Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.7

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
34,242 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #32

Jan 152014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 61,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Wife pulled into parking lot and hit bump and engine shut down freezing steering wheel scaring wife. Happened once before. Took into dealer(Jan-'14) and was told key was too heavy and became loose in ignition causing car to shut down. (charged $106). Fall 2014, recalls started being announced for same problem(same key as we have); filed complaint to Chrysler in Nov. 2014(case #26001552) and Chrysler said our VIN not under recall. Same key/ same problem, but not under recall? they implied, if under recall might be able to credit $106 back. Currently: Interested in 3 things: 1) include my vehicle under recall- very dangerous and people must be advised, if she were driving faster, could have been major accident. 2) credit back $106- dealer did nothing but tell me key is heavy. 3) current key needs replaced- I will pay for this, but will it be the same key" will it be redesigned, what should I do" thank you

- Rockford, MI, USA

problem #31

Oct 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • 163,000 miles
I received a recall letter back in the summer 2014 for faulty ignition switch. Called dealer, parts not available. Called several more times since, still no parts and told to wait for letter. Well, it is now Feb. 2015 and still no parts/letter. It states that ignition switch can turn from start to run, which will shut down engine or other electrical parts ( steering, engine, power brakes ) increasing the risk of crash. Do I have to wait till I crash before this is taken care of ?

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #30

Sep 232013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 77,361 miles
Multiple times while driving the car the the engine completely shuts off with no warning. Last time was last week 09/23/2013.the car dealership says they can not recreate this and the computer is not showing anything.

- Dorchester, MA, USA

problem #29

May 162013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 106,815 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Wife traveling with son on fwy at legal speed of 70 mph w/cruise control on, car suddenly decelerated causing a violent maneuver forcing car into neighboring lane and almost crashing. She stated it was as if it suddenly downshifted into lowest gear and brakes applied forcefully. Regaining control she deactivated the cruise control and proceeded to destination at 50 mph. Took to dealership in davis where it was diagnosed as catastrophic failure of the transfer case which was then replaced at the cost of $2842.75. She retrieved car two days later and proceeded to drive back home (distance is @ 178 mi one way). Car repeated sudden deceleration upon entering the fwy and getting up to speed. Continued home due to medical appointments to keep. Kept cruise control off but called dealership to report that replacing the transfer case did not solve the problem. I pulled codes upon her arriving home and found only code 0430 (catalyst system efficiency below threshold [bank 2] indicating the converter not working to specs. Today she was returning to davis to visit with grandchildren and experienced the same situation. At 70 mph car suddenly decelerated rapidly (as if brakes were applied forcefully) and caused her to abruptly move into the lane to her left. She regained control and continued on at 50 mph. The dealership informed her no mechanics would be available until Monday but as she has a flight out of lax to catch early Monday a.M. she decided to continue on to L.a. without using the cruise control and proceeding at slower speed. The power steering pump was replaced on 4/15/2013 at dealerships recommendation due to a leak and the transmission was serviced in addition to having new valve cover and gasket put on. Spark plugs replaced, throttle body and combustion chambers cleaned and PCV valve replaced. Internet research indicates this is a repeated problem with the Jeep Grand Cherokee

- Westwood, CA, USA

problem #28

Apr 232012

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 29,300 miles
When going over speed bumps my vehicle stalls. This is the third time this has happened in the last 2 months. I've brought it to the dealership multiple times. Each time I've been told there is no problem, or that I need spark plugs replaced, or the throttle body needs to be cleaned....nothing has helped!

- Wakefield, MA, USA

problem #27

Jan 012012

Grand Cherokee

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled while driving approximately 60 mph. The vehicle coasted to a stop and the contact was able to restart the engine. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and they were unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and a complaint was filed. The failure mileage was 65,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Woodbridge, NJ, USA

problem #26

Nov 122011

Grand Cherokee

  • 44,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact was driving 80 mph when the vehicle stalled and the contact had to pull over to restart the vehicle. The contact took the vehicle to a dealer for diagnostic testing but the test result did not identify a problem with the vehicle. The contact called the manufacturer and filed a complaint. The failure mileage was 44,000.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #25

Nov 102010

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 42,018 miles
Vehicle stalled at around 20 mph and could not restart (engine would not turn over) for several hours. After several hours, vehicle started fine for dealer. Dealer could not find root of the problem. Behavior seems similar to recall NHTSA campaign id 08V059000, but this vehicle is not on the recall list.

- Cedar Park, TX, USA

problem #24

Sep 152011

Grand Cherokee

  • 30,300 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle would stall without warning but would restart after several minutes. The vehicle was not inspected or repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 30,300. Kmj

- Milford, CT, USA

problem #23

Aug 092010

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 32,393 miles
There are two main issues: Stalling and no start. Stalling issue - vehicle began to stall on 8/9/10 on a random and intermittent basis while driving at varying speeds. The stalling appears to have stopped after the last service was completed on 7/25/11. The following information relates to the stalling issue. Each date is separate visit to dealership: 8/13/10 - performed diagnostic test, with no fault codes stored. Checked wiring to pdc and front control module. Road tested for 55 miles. Could not duplicate customer concern. 9/2/10 - replaced wireless ignition node - (due to a bind, stick or seize). 10/27/10 - replaced throttle body. Found the throttle body to be binding. 7/25/11 - performed diagnostic test, found a stored code for the crankshaft sensor. Could not duplicate concern. Replaced sensor. No start issue - this is defined as turning the key to the start position but would not crank. Fuel pump would turn on after a few seconds. All electrical systems were fine. Battery was full strength. In all of these cases, the car would start up without a problem within 24-48 hours after the no-start incidents. The following information relates to a "no start" issue. Each date is a separate trip to the dealership. 5/30/11 - vehicle towed in on Saturday. Service technician started vehicle up three times on Monday. Let sit overnight and started right up on Tuesday. Battery tested fine. No codes in system. 7/25/11 - diagnostic scan, replaced crankshaft sensor (see stalling) 7/26/11 - vehicle towed to dealership. Duplicated no-start issue. Replaced engine wiring harness. Service advisor extremely confident that this was the issue. *after speaking with the service advisor today, he had told me that they had replaced several wiring harnesses on the 2007, 2008 G. Cherokee experiencing same issue since my service on 7/26/11.

- Chadds Ford, PA, USA

problem #22

Apr 222011

Grand Cherokee

  • 46,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Engine stops running while the vehicle is being driven. Typically the failure occurs when the throttle is closed during deceleration I.e. (when decelerating to exit the freeway or decelerating to stop in traffic). The problem was first encountered at 14K miles and persists to date. The vehicle currently has accrued 46K miles. The vehicle has been to the dealer on 5 occasions for diagnosis/repair of the problem. The dealer cannot duplicate the problem and no fault codes are stored in the on board diagnostic system memory. Chrysler customer service was contacted for assistance to no avail. The Chrysler customer service representative merely contacted the servicing dealer and was told no driveability issues exist with the vehicle. I note the vehicle stopped running in traffic after leaving the dealer service department 4/22/2011 (Chrysler customer service was advised). This condition is unsafe as steering and braking systems are significantly degraded without power assist.

- Federal Way, WA, USA

problem #21

Jun 152009

Grand Cherokee

  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that when driving at various speeds, the interior lighting, exterior lighting, heater/air conditioner, turn signals, and the windshield wipers would fail sporadically. In addition, the contact was attempting a left turn when the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was inspected by the dealer and they were unable to diagnose any of the failures. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 10,000.

- Jefferson City, MO, USA

problem #20

Feb 012011

Grand Cherokee

  • 34,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo. The contact was driving approximately 20 mph when the vehicle suddenly stalled without warning. She was able to restart the vehicle after a few minutes and the vehicle was taken to a local repair facility where the vehicle was inspected by an independent mechanic who was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was contacted who offered no assistance and advised her to have the vehicle inspected by an authorized dealer. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 34,000.

- Harwichtort, MA, USA

problem #19

Nov 052010

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 60 mph the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was driven onto the emergency lane and upon restart the check engine and traction control lights were illuminating on the dashboard. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where she was told that a grounding cable was loose. The vehicle was repaired. The failure recurred; therefore, vehicle was taken back to an authorized dealer where they were unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired and the failure continued to recur intermittently. The failure mileage was 44,000 and the current mileage was 45,014. Updated 01/31/11/ the consumer stated the vehicle has stalled on four occasions since November 5, 2010. Updated 02/04/11

- Huntersville, NC, USA

problem #18

May 292010

Grand Cherokee 4WD

  • 22,000 miles
My 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee limited has lost power on three separate occasions, each time being about a week apart. The first time I was driving along the highway at approx. 70 mph and I noticed all of my controls had gone black, I had no odometer, no radio, no A/C, my car had completely lost power. I coasted to the shoulder and was able to put the car in park and restart it. The second time was pulling out of a store parking lot, crossing traffic at about 10-15 mph. Again, I lost power but was still able to come to a stop, put the car in park and restart it. After this, I brought it to the dealership but they could not replicate the problem and there were no error codes on my car. As I was leaving the dealership and stopped ata red light down the street, I again lost power. This time I was at a complete stop. I put the car in park and restarted and then brought it back to the dealership. Again, they did nothing. I have called Chrysler and was told that my car did not show up with any outstanding recalls, however I did see a recall on my model year for this exact problem. My car has about 22,000 miles on it and has run perfectly up until now.

- West Hartford, CT, USA

problem #17

Jun 122010

Grand Cherokee

  • 5,166 miles
Vehicle stalled while driving approx. 65-70 mph on April 27,2009 the radio went out, the odometer went blank and I lost power steering. Coasted to the side of the road. Placed stick shift in park and it started up.. I drove straight to the dealership mileage was 5166. Dealership scanned system and no active and no stored trouble clodes were found. Was told this was fluke. The issue was not resolved. Vehicle stalled a second time while turning a corner at approx 5 -10 mph. (same thing happened as stated above). Placed stick shift in neutral and it started up. Drove straight to dealership. Mileage approx 29,500. Dealership scanned system and no active and no stored trouble clodes were found. The issue was not resolved. I insisted that the dealership keep the Jeep to do additional testing. I am currently waiting. I also mentioned the recall below and was told that my VIN # was not apart of this recall. Auto recall date: 02/06/2008 vehicle component: Electrical system estimated vehicles affected: 1338 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee defect summary: Chrysler is recalling 1,338 my 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee and commander vehicles. The front control module may have been incorrectly manufactured. Defect consequence: This could cause the engine to stall while driving or not to start and/or cause the windshield wipers to become inoperative. Engine stalling or inoperative wipers could cause a crash without warning.

- Houston , TX, USA

problem #16

Jul 172009

Grand Cherokee

  • 15,000 miles
I am filing this now for July 09 due to the same issue that happened yesterday, 4-7-10.. this is not a safe vehicle and Jeep needs to fix this problem. It is unsafe when a vehicle gives no warning and completely shuts off on an interstate. Also, please see my safety complaint ODI # 10324403 for the 4-7-10 incident. In July 09, after going through a toll at exit 67 barneget toll, garden state parkway, NJ, I accelerated to the merge point and vehicle shut down and engine stalled and lost power. Several attempts to restart didn't work. Seems like it shut down electrically and was not getting gas adequately. Seems to lack adequate power. Attempt to start several times with no luck, engine wouldn't stay running, long start-up inconsistent, dash lights did come on to inform of no power. Let sit to cool down vehicle and was able to start and move to a more safer location. This was the first occurrence and the temperature outside was 90 F and sunny. This occurred at 15000 miles in July 09. Vehicle went to 3 service visits and dealers could not repeat.

- Scranton, PA, USA

problem #15

Mar 222010

Grand Cherokee

  • 33,000 miles
Total engine shutdown, usually without warning. The incident does not seem to correlate with any given speed. The shutdown has happened at 75mph on highway as well as sitting at a stop light. When engine shuts down you lose the power steering and brakes. If it were to stall while making an abrupt turn it could cause an accident. This happens multiple times per day. Truck has been with the dealer now for a week and it has them "baffled". the computer system is not logging any malfunction related to the stall. In order to restart the truck you need to place the transmission into park and remove the key from the ignition. The truck will start up immediately and could run fine for as far as 20 miles or as little as 20 feet. I find it rather odd that there was a recall for 1338 vehicles in early 2008 where faulty modules could lead to vehicles stalling while driving. It makes you wonder if the issue was truly contained. Vehicle has ~33,000 miles on it.

- Columbus, MI, USA

problem #14

Mar 082010

Grand Cherokee

  • 31,900 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4X4. While traveling 55 mph the contact was attempting to make a right hand turn and the vehicle suddenly stalled, causing the contact to coast the vehicle to a stop. The vehicle was taken to the dealership where the contact was informed that the failure could not be reproduced. The current and failure mileages were 31900.

- Cuba, IL, USA

problem #13

Dec 192009

Grand Cherokee

  • 18,000 miles
While sitting at a stoplight, on two (2) occasions my 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4X4 suddenly accelerated on its own while my foot was on the brake and revved up (throttle surge), then the tach went back to normal, and the engine went back to idling. Took it to the dealer I bought it from, they checked the on-board computer and no incident showed; they told me they called Chrysler but no one has reported this before and no technical bulletin has been issued regarding throttle surge issues. Have only had the vehicle 11 months. Now at times, while stopped and idling, the engine will act like it's going to cut off as the idle drops for a few seconds. Dealer also did not find an issue in the computer with this problem when I took it in a second time.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?