Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
34,242 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #12

May 212009

Grand Cherokee

  • 5,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Intermittently while driving the vehicle would stall without any prior warnings. Although the vehicle was shut off, the radio would continue to play. When restarting the vehicle, the engine light would illuminate on the instrument control panel. She took the vehicle to the dealership four times, but the technicians could not identify a cause for the failure. She contacted the manufacturer and was advised to taken the vehicle back to the dealership. The current mileage was 11,098. The failure mileage was approximately 5,000.

- Madison, AL, USA

problem #11

Oct 112008

Grand Cherokee

  • 36,500 miles
2008 Grand Cherokee 4X4 4.7L flexfuel stalling at various highway speeds. Throttle lagging, harsh up/down shifting, hesitation on torque demand, fuel mileage reduced by 20%. after the first two stalling occurrences, the dealership replaced the FCM (front control module) since the serial number of the installed one-337- matched the February 2008 recall, although Chrysler database VIN recall search came back empty??!! the third and fourth stalling events were followed up by the replacement of the PCM (powertrain control module) since a "soft fault"-"torque request denied" was found stored within the controller. However, after six hundred miles, a fifth stalling occurred. This time a hard fault related to the map sensor (intake manifold absolute pressure) was found. The replacement was scheduled in 48 hours. There were six dealership appointments(only two documented though ??!!) and it was invariably either "we have to order the part" or "there is nothing wrong we could point at". the almost new vehicle is not safe to be driven on public roads. Yet Chrysler never provided a temporary replacement until the safety hazard could be located and eliminated. After every attempt of solving the problem, the customer is sent away to try his (her) good luck with a vehicle which might be okay. I don't think this a professional approach for both Chrysler and the dealership servicing the vehicle. Guessing and safety does not belong within the same sentence !

- Clinton, IA, USA

problem #10

Jul 252009

Grand Cherokee

  • 31,000 miles
2008 Grand Cherokee 4X4 4.7L flexfuel extremely sluggish on throttle demand (305 hp "?"!!!), harsh transmission up/down shift and stalling at highway speeds (four occurrences within five weeks). The dealership performed the February 2008 recall of the FCM (front control module) after being directed by the customer to do so since the serial # on the module matched the "wrongly manufactured" ones; however, the VIN search within Chrysler recall database returned empty. Evidently, the dealership owning the new vehicle at the date of the recall never performed it (as required by law). The incident repeated after the replacement of the FCM. The dealership retrieved an ABS fault code hence decided that the PCM (powertrain control module) is defective"?"!!! ( seven days on back order) "lifetime powertrain warranty" seems to be accomplished by ignoring of the driver's safety. The software running on the PCM should never be given the choice of immediately shutting off of the engine especially when the vehicle travels at a high rate of speed. Modern steering and braking systems are almost non-operational when there is no available assisting power.

- Clinton, IA, USA

problem #9

Jul 252009

Grand Cherokee

  • 27,000 miles


Crank sensor failed in 2008 Jeep overland diesel, loss or power and inability to restart on highway, also I am stranded 1500 km S from home awaiting the replacement part.

- Kingston, 00, USA

problem #8

Nov 182008

Grand Cherokee

  • 100 miles
2008 Grand Cherokee overland - stalls intermittently while driving. Occurs every so often - have to steer it to the side of the road, turn off engine and turn it back on. It happens even when standing still at a red light. It happened when there was little mileage on the car, and it keeps happening took it twice to service station. Can find nothing wrong. Started happening November 2008 and still happens.

- Yonkers, NY, USA

problem #7

Nov 012008

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,514 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While stopped at a red light, the vehicle began to shake and lose power. The vehicle was taken to the dealer to have the PCM programmed. The PCM did not stop the shaking; however, the vehicle no longer jerked forward. The vehicle has been at the dealer five times for the shaking issue, but they cannot remedy the failure. The contact feels that this is a safety issue because the shaking and jerking almost caused a crash. The current mileage is 11,700 and failure mileage was 5,514. Updated 6/4/09 the rear view mirror was out of frame, the engine had a rough idle and it felt as though it was going to stall. Updated 06/09/09. The consumer she and her husband were displeased with the arbitration boards' decision. The consumer stated the vehicle would surge forward and vibrate when at a stop and would feel as though the vehicle would stall, even more without the air condition turned on. The explanation the consumer was given that the air condition will cycle on at the same time the cooling fans which was said to cause the problem. Updated 11/02/09.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #6

Dec 132008

Grand Cherokee

  • 5,300 miles


Sudden acceleration/ loss of brakes. Vehicle accelerated to full throttle while entering from freeway onramp. The driver took foot off accelerator and vehicles accelerator pedal continued to move downward to full throttle and would not decelerate after an attempt to "pump" the accelerator pedal to try and get the pedal to release. The automobile was then put in neutral and the engine would not slow down in" RPM's". the brakes were applied and an attempt was made to stop the vehicle and the brakes were not functioning properly with the automobile coming to a very long and slow stop white trying to maneuver the automobile to the side of the road. Once the vehicle was brought to a stop the motor was still at an extreme "RPM" level. The motor was turned off at the ignition switch and the engine finally stopped running. After sitting at the side of the road for sometime the vehicle was restarted and driven to a safe location where the driver let the vehicle sit for an hour or two and restarted for the final drive home(about five miles). The vehicle was taken to the dealers service department the next business day. The dealer ran a scan on the vehicle and diagnosed that the event occurred as stated. The dealer consulted Chrysler service center and were recommended to replace the throttle and brake modules for the sudden acceleration and braking problems. The vehicle parts are at the dealer with the vehicle. The vehicle was test driven by the dealer and the customer was told the vehicle was ready. When the customer asked if the vehicle was repaired and safe the service department representative said "we installed the recommended parts by Chrysler service" and would not say if the vehicle was repaired properly or safe from the sudden acceleration/brake problem. The vehicle as of today 12-24-2008 remains at the dealer.

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #5

Nov 152008

Grand Cherokee

  • 2,500 miles
Problem #1: 11/15/08, 1800-1900hr, driving 65mph interstate in Maryland after heavy rain. No warning: Headlights out, engine stopped, dashboard mostly dark. Radio stayed on. Hit 4-way flashers, drove to side of road. Engine restarted easily. Car had 2500 miles on odometer. Purchased new 8/25/08. Jeep dealer unable to find fault code or replicate problem. 2nd problem: Horn only works with heavy pressure from fist. Dealer has replaced horn pad twice and switch once.

- Clifton, VA, USA

problem #4

Oct 262008

Grand Cherokee

  • 17,250 miles
I was driving my '08 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo and driving on an on-ramp today to get on the freeway going about 35mph, when all of the sudden I lost all of the electric in my Jeep. The radio went out, the odometer and temp/compass went blank, and I lost the power steering. Luckily I was able to steer it over to the side. I then turned it off and back on and there didn't seem to be any problems. I drove it another hour and half home and didn't have any other issues. No check engine light or warning lights came on at any time I took it to the Jeep dealer, however they claimed they could not find any issues.

- Altamonte Springs, FL, USA

problem #3

Aug 142008

Grand Cherokee

  • 8,000 miles
I was heading home 8/14/08 6pm when a torrential downpour took place. I entered flooded street, other cars were passing through. In about 8 inches of water the car stalled. When I tried to restart it started to smoke and smelled like something burning. I abandoned the car and had it towed to the dealer. The dealer said the car was totaled. The insurance company confirmed. The adjuster asked me if I had the air conditioner on and when I said yes he said that is what sucked water into the engine and caused the problem. The car was the limited 5.7 hemi engine. The auto is "trail rated" and has the emblem to prove it, strange for a trail rated auto to be totaled in 8 inches of water. All the time I was stuck in the flooded street other vehicles, sedans, SUVS and trucks continued to go through the water without incident. The vehicle had 8000 + miles and was leased on November 26, 2007. There was water in the air filter and I assume in the engine and several modules were burnt out. The car was a total loss.

- Old Brookville, NY, USA

problem #2

Aug 212008

Grand Cherokee

  • 44,000 miles
2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee ltd 5.7 hemi with 44,000 miles. Car has felt sluggish a few times to the point of almost shutting down. Yesterday as I was driving, my check engine light turned on but I was able to continue without any incidents.

- Skippack, PA, USA

problem #1

Oct 262007

Grand Cherokee

  • 2,042 miles
Re: 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee overland edition purchased in Sept of 07. Within the first month and 4 times since I have had a loss of power to the vehicle while driving. It has been to the dealer several times for "repair and correction, but the problem keeps happening. The dealer is now at a loss as to how to repair this issue. Their solution seems to be that I should pull off to the side of the road when I feel the power failing, shut off the car and then restart it to reset the computer. They have told me that the issue is because the accelerator and the computer stop communicating. This is not safe and it is not right. Thank you.

- Roseville, MN, USA

Not what you are looking for?