Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2014 (and 2015) Jeep Grand Cherokee shows an early trend of transmission complaints. Most of the complaints are for rough shifting — things like jerking & hesitation when shifting gears.

We are keeping an eye on things but the 2014 Grand Cherokee doesn't look like a good model year compared to past years.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 0
Average Mileage:
5,265 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 5 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #19

Aug 012014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 12,000 miles


I have been leasing a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee for roughly ten months. Throughout that time, I have been notified at least three times of active safety recall notices for my vehicle. My vehicle shows computer modules broken which as a result has disabled my air bags. In addition, my vehicle has a safety recall for a brake booster and now an inoperative vanity lamp which may cause a fire. My vehicle is entirely and completely unsafe to drive and Chrysler Jeep is not taking the appropriate immediate action to rectify this event. I am being forced to drive a vehicle with possibly deteriorated brakes, and disabled air bags.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #18

Jul 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • 11,000 miles
As I was driving the car the seat belt and air bag warning lights came on, but the seat belt was buckled. The warning said driver seat beat was unbuckled and the air bag system warning light came on with a warning message. Brought car to dealer, who informed me that the parts are back ordered for a month - what does that say about the part.

- Darnestown, MD, USA

problem #17

Jun 182014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 11,500 miles
During a trip of approx 250 miles, after 4 hours of driving the vehicle exhibited numerous alarms as follows; "air bag system requires service", "drivers seatbelt disconnected", "front passenger seatbelt disconnected", and "vehicle phone requires service". at all times both driver and passenger had their seatbelt on, positively connected. The vehicle would randomly repeat the chimes as if the alarms were coming in repeatedly. After approx. 1/2 hour, all alarms reset. 2 days later on the return trip, about 1 hour into the trip the same problems as listed above repeated itself, except it will no longer reset. Presently vehicle, upon startup goes through the above mentioned alarms with the seatbelt light, and airbag light constantly on. After researching this problem on Jeep forums for the WK2 model, their appears to be number failures of the orc module for this vehicle. My vehicle has not been analyzed by Chrysler at this time, but a service date is scheduled. Currently as stated by a Chrysler employee, there are 400 orc modules backorderd for this year vehicle.

- Millersville, PA, USA

problem #16

May 312014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 9,000 miles


I was driving through town and started getting warning saying that the drivers side airbag needed serviced and drives side seat belt not being detected. I immediately contacted the Chrysler dealership and scheduled an appt., took Jeep in on first available date and mechanic told me it was a module that had to be ordered and their were only 24 of them in the country, I asked if I have an accident, will the air bad deploy and he said he didn't know, (that being my main concern). He also told me there was a recall on the brake booster and has to order part for that also. It has been almost a month since they ordered parts and they are not in yet. Obviously the dealership isn't concerned enough to expedite the order or give me another vehicle to drive while waiting on parts. I'm wondering, have there been any other reports for 2014 Jeep with these issues?

- Richmond, IN, USA

problem #15

Jun 132014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 25,055 miles
Alert came up stating airbags need to be serviced. Then alert came on saying drivers seatbelt not fastened (it was buckled). I pulled over and put the car in park. Turned the engine off and restarted. Alerts came back on. Also came up with alert that onboard service/emergency phone needed to be serviced. Took to dealership and they said it is the orc module. The part is back ordered and I am concerned about driving the car for several weeks without functioning airbags. Also, not sure if there is an issue with seatbelts given the alert.

- Liverpool, NY, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #14

Jun 022014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 10,855 miles
Purchased a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo in June of 2013. Have experienced no problems with operation throughout first 10031 miles driven. Departed on extended vacation trip at end of May. After traveling 824 miles, air bag light came on with alarm and dashboard notification advising to have air bags serviced immediately. Shortly thereafter, the seat belt alarm activated with the bell warning, advising that the driver side belt was not engaged, when it was securely set. This condition would continue throughout each driving day. I have now traveled over 3400 miles, experiencing the same annoying, and unsafe condition, including the cruise control now turning off without warning. I have checked with several dealerships, only to be told that this problem could not be identified. There remains 3000 miles to be traveled to return to my home. I do intend on meeting this situation head on through my dealer with Jeep.

- Coraopolis, PA, USA

problem #13

May 282014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 21,000 miles


I purchased my 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee limited 4X4 on June 2nd 2013. Since I have had this vehicle I have experienced multiple problems which are a concern to my safety and other Jeep drivers.. I have recently received the recall due to the brakes and was told by my Jeep dealer and another Jeep dealer that the parts are not available to fix this safety concern. I am forced to drive an unsafe vehicle at his time. This concerns me greatly. I have also been experiencing problems with the instrument panel which intermittently blacks out when driving. This prevents me from seeing the speed in which my vehicle travels and other indicator lights. This is also a concern to my safety and other drivers on the road. Last week, I experienced my airbag light coming on and remaining on. I made an appointment with the dealer and they have now advised me they are having a problem diagnosing the issue. They have had to remove the seat and still struggle to diagnose the issue. They did advise me that my vehicle is a major safety concern and not safe for driving on the road. I was advised today that they diagnosed the airbag situation but will not have the parts until June 13th. I have driven my vehicle 21,000 miles in one year and believe this vehicle is a safety issue. I do not feel safe driving this vehicle with all these electrical issues I am experiencing. I would like answers from Jeep as to why I amy experiencing these safety issues with such a new vehicle and why parts are not available for recalls.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #12

May 092014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 12,500 miles
On May 9, 2014 my husband & I were driving on the freeway when all of the sudden the seat belt & airbag lights started alarming. I immediately referenced our vehicle guide and followed the instructions, contacting the dealership right away. My car was evaluated 3 days later and I was informed that my entire airbag module was non-functional and needed to be replaced. It has now been a month that I have been driving without functional airbags because the part is apparently on back order at Chrysler. Not to mention the fact that I was told that there is no way to disable the alarms while awaiting the fix, so I have to drive with the distraction of constant "dinging" everywhere I go. This is a serious safety concern! in general, this vehicle has been a pain since I purchased it!! three recalls in one year, a tire that needed to be replaced just after purchase (pretty sure it had a hole when we drove it off the lot), and now this. I definitely would not purchase this vehicle again.

- Westerville, OH, USA

problem #11

May 262014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 20,250 miles
1. allegedly repaired two weeks earlier, the "ocr, " an airbag sensor, failed. This part apparently is located under the front passenger seat. "service airbag system" was displayed. 2. on Monday, May 26, 2014 a seat belt warning appeared on the electronic display and a chime rang for 10 minutes or so. Both the driver and the passenger in the front seat were belted in. 3. on Monday, May 26, 2014 the cruise control became inoperative. The electronic display showed "cruise control unavailable." In the past the forward collision warning (fcw) has shown phantom alerts, telling me to "brake! brake! brake!" even though there no vehicles or objects in front of the Jeep. At other times, the fcw showed no alert even though another vehicle suddenly appeared in front of the Jeep.

- Leesburg, VA, USA

problem #10

May 312014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
Airbags system failed and rendered car unsafe to drive. Passenger airbag disabled even when passenger was in the passenger seat. At the same time adaptive cruise control failed while being in use which potentially could result in a crash. Drove 5H hours home and then dropped the car at the dealer. Issue connected with failed orc module. Numerous similar incidents reported by other drivers on internet forum. Failure always results in loss of airbags, seat belts pretension, adaptive head restrain and adaptive cruise control, forward collision warning system.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #9

Jun 042014

Grand Cherokee

  • 20,168 miles


The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who stated that the oc module needed to be replaced however, the part was not available. The contact indicated that he would be traveling and attempted to get the local authorized dealer to ship the part to another authorized dealer and was waiting for a response from a case manager. The contact was included in NHTSA campaign id number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and was also waiting for parts for the recall repair. The authorized dealer had neither a specific date nor a timeframe to let the contact know when the parts would become available for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 20,168.

- Clarksville, TN, USA

problem #8

May 302014

Grand Cherokee

  • 8,000 miles
On a recent long trip (500 miles each way) a computer malfunction popped up while driving. The vehicle's phone called for service, followed by the airbag light and seat belt indicator went off. I pulled into a Jeep dealer right before closing and the told me the issue was in the airbag control module somewhere but it couldn't be fixed easily and that the parts were on back-order. The car is drive-able but the airbag system is inoperative. I have since spoken to the dealer in my home-state and confirmed this is a common problem popping up on the 2014 model year Grand Cherokee and that even replacing the module was a guess at best as to what the problem was. So long story short I have a brand new vehicle with less than 10,000 miles with a malfunctioning/inoperative airbag system that the dealership says may or may not be fixable.

- New York, NY, USA

problem #7

May 232014

Grand Cherokee

  • 9,032 miles
Traveling at highway speed numerous warning messages and warning chimes started to go off. Created distractions to driving and it appears that air bag and seat belts stopped functioning intermittently. Cruise control also failed. Vehicle already serviced on all prior recalls two months ago. These issues are new starting on 5/23/2014. Dealer appt is scheduled for 5/26/2014. In past, also reported issues with transmission shifting and HVAC. Not a well tested vehicle. Far too many dangerous issues with vehicle. Hope NHTSA can investigate issues.

- Wildwood, MO, USA

problem #6

May 202014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
While starting up my Jeep Grand Cherokee the air bag warning light came on with a system failure and that it needed service. About 2 minutes after that my drivers seat belt light came on telling me it was not latched (though it was) and it needed service. Then about 30 sec later the acc/fec system failed and a warning came on. When I took it to Chrysler fairoaks Dodge in chantilly that night they looked at it the next day and told me a module was bad (orc filter?) that controlled the airbags and everything else was effected because of that. Trouble is there is no part in stock for repair and they want to keep my car for weeks while waiting. )I bet Jeep is still making new cars with the part so why no part for my car? anyway, I was at Jeep to pick up a rental since it would be so long and another Jeep Grand Cherokee 2014 pulled in with the exact same problem. Very odd I thought and worth reporting. Maybe Chrysler is hiding something here and more is wrong with their Grand Cherokee that they own up to. (especially since the part is in such short supply which is odd) perhaps a recall may be in order.

- Herndon, VA, USA

problem #5

May 172014

Grand Cherokee

  • 14,500 miles
On May 17,2014 while driving my dashboard stared to flash showing seat belts and air bags no working. On May 19,2014 went to Jeep dealer to find out that the instrument air bag module needs to be replaced. But the problem is that Jeep has no available parts to take care this problem, parts are on back order and no sure when they will be available.deehiclealer advice me to take the truck and they will contact me when the parts will come avalaible.I ask the dealer teteboro Chrysler in New Jersey if its safe to drive a vehicle and if the system is working? they told me that they are not sure if this system is in working order.this truck has been in the shop for 5 days just sitting in the dealers lot.I do not know if I should be driving this vehicle not knowing that the seat belts or air bags will work in case of a crash.also, I contacted Chrysler Jeep headquarter and they could not help me either.the dealers will not give you a courtesy car to drive so you are stock with no vehicle and making your monthly payment, as far they are concern and so is crhysler your safety and your family safety is not that I have to work and have no wheels, iwill go tomorrow to pick up my Jeep and hopefully I will stay safe until the replacements parts arrive.this truck has also other safety problems including the transmission not responding at low speed. Thank god its a lease I will never buy Chrysler products ever again.

- Paramus, NJ, USA

problem #4

Apr 262014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 11,500 miles
While driving at approximately 45 mph, without warning, the airbag needs service indicator as well as the driver seat buckle is not fastened light came on. In addition, there was another failure with the on board phone requiring service. I took the vehicle to the dealer and they said the air bag sensor was on back order and did not know when it would arrive. I am extremely concerned that this part is not stocked. The driver seat buckle is not fastened beeps for several miles before it ultimately stops. Very annoying. I would think Jeep would ensure that this part was always in stock with its dealers since it is an integral part of the overall safety of the driver in the vehicle.

- Eagan, MN, USA

problem #3

Apr 202014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 14,000 miles
While traveling home from a family vacation at about 40 mph my seat belt light started flashing saying that the driver and passenger air seat belt was not engaged along with the lights and dinging alarm saying that the air bag is in need of service, this has not gone off and the dinging is constant. I called and set up an appointment at the dealership and waited 4 hours for them to tell me that they did not have parts needed to repair the issue that it was on back order (at least 1 1/2 weeks) but would not be providing a rental car since the car was still drive able and that they would call when the part was in. I am very upset because I am in the automotive industry and know that this is a safety concern/ risk. I have also been experiencing issues with my transmission. I regret making this purchase.

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #2

Mar 022014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 4,000 miles
I was at a full stop. I made a left turn and the vehicle just accelerated more than expected and ran into a tree. The tree was unearthed, the front of the vehicle was completely destroyed. It was totaled by the insurance company.

- Elmont , NY, USA

problem #1

Sep 122013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 6,000 miles
Upon starting my 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee overland, all of the warning lights came on and remained on. This included, but was not limited to: Airbags, electronic stability control, ABS brake system, check engine light, and others. The messages in the dashboard information screen indicated various failures and the need to service immediately. The rear backup camera also became non functioning. After shutting down the vehicle, waiting several minutes and then restarting, the problems continued. Out of safety concerns, I called the nearest Jeep dealer and was advised they "had never heard of this" and if I wanted service that I would have to leave the vehicle there since they do not make appointments. The lights went out upon restarting again, however I am very tentative about driving it, as I do not know if these important safety systems and/or warnings have failed. This is potentially extremely dangerous and totally inexcusable in a $47,000 vehicle which is less than 6 months old. The navigation system and radio have not worked properly since I purchased the Jeep. Upon calling Jeep, and providing my VIN #, I was advised that it needed a "radio enhancement". looking online, there are many complaints of this electrical safety issue, and yet two local dealers have never heard of it ? there also doesn't appear to be any apparent "fix" at this time. Hopefully the NHTSA can look into this potentially dangerous problem.

- Naples, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?