Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 2
Average Mileage:
46,016 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 19 of 33)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #295

Mar 312015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. In addition, the contact mentioned that the steering wheel seized and the brake pedal was difficult to depress. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Blue Island, IL, USA

problem #294

Sep 052014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the the key was extremely difficult to turn over to start the vehicle. The contact had to wait a moment and make several attempts to get the vehicle to start. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) and stated that the parts needed were not available for an extended period of time. The dealer did not give a specific date when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was contacted. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000...updated 05/19/15 updated 7/6/2015

- Vicksburg, MS, USA

problem #293

May 142014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Medina, OH, USA

problem #292

Mar 302015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Danbury, CT, USA

problem #291

Sep 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle corporation failure to provide the necessary part in a reasonable time frame to complete recall notice 14V-438.

- Bloomfield Hills, MI, USA

problem #290

Sep 152014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Alpena, MI, USA

problem #289

Mar 272015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Mountain Top , PA, USA

problem #288

Nov 262014

Grand Cherokee

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at various speeds, all of the gauges on the instrument panel flickered intermittently and the check engine warning light illuminated. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system). The approximate failure mileage was 140,000.

- Lakeville, MA, USA

problem #287

Nov 202014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving, there was a sudden loss of engine power. The contact received a manufacturer's recall related to the failure and stated that the parts were not available for several months. The dealer did not give a specific date when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available. Updated 6/3/15 the consumer stated the dash lights, electronic stability, traction control system and esp illuminated. Updated 06/09/15

- Alpharetta, GA, USA

problem #286

Nov 152014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start and the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 ( electrical system) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #285

Sep 152014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number:14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Jackson, NJ, USA

problem #284

Oct 152014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Kearneysville, WV, USA

problem #283

Sep 012013

Grand Cherokee

  • 94,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving 15 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The mechanic was unable to diagnose or repair the vehicle. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The failure mileage was 94,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Yoe, PA, USA

problem #282

Sep 202014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) and stated that the parts were not available for several months. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was notified of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Cloquet, MN, USA

problem #281

Jan 062015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Windfield, KS, USA

problem #280

Feb 012015

Grand Cherokee

  • 84,000 miles
Mine is doing the same as the rest! and no help from a dealer or anyone! about a month and a half ago I was traveling in cruise at 70mph started to notice every crack in the hwy my headlights would flicker, figured one was going bad. 15 miles later my dash, radio, headlights, and cruise all shut off on me. In the blink of an eye they come back on (including all the warning lights), except for my cruise. Remembering the recall notice, the parts I can't get, and the fact I was a service writer for 8 years at a dealership, I realized my truck had shut off and turned back on (my key never moved). So as I drive on it starts doing it every 20 min or so. The next day on my way home it started doing it again. Now when I drive short distances in the cold (northern wi) it does not happen nearly as much, now longer distance with the heat blowing the whole way it happens regularly, I also notice if I take the key out of the ignition its very warm almost hot.. the last straw was this last weekend, I was making our yearly spring cabin run, traveling at around 35/40 mph on a gravel road my entire truck went dead, key was in the on position and I lost all power to everything, not wanting to lose control, I grabbed for the key ( again going back to the recall) and I literally turned the key from the run position to off to the run position and it restarted (doing this as I'm rolling down a gravel road with no power brakes or steering at 35/40mph). Also noted that it was not just me in the vehicle! I've read, watched videos on this, talked to other owner and now have been dealing with this first hand. After it turning off completely, this is way more dangerous than Chrysler is admitting. My next step is putting a new "bad" switch in, if this one made it 80,000 miles why can't the next, however sadly it will be on my dime. Hope this helps and if you have this issue be very careful!

- Marinette, WI, USA

problem #279

Sep 032014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to a faulty ignition switch. The dealer informed the consumer, the part was not available.

- Waynesville, NC, USA

problem #278

Mar 232015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the par to do the repair was unavailable the contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Safety Harbor , FL, USA

problem #277

Mar 202015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Brunswick, OH, USA

problem #276

Feb 012012

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Starting in Feb. 2012 the engine would quit running while driving. When the engine would quit we loose steering and braking. The vehicle starts right back up and is drivable. We would experience this problem once every 2-3 months. The frequency in which this is happening has increased with the latest incident occurring 3-18-15 while exiting the interstate and nearly avoiding a crash off the roadway. We received a recall notice from Jeep (P41) but everytime we call they tell us the parts are not available. I have tried several times to contact Jeep but am left on hold for over 40 minutes. Can you please help us with this problem.

- Gretna, LA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?