Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 7
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
7,324 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 2 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #143

Jul 152015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Update 01/13/16 MA updated 01/25/16.

- Marathon, FL, USA

problem #142

Oct 262015

Grand Cherokee

  • 44,000 miles
I was driving my 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee on a city streetwhen my eyes and throat started burning. My 10 month old infant began to cry as I realized smoke was filing the cabin. I panicked, and pulled over, turned off the car and immediately took my baby out of the car. We remained in the side of the road for assistance. I continued seeing smoke coming out of the right side of my car. When assistance arrived, I realized the right visor had caught on fire and a result was burned with a black hole. I took my Jeep to the dealership on January 6, 2015 to get it serviced for recall P 36, which is related to the sun visor wiring. I was told by the dealership, that the recall had been completed. I contacted chyrsler customer support after my Jeep was on fire and filed a complaint. The representative was so rude and told me it would take 2-3 business days to get my case reviewed. This was not a surprise, as I have dealt with Chrysler customer service in the past and have never had a good experience. I feared for my safety as well the safety of my infant. I refuse to drive that car, and was told by the customer representative that I shoukd take it to the dealership. Why they would suggest that ? I don't know. I don't feel safe and now I am car less as I wait for someone to review my case.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #141

Oct 052015

Grand Cherokee

  • 63,806 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving 25 mph, the vehicle shut off and lost power without warning. The vehicle was placed in park, restarted, and taken to a local dealer where the failure was unable to be duplicated. The failure recurred and was not remedied. Prior to the failure, the vehicle was repaired according to NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 63,806.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #140

Dec 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V391000 (electrical system), 14V634000 (electrical system) and 15V115000 (electrical system), however, the parts to perform the recall repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Hawley, PA, USA

problem #139

May 082015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Newnan, GA, USA

problem #138

Oct 012015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V634000 (electrical system) and 15V115000 (electrical system); however, the parts needed to repair the vehicle were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Florence, SC, USA

problem #137

Sep 012015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to totally integrated power module recall notice issues. After arriving to the dealer for a scheduled appointment, the consumer was informed the part was not available.

- Toms River, NJ, USA

problem #136

May 012015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Turlock, CA, USA

problem #135

May 222015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Elkhorn, NE, USA

problem #134

Aug 032015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable timeframe to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the contacts vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact was not experiencing a failure.

- Oceanside, NY, USA

problem #133

May 292015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000(electrical system); however, the recall part was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Guaynado, PR, USA

problem #132

Jul 062015

Grand Cherokee

  • 33,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while attempting to start the engine, the vehicle failed to start. The contact stated that it took several attempts before the vehicle restarted. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 33,000.

- Madison, NH, USA

problem #131

Apr 102015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system) and stated that the part was not available for an extended period. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact was not experiencing a failure.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #130

Jun 012015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Laceyville, PA, USA

problem #129

Feb 152015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system); however, the part needed for the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Stanley, VA, USA

problem #128

Feb 262015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Macon, GA, USA

problem #127

May 192015

Grand Cherokee

  • 29,942 miles
Oct 7, 2014: NHTSA 14V-391 or fca P36 safety recall repair was done at a local Chrysler Jeep dealership. Apr 30, 2015: Vehicle taken to same dealership to check a buzzing sound in the rh sun visor area, service technician could not duplicate the customer complaint. May 19, 2015: Sudden acrid smoke odor detected while driving, pulled to curb and turned off motor. Some smoke inhalation but no burn injuries to driver. Noticed black and white melted areas on rh sun visor, rh vanity mirror and rh headliner. External roof area above the rh sun visor had approximate 3" crack and the paint was split open from the extreme heat, digital photos taken. On Jun 30, 2015, we learned the "the source of the fire was not related to the P36 repair, but was for another cause". on Jul 10, 2015, we learned the P36 repair plastic shroud was intact and the cause of the fire was found in the wiring harness above the sun visor in the headliner area. Chrysler Jeep denied our warranty repair request on Jul 24, 2015, because the source of the fire could not be traced back to a factory defect in materials or workmanship. On Jul 27, 2015, our local Chrysler Jeep dealer decided to repair our vehicle, at their cost, because we were valued customers, but the decision came the same day a letter was read by the dealership general manager that said we may pursue a remedy using the California lemon law. We found there were more than 91 other similar incidents in 2011-2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee and Dodge durango vehicles, and at least 8 more experienced fires after the P36 safety recall repair had been completed. We encourage NHTSA to have fca install circuit breakers in vanity lamp wiring harnesses for 2011-2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee and Dodge durango vehicles. Our vehicle repair was completed after 13 weeks, on Aug 18, 2015

- Bonita, CA, USA

problem #126

May 012015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system); however, the recall part needed was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Yonkers, NY, USA

problem #125

Jun 172015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Toms River, NJ, USA

problem #124

Jun 152014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
Not sure of the dates. Rear view mirror electrical recall repaired. Seat on drivers side gets very hot/must turn it off. Cruise control worked randomly for awhile, now doesn't work at all. Still waiting for recall letter to let me know what to do about latest recall on vehicle stopping suddenly without warning causing a crash! it's my only vehicle and am afraid to drive it!

- Stanley, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?