Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
24,814 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Jeep Liberty fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 3 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #131

Aug 012014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to the rear structure reinforcement recall notice. The consumer stated it has been quite some time, since he received the recall letter. According to the letter, it stated to wait to received a call. The consumer tried calling the number on the letter, but there was no response. Recall # 13V252000.

- Sonora, CA, USA

problem #130

Jan 072014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
Received recall notice on 1/7-2014.called local Chrysler dealer numerous time since Jan. They keep telling me that Chrysler has yet to come up with the remedy. I would think that anything that has to do with a leaky fuel tank, would get high priority. Why don't the NHTSA look into what is going on thanks

- New Bern, NC, USA

problem #129

Aug 192014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
Received a recall notice over a year ago. Dealer continues to say parts are not available. This is not a timely repair and every day this is delayed is another opportunity for a rear end collision to impact the gas tank. Coming to believe that with the volume of recalls issued the NHTSA does not have the ability to enforce these repairs.

- Exton, PA, USA

problem #128

Aug 192014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure); however, the parts needed for the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 9/9/14

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #127

Nov 222012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 43,250 miles
When I want to refill the fuel tank the fuel squirts out the fill hole before the nozzle shuts off. It's been doing that since I bought the car a couple years ago.I was told the only way to fix the problem was to replace the fuel tank.

- Lancaster, PA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #126

Jul 162014

Liberty

  • 112,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact experienced a failure. The approximate failure mileage was 112,000.

- Hanes City, FL, USA

problem #125

Feb 132014

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) and stated that the part needed for the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Waucondea, IL, USA

problem #124

Aug 112014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure); however, the part needed for the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 09/22/14 updated 2/23/2015

- Nice , CA, USA

problem #123

Feb 032014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
I received a recall notice approximately 6 months ago that the fuel tank could leak during certain types of rear end collisions. I was notified that Chrysler would install a rear trailer hitch to manage crash forces in low-speed impacts. The recall stated that this inspection and install would occur when parts were available. I still have not received the inspection or follow up letter.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #122

Jan 082014

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure); however, the part needed for the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- La Feria, TX, USA

problem #121

Aug 012014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of the NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 09/02/14

- Cleveland, TN, USA

problem #120

Jan 082014

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 ( fuel system, gasoline, structure ) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Djr

- York, PA, USA

problem #119

Aug 012013

Liberty

  • miles
2006 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to parts not available to complete recall. The consumer stated he received the recall notice almost a year ago.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #118

Dec 302013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
TL * the contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure); however, the dealer stated that the parts needed for the repair were unavailable. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 10/28/2014 updated 7/14/2015

- East Hampton, CT, USA

problem #117

Apr 212014

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that another vehicle crashed into the rear of the contact's vehicle while stopped at a traffic light. There were no injuries. After the vehicle was repaired, the check engine indicator illuminated constantly. An independent mechanic stated that the fuel tank was leaking. Prior to the crash, the contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) however, the parts needed for the repair were unavailable. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was unknown.. updated 08-20-14

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #116

Jul 262014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
Received a safety recall notice awhile ago #N46 said that they would notify me of the status of the recall. I have heard nothing. Can you please let me know what is going on? [xxx] thank you very much information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Carmichaels, PA, USA

problem #115

Jul 242014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
I got a safety recall notice last 7 months for trailer hitch to be fixed on my Jeep Liberty 2006. Till dater the final notice nd appointment has not arrived. Sacred driving the car with hitch problem.

- Takoma Park, MD, USA

problem #114

Jul 012013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 43,000 miles
After calling to have my Jeep fixed, for the recall...fuel tank may experience a leak....the dealership would not fix it. They said they would call me and never did. When I took it back, they refused to fix it.

- Myrtle Beach, SC, USA

problem #113

Jan 012007

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 2,000 miles
Whenever I fill up the gas tank with gas the filler tube over flows with gas and does not allow the fuel pump to cut off automatically. This has happened since the vehicle was new. Gas gushes out of the filler tube and down the side of the vehicle and creates a large pool of gasoline on the ground. This action can be easily repeated. One must stop the fuel pump before the tank is full and not allow the pump to cut off automatically.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #112

Jan 142014

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) however, the part was not available to do the repairs. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Wasington, MO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?