Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
51 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
69 / 2
Average Mileage:
54,564 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Jeep Liberty seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 16 of 23)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #158

Aug 052013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 63,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Learned thru internet search that there are 2 recalls on my 2002 Jeep Liberty: (1) unwarranted airbag deployment and (2) possible gas tank explosion if rear-ended. I called the Jeep customer service line and talked to a matt, who confirmed both recall items. He said I would receive a letter from Jeep telling me how to proceed, but that at this time the parts needed to fix both recall problems were back-ordered. So I am driving a car in which the air bags might explode at any time (my airbag light comes on and off at will) and if I am rear-ended there is a good likelihood that my gas tank will explode. What am I to do if one of these occurs while I'm waiting for the Jeep notification and/or replacements part to be in stock" I am afraid to drive my car now, but have no other options available. What do I do"

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #157

Aug 102013

Liberty

  • 70,000 miles
Jeep sent me notice back in Jan. 2013 that my Jeep had a safety recall for M35/NHTSA 12V-527 notification M35. It states airbag could deploy while driving the Jeep. Goes on to say parts are not available for remedy at this time. After following up 8 months later still not parts" what good is a safety recall if someone is not ensuring they have parts or are making parts in a timely manner?????? also the other recall that applies about the fire issue if hit in rear. I have heard nothing on that one. ??" the one they recently agreed to correct this summer. No incident has happened yet. Just want to get this corrected and it seems to be an excessive amount of time.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #156

Aug 082013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 111,471 miles
I was contacted months ago about Chrysler safety recall M 35. My vehicle was in for service and I asked that M 35 be completed. The dealership mccall motors of ebensburg, pa 15931 said they were aware of the recall but have had no other information or parts or instructions from Chrysler. They cannot do anything until they receive parts. According to Chrysler articles regarding M35, the parts were to be available by April of 2013. As of last week (August 2013) this dealer cannot do the repair.

- Lilly, PA, USA

problem #155

Jan 072013

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that while driving various speeds, the air bag warning light illuminated intermittently. The contact received the notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 12V527000 in November of 2012 but the vehicle could not be repaired because the part needed remained unavailable. The manufacturer was unable to provide an expected date for the remedy part to become available. The manufacturer also recommended that the vehicle be diagnosed at the owner's expense to verify the malfunction was related to the recall campaign. The failure mileage was unavailable.

- Hollister , MO, USA

problem #154

Jul 172013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that while starting the ignition, the air bag warning indicator illuminated intermittently. The failure progressed and became a permanent occurrence. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number 12V527000 ( air bags) but could not have the vehicle serviced because the part was unavailable to perform the repair. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the remedy part to become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The failure mileage was unavailable.

- Fullerton, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #153

Jul 052013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that while driving various speeds, the air bag warning indicator illuminated until the engine was turned off. The failure recurred sporadically. There was a recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 12V527000 (air bags). The manufacturer and dealer were notified and were unable to provide an expected date for the remedy part. The approximate failure mileage was 105,000..updated 09-18-13 after starting the car, the air bag light did not off as it should. It remained on.

- Lakewood, CO, USA

problem #152

Aug 052013

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) several months ago. The contact was not able to have the vehicle serviced because the dealer stated that the parts were not available for the repair. The manufacturer was not contacted. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #151

Aug 022013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received recall notice NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) in the mail several months ago and stated that the dealer informed him the parts were not available for the repair. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 09/18/13

- El Dorado, AR, USA

problem #150

Aug 022013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
I received a recall notice in April 2013 in regard to airbag problem on a 2002 Jeep Liberty have contacted Chrysler Corp, several times and as of today August 2nd 2013 have had no repair or response from Chrysler Corp this is unacceptable as far as I'm concerned. If I'm injured or a family member is injured or killed because of this issue there will be a lawsuit filed on behalf of it there is no reason this issue has taken so long to fix. Ford motor just got fined 17 million dollars to day for the same situation, by not notifying and repairing in a timely manner Chrysler should be made to buy these vehicles back from customer.

- Saint Joseph, MO, USA

problem #149

Jun 242013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that she attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) in June of 2013 but the dealer stated that the parts were not available. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified and they stated that they did not have a specific time as to when the parts would become available. The contact stated that the recall was a serious safety issue and she was afraid to drive the vehicle. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Muskegon, MI, USA

problem #148

Jul 192013

Liberty

  • 140,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that while traveling 68 mph, the driver's side front air bag erroneously deployed and caused the contact to lose control of the vehicle. The vehicle was flipped three times before landing right side up. The vehicle was destroyed. There were no injuries. The police were notified. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 140,000.

- Sauld Sainte Marie, MI, USA

problem #147

Jul 312013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) several months ago and stated that the dealer informed him that the parts were not available for the repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Washington, KY, USA

problem #146

Nov 012012

Liberty

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that while starting the ignition, the air bag warning indicator illuminated continuously. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number 12V527000 (air bags), however the part remained unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the problem and they were unable to provide an expected for the remedy part. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #145

Jul 252013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of nets campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) several months ago and the Chrysler group informed him that the parts needed to correct the defect were not available. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure...updated 08/22/13

- Sewell, NJ, USA

problem #144

Jul 212013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 150,000 miles
I live in puerto rico and have a 2002 Jeep Liberty sport. As explained by many owners, I received the notification from Chrysler in regards to the M35 safety recall. I didn't gave to much attention since nothing happened since the notification was received. By surprise on Sunday night the air bag light starting appearing in the panel going on and off. It happens like 5 times why vehicle was in movement. I called today July 23, to the number in the letter and by surprise they still have the part in backorder. The person check the VIN and transfer me to the pr office. Guess what, puerto rico office couldn't gave me any information since all they know is that the part is on backorder. The person named [xxx] couldn't gave me any solution to the issue. But who is going to be responsible if by any chance the air bag gets open and I have an accident"is Chrysler prepared to get demands from drivers due to any accidents this issue may cause? I called again the us office and spoke with to [xxx], who explained that in us the dealers are giving priority to those cars that are giving the issue, which I understand is a plan B while they receive enough parts to do all the vehicles. In pr, sorry no plan B is available neither a waiting list. I was transferred again to the pr line in order to see if they were doing a waiting list, but nothing. I asked [xxx] to transfer me to the manager or general manager of the pr office but Mr. Neftali rodriguez was not able to talk to me since he was in another call, but he advise [xxx] to tell me that there was no more info. Can someone advise me to whom I should address this issue? I understand this is a serious situation and the same loop but nothing is being done. I will continue to inform this issue to the Chrysler headquarters since this is really serious. Is the NHTSA taking any action", please let me know. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Humacao, PR, USA

problem #143

Jul 232013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
Jeep's M35 orc sensor recall has been closed since January 2013 but parts are still not available to repair the airbag from possibly deploying when it is not supposed to. I keep calling the dealership they say they have no info. I call Chrysler & they say "we are working with our supplier to remedy the recall & make parts available" I think 7 months is unreasonable when I am driving around in a vehicle that could possibly deploy the airbags at any time. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #142

Apr 042013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator illuminated intermittently. The failure recurred whenever the vehicle was in operation. The dealer was unable to repair the vehicle because the part needed to complete the repair, which was unknown to the contact, was not available. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 12V527000 (air bags), but did not confirm with the manufacturer if the vehicle was included in the recall. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The failure mileage was unavailable. Updated 8/26/13

- Pembroke Pines, FL, USA

problem #141

Jul 012013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2002 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to defective air bag system recall notice. The consumer had been in contact with her local dealer since November 9, 2012, about the air bag defect when she first learned of the recall. She explained that the air bag light was on, and she was concerned, since she is a small adult, that must sit close to the steering wheel. The dealer informed her, there was nothing they could do, except to put her on a waiting list, and they would notify her, when the parts arrived. Her last call to the dealer was May 6, 2013 and she was given the same information.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #140

Jul 102013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
Received a safety recall M35/NHTSA notice in Jan. 2013 and I understand that this was first issued in 2012. The airbag light has recently come on and off while driving (luckily the airbags have not deployed). Called a local Chrysler dealer to find out about parts and was informed of the same info as in the notice... dealer is waiting on Chrysler to come up with parts or as the service manager put it "instructions on how to fix the problem". I don't understand how Chrysler can get away with and not be held accountable for not addressing and correcting this issue in a timely manner knowing the potential for injury and god forbid death. I for one will not be purchasing any Chrysler products new or used in the future - simply because of the lack of accountability and action on Chrysler's part.

- Arvada, CO, USA

problem #139

Jul 012013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2002 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle air bags system and gas tank recall notices. The consumer was informed the parts were not available for the recall, even though she has been calling since, she received the notice in January 24, 2013.

- Huntington, WV, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?