Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
64,442 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #54

Aug 012016

Grand Cherokee

  • 155,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving at freeway speeds (approximately 75mph) the vehicle intermittently stalled several times and twice in 1-hr it completely shutdown. The motor lost all power. It requires a complete restart of the vehicle. The key must be turned to the off position and restarted. It has done this several times before. It seams to happen under a load or while accelerating or pulling a hill. It has happened in high traffic circumstances and has at times been difficult and dangerous to pull to the side of the road. I've taken it to Jeep to have it repaired. They apparently have a star case number S1218000003 in which they say to change the spark plugs. This seems like a dangerous situation to put consumers in.

- Washington, UT, USA

problem #53

May 132013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the four wheel drive warning light flickered. The windshield wipers randomly activated and the instrument panel gauges randomly flashed without warning. The dealer replaced the ignition switch; however, the four wheel drive warning light continued to illuminate. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was previously serviced under NHTSA campaign numbers: 13V175000 (electrical system, power train) and 14V567000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The failure mileage was not available.

- Brooklyn Park, MN, USA

problem #52

Dec 032015

Grand Cherokee

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving 50 mph, the vehicle lost power. In addition, the accelerator pedal was depressed, but the vehicle failed to accelerate. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V470000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 80,000.

- Franklin, PA, USA

problem #51

Dec 052015

Grand Cherokee

  • 127,232 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2008 Grand Cherokee will not start at all. Dash light up but will not turn over. Battery in new. Starter tested and ok. Win recall was performed. 4WD software updates were performed. Over the past year the vehicle has had multiple no start/no crank issues. After few hours or days, it will turn over. Vehicles is always parked/not moving when this occurs. The dealer wants me to pay out of pocket for the tow for a diagnostic test. If the test does not show anything, I pay another $120 for the diag and have to pay for tow elsewhere. Jeep customer service is useless. I pay monthly payment and insurance for a driveway ornament.

- Tobyhanna, PA, USA

problem #50

Oct 022015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
I took it in for a recall P73...they instead tried to get money for oil changes and other things that came to over $1000 was suppose to take 4 hours had my Jeep for 2 days..said unless I paid them $130 to replace a badly corroded tc connector they wouldn't do it...got my Jeep back looked at the tc connector and it was not corroded..in the mean time I called fca and they said it showed the recall work was done..it was not!..they lied..it also needs a new tc motor that some do need on the recall, lucky me mine was one...now what..they didn't do it and this could cause me harm or a accident...

- Fountain, CO, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #49

Oct 072015

Grand Cherokee

  • 121,000 miles
The vehicle shuts off for no apparent reason with no warning. It has happened multiple times. Sometimes while in reverse, sometimes while in drive and sometimes while moving from reverse to drive. It has happened at low speeds and at speeds up to 30 mph. Sometimes the vehicle won't let you shift to park to restart it. There are no indicator lights when it happens. Very scary as its happening more frequently. It has happened in dry and wet conditions, on residential and city streets. All indications are that ithe cause is the same as other Fiat Chrysler recalls fir the 2008 Grand Cherokee though ours is not on a recall list.

- Clarkston, MI, USA

problem #48

Apr 082015

Grand Cherokee

  • 89,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle experienced multiple electrical failures. The contact mentioned that the radio was not turning on, the vehicle failed to shift and would not accelerate past 25 mph. The contact mentioned that in order for the vehicle to resume normal function, the key had to be removed from the ignition switch. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 89,000. MA 10/21/15

- West Yarmouth, MA, USA

problem #47

Aug 022013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V175000 (electrical system, power train); however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. MA 10/25/15

- Boyne City , MI, USA

problem #46

Nov 012014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the part needed to remedy the failure was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. MA 08/17/15 the consumer stated the vehicle repeatedly refused to come out of park. Updated 09/03/15

- Sellersburg, IN, USA

problem #45

Jan 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. When the ignition was turned to the on position, the vehicle did not start. The contact stated that the key had to be turned to the off position then back to the on position in order for the vehicle to start. Once the vehicle was started, it would not shift out of the park position unless the ignition was turned to the off position and back to the on position. The failure recurred continuously in cold weather. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the ignition switch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 75,000.

- Huntington, NY, USA

problem #44

Feb 232015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 60,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My transmission goes from drive to 4th gear on its own and stays there this is extremely dangerous also my engine light and other lights come off and on & also water is coming into the vehicle around the molding this vehicle is a defect and is unsafe to drive.

- Shaker Heights, OH, USA

problem #43

Nov 202014

Grand Cherokee

  • 80,000 miles
The 5.7 liter hemi motor in all Chrysler vehicles have this similar issue. The driver side exhaust manifold bolts break and an exhaust leak sputters out of the driver side engine compartment. I spoke to several mechanics and Chrysler service technicians and they all confirm it is a common repair. I have also seen numerous complaints online. The cost to replace the manifold and drill out the broken bolts is around $700. Although this is not a safety issue I still believe it should be recalled instead of the manufacturer passing the bill to the consumer. It occurs to nearly all 5.7 liter hemi engines at some point.

- Miami Beach, FL, USA

problem #42

May 082014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 77,000 miles
While driving vehicle suddenly stalled wouldn't restart for several tries then finally did. Never stalled again until recently. Sometimes it starts in neutral other times it has to be put in park. Upon restart vehicle drives as if nothing has ever happened. It now stalls at idle or when accelerating or even while driving at a steady rate of speed. I have been paying close attention to the key position and it seems normal in the on position and doesn't seem to be the reason behind this erratic stall situation. Numerous accounts of similar situations have been noted here and on other websites. I keep my vehicle well maintained and tuned, it runs great. Many times weeks or months go by without any stalls.

- Miami Beach, FL, USA

problem #41

Oct 042011

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
Vehicle would die unexpectedly and not restart until transmission was put in park position. Several incidents ie stopped at light, acceleration to turnpike, slow street driving this would disable steering and create difficult braking.

- Yukon, OK, USA

problem #40

Oct 222014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
I filed my second complaint on 07/14/2014 component(s): Electronic stability control, unknown or other date of incident: 06/28/2014 NHTSA id number: 10610308 on 10/22 I transferred my Jeep transmission into neutral to tow behind our rv. When I took my foot off the brake the Jeep electronic fdcm threw it into 4WD and it lurched forward almost hitting our rv and my husband who was working on hooking up the vehicle. I warned your office in January and again in July that this was a safety issue but had no idea it could do this!! I was concerned about needing 4WD and not having it. Now I am concerned about our physical safety. Nothing has been done to make Chrysler Fiat step up, own up the N23 debacle that caused this issue and fix it. They must be held accountable and fix this before someone is injured or killed. Please do not ignore this complaint and just another Jeep owner complaining about the N23 recall. This is a serious safety issue!!!!

- Hancock, NY, USA

problem #39

Sep 212014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 102,450 miles
Vehicle has had a history of unresolved electrical issues beginning at the time of purchase. In 2009, the ignition switch began to fail and the key fob was replaced. Due to a VIN number issue with a replacement program, Chrysler refused to replace the key assemblies though they were replacing identical assemblies on other vehicles that used the same modules. Several "reprogramming" have been conducted to clear problems. Specific issues include: 1. erratic behavior of electrical system that stems from the operation of the ignition switch. For example the engine will start but the vehicle will be impossible to shift out of park and the radio/navigation will not work until you jiggle the ignition switch and key fob. 2. chronic failure of the electronic throttle. You can be driving along at any speed and you will lose throttle control. This has caused several near miss accidents. The problem is acknowledged by a check engine light and lighting of an specific idiot light on the dash. However, the lack of throttle response is very dangerous and can be restored by only stopping the vehicle and shutting down the engine several times to reset the electronics. 3. chronic failure of the dealership to address proper correction of the electrical problems. Vehicle was covered by a full warranty and an extended warranty but these problems were never repaired. Due to sporadic and random nature of the systems faults, the dealership refuses to make repairs. 4. dealerships unable to clear check engine light and blame issues on the fact this unit has a diesel engine. Local waterway car wash is refusing to wash these vehicles due to rapid and unattended acceleration issues which have caused accidents at their car washes. This problem can be documented by calling them by telephone. They consider the vehicles to be a safety risk. Please help!

- Lenexa, KS, USA

problem #38

Sep 012014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
This Jeep had the N23 recall done and I posted earlier about the ongoing problems not going into 4 lo and neutral...but the problem is worse than before the recall and is a safety issue now. This problem is worse on mine than I first thought. But if the intent by Chrysler to solve a safety problem with going into neutral unintentionally, was the reason for the recall, they failed. I just did some tests on my 08 gc and found: Ignition on, motor off in any gear but park and the transfer case is in neutral. In park it's locked. Motor on, the transfer case won't go into for 4 lo or neutral and the service "4 wd" comes on immediately when trying to go into 4 lo or neutral. My scanner shows no codes, and the message on the evic disappears once the Jeep is off and then restarted. In summary, if the Jeep stalls and the key is still on, the transfer case is in neutral!!! this is more of a safety issue than before.

- Des Moines, WA, USA

problem #37

May 062014

Grand Cherokee

  • 45,345 miles
Chrysler issued a recall (N23) for problems with Jeep transfer cases shifting into neutral unexpectedly. I've seen no posts where this actually happened. Against my better judgment, I had the recall done. Immediately people started having issues with 4lo no longer working, and "service 4WD" messages showing on the dash. These are my symptoms also. People that flat tow the Jeep behind a motor home could no longer switch the transfer case to neutral (ironic huh?). what does Chrysler do" they don't even acknowledge their problem. A year after the fiasco started, the dealer that did my recall doesn't know about the issue" apparently Chrysler dealers loaded defective software or installed the software improperly. The software cannot be unloaded and reverted to before the recall. Chrysler's answer when I called 800 number yesterday, over a year since this recall fiasco started, was for me to pay the dealer to diagnose the symptom and if the diagnostic code is correct, they'll reload the software...after I've paid the service call! there are thousands of posts on line about the problems with the N23 recall, both on automotive sites and rv sites from owners that flat tow them. And Chrysler has their head in the sand...or elsewhere. This is the biggest scam. Per the posts, Chrysler is charging people thousands to replace components when it's the recall that started the problem. The problem occurs immediately when trying to actuate 4 lo. It doesn't go into 4 lo and the service 4WD message occurs on the information center. I had to show the dealer the service bulletin number calling attention to the problem, from posts on the web. That tells me that Chrysler is not even informing their own dealers about the problem created by the N23 recall. And the quadratrac II transfer case with the 4lo capability is an option upgrade. The recall takes away this functionality!

- Des Moines, WA, USA

problem #36

Mar 032014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 29,000 miles
The vehicle has two chronic problems, the most severe of which is that it suddenly shifts into neutral while being driven, resulting in a sudden & dangerous loss of acceleration and maneuverability. Recovery action requires pulling off the road to shut off and re-start the engine. This problem has occurred at least twenty times, usually in damp or rainy weather conditions. Two different Jeep dealers have been unable to diagnose or fix the problem! one dealer thought replacing a module for about $900 would solve the issue but it did not. The other chronic problem is that the car sometimes will not start for no apparent reason!

- Tinley Park, IL, USA

problem #35

Apr 192008

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 350 miles
Vehicle shuts off and all electrical and power steering inoperable. Shut offs happen intermittently at speeds from 20 mph to 70 mph. It generally occurs upon hitting road bumps, rail road tracks or pot holes. These incidents have happened 4-6 times per year. I have taken the vehicle to Chrysler's service engineering garage and Suburban Chrysler Jeep and they are unable to replicate or fix the issue. There have been 2 additional shut off incidents in the past 3 days with 2 different drivers. Vehicle will restart upon placing transmission in neutral and restarting. Based upon Chrysler recall campaign for similar issues with 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee, I believe my 2008 Grand Cherokee is subject to the same issues as earlier models. Updated 4/24/2015

- Novi, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?