked from the vehicle. The vehicle was returned to the dealer numerous times, but the dealer was unable to accurately remedy the problem. There is a NHTSA recall, # 05V396000 concerning the automatic transmission however the recall did not correct the problem. Afterwards, the transmission would not shift properly. The vehicle is having the same problems as indicated in the recall again. Also, the dealer suggested the automatic control of the sunroof assembly which failed to work properly was related to the ongoing transmission problem as well, but no further repairs were made.

- Farmington, NM, USA

problem #23

Dec 312005

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,260 miles
: the contact stated there was NHTSA recall campaign 05V396000 regarding the automatic transmission. The recall was performed on the vehicle, but afterwards it continued to shudder while driving. Although the repairs were performed accordingly the vehicle had a strong shudder that could physically be felt by the contact as well as a loud chatter from the transmission. While shifting from park to reverse there was a loud clanking noise. Aside from the problem with the automatic transmission the electrical system displayed some abnormalities. While driving the dashboard panel lights illuminated and all of the gauges, such as the fuel and speedometer failed to register. The defroster which was in use at that time stopped working. This problem lasted only a matter of seconds but returned to normal when the check engine light illuminated. This occurred 5 or 6 times in a 5 mile radius and abruptly stopped with no further incident. When the contact returned the vehicle to the dealer for the automatic transmission, the electrical system problem was reported to the service department. The contact left the vehicle at the dealer for inspection. However, the service department has been unable to duplicate the problem.

- Farmington, NY, USA

problem #22

Dec 302005

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,600 miles
The automatic transmission of my 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee, began acting unusual in mid November 2005. The transmission would clunk when put into drive, the vehicle seemed to hesitate before moving, also on 2 occasions the vehicle would down shift to first gear and then back to drive on its own while in motion. On December 18, 2005 I told the Jeep dealer service manger of the problem when I took the vehicle in, I had received from daimler-Chrysler a recall notice concerning the transmission, as far as I know the dealership performed the recall repair. The vehicle seemed fine until December 30, 2005 when while traveling on the expressway at 55 miles per hour with the cruise control engaged the vehicle again downshifted to first gear momentarily, all the warning lights came on then shifted back to drive the engine revved up and speed up unexpectedly. I then lost control of the vehicle spinning out and hitting the concrete divider wall of the expressway. The vehicle sustained over $10,000 in damage, luckily there were no injuries to me or my passenger. I have notified Chrysler and my insurance company of problem, at this point I have not authorized any collision repairs to this vehicle. Chrysler said they would inspect the vehicle, I await to see what they will do. I don't intend to repair or drive this vehicle again or any Jeep Cherokee, for that matter as to its unsafe transmission.

- Wiliamsville, NY, USA

problem #21

Dec 062005

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

3.7 L Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo with 9,000 miles. First major trip we have (about 500 miles away from home), our vehicle stalled. There was fire under the hood, it's good that the SUV stalled in front of the service center or there could be an explosion. We just purchased this vehicle in less than 6 mos. The service center told us that it will take about 2 weeks till we could get our Jeep back and it's already 17 days; I made a follow-up and was told that they haven't received the transmission that they've ordered. The service center have us rent a car. Called Chrysler and we were told that there is only safety concern and our VIN number is not included in the recall. How is that possible when in one web page, we saw 18 similar transmission complaints on the same vehicle? Chrysler won't cover our car rentals and motel.

- Hayward, WI, USA

problem #20

Nov 152005

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
Consumer complaint regarding recall on transmission fill tube oil seal. The consumer received recall 05V-460000 and contacted the dealer on Nov. 15 to make an appointment to have it repaired. The consumer was disappointed to learn that the next available appointment wasn't until Dec 23. The consumer is concerned about the potential of a fire before the vehicle is repaired.

- Saint Clair Shores, MI, USA

problem #19

Dec 112005

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,176 miles
This is a safety issue regarding the recent recall of the 2005 Jeep with transmission problems. Because of the transmission problems our Jeep stopped dead while we were going 65 miles an hour on the New Jersey turnpike. Luckily we were not killed. We had it towed over 100 miles to our dealer on long island (East hills Chrysler Jeep) to have it fixed. They swore they fixed it a few days later, only for this to happen to us again a month later. We towed it again to our Jeep dealer and shortly after we were told, this time it was really fixed. For the third time, a month later, it happened again. After avoiding being killed 3 times, we do not trust they know how to fix this recall. It is a leased Jeep and all we want is to be let out of the lease and they refuse. They swear now it is really fixed. Did they lie the other 2 times? I am afraid to drive this car or let anyone I love in the car, as well as possibly endanger anyone driving near us. I think this is a huge safety issue that needs to be addressed for the rest of the recalled Jeep, but for us, we just want a different car. This dealer's service department obviously doesn't know how to fix it and this should be investigated. Also, we contacted daimler Chrysler┐'s customer service department numerous times. We were listened to sympathetically but nothing was ever done about it. Update: I decided to wait to see if our Jeep dealership would do the right thing before I sent this in, but they refused and made us pick it up after they claimed it was yet again really fixed for the third time. A few days later, on December 11th, it broke down again. The car was towed back to them - the 4th time it has broken down from this same problem. Now they are saying there is nothing wrong with the car. This service department does not know what it is talking about. They refuse to do the right thing for us but more importantly, they do not know how to fix a nationally recalled problem.

- Merrick, NY, USA

problem #18

Nov 122005

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Contact stated vehicle was towed to the dealership on November 12, 2005 for NHTSA recall campaign 05V396000 concerning the automatic transmission. He contacted the service department numerous times, and T stated it could take another three weeks to repair. He contacted the manufacturer, and they promised to look into the matter and call him back.

- Clifton, NJ, USA

problem #17

Nov 282005

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I continue to have an on-going problem with the transmission of my 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee 3.7L vehicle. It has been in the shop for (4) four service inspections due to a recurring transmission problem. The transmission will "shudder", "miss", "jump" usually between 3rd, 4th, and/or 5th gears between speeds of 30mph - 40mph. The vehicle received (2) two "computer downloads" to try to correct the problem, but it was unsuccessful. The third service trip resulted in no repair being made, due to the service department being unable to find the type of problem that existed. The fourth trip consisted of the "transmission recall" service being performed, again with no change in the performance of the vehicle. While I continue to have the same problem, I am "at a loss" as to how to have the vehicle repaired.

- Canton, NC, USA

problem #16

Nov 152005

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact states there is NHTSA recall campaign 05V396000 concerning automatic transmission. The parts needed to repair the vehicle are not available at the local dealership. He spoke to the manufacturer, who has confirmed the parts were not available.

- Yonkers, NY, USA

problem #15

Sep 212005

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,007 miles
The contact complained about transmission problems on three occasions. The first time the vehicle stalled in traffic, and was towed to the local dealer for repairs. The second time the vehicle stalled, and was returned to the dealer for repairs. The third time the vehicle stalled, and was again returned to the dealer for repairs. The vehicle has been repaired, but the contact has not picked up the vehicle because he was concerned bout this repair. Like all the other repairs it was only temporary. Prior to the third incident the contact received NHTSA recall campaign 05V396000 concerning the automatic transmission.

- Merrick, NY, USA

problem #14

Nov 182005

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,000 miles
I have a transmission leake. Chrysler recall is E 13. I could not get a dealship to take the vehicle in on Friday. Called Chrysler, they were not really any help, the did provide me the name of a Dodge dealership in the area. They took the car Friday 11/18/05, said they fixed the recall. The leak is worse that before. Just like before I have transmission fluid spraying on the exhaust. This per Chrysler's recall letter is a fire hazard. Further the recall we recieved yesterday indicates that the transmission should have been flushed and/or the troque converter repalced. Neither of these things were done. I have the car back and can not get a return call from the dealeship to get the car back into the shop.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #13

Nov 092005

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact states there is NHTSA recall 05V396000 concerning the automatic transmission. The parts needed to repair the vehicle are not available at the local dealership. He spoke to the manufacturer, who confirmed the parts are not available at this time. Updated 12/07/05.

- Murphy , NC, USA

problem #12

Nov 012005

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Received a recall notice to replace the transmission fill tube oil seal over two weeks ago and cannot get the dealership to replace it. The letter states that it is urgent that this be replaced or there could be a fire under the hood of my car. The dealership keeps telling me that they do not have the part to replace it. Why do they not have the part to replace this defective part? I need some help.

- Rome, GA, USA

Read the next 11 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?