Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
70,644 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #65

Nov 102014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles


I was notified of a recall dated 11/10/14, number 957 NHTSA 14V-567. I was advised the part required was not available. I have looked this recall up on your website and the status states that no remedy is available, seven months later! according to the recall notice, this could "increase the risk of crash under certain driving conditions", "this could increase the risk of vehicle occupant injury during a crash". therefore, apparently I, occupants of my car, and others are in danger. I need to request immediate attention to this long overdue recall. Thank you, harry harrison

- Oakland, NJ, USA

problem #64

May 122015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
Key fob looses contact with ignition

- Ashley, PA, USA

problem #63

Oct 142014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
My vehicle shut off going over a bump in the road. My vehicle has done this on numerous occasions, twice in the middle of intersections and once on a railroad track. I was sent an important safety recall notice from Chrysler (notification code P57) approximately 3 months ago and have not heard anything since then and this issue has progressively got worse over the last several months. I did contact the local Chrysler dealership and they had no information to provide and I also had my vehicle in to be serviced for this issue about one year ago with no issue identified by riverside auto group in marinette, wi. I also called Chrysler at 800-853-1403 and they had no update on this issue or any idea when this recall would occur to fix this issue. I cannot afford to purchase a different vehicle and this issue has become a safety concern for me and my family. What recourse do I have here" am I expected to continue driving a vehicle with serious safety issues with the ignition switch just because Chrysler is not addressing this issue in a timely fashion? does the NHTSA have any other recourse I can take on this" I am certain I am not alone with this issue and I would hate to see someone get hurt or killed, because of the lack of prioritizing by Chrysler.

- Menominee, MI, USA

problem #62

May 082014

Grand Cherokee

  • 80,000 miles


While driving the vehicle on the hwy all the interior lights on the dashboard flickered on, and then the car lost power. Has happened multiple times since the, and we haven't driven it in 3 months. Chrysler sent us a recall notice last year, but still has not manufactured a part to replace this safety recall. Recall # P57 / NHTSA 14V-567. Since this problem started I have wasted time and money trying to have it repaired..... and it keeps on happening. Jeep dealers should issue loaner cars, until they have a part to fix this.

- Parkland, FL, USA

problem #61

Apr 012015

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
The vehicle has shut off randomly with key in on position, once happening while driving. Dealer states there is no open recall on this and to remove key rings from keys. Only thing inserted at time of issue is key fob removed from emergency access key so not a key weight issue, driver is short so knee can not contact at all.

- Bethel, CT, USA

problem #60

Feb 202015

Grand Cherokee

  • 65,700 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that when the vehicle was in a park position, the engine stalled. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 65,700.

- Jeannette , PA, USA

problem #59

Mar 152014

Grand Cherokee

  • 141,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at 35 mph, there was a sudden increase in engine rpms. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician was unable to diagnose or repair the vehicle. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 141,000.

- Horseshoe Bend, AR, USA

problem #58

Mar 032015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
I purchased this vehicle on August 13, 2014 from dick scott Dodge used vehicle department. In January 2015, the car would not start and had to be towed to dick scott Dodge. The starter had to be replaced on the vehicle. Today, my vehicle would not start again and had to be towed yet again to dick scott Dodge for repair. There is a pending recall on this vehicle that cannot be completed at this time due to the parts not being available. I have been told that this model and year vehicle has been known to have faulty starter issues.

- Belleville, MI, USA

problem #57

May 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • 60,000 miles
Have had nothing but problems with this Jeep. Purchased it as a certified pre-owned and it has been in the dealer for service a substantial amount. Main issue is the car does not start when I turn the key fob. Have got towed to the dealership three times with this same issue, once in May 2014, again in July 2014 and again in September 2014. Dealer cannot find solution to fix. Coincidentally, I receive a notice from Chrysler in November 2014, notice number P57 which states there is a recall on the ignition! I went for (3) weeks in may and a full month in July with a loaner! four months after I receive the recall notice, the problem is not fixed. My ''ad hoc'' solution when car does not start is to slam the door with the key in the ignition position. This seems to start the car. Pitiful that this is how I must start the car now as there seems to be nothing else I can do...

- Bayville, NY, USA

problem #56

Nov 202014

Grand Cherokee

  • 76,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at an unknown speed, the engine seized without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but it was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system) in November of 2014. The contact stated that the vehicle experienced the same failures listed in the recall. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 76,000.

- Pound Ridge , NY, USA

problem #55

Feb 202014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 136,000 miles


All of a sudden one day it was fine and next was terrible shuddering and lunging. Checked all fluids and oil was a bit low so filled to proper level. Water level was full. When I took to dealership Jeep they said I only had one pound of oil pressure and maybe it was lifters. In two week at the Jeep dealership I still do not have any answers. Engine sounded like it was starving for fuel. Had proper fuel in it and was sufficient. Terrible knocking and lunging action while driving carefully and slowly.

- Yadkinville, NC, USA

problem #54

Aug 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving approximately 60 mph, the vehicle suddenly shut off. After pulling off the road and restarting the engine, the vehicle operated as normal. The contact indicated that the failure occurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 45,000.

- Vineland, NJ, USA

problem #53

Nov 012013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Check engine light problem - the light comes on most of the time. I have taken the car to several mechanics but they have been unable to find out what the problem is. I think this started after I got a new battery. Car runs otherwise ok.

- Astoria, NY, USA

problem #52

Dec 252014

Grand Cherokee

  • 66,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at 45 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was restarted and operated normally. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 66,000.

- Magma, UT, USA

problem #51

May 082014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 77,000 miles
While driving vehicle suddenly stalled wouldn't restart for several tries then finally did. Never stalled again until recently. Sometimes it starts in neutral other times it has to be put in park. Upon restart vehicle drives as if nothing has ever happened. It now stalls at idle or when accelerating or even while driving at a steady rate of speed. I have been paying close attention to the key position and it seems normal in the on position and doesn't seem to be the reason behind this erratic stall situation. Numerous accounts of similar situations have been noted here and on other websites. I keep my vehicle well maintained and tuned, it runs great. Many times weeks or months go by without any stalls.

- Miami Beach, FL, USA

problem #50

Nov 122014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 79,872 miles
As I was about to exit the freeway onto exit ramp I heard a click and the vehicle just turned off. This is not the first time this has happened. Four times prior but at much lower speeds....parking lot speeds. I also seem to be having a problem at times when I start the vehicle. It just turns off. I have taken the vehicle in to the dealer twice and they have run all the diagnostics but have been unable to identify a problem.

- Delray Beach, FL, USA

problem #49

Sep 132012

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
My Jeep turned off while driving on the highway. I had to put the Jeep in neutral and restart it. This has happened about 9 or 10 times. It happens randomly and infrequently. Not sure what the problem is but it is definitely scary when it happens. Also the key fell out of the ignition once, the car remained running.

- Newport, RI, USA

problem #48

Oct 302014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 114,400 miles
Engine suddenly dies at highway speed. With great difficulty I managed to get to the breakdown lane. Car started right up. Second time similar has happened.

- Duxbury, MA, USA

problem #47

Oct 042011

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
Vehicle would die unexpectedly and not restart until transmission was put in park position. Several incidents ie stopped at light, acceleration to turnpike, slow street driving this would disable steering and create difficult braking.

- Yukon, OK, USA

problem #46

Oct 012011

Grand Cherokee

  • 18,000 miles
My engine has shut down and the electrical system powered down while driving many times (more than 60 times in the last 3 years). This has happened at many speeds between 0 (standing still) and 60 mph. When the vehicle shuts down, steering becomes very difficult and brakes work to a minimum. I've taken my Grand Cherokee to the Jeep Agency many times, and they keep saying that nothing is wrong with it. Only once they told me it was an oxygen censored, which they changed, but the problem persisted constantly. This is a very dangerous situation as the vehicle can become very difficult to control at which speeds I bought my Jeep Grand Cherokee 2008 in Mexico city.

- Coronado, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?