Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 2
Average Mileage:
46,016 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 20 of 33)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #275

Feb 022015

Grand Cherokee

  • 115,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle would suddenly turn off and on, including all the electrical components in the vehicle. Also, the contact mentioned that the power steering and electronic brakes would momentarily stop working. The cause of the failures was not diagnosed. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) was received in August of 2014. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be provided. The failure mileage was 115,000.

- Peoria, AZ, USA

problem #274

Mar 132015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Whenever the vehicle struck a bump in the road, the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was unknown.....updated 06/09/15 the consumer stated he was incorrect about his statement. The air bag light illuminated minutes after driving. Updated 06/18/15

- Highland Lakes, NJ, USA

problem #273

Sep 092014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 84,000 miles
I received a recall Sept 2014. It has been going on 7 months and I can not get any information on the status of my recall of P41. I called the Chrysler group recall center and that is a waste of time. The poorest service for a telephone answering service. I was on the phone 30 minutes and finally I hung up. I had to sit and listen to terrible noise (not music) and an announcement that all our agents are busy. I have worked all my life in business and I have never seen such poor service as I have received on this recall. My key switch is loose (because it has been hit so many times). At times I turn the key to start my car and it does not connect with the starter. I would like for someone who is responsible enough and cares about public service to call me and give me a date when my key switch will be replaced. I hope there is someone in the Agency that has enough job interest to give this to a responsible employee.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #272

Nov 202014

Grand Cherokee

  • 59,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 55 mph, the vehicle stalled and the stb and stabilizer warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician stated that the vehicle was operating as designed. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 59,000.

- Killeen, TX, USA

problem #271

Sep 152014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 145,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact stated the vehicle shut off. Updated 04/10/15

- Johnstown, PA, USA

problem #270

Sep 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Flanders, NJ, USA

problem #269

Jul 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 10 mph, the vehicle began to stutter and all of the warning indicators illuminated. The failure recurred on several occasions until the instrument panel became inoperable. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The vehicle was not repaired or diagnosed. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unavailable.

- Vestal, NY, USA

problem #268

Oct 282014

Grand Cherokee

  • 115,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 70 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 115,000.

- Sandy, UT, USA

problem #267

Mar 162015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Kansas City , KS, USA

problem #266

Sep 052014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled on several occasions without warning. The vehicle was able to restart. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) and stated that the parts were not available. The dealer did not give a specific date when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available.

- New Bedford , MA, USA

problem #265

Mar 162015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 6/11/15 updated 06/17/15. Updated 06/18/15

- East Hampton, CT, USA

problem #264

Dec 162014

Grand Cherokee

  • 126,000 miles
I received a recall notice (P41/NHTSA 14V-438) from Chrysler about 6 to 8 months ago. My dealer says still waiting on parts. I have followed their instructions and removed keys from Jeep key. Dash lights have started blinking on and off, this give me no information when off (speed, etc.). I can hold key and lights will stay on. This does not happen all the time just some time. Isn't 8 months a long time to wait to get this repair because this could result in loss of engine power, and braking leading to a crash..

- Camas, WA, USA

problem #263

Mar 062015

Grand Cherokee

  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 45 mph, the vehicle jerked forward without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. In addition, the contact stated that the hydraulic service brake warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 13V175000 (electrical system, power train) and 07V434000 (service brakes, hydraulic). The failure mileage was 78,000.

- Brockton, MA, USA

problem #262

Sep 132014

Grand Cherokee

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the stability traction control warning light illuminated and the feature engaged when making a turn, causing the vehicle to veer left and right. The failure occurred intermittently. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) and stated that the parts were not available. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Fairfield, CA, USA

problem #261

Mar 022015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2007 Grand Cherokee Jeep. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch issues.

- Wilmington, NC, USA

problem #260

Mar 122013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
Lights shut off and electrical systems fails. This is on recall but dealer will not fix as they say no repair given.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #259

Sep 062014

Grand Cherokee

  • 135,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the lights on the instrument panel intermittently failed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the ignition housing cylinder needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 135,000.

- Erie , PA, USA

problem #258

Mar 112015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Northfield, IL, USA

problem #257

Mar 052015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 102,053 miles
As I was driving home from work at 3am, all the lights on the dashboard lit up and went back to normal. This occurred 5 times within a 30 minute trip. At the same time the seat warmer turned off, my speakers were not working properly. Heat wasn't working properly. After the second time it happened I turned radio off, kept seat warmer off, and turned off heat but it happened again three times after that. In between these 5 incidents, there was one time that all the lights on my instrument panel went off completely. The only thing that was illuminated was the gear I was in. It was a very scary experience especially when you are driving on a highway and cannot see your speed. All the lights flashed on went back to normal when I drove the car again the following 2 days. One time per day only. My car currently has a recall on my ignition but no part has yet been released in order to switch out the defected part. I am thinking maybe their is a correlation between the defected part and the electrical issues?

- Cliffside Park, NJ, USA

problem #256

Oct 132014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Portchester, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?