Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
76,991 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

Aug 202016

Grand Cherokee

  • 156,843 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The original problem was a battery light that came on when the car was being driven during a light rain. The solution suggested by our normal mechanic (who is very good and has serviced the car for years) was to replace the alternator and then it was noted the battery was bad. It was replaced since it was three years old. After the repair the car started to die intermittently while being driven. The car was taken back to the mechanic who check the diagnostics and said it appeared to be pointing to the ignition switch (based on their diagnostic flowchart). The mechanics service technician was able to duplicate the stalling in the vehicle when he drove it. Suggested we take back to the dealer who had replaced the ignition switch tumblers during the recall for this vehicle last November. The dealer wanted a $85 diagnostic fee to just check the switch. We received a download of the diagnostic codes which appear to be related to multiple failures of ignition modules but the dealer reported his service technician had not been able to duplicate the failure. He thought it might be the tipm but was sure it was not the switch. He was unable to tell us what the failure was and said we would have to pay for more diagnostics if he was to find out what exactly it was. I took it back to my mechanic who replaced alternator. However, as I was driving the car last Saturday it died after we stopped at a railroad crossing waiting on a train and then tried to cross the tracks after the arms had gone up. The crossing T-bones into another road and a very deep bar ditch at the side of that road. The crossing was a steep incline. Almost put car in ditch. My wife would not have been able to control and stop it as I barely was able to. After reviewing other similar complaints I now believe it is the tipm. This is safety related since all safety equipment is tied to this.

- Sealy, TX, USA

problem #22

May 012016

Grand Cherokee

  • 129,000 miles
I was driving on county road about 45 mph battery light came on then ABS light then message service anti lock brake system, engine and brake light they stayed on till I got home there was also a very low humming noise when I turned off car it would not start again. In morning it started I turned it off and it will not start again. Battery and engine light on. 11/19/15 recalls for ignition switch, and reprogram final drive controller module were performed.

- Hyde Park, NY, USA

problem #21

Aug 172014

Grand Cherokee

  • 140,000 miles
Vehicle displays esp (electronic stability program), bas (brake assist system), ABS (antilock braking system) lights in cluster, as well as service 4WD system. While these lights are active, vehicle becomes unsafe and brakes while cornering under acceleration (without touching the brakes!) and has resulted in loss of control. Issue has been repeatedly reported to dealerships and manufacturer (10 visits for this issue spread across 2 dealerships, and 4 cases have been opened with Jeep directly). Issue continues to be diagnosed as a failed brake light switch, and switch is replaced. New switch works for 3-6 weeks before failing again, rendering vehicle unsafe. One example of this issue resulting in the vehicle loosing traction occured in November 2015 while going on a circular highway entrance ramp with the warning lights illuminated. Half way thru the turn, while gently accelerating, the rear brakes completely locked up causing the vehicle to skid onto the muddy shoulder. In January of 2016 a similar incident occured while going up a snowy hill (road curves while going uphill) resulting in the vehicle loosing traction and going into a snowbank.

- Fairfield, CT, USA

problem #20

Jan 152013

Grand Cherokee

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving 30 mph, the vehicle failed to accelerate as if the brake pedal were being depressed. The failure occurred when the brake pedal was depressed. The contact also stated that there was a grinding noise coming from the vehicle. The vehicle was eventually able to accelerate. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the anti lock control unit needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired; however, the failure recurred. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 45,000.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #19

Sep 252014

Grand Cherokee

  • 38,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 25 mph, the vehicle stalled as the brake pedal was depressed and failed to respond without warning. As a result, the contact crashed into another vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained a head injury and the driver of the other vehicle sustained a head injury, which both required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 38,000.

- Troutman, NC, USA

problem #18

Jan 012009

Grand Cherokee

  • 25,000 miles
I have received a recall notice over a year ago from Fiat Chrysler. I have had the vehicle turn off due to the ignition switch multiple times. Both my husband and my son were driving the car at the time. The engine stopped, the power steering did not work, it was on the highway and on a country curvy road. I do not feel I can sell this car to someone else who might potentially wreck due to this issue. I am still being told the parts are not available to fix this vehicle.

- Columbus, IN, USA

problem #17

Feb 062015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the contacts vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact stated that the ABS and the air bag warning lights illuminated. The failure mileage was not available.

- Arabi, LA, USA

problem #16

Mar 092014

Grand Cherokee

  • 40 miles
If this 2007 Jeep 4W blow up. And I die. It is not worth my life. And every I call they do not the ignition switch/ P41/NHTSA 14V-438. This my 2nd notice. And I am disabled.

- Wasington, MI, USA

problem #15

Mar 282015

Grand Cherokee

  • 70,000 miles
Drove from ca to AZ. Turned Jeep engine off !!! visit with son & leave trailer I had been towing. I turn ignition on put in drive never touched accelerator. Jeep speed out quickly (sudden acceleration) out of driveway towards home across street - two cars in driveway. Grabbed steering wheel veering Jeep away from home & two parked vehicles. Went down embankment and did 360. I flipped Jeep and it stopped ended up on passenger side. Neighbors & son saw entire crash. Could not breathe due to seat belt crushing chest & me being upside down. Son pulled seat belt from crushing me. Ambulance to er and no neuro on duty told could take me vegas 2 to 3 hours away. Finally went to neuro told post concussion syndrome. After little help, went to boulder co neuro center and told post concussion syndrome, ptsd and vestibular problems was in rehab therapy one month. Keep Jeep in garage to protect the evidence but no attorney firm would take case as stated the crash "did not impact the rest of my life" told by AZ attorney firm. I worked fed courts in los angeles, ca over 20 years and can say emphatically there was no driver error. I kept for 3 months looking for attorney firm but in the interim I found [xxx] with Consumer Affairs and realized other people who dealt with same "sudden acceleration" were given results "driver error". I made a report with Consumer Affairs and was told to bring my story to your Agency as well. Aaa insurance company totaled Jeep and picked it up June 30th and said " not driver error" but mechanical. Please investigate and inform others to protect themselves and their families. A recall needs to happen. Nothing can help me now but I can tell you I am telling everyone on social media and getting the word out as this never should have happened. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Lake Havasu City, AZ, USA

problem #14

Jun 262015

Grand Cherokee

  • 135,000 miles
Received a safety recall notice some time last year 2014. Called and no one was of much assistance. Said the parts were not available.they asked for my email and I never received any correspondence back. Took the Jeep to the dealer as the safety recall letter stated and they said they could not help me out. No accidents yet but I am very concerned for my safety. My tps light stays on constantly. I get my tires checked frequently to fix the issue and everytime I go, I am told my tires are fine. As I was driving, all ABS and traction lights go off, making it very difficult to brake safely. I was told my serpentine belt had to be replaced. I had this issue fixed last year, and it was not inexpensive. It has been less than a year and already the problem shows up again. I feel very unsafe driving and I feel this is a recall issue that needs to be addressed. I would appreciate it if someone would contact me regarding this problem and help me out so that I can feel safe while driving.

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #13

Jun 182015

Grand Cherokee

  • 98,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My daughter was just driving her 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee and the engine cut out while driving about 70 for about 10 seconds she lost head lights brakes ect. The car then turned back on automatically before she stopped and the esp, ABS, bac, traction control lights came on. This is so dangerous and seems to be S common problem. Is there a recall" if not shouldn't there be" my husband already replaced the ignition switch regulatorabout two months ago because the lights were going on and off. That repair seemed to have fixed the issue. The serpentine belt is also squeaking like crazy. It has been. Replaced twice. First with an inexpensive belt then with a certified belt.

- Westbrook, CT, USA

problem #12

Oct 252014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
I own a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. I received a recall on a part in July of 2014. It is now April 2015. There is still no part to replace this ignition switch problem. I have children that I need to drive to and from school. This vehicle is not safe. My husband has seen now at least 3 vehicles (same make, model and year) in car accidents. These car were completely totaled. There is no fixing them. One vehicle a car blew up because the ignition switch. This is ridiculous. Almost a year now, and there is still not part to fix this problem. And I can't sell my vehicle to anybody because then I could be sued because of the ignition switch recall. Your Jeep dealerships will not buy them back for what they are worth because of the ignition switch recall. I get below value offers. I will not buy Jeep again. But the fact that Jeep is taking so long to fix this issue is ridiculous. When people start dying because of it, then you will be sued for those deaths because that ignition switch recall was not fixed in a decent amount of time. I figured 6 months max. Its now almost a year and again still no replacement part. I'm disgusted at the fact that nothing is being done about this. No one seems to care or realize the potential danger this ignition switch causes. I wouldn't wish this upon anyone but it may happen to you just so you open up your eyes and realize what is really going on.

- Evergreen Park, IL, USA

problem #11

Aug 202014

Grand Cherokee

  • 68,000 miles
2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo engine stalled out while trying to accelerate when red light turned green. Loss of engine power, power steering and loss of braking. Received a recall (# P41) for a faulty ignition switch in September 2014 for this problem. Engine has been cutting off intermittently since August 2014 while either trying to accelerate from a dead stop or while trying to make a turn. Chrysler said to remove any objects from key ring which we have done and the problem persists. We are afraid to drive this car at all. We have been to several Jeep dealership mechanics and they say that the problem does not show up on their diagnostic testing so they cannot fix anything until Chrysler sends new parts for the recall. Have tried to speak with Chrysler personnel and am always put on hold for 2 hours at a time!! is Chrysler waiting for a tragedy to occur before dispatching the parts to fix this recall??

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #10

Jan 192015

Grand Cherokee

  • 140,300 miles
Vehicle will shut down without warning. This happens when vehicle is idling or at speed -any speed. The engine will shut down, steering locks up and brakes shut off. Secondary systems like radio and fans will continue to operate but there is otherwise no power. This problem has been occurring on and off for two years. Dealer and mechanic both could not find solution to the problem; however, an electromagnetic field from distributor/spark plugs theorized as the culprit. Adding shielding to the PCM computer cables and grounding it seems to have mitigated the issue, however it is still sporadic and has caused near miss accidents with pedestrians, motorists and stationary objects while making turns.

- Albany, NY, USA

problem #9

Jan 022015

Grand Cherokee

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at an unknown speed, the contact inadvertently touched the key while driving and the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact stated that all power to the vehicle was lost and the brakes failed. The vehicle was able to restart. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system), but the contact was informed that the dealer would charge for the repair. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 130,000.

- West Sunbury, PA, USA

problem #8

Dec 292014

Grand Cherokee

  • 142,865 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph, the brake pedal was depressed and the vehicle slid abnormally before stopping. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 142,865.

- Decatur , GA, USA

problem #7

May 222007

Grand Cherokee

  • 50 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while reversing at approximately 5 mph, there was an abnormal noise coming from the wheels and brakes. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 50.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #6

Nov 112014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 96,121 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving approximately 40 mph, the brake pedal was tapped causing the vehicle to lock up and sieze. In addition, the power steering assist failed. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic who was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 96,121. Updated 1/13/15 updated 10/5/2015

- Evergreen Park, IL, USA

problem #5

Feb 012013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
I was coming to a stop at a stoplight and everything went dead. I couldn't stop the vehicle so it had to roll to a stop. After, I could not restart it. We had to push it to the side. It was towed to dealer. The battery was checked along with the engine. They said it was the ignition switch and that there was a recall. They said they didn't have the parts then and they'd call us when in. They never did. A year goes by and this happened again 2 weeks ago. It was taken to dealer and we were told it was part of the recall, but they could not get the parts to fix it. The dealer said then to write Jeep and complain.

- Greenwood, IN, USA

problem #4

Sep 082014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 158,000 miles
2007 Grand Cherokee repeatedly lost engine power, power steering and braking. Unclear on loss of airbags. Vehicle taken to bob caldwell Jeep dealership in columbus, oh. We were informed that no recall existed for that year/model. When we returned home we received notification for Chrysler regarding details of recall. Immediately called dealership and they were like "oh, that recall". they had given us a $4000 quote to repair the problem prior to our bringing the actual recall notification for Chrysler. Caldwell then told us that no part existed and they couldn't help us. Today I contacted Chrysler and received a reference #693786. It is supposed to track the non manufactured part when it actually ships at an unknown future date. Chrysler is not able to remedy this defect within a reasonable time..at this point actually they cannot fix at any time as part does not exist. This situation puts my family at great risk. Chrysler states Jeep is safe to drive...let's hope so for our sake.

- Delaware, OH, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?