Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
70,644 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #45

Sep 152014

Grand Cherokee

  • 42,000 miles


When driving my 2008 Jeep with only 40,000 miles my car stalled out. The car completely turned off disabling breaking, steering and making my gears unable to move. The car continued to drive leaving me helpless in stopping this moving vehicle. I finally had to with a my strength punch the gear into park where my car then finally stopped moving. I was only going 20 mph but imagine what could of occurred if I was on a highway, this letter which have a much different tone. I tried calling Jeep to explain what occurred not only because I felt their car failed and they should pay for my expenses on their failed part, but also to note it for a recall. I have researched and see that I am not the only one that has experienced this occurring with this Jeep. This is very dangerous and there should be immediate recalls so no one gets hurts as this is a very serious problem and I am lucky my outcome did not end in a worse way!

- Los Angeles , CA, USA

problem #44

Sep 232014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
Incident 1 (9/23/2014): Driving at 25mph in a straight line when there was a loud "clunk" sound and the engine shut down with several dashboard warning lights lit. Loss of power steering and power braking. Was able to pull vehicle to a side street and come to a complete stop. Upon placing the vehicle in park and turning the ignition to the off position, was able to restart the vehicle and resume trip. No dashboard warning lights remained lit, no other issues driving. Incident 2 (9/30/2014): Driving less than 5mph in a parking lot. Vehicle stalled without loud clunk with several dashboard warning lights lit. Loss of power and power braking. Was able to put vehicle in neutral and cycle the engine off and on to restart. Vehicle resumed normally with no dashboard warning lights lit. Purchased vehicle used on 9/18/2014, so unsure if this has been a recurring problem.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #43

Sep 212014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 102,450 miles
Vehicle has had a history of unresolved electrical issues beginning at the time of purchase. In 2009, the ignition switch began to fail and the key fob was replaced. Due to a VIN number issue with a replacement program, Chrysler refused to replace the key assemblies though they were replacing identical assemblies on other vehicles that used the same modules. Several "reprogramming" have been conducted to clear problems. Specific issues include: 1. erratic behavior of electrical system that stems from the operation of the ignition switch. For example the engine will start but the vehicle will be impossible to shift out of park and the radio/navigation will not work until you jiggle the ignition switch and key fob. 2. chronic failure of the electronic throttle. You can be driving along at any speed and you will lose throttle control. This has caused several near miss accidents. The problem is acknowledged by a check engine light and lighting of an specific idiot light on the dash. However, the lack of throttle response is very dangerous and can be restored by only stopping the vehicle and shutting down the engine several times to reset the electronics. 3. chronic failure of the dealership to address proper correction of the electrical problems. Vehicle was covered by a full warranty and an extended warranty but these problems were never repaired. Due to sporadic and random nature of the systems faults, the dealership refuses to make repairs. 4. dealerships unable to clear check engine light and blame issues on the fact this unit has a diesel engine. Local waterway car wash is refusing to wash these vehicles due to rapid and unattended acceleration issues which have caused accidents at their car washes. This problem can be documented by calling them by telephone. They consider the vehicles to be a safety risk. Please help!

- Lenexa, KS, USA

problem #42

Sep 102014

Grand Cherokee

  • 200,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 40 mph, the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was able to restart, but the failure recurred on three occasions. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 200,000.

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #41

Jun 012013

Grand Cherokee

  • 99,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 50 mph, the engine stalled without warning. The vehicle was able to restart after multiple attempts. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing, but the cause of the failure could not be determined. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 99,000.

- Aurora, IL, USA

problem #40

Aug 282014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 64,275 miles
My vehicle kept stalling like it was running out of gas and I took it to the Jeep dealer. They kept my car for a week and couldn't figure out what was wrong with it.they told me it might be a fuel pump issue but they weren't positive so they asked me to pick up my car and keep a log. The second time it happened I took it back to the dealer and they kept my car for 5 weeks and couldn't replicate the issue. The customer service was awful. They basically told me they didn't know what was wrong and asked me to pick up my car. I picked my car up and the first day I drove it to work it left me stranded on the highway. The car started stalling out and I couldn't maintain my speed on the highway. I had the gas pushed all the way down and I was barely able to get up to 45 mph on a 65 mph highway. I had it towed to a different Jeep dealer which said it was the transmission which I had to pay to have fixed but I think it was related to the fuel pump issue and the transmission blowing up was a result of that not being fixed. The car is starting to have a knocking sound when I drive it again and I'm not convinced I won't be stranded on the side of the road again. It's completely unacceptable that when I had a problem with my Jeep I take it to the dealer and they don't know what's wrong and can't help me. If they don't know, who is supposed to know"? I feel that my children and I are unsafe in this car. It's unacceptable that a car just stalls out of nowhere on a highway and Jeep/Chrysler acted like they could care less. Like it was my problem and not theirs. They inconvenienced me for over 5 weeks and I still don't have a reliable car that I feel safe to drive. Completely unacceptable. Is it going to take someone being seriously injured or killed for Chrysler to do the right thing"

- Columbia, MD, USA

problem #39

Nov 202013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 75,033 miles


On 11-20-13, car died at a stop sign at northbound bradshaw at sheldon in sacramento county, ca. Car was towed to auto shop in loomis, ca. Since 11-20-13, this vehicle has died a total of 8 times, at various speeds from 0 mph to 65 mph. On two occasions, I was in the middle lane of West bound I-80 near rocklin, ca, going approximately 65 mph. Car has been in the shop at autonation Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram in roseville, ca on several occasions. The car was delivered to autonation on 9-17-14 (two days ago), and their shop will, once again, try to determine the cause of the problem.

- Penryn, CA, USA

problem #38

Aug 272014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 100,400 miles
While driving onto a major roadway with my wife and kids in the vehicle the car just stalled out and I lost all control of the vehicle. Luckily there was no other vehicles on the road. I turned the key to off and started the car right up again. I researched this online to find this is a widespread issue and I cannot believe the NHTSA has done nothing after the entire GM scandal with cars shutting off causing several fatalities.

- Massapequa, NY, USA

problem #37

Mar 032014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 29,000 miles
The vehicle has two chronic problems, the most severe of which is that it suddenly shifts into neutral while being driven, resulting in a sudden & dangerous loss of acceleration and maneuverability. Recovery action requires pulling off the road to shut off and re-start the engine. This problem has occurred at least twenty times, usually in damp or rainy weather conditions. Two different Jeep dealers have been unable to diagnose or fix the problem! one dealer thought replacing a module for about $900 would solve the issue but it did not. The other chronic problem is that the car sometimes will not start for no apparent reason!

- Tinley Park, IL, USA

problem #36

May 202014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,500 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at 5-10 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 40,500 and the current mileage was 41,088. Updated 9/4/14 the dealer installed a new ignition module. Updated 11/18/14

- Hudson, MA, USA

problem #35

Jul 082013

Grand Cherokee

  • 60,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start without any warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 60,000 and the current mileage was 70,000.

- North Branford , CT, USA

problem #34

Jun 152014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 63,782 miles
Driving on an onramp to the garden state parkway truck shut off and lost all power to motor.. had to cost to side of highway and try to restart vehicle.. this put me in danger of not only causing a major highway crash leading to injury and death but also had to figure out what is still wrong with this truck.. the only way to start this vehicle is to come to a complete stop.. put it into park... remove the key fob... re insert key fob and truck starts right back up... since 2008 I have filled reports of this exact problem happening.. and no fix has come from Jeep or a recall forcing action of these Jeep Grand Cherokee.. in researching this problem I have found this has been a common problem in the Jeep Grand Cherokee line going back to 2007 and still you or Chrysler corporation has not taken action. Please my life as well as others driving on the road could be saved be a recall to address this very serious issue... I ask you will it take me death or the death of others to get a response from some one. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Freeport , NY, USA

problem #33

Apr 102010

Grand Cherokee

  • 11,000 miles
Owner of 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee on a regular basis hear a click and the power shuts off. You find yourself with no power steering, no power brakes, and no lights. This also occurs sometimes when you go over a bump or if your knee touches the key ring. The ignition key and mechanisms was replaced in 2010, and this above problem has been occurring off and on since then. In the past two years the occurrence has increased. The technicians can find nothing wrong in the car. Chrysler will not admit that the ignition fob and housing is defective, or that their is any problem. This problem is potentially life threatening if it occurs when there is no place to pull over and if hit, air bags will not deploy when the engine is off.

- Moon Twp, PA, USA

problem #32

Jun 032014

Grand Cherokee

  • 85,200 miles
While driving on interstate 15 vehicle engine started to shift back and forth. All the sudden engine light appeared and vehicle shut off. I was able to restart the vehicle, but when vehicle reach a certain speed as it decelerate. Engine commence to shift back and forth. Vehicle speed decelerate and engine light appears. Vehicle was diagnosed with a bad camshaft sensor. Sensor was replaced but vehicle still decelerating and shutting off while driving. I'm taking vehicle in tomorrow, but pray the fix the problem. Only transportation but family safety at risk!

- Chula Vista , CA, USA

problem #31

Jun 072014

Grand Cherokee

  • 94,002 miles
Has been happening off and on since purchasing car used about 2 years ago. Driving down the road, usually bumpy road, car turns off- dead. Have had it fixed twice before. Found to be key and ignition switch (April 2013) now doing it again. Dealership reported to me similar problem with a Dodge Caravan. Report they cannot figure out what is wrong with it since it is intermittent problem. Will do this at various speeds. Very random.

- Eau Claire, MI, USA

problem #30

Jan 012014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
No 4X4 low ever since I had the N23 recall work performed to reprogram the final drive controller. Called Chrysler about it and the scheduled an appointment for me at a dealer. Dealer said the transfer case actuator motor is fried and needs to be replaced. They also said that the part is back ordered 6-8 weeks because so many people have had this problem after having the N23 recall work performed. Chrysler says that the issue is not related to the recall work and they will not cover the repair. I did some of my own research and there are 1000's of other people who ar having the same issue. I've given Chrysler many opportunities to address this issue but they refuse to do so.

- Gray, ME, USA

problem #29

Apr 252014

Grand Cherokee

  • 39,500 miles
While driving on the road normally no noises, vehicle went to a complete stop. I wouldn't start. We try starting it, dead starter and battery. Bought a new starter and new battery engine does not turn at all. Engine completely stiff. Went to the shop, we try to turn the engine by hand; completely stiff. The dealer in port au prince, haiti (safari motors) has many Jeep Cherokee with the same issue they don't even know what to do and clients are frustrated, very disappointed with the dealer and also mopar of America. They will not help anyone with a known issue this vehicle has all around the world.

- Petionville, FL, USA

problem #28

Mar 202014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 75,500 miles
I have previously entered a similar complaint for this same vehicle. The issue is that the vehicle stalls/shuts off for no reason while driving. Chrysler is unable to provide a reliable fix. This began in May 2012 - my vehicle simply shut off while driving in any number of conditions whether it be on the highway, side roads, etc. I removed all excess keys from my key ring to ensure that it was not the key being too heavy. Brought this in to my dealership, they replaced the win control module but couldn't guarantee that this would fix the problem. Vehicle stalled once while driving unexpectedly about 9 months later. Then vehicle stopped twice in October 2013. At that time I brought the vehicle to another dealership. They at first wanted to replace the win module. When I told them that was the fix from before and it didn't work, they advised that the front control module be replaced, as there was a recall on this but my vehicle was one day past the date of manufacturing impact in the recall, but was having the same exact issue. Replaced front control module in October 2013. Vehicle stopped unexpectedly while driving again twice in March 2014 - on March 20th and March 21st. Vehicle is back at the dealer where they again want to replace the win module. Again, this fix was provided previously and did not fix the car. Either the wins being produced by chyrsler are all faulty and I somehow have gotten 2 in a row or there is an underlying issue that cannot be found or addressed. This issue is very prevalent with 2008 Grand Cherokee. Chrysler is sitting on a very dangerous issue.

- Boston, MA, USA

problem #27

Feb 272014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Vehicle engine suddenly stopped on hwy at 70 mph (this is the 3rd time it has happened in the last 9 months). I was able to get the vehicle off the hwy. It started up after coming to a stop. I took the vehicle into the dealership and they informed me that they were aware of this problem (had worked on previous Grand Cherokee and even had the Chrysler engineers out to try and help them). They did inspections on my vehicle for 5 days and said they could not duplicate the problem or find anything out from the vehicle computer. They told me to contact Chrysler. I was eventually given to a case manager. They initially said they could not do anything and now they keep delaying getting back to me. This has been 2 weeks with no solution in sight. This is a major safety problem and the vehicle should not be driven without some fixes. I also have a 7 yr/100,000 mile platinum wraparound warranty that should cover whatever is wrong.

- Alpine, CA, USA

problem #26

Dec 162013

Grand Cherokee

  • 65,750 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee limited. The contact stated that while approximately 10 mph, the vehicle stalled as all of the warning lights on the instrument panel illuminated. The vehicle was able to be restarted. The failure was recurring. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, who could not duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 65,750.

- Mechanicsville, MD, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?