Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
80,885 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 4 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #57

Oct 152013

Grand Cherokee

  • 98,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

TL * the contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the transmission made a loud sound. The contact stated the failure began after the vehicle was repaired under a manufacturer recall for the gear box. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, however the technician was unable to diagnosed the failure. The manufacturer was notified of failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 98,000.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #56

Mar 012014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 113,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that when driving 30 mph and under, the transmission would erroneously switch from drive to neutral or from drive to third gear before the vehicle decelerated. The contact also stated that when braking to a stop, the vehicle would stall without warning. The vehicle was diagnosed by the dealer who indicated that the transmission would need to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 113,000.

- Mattson, IL, USA

problem #55

Sep 092013

Grand Cherokee

  • 71,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving approximately 25 mph, the entire instrument panel illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign id number 13V175000 (electrical system, power train). The failure occurred thirty days after the remedy repair was performed. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic twice and they stated that the transfer case actuator needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 71,000.

- Santa Rosa, CA, USA

problem #54

Mar 012013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 46,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I recently had the safety recall N23 / NHTSA 13V-175 / reprogram final drive controller module; performed on my 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee (last eight digits are VIN # [xxx]). Jeep advised that the "above vehicles may unintentionally cause the transfer case to shift into the neutral position without input from the driver." Therefore during the recall the computer was re-flashed to reset the drive control module, when the recall was performed my Jeep as many others ((just check these links > www.autoweek.com/article/20140221/carnews/140229945 or www.jeepforum.com/forum/F67/N23-recall-issue-no-4-low-1561787/ )) will not go into 4WD low or complete neutral, at all. There is no doubt among logical thinking people that to re-flash the drive control module will influence the drive control module and in this case in a negative manner. I have been back to the dealer (egolf motors in brevard, nc) who performed the flash and they advise they are waiting on Jeep to decide how to repair the program. Jeep corporation advises they are waiting on the dealer; it is just the old run around. Please ask the Jeep corporation to take full responsibility, to get this problem fixed and let us know who are waiting that they will in fact do it. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Hendersonville, NC, USA

problem #53

Mar 022014

Grand Cherokee

  • 63,750 miles
After doing the safety recall N23 for the Jeep Grand Cherokee 2005-2010, a month later the 4X4 low don't engaged anymore, and "service 4WD system" warning light on, when you pull the 4X4 low switch. I've been reading a lot on the web and it seems to happen to all the people after doing the recall service. I'm from caracas venezuela.

- Caracas-Venezuela, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #52

Sep 092013

Grand Cherokee

  • 79,337 miles
Event log: 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee 9/9/13 79337 miles did recall N23 reprogram of final drive control module 9/26/13 80245 miles code C1405. Service writer falvin C haudhary said this fault had nothing to do with the recall reprogram. New transfer case motor to cost $760. Cost to diagnose was $135 10/3/13 80526 miles my local mechanic replaced transfer case motor $490 + $105 labor. Still no work. 10/7/13 & 10/8/13 80856 miles, after recall fix fdcm code C140F is active żż dealer performed code erasure 12/6/13 85,085 miles, service writer [xxx] checked wiring and install of T-case motor. 2 codes C1405 & C140F żż want to replace motor and retest. Motor on back order. 12/27/14 called customer care, they started a file care#. new actuator should be in 3/21/14. They offered me a free oil change. Case manager to call me 12/28/14 hundreds of people have had a similar experience - check the internet under N23. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Camino, CA, USA

problem #51

Sep 182013

Grand Cherokee

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I had the N23 recall done on my Jeep and it no longer shifts into 4 low. Chrysler isnt putting out a real fix to this problem that they created.

- Kearney, NE, USA

problem #50

Feb 052014

Grand Cherokee

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated while driving 65 mph, the electrical system began to malfunction and caused the vehicle to down shift to the four wheel drive and damaged the rear axle. The vehicle was towed to a certified mechanic for inspection but they could not diagnose the cause of failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 110,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Colonia, NJ, USA

problem #49

Sep 182013

Grand Cherokee

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while the vehicle being service, the private mechanic advised that the wiring harness was leaking and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000 and the current mileage was 75,000.

- Newport Richie, FL, USA

problem #48

Jan 302014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • miles
I filed complaint (10561016) when the first Jeep dealer I went to would not honor the safety recall N23. The second Jeep dealer I went to said they would honor the safety recall N23. After going to the Jeep dealer they checked their records and advised me the recall was already completed on my Jeep Grand Cherokee. I was advised that my Jeep Grand Cherokee needs a transfer case actuator and I will be charged for this part and labor. In addition they advised this part is on back order. My Jeep Grand Cherokee's 4WD lo was working prior to this safety recall N23. I feel that Chrysler/Jeep should be held accountable for replacing this part. I intend to write my state attorney general.

- Ridgewood, NJ, USA

problem #47

Jan 012014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 113,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Hello, I had N23 recall done on my Jeep, after getting alot of snow in Dec I decided to shift into X4 low and it said service 4X4 system. I know that my 4X4 low worked before having this update.

- New Castle, IN, USA

problem #46

Aug 172013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 99,957 miles
N23 recall was performed to keep transfer case from shifting into neutral caused by cracked circuit board. The "fix" to this was to flash the software to make it impossible for the Jeep to shift into neutral and 4WD low. Now every vehicle that has had this recall done is unable to tow their vehicle behind a camper because the transfer case can not shift into neutral, and 4WD low is inoperable as well. Chrysler has claimed that the N23 recall has nothing to do with all of these vehicles losing 4WD low even though everyone that has had this recall done has lost neutral and 4 lo. This cheap fix has left thousands of people who spent a lot of money on these expensive vehicles without the best feature of the vehicle, 4 lo. Most people buy these Jeep because of their 4WD capability. Resale on a vehicle like this has gone right out the window with the loss of this feature. www.jeepforum.com/forum/F67/N23-recall-issue-no-4-low-1561787/ this site has an outstanding number of complaints about this problem and makes it impossible to deny that Chrysler has neglected to take care of the issue.

- Topeka , KS, USA

problem #45

Jan 212014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 65,910 miles
On 01/20/2014, I brought my Jeep Grand Cherokee 2006 to my mechanic due to a service 4WD system light on dashboard. My mechanic advised me that the computer revealed code safety recall N23/NHTSA 13 V-175. Safety recall N23 may unintentionally cause the transfer case to shift to neutral position without input from the driver. This condition could allow the vehicle to roll away inadvertently while the vehicle is parked and cause a crash without warning. My mechanic advised me to go to my Jeep dealership due to the safety recall. On 01/21/2014, I contacted via telephone the Jeep dealership where I purchased my vehicle. I advised the Jeep employee of the situation with my Jeep Grand Cherokee 2006. The Jeep employee advised that I would be charged for repair. I advised the Jeep employee that the code N23 was a safety recall. The Jeep employee responded by making an accusation that my mechanic's computer was probably outdated. In addition the Jeep employee advised that the code N23 was not a safety recall. Continuing on the same date, I contacted another Jeep dealership. I explained the situation with my Jeep Grand Cherokee 2006. I was advised by the Jeep employee that the code N23 is a safety recall and the Jeep dealership would honor the recall. I conducted further research to discover that on 08/17/2013 I brought my Jeep Grand Cherokee 2006 to the first Jeep dealership mentioned for safety recall N23.

- Ridgewood, NJ, USA

problem #44

Jan 012014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 49,000 miles
This is a common problem that is found all over the Jeep forums and internet, these Jeep are known for the rear differentials failing and having to be replaced before the differentials fall apart and could cause a major accident, the differential will begin to fail by making a loud whine gear noise from the differential. This vehicle has never been off road and there is no reason for the entire differential to be destroyed like this, this is horrible quality and should be replaced by Chrysler. This is not a user error, but a part manufacturing error or design error. This being so common it should be a recall. A woman and child in the car driven daily to school should not fail like this jeopardizing both lives.

- Sterling Heights, MI, USA

problem #43

Jul 102013

Grand Cherokee

  • 135,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the gear shifter failed to engage in park. When the contact was able to shift into park, the vehicle would stall immediately. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the transmission sensor needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was not included in recall NHTSA campaign number: 13V175000 (electrical system, power train). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 135,000 and the current mileage was 144,500.

- Heflin, AL, USA

problem #42

Oct 102013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 47,200 miles
A recall (N23) was issued (July 2013) by Chrysler Corp. To resolve a problem with the transfer case not engaging 4low and / or shifting into neutral. All this happens at random. Once the in-dash warning of "service 4WD system" appears, the vehicle has to be returned to the dealer for repair. After two attempts the problem has not been resolved. A third appointment is scheduled for Friday January 17. Various investigating (internet) suggests that most that have returned their vehicles for correction have also not been resolved. Chrysler Corp. Has been unresponsive to various communication from many Jeep owners and the Jeep dealerships are not communicating to the factory regarding the many complaints. I want to sell this vehicle and with the recall liability not being resolved I'm unable to sell it.

- Grand Jujnction, CO, USA

problem #41

Oct 152013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
After N23 recall was performed, my Jeep will not engage in 4wheel drive lo. On startup it states, "service 4WD system". many people are reported the same problem. The car will not shift into 4WD low or into neutral for towing. Chrysler error code is C140F and it is even listed in the reprogam instructions. I did not have this issue prior to the N23 recall.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #40

Jan 082014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 108,000 miles
After my Grand Cherokee had the "N23" recall performed on it by the previous owner, the "service 4WD" indicator comes on and disables my transfer case shifting. I clear the codes and it works again for a short period of time then the codes return (C1406, C1405, C140F) disabling the shifting again. This appears to be a common issue with Grand Cherokee according to the information I have found on jeepforum.

- Sheridan, IN, USA

problem #39

Aug 272013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
I had N23 recall done on my Jeep in 8/2013. I have had my Jeep to 3 dealers 9 different times. Since the recall my 4wheel low/ neutral has not worked on Jeep. I have had my actuator replaced and the final drive controller reprogrammed many times. The issue will fix for a day and then back to say fault code. My service 4wheel drive light comes on when I try and engage it. I have contacted Jeep corporate and have been working with them but I don't feel they care. They have had me taking my car to all these different dealers and everyone says its something different and say they fixed it. I have been out of 800 or more in gas, 160 in diagnosis fees, 170 in tow bill from one dealer to another, and 600 for actuator. I have only had my Jeep serviced at Jeep dealers and it has always had all scheduled maintenance on time. I feel that the software that was installed on my Jeep has caused all these issues. I never had any problems out of my 4wheel drive system. My first recall letter stated that my transfer case may experience a transfer case actuator encoder electrical failure that results in unintentional transfer case shifting into or through the neutral position. My Jeep has been showing the same 4wheel drive code since the recall. I had to pay to replace my actuator cause they said it went bad after the recall. I feel like I have been taken advantage of I paid 51,000 for my Jeep and have taken very good care of it. Someone has got to do something so Jeep will fix everyone's SUV. There are many others in this same position as me its posted all over the internet. This has been going on for 5 months and still no solution.

- Barbourville , KY, USA

problem #38

Aug 152013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 99,831 miles
The contact owns a 2006 grand Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving approximately 40 mph, the four-wheel drive low indicator light remained illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, who could not diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not been repaired. The contact stated that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign id number: 13V175000 (electrical system, power train) and was repaired prior to the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 99,831. Updated 03/05/14

- Pikesville, MD, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?