Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 7
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
7,324 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 4 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #103

Apr 102015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Mt. Pleasant, WI, USA

problem #102

Apr 102015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Mentor, OH, USA

problem #101

Jul 152015

Grand Cherokee

  • 40,000 miles
I have a Chrysler recall #R09 (fuel pump relay replacement). After speaking with a fca recall representative, I an told that these parts are still not available, yet my vehicle is a danger to drive! I did research, and my local dealer can get a tipm module which includes the fuel pump relay, in just 2 days. I can have my vehicle repaired in just a week. Yet I'm still waiting on parts that fca has "approved" for the repair. Fca has still not offered to give me a safe rental vehicle. They just told me to drive my vehicle until it stalls/wont start, or until "approved" parts arrive. After speaking with the recall representative, I was told parts "may" be available by the end of August. I feel fca is doing anything that they can to save money rather than fix my car. I want my car fixed. If "approved" parts are not available by the end of August, I will be filing another complaint with both fca, and NHTSA.

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #100

Jul 252015

Grand Cherokee

  • 42,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes hydraulic); however, the part needed to do the repair was not available. In addition, while the vehicle was parked, the engine caught fire. The vehicle was destroyed. The fire department arrived and extinguished the fire. A technician diagnosed that there was an electrical or mechanical failure within the vehicle. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was towed. The failure mileage was approximately 42,000.

- St. Gabriel, LA, USA

problem #99

Jun 012015

Grand Cherokee

  • 17,500 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at 50 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle after several attempts. The vehicle was not taken for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system); however the part to do the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 17,500.

- Casselberry, FL, USA

problem #98

Jul 232015

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 08/17/15. MA 10/23/15

- Plant City , FL, USA

problem #97

Jul 172015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received recall R09/14V-115 on April 27, 2015. As of today, July 17, 2015, the dealer says there is no remedy to this recall. Your letter states the internal relay on the tipm should be disabled and a new external relay installed. When can I expect this problem to be resolved?

- Pierre, SD, USA

problem #96

Jul 102015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start. After several attempts, the vehicle was able to start. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 15V115000 (electrical system). However, the parts needed were unavailable to perform the repairs. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000. Updated 09/25/15 the consumer stated the vehicle as repaired on July 27, 2015. Updated 01/04/16.

- North Adams , MA, USA

problem #95

Jul 172015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to remedy the problem was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Atlanta , GA, USA

problem #94

Apr 152015

Grand Cherokee

  • 36,000 miles
I have received a recall for my Jeep: The totally integrated power module (tipm) contains an internal fuel pump relay that could operate intermittently or fail without warning. An intermittent or failed fuel pump relay could cause the engine to stall while driving and cause a crash without warning. Three months later, Jeep says the parts are still not available, therefore, my car is still dangerous to drive. Recall status: Incomplete but repair parts are not available. Furthermore, Jeep wants to hack into my wiring to replace a relay. That relay is originally part of the totally integrated power module. They are trying to take a "cheap" rather than "proper" approach to repairing my vehicle. I want the module replaced in whole, as this is where the relay in question was engineered to reside. Furthermore, I have called my local Jeep dealer to verify the availability of the totally integrated power module. I was told that they could order it and have it on their shelf in 2 working days! I want Jeep to repair this safety defect immediately, and properly, as the vehicle was designed and engineered to operate.

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #93

Mar 312015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the part needed to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Greer, SC, USA

problem #92

Jul 082015

Grand Cherokee

  • 26,800 miles
Please review email chain to Chrysler's customer assistance center (note: I had to delete their passive response to my original email since your system limits the number of characters. They provided no real support other than to go to a dealer, which I have multiple times since and they have not identified any issue): Dear customer assistance center I do not understand why you have not taken my issue seriously. Tonight a similar situation happened. The keyless fob was in a purse on the passenger seat of the vehicle. As my wife exited the vehicle, the doors were somehow locked. She was unable to open the doors from the outside of the vehicle. Luckily, again, there was someone of age that could open the doors. However, I have a 2 year old son that is normally in his car seat, and would have no possibility to exit the vehicle in this condition, and this is life threatening as we live in a hot climate, especially in the summer time. My next email and phone call is with NHTSA. This is 100% unacceptable and you have taken my concerns lightly. When there is the first fatality due to this issue, there will be major consequences to Chrysler. I will discuss this with NHTSA. Regards jody original message follows: ------------------------ us customer service - Jeep brand site brief description: Safety concern with '13 Jeep Cherokee comments: This weekend we were presented with a safety concern with our '13 Jeep Cherokee. My wife had her key in her purse, got out of the vehicle with her purse still in the car. While getting out, the driver's side door partially shut, she was outside of the car but couldn't open any door. My 2 year old son was in the car, but luckily my 6 yr old daughter was able to get out of her seat and open the door, otherwise he would have been locked inside.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #91

Jul 072015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Catonsville, MD, USA

problem #90

Mar 142015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #89

Apr 232015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 09/11/15 updated 01/29/16.

- Fairfield , CT, USA

problem #88

May 052015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V634000 (electrical system) and 15V115000 (electrical system). However, the parts needed to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #87

Apr 012015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
I received a recall notice many months ago for my Jeep telling me a ":dangerous" defect needed to be repaired. I have been calling the dealer evr couple weeks and keep getting the, no parts are in for that yet. The recall notice says it can result in a crash as car loses engine power, yet Chrysler is taking their own sweet time to fix it, I am fed

- North Bend , OH, USA

problem #86

Feb 272015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 8/21/15

- Malvern, PA, USA

problem #85

May 112015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable timeframe to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. MA 08/13/15 updated 12/1/2015

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #84

May 062015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number:15V115000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 11/19/15

- Oak Dale, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?