Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 0
Average Mileage:
29,788 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Jeep Liberty suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 5 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #179

Jan 222007

(reported on)

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Recall notice ball joint in Jeep Liberty customer had work done and now can't get refunded** the consumer felt the recall was not completed because the dealer would not perform an alignment. The dealer stated an alignment was not apart of the recall.

- Jupiter, FL, USA

problem #178

Jan 262007

Liberty

  • miles
I own a 2004 Jeep Liberty that has been involved in safety recall F23 (lower ball joints). I called the dealership today to schedule my car to be repaired, and they explained that "we can only order three of these parts a week" and that it may be some time before they can repair my car. I went ahead and ordered the part today, but I feel that their response is not acceptable and timely.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #177

Jan 252007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
I recently received a letter about a lower ball joint recall on my 2004 Jeep Liberty. Although the manufacturer fixed the recall I was informed at the time of service that I now have to spend $40 to have the automobile aligned due to the recall service. I contacted Chrysler and they informed me that the recall did not cover the alignment although the alignment was needed because of the service performed under the recall. I feel that any service needed due to a recall should be part of the recall. Thanks for your help, james jones.

- Lafayette, GA, USA

problem #176

Jan 242007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

- the contact stated that she received recall letter 06V288000 for the lower ball joint on the 2004 Chrysler Jeep Liberty. The contact had an appointment for the recall repair, but the part did not come in. The dealer advised the contact they will notify her when they have part. The contact has not experienced any problems with the vehicle. The dealer informed the contact they were not getting the part in on a regular basis. Updated 02/22/07.

- Bayfield, CO, USA

problem #175

Jan 192007

Liberty

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,000 miles
- the contact owns a 2004 Jeep Liberty. The contact would like to make a complaint concerning the length of time itwas taking daimler Chrysler to make the safety repairs on the Jeep Liberty.

- North Port, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #174

May 172006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
- contact has a 2004 Jeep Liberty. The contact received recall 06V288000 regarding the ball joint recall. The contact has called a dealership in her area, and they stated that they did know how long it will take to service her vehicle. The contact has had to replace the lower ball joint before on May 06 and was concerned that it ccould malfunction again. Updated 03/07/07.

- Colombus, IN, USA

problem #173

Oct 202006

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Saw recall notice in newspaper for Jeep Liberty concerning front suspension lower ball joints. I called my dealer two months ago and was told I would be placed on a waiting list of about sixty persons. I recently received a written notice about this recall with instruction to call my dealer. The dealer now says I am about 12 or so on list, but can give me no firm date for service. My recall notice says that ball joint separation can result in a loss of steering control. I tried calling the contact phone # at daimler Chrysler, but only heard a fuzzy, long message with no options. My complaint has to do with daimler Chrysler. According to my dealer, daimler Chrysler is slow to supply the parts to the dealers for this repair. This seems to me to be too long to wait to repair a potentially dangerous part.

- Reading, PA, USA

problem #172

Jan 222006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,160 miles
- the contact recently received recall letter 06V288000 for the 2004 Chrysler Jeep Liberty. She was told that the part had been ordered on approximately December 11, 2006 and they would call her when the part arrived. The contact stated she called the dealer for an update and was told that the person at the top of the list has been waiting for two months. The dealer could not give the contact an estimated time for when the lower ball joint will be available for her vehicle. The contact has not experienced any problems at this time. Updated 03/02/07.

- Lancaster, PA, USA

problem #171

Jan 222007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles
- the consumer has a 2004 Jeep Liberty. The consumer received recall 06V288000 for the lower ball joints. Consumer has contacted dealership in her area. They stated that there was a long waiting list and didn't know how long it would take in order to set up the recall service. Updated 2/22/2007 -

- Shreveport, LA, USA

problem #170

Jan 022007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
I received a letter from daimler Chrysler corporation about a safety recall for 2002 through 2006 model year Jeep Liberty vehicles, which can cause ball joint separation and can result in a loss of steering control and could cause a crash without prior warning. (daimler Chrysler Corp. Suggested to make an appointment as soon as possible) my complaint is that I called the dealer on January 2nd, I made an appointment, the closest date was two weeks after I called, I thought it was a long period of time considering the type of problem, but one day before my appointment date, I decided to call the dealer to confirm my appointment, and big was my surprise when they told me that my appointment was cancelled and that I have to wait until I hear from them again, it's been a week since that incident. My concern is that I may be involved in a crash because of this problem, and would like to have this recall solve as soon as possible.

- West Orange, NJ, USA

problem #169

Jan 012006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

- the contact received recall letter 06V288000 for the replacement of the lower ball joint on a 2004 Chrysler Jeep Liberty. The contact has been told that they will not have the part available until April. The vehicle has 34,000 miles. The engine size was unknown by contact. There has been no failure to date.

- Mason, OH, USA

problem #168

Jan 172007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,000 miles
- the contact has a 2004 Jeep Liberty and there is a safety recall on the lower ball joint 06V288000. The contact is calling because even though has been is a safety recall, the contact has not been able to find a dealer within 25 miles to make the safety repair in less than 12 weeks. The contact has called 3 different dealers and has gotten the same response. The contact was told that they were all booked and unable to make the repairs, and that they were only getting 3 parts a week. The contact stated that dealerships are replacing the parts in new cars before they replace them in vehicles that have been sold.

- New Castle, PA, USA

problem #167

Jan 182007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,145 miles
- the contact has a 2004 Jeep Liberty with an odometer reading of 22145 miles. The contact received the lower ball joint recall notice 06V288000, and has been waiting for two months to have her vehicle repaired, and when she called the dealership on 1-18-07 they told her that they were unsure when they would be able to repair the vehicle.

- Litchfield, NH, USA

problem #166

Jan 172007

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
- the contact owns a 2004 Jeep Liberty. There is a recall for the lower ball joints. The contact has called the dealer and they requested that he call back in a couple of weeks to set up a recall appointment. The NHTSA campaign id number is 06V288000. There has been no failure to date.

- Lebanon, OH, USA

problem #165

Jan 172007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
- the contact owns a 2004 Jeep Liberty. There is a recall for the lower ball joints. The NHTSA campaign id number is: 06V288000. The earliest the dealer can schedule an appointment to honor the recall is in 30 days. The contact doesn't know the current mileage. There have been no failures at this time.

- Port Charlotte, FL, USA

problem #164

Nov 102006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 700,000 miles
- on December 10, 2006, the contact stated she lost control of her 2004 Chrysler Jeep Liberty twice in one day. The first time, the contact was driving at 45 mph, and the road conditions were dry. The contact lost control of the vehicle, and the vehicle spun around. The contact was able to regain control of the vehicle. The second incident also happened on December 10th,2006 the vehicle was being driven in wet conditions for approximately 4 hours. The contact lost control of the vehicle causing her to barely hit the vehicle in front of her. The Chrysler Jeep flipped landing on its wheels. The contact does not know the details of the vehicle flipping, but said there was a witness. The airbags did not deploy. The vehicle was destroyed. The contact was injured. There was a police report filed. The vehicle had 70,000 miles at the time of the failure. The contact received recall letter 06V288000 on December 28, 2006.

- St. Joe, TX, USA

problem #163

Jan 152007

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
- the contact has a 2004 Jeep Liberty with an odometer reading of 30000 miles and received the recall for the lower ball joint #06V288000. The contact called the dealer and she was put on a waiting list, and she also called the manufacture in regard to the wait. The contact stated that the wait is very long and dealer needs to receive more than three ball joints kits a week. There have been no failures to date. The consumer traded the vehicle, because the recall was not one in a timely manner. Updated 03/19/07.

- Minneola, FL, USA

problem #162

Jan 152007

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Chrysler sends out recall information to customers owning 2002-2006 Jeep Liberty's. safety recall F23-lower ball joints. This letter is enough to scare the hell out of anyone especially driving around with my child. Telling me my vehicle could loose steering and cause a crash without prior warning and yet they are only sending out 2-3 parts a week to the dealers. I called as soon as I got the letter a week ago. There is still 43 people a head of me, so therefore this is going to be weeks like 14 weeks before my car can be fixed. To send a letter out to people explaining the danger of this and to contact your dealer right away. They are concerned for our safety. This makes me feel very upset and scared to drive myself around town and even more so having my child in the car with me. I am outraged that they would scare people like this and make you wait months to get the problem fixed. I feel like taking my vehicle and trading it in on another make. I can not believe they are making customers ride around in fear.

- Mcdonough, GA, USA

problem #161

Dec 232006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,483 miles
- the contact owns a 2004 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall letter 06V288000 on December 23, 2006. The contact called the dealer to schedule an appointment and was told that the parts are on back order. The contact is aware of the risk involved and that the incident may cause loss of steering control and can cause a crash without warning. There has been no failure to date. The repairs have been made. Updated 02/22/07.

- Henderson , NV, USA

problem #160

Jan 112007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
- the contact stated that she received recall letter 06V288000 for the lower ball joints on her 2004 Chrysler Jeep Liberty. The dealer has had to cancel her appointment because the part did not arrive. The dealer will call the contact when they have the part. The vehicle has approximately 30000 miles.

- Oakland Gardens, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?