Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2014 (and 2015) Jeep Grand Cherokee shows an early trend of transmission complaints. Most of the complaints are for rough shifting — things like jerking & hesitation when shifting gears.

We are keeping an eye on things but the 2014 Grand Cherokee doesn't look like a good model year compared to past years.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
5,898 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 11)

problem #214

Nov 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • 1,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the engine stalled numerous times while driving various speeds. The gear system also emitted a noise and jerked while shifting gears. As a result, the contact struck an object while driving. There were no injuries. In addition, the heating system failed. The air conditioner and heater made a loud noise when activated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer several times for the failures. The dealer upgraded the software system several times, but the failure was not corrected. The vehicle was repaired per NHTSA campaign number: 16V529000 (power train), but the failure was not corrected. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 1,000.

- Ashburn, VA, USA

problem #213

Sep 272016

Grand Cherokee

  • 9,500 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the doors locked automatically and the bluetooth would not connect without warning. The vehicle was serviced per NHTSA campaign number: 16V249000 (power train, service brakes, hydraulic). After the repair, the bluetooth still would not connect and the radio cut off. The dealer performed a software update. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 9,500.

- Spring Hill, FL, USA

problem #212

Mar 012016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. When the vehicle was started, the navigation screen was blank and a blue color. When the push button start was initiated, the contact had to make numerous attempts to ensure that the vehicle was on or off. The contact had not experienced any failures until the vehicle was repaired for a manufacturer's recall. The dealer was notified of the failure several times and had not provided a solution. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. In addition, the engine raced several times. The recall details were not provided. The VIN and failure mileage were not available.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #211

Sep 132016

Grand Cherokee

  • 12,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact leased a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The vehicle hesitated when making a complete stop and when accelerating. In addition, while driving highway speeds, there was a sudden loss of power and the contact had to coast the vehicle over to the side of the road. The vehicle was parked at the contact's residence and was unsafe to drive. The contact notified two dealers and they were unable to supply the remedy and parts to repair the vehicle. The contact later received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V529000 (power train). The two dealers mentioned that the parts were unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 12,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Long Branch, NJ, USA

problem #210

Aug 112016

Grand Cherokee

  • 40,000 miles
After starting vehicle, driver smelled smoke, but did not know the source of smoke. (driver thought it might be something burning in the neighborhood.) by the time driver had driven 2.2 miles on city roads (at speed <40 mph), smoke began billowing from the usb port on the front dash. Driver pulled over on the shoulder of a city street. The front dash around usb port was now glowing orange. Driver turned off vehicle, tossed a cup of water onto front dash in area of usb port, exited vehicle and called 911. Police and fire personnel responded. First responders said water extinguished fire. Vehicle owner called local Jeep dealer, who said in the case of fire to call Jeep customer service at 1-800-992-1997. Local Jeep dealer suggested the owner also call owner's insurance company. Jeep customer service assigned a case # and said owner would be contacted in 2-3 business days. Owner had vehicle towed to local Jeep dealer. Jeep fca sent a 3rd party investigator to inspect the vehicle. 21 days after fire incident, Jeep fca issued a letter to owner stating, "in the absence of any substantiating evidence indicating that the cause of the fire was attributed to a condition existing in the vehicle when it left our manufacturing plant, we find it necessary to deny responsibility in this matter."

- Hattiesburg, MS, USA

problem #209

Jul 152016

Grand Cherokee

  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle experienced a complete loss of power. The failure occurred without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the battery failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the check engine warning indicator illuminated. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 10,000.

- Calabasas, CA, USA

problem #208

Jun 202016

Grand Cherokee

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The shifter problems have been well documented but I read about the proposed solution and from my experience that will only fix part of the problem. Unless the driver is paying close attention the vehicle may not be in park. But it is also very easy to shift from park to neutral. The near miss I had was leaving a parking lot that had an incline to a very bust street. I thought I was idling to the ease of the street but I was actually in neutral. When I let off the brake to pull onto the street the car rolled into oncoming traffic but obviously did not excellerate when I hit the throttle. Scrambling to get the car in gear it took a few prescious seconds to realize you have to push on the brake in order for the transmission to shift. Too much to think about in those circumstances. The shifter is going to get others killed unless a complete new system is installed. This car has many great safety features but in many cases there just isn't enough time to react. I'm a 40 year experienced licensed driver with class a cdl. A driver should not have to concentrate on the shifter. It should be a natural motion. This is a ticking time bomb that must be repaired or it will cause more accidents and deaths. Please keep in mind that an alarm that tells the driver the car is or is not in park will only fix part of the problem. I routinely find myself in the wrong gear. Jeep is trying to find a cheap way out that is just not going to work.

- Willow Park, TX, USA

problem #207

Jul 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
14V-391 this recall has been open since July 1 2014, but every time I call the dealer to get it fixed they tell me there are no parts available.

- Centennial, CO, USA

problem #206

Jul 092016

Grand Cherokee

  • 21,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While the vehicle was parked, an unknown chime was heard and the battery warning light illuminated. The vehicle lost power, but was able to restart. The vehicle constantly lost all electrical function. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the alternator failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 21,000.

- Guaynabo, PR, USA

problem #205

Jun 182016

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
This has to do with the electronic shifter that has been in the news lately. I have read that, finally, Chrysler is addressing this problem. The solution they have come up with, to put the car in park if the driver's door is opened, does not suffice to fix this issue. Here is why: I have had the situation, where I pull my car into my garage which is on a slight incline. My kids jump out of the car, and walk around the back to get into the house. As is often the case, I have a few things to gather up, so I am not as quick to exit the car as they are. Kids are behind the car and I take my foot off the brake and the car starts rolling backward while the kids are behind it. It is only by extreme luck that I did not kill both my children. I would like to add, that even though I am painfully aware of the situation with the shifter, and I am extremely diligent, you can become distracted and forget. For the record, I have sent messages to Chrysler (specifically, when they sent their customer satisfaction survey after I first received the car) that mentions this as a problem. I have brought it to the dealer's attention. No response. This is a big problem. The second I read about that young man getting killed in la I said to my son that I would guarantee he was driving a Jeep. I have been saying someone was going to get killed for nearly two years, and now someone has. And, I would be willing to bet there are others who just didn't realize why or what happened to them. Please require them to make a better fix and to call each and every Jeep owner and verbally describe this issue. There are people who don't read their mail, who do not speak english etc. Their fix is not going to alleviate this problem. Thank you.

- Pelham Manor, NY, USA

problem #204

May 272016

Grand Cherokee

  • 24,150 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving 65 mph, "do not drive in park" was illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact pulled the vehicle over to the shoulder and exited the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where the failure could not be determined. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (power train). The part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 24,150. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Lexington, SC, USA

problem #203

May 232016

Grand Cherokee

  • 18,000 miles
My emergency brake light is flashing on my dash board, and it is making a chiming noise when flashing as I drive my Jeep. The main issue other than having it going on and off some time a few time a day sometimes not for a week than a few days in a row is that when I am on an open highway with cruise control on doing 70 mph the cruise control will shut off every time it flashes. I fell the this is a safety issue when your cruise controls shuts down without any warning. The dealer has not corrected this issue. I just got a recall notice to day S27/NHTSA 16V-240 to make sure my vehicle is in park and foot brake on. My foot brakes says it is on at 70 mph when it is not on. This happened a lot today on my trip, but has been going on for over a year

- West Chester, PA, USA

problem #202

May 162016

Grand Cherokee

  • 38,000 miles
This morning5/16/16 I turned my Grand Cherokee on, proceeded to drive to work, I felt that the car was not changing gears, it hesitates and the engine light came on an off, after driving about 4 miles the car stopped and went into neutral without me changing gears. This is not the first problem I have since I purchased this vehicle. It has been at the dealer more than one time for the same problem, which include: Self-accelaration while driving, stalling in high way, and few other recalls from the company. It has been a night mare since I purchased this 2014 Grand Cherokee, one problem after the other! more than dissapointed with this car.

- Bellevile, NJ, USA

problem #201

Aug 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
Have 2 recalls, P36/NHTSA 14V-391 and P67/NHTSA 14V-643, that have yet to be fixed. The P36 is from August 2014 and P67 from approx 1yr ago.the dealer, now apple Chrysler/Jeep hanover, pa, told me I am on a waiting list due to no parts to fix for P36 and have asked them several times for P67 to include during normal service. Neither have been fixed to date. Wrote Chrysler some 6 months ago about the problem and they passed me to the dealer who said they would get back to me - still no response. Emailed a complaint to Chrysler Corp again today. My wife only drives the vehicle when she must, for fear it may catch fire or the passive restraint system to fail with grandchildren aboard. These recalls, over a year old, shows Chrysler has no regard for it's customers letting them drive unsafe vehicles for a long period of time.

- Hanover, PA, USA

problem #200

Mar 212015

Grand Cherokee

  • 21,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Once the vehicle was shifted into park, it did not register the correct gear. The contact's vehicle rolled away and struck another vehicle. The failure occurred once a week. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the failure could not be diagnosed. Due to the failure, the driver side doors, driver side rear window quarter, rear bumper, and other driver side components needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. There were no injuries. A police report was filed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 21,000.

- Wyckoff, NJ, USA

problem #199

Apr 032014

Grand Cherokee

  • 600 miles
Electronic gear shiftier not reliable. There is no feeling or sense of proper gear engagement. I sit each day and rev up engine thinking I have engaged drive mode. You never know when you have properly engaged park feature. I have gotten one leg out of car while auto starts moving.this electronic feature is unsafe. Otherwise this is the best new car I have ever owned. No accidents but I am extra careful with this gear shift. I will never buy another care with this innovation. The problem happens at startup and shutdown / exit mode. Scary to exit auto and someone notify you later that the auto engine is still running and in neutral. Mode. Jerry

- Myrtle Beach, SC, USA

problem #198

Jun 172015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V634000 (electrical system) and 14V634000 (air bags, seat belts). The parts to do the recall repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Aravada, CO, USA

problem #197

Aug 142015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V643000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Valparaiso, IN, USA

problem #196

Jan 012014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 700 miles
My current lease, a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo, has been plagued with defects. There have been 9 recalls, 16 service bulletins, and 5 investigations¿.in addition there are 587 driver/owner complaints. My problems: Instability of the transmission. After parking next to a storage bin, transmission slipped out of park and the Jeep moved forward crushing my leg in the door and denting/scratching the exterior of vehicle. There has been no indication that fca (Jeep) has resolved this issue. Another problem I¿M having, which has been plaguing many other Jeep owners, is where the engine warning light illuminates with no indication of specific information with regard to what the malfunction might be. After 5 service visits over the past 2 years, Jeep has proven they unable to remedy this. I continue driving with uncertainty and stress with my passengers and I fearing ourlives may be endangered. The engine light is currently illuminated. I am not getting the level of vehicle safety and dependability I am paying for. I have filed a complaint on the website of Jeep and have offered fca(Jeep) a settlement whereby I would be refunded the leasing charges I paid and the company would consent to an early termination of the lease with no penalties or charges. Fca(Jeep) has failed to remedy my problem. (please see attached details) fca us llc is required to execute certain performance obligations, pursuant to the July 24, 2015 consent order, amended December 8, 2015, the objectives of which are to mitigate the risks of harm and promote safety for we, the consumers. Fca, however, persists in violating and disregarding me in a blatant act of non-compliance with the order. I seek assistance in expediting remedial action in this matter as a victim, and the protection of my rights as a consumer, and as an american citizen. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- New Rochelle, NY, USA

problem #195

Nov 082015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle began to reverse independently while the engine was on. There was no occupant in the vehicle. The vehicle traveled across the street and crashed into a mailbox, then proceeded to roll up an inclined driveway while still in reverse. The contact attempted to enter the vehicle but the vehicle then moved forward and knocked the contact to the ground, driving over her legs. The vehicle eventually stopped and crashed into a fence. The contact sustained leg injuries that required medical attention. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where the body damages were repaired but the failure was not determined. The failure was recurring. The failure mileage was approximately 35,000. Updated 04/08/16

- Atkinson, NH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?