Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
18 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
12 / 1
Average Mileage:
31,345 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Jeep Liberty suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 10 of 14)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #88

Nov 072006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated a NHTSA recall letter # 03V460000 regarding suspension: Front: Control arm: Lower ball joint was received. Two dealerships were contacted to ask if the alignment after performing the ball joint replacement was included. The dealership representatives stated the alignment was considered vehicle maintenance as such was not included in the recall remedy. If the alignment were not performed the tires would rapidly wear off and its replacement would also be required. The manufacturer was contacted who coincided with the dealerships statement. The contact considered the recall remedy insufficient because the misalignment was a consequence of manufacturer defect.

- Marion Center, PA, USA

problem #87

Nov 062006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,000 miles
: the contact stated the vehicle there was a recall on the lower ball joint suspension #06V288000. Both the service dealer and the manufacturer determined the manufacturer only will send out 3 parts per dealership per week and it will take four months to get the parts for the remedy repair.

- Glen Ellyn, IL, USA

problem #86

Nov 062006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,000 miles
: the contact stated when a NHTSA recall letter F23 was received for the suspension: Front: Control arm: Lower ball joint, the service dealer was contacted to schedule an appointment. The contact was informed there was a waiting list of 4-6 weeks. The manufacturer was not alerted.

- Somerville, NJ, USA

problem #85

Nov 062006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated the vehicle was taken to an independent service dealer for scheduled maintenance, and was informed of the NHTSA recall, F23 for the suspension: Front:control arm; lower ball joint. The service dealer informed the vehicle would be added to the waiting list of 43 other vehicles of which 3 a week were being serviced as parts were available. The manufacturer informed the contact they would not authorize service at an independent dealer or reimburse for the part if the independent dealer was used although another service dealer could be contacted to find a shorter waiting list.

- Dresher, PA, USA

problem #84

Oct 312006

Liberty 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,930 miles
: the contact stated while driving 25 mph, the steering pulled to the right. The vehicle was taken to an independent dealer to balance and rotate the tires. Abnormal wear was found on the tires that had been purchased in 08/2006. Four separate service dealers were contacted to schedule an appointment, after receiving recall F23, for the suspension: Front control arm: Lower ball joints. Each service dealer informed the contact of the back order of parts and offered to add the vehicle to a wait list. An independent mechanic informed the contact that parts were on hand, for immediate replacement.

- East Windsor, NJ, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #83

Oct 312006

Liberty

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,000 miles
We had the recall(ball joints) done on our Jeep Liberty back in 03. Then on 10/03/06 we had it back in the shop for stiffness in the steering; we were told the ball joints were fine, and that it could be the power steering pump and rack and pinion. On 10/31/06, the ball joints broke off while driving resulting in major mechanical damage to our Jeep!!! if this is a recall on the first recall, why should we feel safe driving this vehicle after we get it back" how do we know its not going to happen again" please give us some input.

- Coal City, IL, USA

problem #82

Oct 312006

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated there are no problems have occurred with the vehicle. There was a NHTSA recall, #06V288000 regarding the front lower ball joint. The parts needed to repair the vehicle are not available at the local dealership. The manufacturer confirmed the parts are not available.

- Oldwick, NJ, USA

problem #81

Oct 272006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,300 miles
: the contact stated the notice for NHTSA recall # 03V460000, which pertains to the lower ball joint, was received. A service dealer was contacted. They stated that the dealership was currently limited to 3 parts per week. Therefore they would not be able to schedule an appointment to repair the vehicle for 3 to 4 weeks because they are being limited by the manufacturer. The manufacturer was contacted, who stated that the parts were on back order, and that they were unable to provide further assistance. Updated 12/1/2006 -

- Gales Ferry, CT, USA

problem #80

Oct 282006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,000 miles
: the contact stated there was a NHTSA recall, #06V288000 on the vehicle regarding the front lower ball joint. The parts needed to repair the vehicle were not available at the local dealership. The manufacturer confirmed the parts were not available.

- Buena, NJ, USA

problem #79

Sep 022006

Liberty

  • miles
Recall ball joint work carried out to Jeep Liberty, at approx 10,000 miles. Ball joint failed at 24,000 miles front end collapsed whilst wife driving vehicle with 2 children as passengers, damaging drive shaft, wheel and tire. Jeep will have my vehicle for 6 weeks due to availability of parts. But they are fixing it.

- Porthcawl, 00, USA

problem #78

Oct 232006

Liberty 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have not yet received a recall notice on my Jeep Liberty. Upon taking it in for a vibration problem in the front end, it was decided the the lower ball joints were in bad shape. No parts are availble to repair this problem for 3 to 4 week waiting list.

- Verona, NY, USA

problem #77

Feb 062006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 63,557 miles
: the contact stated while driving 40 mph on the interstate, the contact's spouse lost control of the vehicle. While going up a hill, the vehicle veered to the left and the vehicle went out of control. The spouse was unable to steer the vehicle and hit a guard rail. There were injuries sustained and a police report was taken. An independent mechanic determined all of the damage was noted on the left side where the lower ball joint was located. The vehicle was due for an inspection and the contact noticed the left tire was wearing prematurely. The independent mechanic noted the ball joint on the right side was bad and ready to come loose. There was a NHTSA recall, #06V288000, regarding the suspension: Front: Control arm: Lower ball joint. The vehicle was not included in the recall due to the VIN. Updated 11/06/06.

- Waymart, PA, USA

problem #76

May 012006

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,002 miles
2003 Jeep Liberty ball joint broke off and axle separated from the vehicle, and the wheel fell off. Consumer was not notified of the recall.

- Jackson, TN, USA

problem #75

Aug 292006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,190 miles
: the contact stated while driving various speeds, there was excessive play in the steering wheel. There was a NHTSA recall, # 03V46000, regarding the front suspension. The vehicle was not included in the recall due to the VIN. Although the vehicle was not inspected by a dealer, the manufacturer was alerted. Updated 09/13/06.

- Old Bridge, NJ, USA

problem #74

Jul 012006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
I purchased my 2003 Jeep Liberty from central Florida Chrysler/Jeep in January of 2004. I never received a recall letter and the dealer did not fix the ball joints before he sold the vehicle to me. If it is true that a recall took place in 2003 I would assume this matter would have been taken care of. However, on the night of July 1, at 1am I was making a right turn in the Jeep Liberty, and proceeding at about 25 mph when the front of the vehicle dropped and the steering went crazy. The Liberty veered to the right and hit an electrical pole and continued into a fence. The Jeep Liberty was totaled, fortunately there were no serious injuries. At the time I had no idea what the hell had happened. Now I know.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #73

Aug 132006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,840 miles
: the contact stated while driving 3 mph, the steering wheel was turned and a loud bang was heard. The vehicle would not move forward or backward. A private mechanic was consulted, who determined the front left wheel had detached due to a separation of the front left ball joint. The vehicle was then towed to a service dealer. There was a NHTSA recall # 03V460000 which pertained to the lower ball joint. The vehicle was not included in the recall due to the VIN. Updated 9/5/2006 -

- Edison, NJ, USA

problem #72

Aug 022006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,500 miles
Both front lower ball joints show excessive wear and "play" to the point where the authorized Jeep dealership indicated they need to be replaced as soon as possible.

- Lincoln, NE, USA

problem #71

Jul 262006

Liberty

  • miles
I was making a left turn in a parking lot at approx 5 mph when the driver's side lower ball joint separated. At this point I was unable to steer the vehicle, and was forced to stop in the lot entrance. The vehicle was towed to a Chrysler dealership and repaired. The vehicle had previously had the ball joint recall work performed.

- St. Paul, MN, USA

problem #70

Aug 032006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,000 miles
: the contact stated the front end was pulling and swaying badly to the right and the left at various speeds. Twice the lower ball joints was replaced. The first time was in November 2004 under recall # 03V460000; suspension: Front: Control arm: Lower ball joint. The second time was in June 2005. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for a routine brake inspection and the mechanic determined the ball joints were so bad the vehicle could not be driven until the ball joints were replaced. The vehicle began pulling and swaying to the right and left at various speeds for the third time. The dealership directed the contact to bring the vehicle in for inspection.

- Duluth, MN, USA

problem #69

Jul 122006

Liberty

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
: the contact stated that a recall letter was received in regards to the lower front ball joints. The dealer replaced the part with another defective part. The vehicle soon experienced the same problems when the ball joints failed causing damage to the axle while traveling 40 mph. The manufacturer was contacted and an investigator was sent to examine the vehicle. The investigator determined that the manufacturer would only cover the recall repairs for the ball joints but no damages that were caused by the defect.

- Monroe, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?