Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
63,123 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 3 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #98

Mar 222014

Grand Cherokee

  • 99,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After receiving the recall N23, my vehicle is unable to shift into 4X4-lo. The dealership has acknowledged that this is related to the recalls update. Chrysler refuses to offer a solution to this.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #97

Jan 072013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl Diesel

  • 82,000 miles
Took my 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee to my local dealer for the N23 recall regarding the transfer case in December 2013. A week or two later, noticed a dash board error "service four wheel drive system" and my "four wheel drive low" will not work. Dealer says I need a new transfer case actuator for hundreds of dollars, but the part is on permanent back-order. The reason this part is on back-order is because the software update as part of the recall causes the system failure! as I've researched several different Jeep forums (here, for example: www.jeepforum.com/forum/F67/recall-2005-2010-grand-Cherokee-2006-2010-commanders-1521883/index17.html), this is happening with most, if not all, quadra-drive II four wheel drive systems after completing the N23 recall. For those with the skills to undo the recall "flash", the problem goes away and their "four wheel drive low" works. Help!

- Searcy, AR, USA

problem #96

Sep 202013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 88,744 miles
Vehicle run perfectly. Took vehicle in for recall N23. From that time I am not able to put transfer case in neutral for towing behind motorhome which I have done 100's of time in 6 years with no problem. Numerous calls to Chrysler/Jeep and trips to different dealers have accomplished nothing. They are in complete denial that they have a problem, but there a hundreds on the internet all complaining about the same thing. Something needs to be done to get Chrysler /Jeep to fix this problem.

- Deser Hot Springs, CA, USA

problem #95

Jan 012009

Grand Cherokee

  • 35,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving down the highway at approximately 65 mph, the transmission shifted into neutral. The gas pedal would not accelerate the car. The car had to be pulled to the shoulder amidst traffic and turned off, then turned back on before the car would accelerate again. This same scenario has occurred several times since. This poses a significant safety hazard for our family!

- Indpendence, KS, USA

problem #94

Sep 162013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the service four wheel drive warning lamp illuminated and the transmission failed to shift gears. The vehicle was repaired under recall NHTSA campaign number: 13V175000 (electrical system, power train) but the remedy failed to correct the problem. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer several times. The technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 80,000 and the current mileage was 92,000. Updated 3/12/14

- Dessert Hot Springs, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #93

Jan 092013

Grand Cherokee

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was able to be restarted however, the failure recurred intermittently over a period of one year. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, who was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- Queencity, TX, USA

problem #92

Nov 262012

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 47,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The lights in my dash were flashing off and on while driving the vehicle, and the sunroof kept opening and would not close. Also, when a door was opened on the vehicle, while the engine was off and no key was in, the headlights would flash, took to the dealer, they replaced the instrument cluster, problem still persist. While at the dealer they also attempted to repair the N23 recall, at that point I was advised that there were 8 software updates, which the dealer did without charge. After attempted repair of N23 recall, I was advised the 4 wheel drive in my vehicle was not functioning due the recall repair, it has been 2 months and to date Chrysler has been unable to produce a part, the 4 wheel drive actuator, I contacted Chrysler corporation numerous times to no avail, was advised the part is on restriction. It is dangerous!!! especially to think your vehicle is functioning properly and its not. Chrysler has done nothing to help remedy the situation.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #91

Dec 062013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 116,091 miles
Jeep performed an N23 recall on 10/5/13 on my vehicle as a response to a former consumer complaint about Jeep Grand Cherokee vehicles slipping into neutral while parked. After completing the recall, which reprogrammed the final drive controller module, I left the dealership and discovered that my vehicle could no longer enter 4 wheel drive low and receives a service 4WD system light. I have been notified by other owners that this recall had a similar effect on their Jeep. I contacted the dealer service department and they knew of no available fix. The service tech manager stated that 1 in 3 vehicles that have had the N23 recall result in the same problem. He says it is likely that 1 in 3 is the same proportion of people who actually attempt to use their 4 wheel drive low. On approximately Dec 6, 2013, during an ice storm, my vehicle became stuck on the side of the road. I needed to utilize my 4WD low to get back onto the roadway and was not able to.

- Benton, AR, USA

problem #90

Jan 042014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl Diesel

  • 37,359 miles
On two occasions the transfer case has shifted to neutral on it own. One time it left me in the middle of the road with traffic. Also, 4WD low rand of transfer case does not work. There was a recall done, known as the "N23 recall" first, it was done incorrectly resulting in no low range. Second, it was redone correctly and it worked as it should. Now a couple months later it is shifting to neutral on it's own and no 4low. It is a known problem among Jeep owners. The dealers only want to replace parts at customer's cost and very unsuccessfully.

- Milton, WI, USA

problem #89

Nov 122013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl Diesel

  • 70,000 miles
After receiving recall N23, 4WD low no longer works.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #88

Dec 132013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 69,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Had the transmission warranty recall update done, now I am getting a "service 4WD" light. In doing research this is very common on Jeep's who had the recent warranty update. Jeep needs to correct this problem. In some cases dealers are replacing actuators under warranty and in some not. My dealer, ed tomko Jeep in avon lake, Ohio, would like to charge me to take a look at it. Chrysler/Jeep needs to pay to correct this problem.

- Bay Village, OH, USA

problem #87

Oct 052012

Grand Cherokee

  • 48,000 miles
Jeep would not start "transmission temp" would come up on dash. Took to dealer replaced starter. Week later same problem. Went back to Jeep dealer they deemed it to be engine harness.one year later on any given day "transmission temp" will come up on dash with the Jeep sputtering to start. Turn off then start. So far three time since repairs it has done this.

- Phila, PA, USA

problem #86

Dec 062013

Grand Cherokee

  • 109,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle rolled away. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the actuator needed to be replaced. The contact also mentioned that the vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number 13V175000 (electrical system, power train). The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 109,000. The VIN was not available.

- Adel, IA, USA

problem #85

Nov 112013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 120,020 miles
The engine stalled while at cruise speed (not accelerating) and with no warning. There was 1/2 tank of gas; the mil did not illuminate. Upon loss of engine power, all power assist systems (e.g.: brakes, steering) ceased to operate. I successfully restarted the vehicle by shifting into neutral and turning the key as far toward "off" as is possible when the vehicle is not in park. On the second attempt, the vehicle restarted with no mil illumination.

- Northport, NY, USA

problem #84

Sep 242011

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 120,250 miles
I bought this Jeep on 9/20/2013. The truck is equipped with the 5.7 L hemi engine. Over the first 50 days and 1,157 miles of ownership I have encountered 18 episodes of the vehicle stalling, with 14 of those stalls occurring on major highways in traffic. The stalls occur with no warning. The vehicle immediately decelerates to a stop and I am left with no power, no steering and no brakes. One dealership blamed it on a bad battery. The dealership which sold me the Jeep diagnosed the problem as a M.a.P. sensor, which they replaced. That did not correct the problem as the stalling problem continues to occur. The most recent was on 11/9/2013 while driving in the center lane of the pa turnpike at 65 mph. The Jeep stalled and came to a stop, with a semi tractor-trailer behind me. I have no idea how that truck driver was able to swerve in time to miss me. Mechanics and on-line forums identify possible causes for the stalling as 1. a defective (ECM) electronic control modules; 2. shorts in the wiring harness; 3. sparks plugs; 4. egr valve; 5. ignition coil; 6. PCV valve; 7. transmission solenoid pack. There are no diagnostic codes stored in the obd-II system. One school of thought is that 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee and commanders equipped with the 5.7 L hemi engine are extremely sensitive to radio frequency interference from the waste spark on the coil. As other complaints have noted, this is an obvious and persistent problem with Jeep equipped with the hemi engine, and Chrysler has turned a deaf ear to the complaints. Perhaps they are waiting for the fatalities to occur. Why NHTSA hasn't done more to order a recall is beyond my comprehension. The problem has been reported on for years with no action taken by Chrysler. This Jeep is, for lack of a better word, a deathtrap. At best it cannot be trusted, it is unsafe and unreliable. At worst it is an accident waiting to happen!

- Hatfield, PA, USA

problem #83

Jul 012013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that upon acceleration, the gear independently shifted into neutral. The vehicle at first did not respond but rapidly accelerated within several seconds. The failure was recurring. The vehicle was previously taken to the dealer to have the transfer case updated however, the failure was not corrected. The manufacturer was contacted and advised the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V175000 (electrical system, power train). The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 90,000 and the current mileage was 100,100...updated 12-05-13

- Hampstead, MD, USA

problem #82

Oct 072013

Grand Cherokee

  • 125,000 miles
As I was driving my car jerked real hard and all my dash lights came on and my ability to drive my car was useless. My Jeep slowed down on the freeway during morning rush hour traffic almost causing several accidents. As I was trying to restart my Jeep it just keep making a clicking noise and wouldn't stop. I had to pull the key from the ignition and reinsert the key and try to start the Jeep. After 3 tries it started and I went to drive off and as I was accelerating my Jeep did it again finally it stayed on and I was able to drive to a safe location. My Jeep sounded real strange not like normal. This is the 5 or 6th time this has happened since I had my Jeep not even a year to date.

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #81

Sep 162013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • 160,000 miles
After receiving recall N23, 4WD low no longer works.

- Springfield, SD, USA

problem #80

Sep 132013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 76,000 miles
Summary: The vehicle experienced significantly reduced power while driving in freeway traffic. It was necessary to move to the far right lane and exit the traffic flow. This has happened on several occasions. It is unsafe when the condition occurs in heavy traffic.

- Co Spring , CO, USA

problem #79

Apr 102013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle would lose acceleration power sporadically. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where a diagnostic was performed, which located the failure at the transmission swirl unit. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 74,000 and the current mileage was 76,000...updated 10/30/13 updated 10/31/2013

- Lake Forest Park , WA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?