Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,771 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Jeep Liberty windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 4 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #195

Jun 012010

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles


My 2006 Jeep Liberty has a serious problem with the window regulators and lift plates. June 1, 2010, was the first regulator to go out. The second one went out shortly after that. Now the first one has dropped again. The first time, I paid over $400 for the repair. The second one was covered by Chrysler completely, and they reimbursed me $333 for the first repair when the second repair was done. They are going to "consider" reimbursing me for this third one, but I have to jump through all of their hoops for it to be considered. This is a serious problem that is affecting many many Liberty owners. There should be an extended warranty on these regulators and plates. My daughter is driving this car and should not have to be concerned with whether her windows are going to stay up. This is a serious safety issue. NHTSA should demand that Chrysler either recall these or at bare minimum put an extended warranty on all Liberty for these parts. Ugh. This is ridiculous. Oh, and we bought the car used in November 2009. For all we know, multiple regulators might have been put on this car in its first 36,000 miles before we bought it.

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #194

Aug 072011

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 71,000 miles
Rear driver side power window dropped full open unexpectedly on 2006 Jeep Liberty; original owner of vehicle with 71,00+/- miles. Repaired at dealer(costly). From internet search appears this problem is systemic to 2006-2007 models and repeat failure not unheard of...very scary at 65mph.

- Topsham, ME, USA

problem #193

Aug 252011

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 61,195 miles
I purchased my 2006 Jeep Liberty in May 2011, however I have to windows that just stopped working. The windows just fail completely down without any warning one while I was driving which could have shatter and hurt my passenger. I contacted the Chrysler Jeep manufacture compliant line but they were no help. I was given a phone number to a dealership and was told I have warranty on the windows that only cover the list plate (if that's the problem) for my back window only. The problem after researching it this morning on the internet is the regulators in the windows which are very costly to repair approx. $260 per window. In this economy I can't afford to repair this and I should not have to because there is some kind of mal-function with the parts inside of the windows. They need to recall these vehicles because owner of them will spend money repairing the same problem at least 3 to 4 times in one year.

- North Chicago, IL, USA

problem #192

Aug 242011

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 43,000 miles


The rear automatic windows on my 2006 Jeep Liberty fall down into the door panel and cannot be raised with the regulator. This happened to me while I was driving and forced me to drive on the highway with lowered windows. I have had the rear windows repaired for the same problem multiple times, and they continue to break, at times that are unsafe. It also prevents me from properly securing the vehicle from theft until I can get to the dealer and they can "repair" it with the same defective part over and over again.

- Moscow, ID, USA

problem #191

Aug 132011

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the rear driver side door would not open from the inside or outside of the vehicle. The electronic key fob was used but would not allow the doors to be opened. In addition, the rear driver side window fell down into the door panel and could not be closed. The vehicle was not inspected or repaired. The contact spoke with the manufacturer and was advised that the regulator in the door had failed. The failure and current mileages were 32,000. Updated 09/21/11 the consumer stated the door lock would not work from the inside. Updated 11/02/11

- Diamond Springs, CA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #190

Aug 012011

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 39,000 miles
Rear passenger electric window failed. Slid down, would not close. Repaired. Failed again about the 4th of fifth time it was used.

- Blachly, OR, USA

problem #189

Jul 302011

Liberty 4WD 4-cyl Diesel

  • 56,885 miles


Left rear window fell down while car was parked. Dealer service said the regulator was ok but the lift plate was broken. Yet again, this is a door that has not been used in the last 4 weeks at a minimum. Chrysler service rep who took initial call said that he gets lots of calls for this on 2005 & 2006 models. He went on to say that most of the time is it in doors that are seldom used. Chrysler case manager stated that Chrysler is under no obligation to address this issue even though they know it is a manufacturer defect. Not only is this a safety issue, it is a security issue.

- Amarillo, TX, USA

problem #188

Oct 202006

Liberty 4WD 4-cyl Diesel

  • 47,159 miles
Right rear window fell down while car was parked. Because this happened the the left rear window in 2009, I immediately called Chrysler customer service who instructed me to take it to the dealer for a diagnosis, which confirmed the regulator needed to be replaced. Once again this is a door that is seldom used and the window is almost never used.

- Amarillo, TX, USA

problem #187

Oct 012009

Liberty 4WD 4-cyl Diesel

  • 37,274 miles
Left rear window fell down while the car was parked. This door is seldom used and the window had not been activated since I purchased it in 2006. Chrysler service dept. Stated the regulator had to be replaced. Because it was "only" 1200 miles out of warranty, Chrysler customer service would cover all but $100 of the cost. Internet search revealed multiple accounts of this issue.

- Amarillo, TX, USA

problem #186

Jun 252011

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
I have replaced all four window regulators during the past six months, and I'm starting to have problems with both front windows again, which were the most recently replaced at about two - three months ago (less than 50,000 miles) at the dealership. It seems the original window parts were defective, but the dealership's replacements (that I paid for) are much worse. I fear for the safety of myself, my passengers, my vehicle and my belongings with this ongoing issue. And I am angry about the time and expense it continues to cause. The form wouldn't let me complete with the correct required information, but limited my choices to those that did not

- East Lansing, MI, USA

problem #185

Jan 172008


  • 32,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated the drivers rear window regulator failed numerous times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer several times regarding the failure. The dealer replaced the window regulator several times, but the failure was not corrected. The drivers rear window continued to slide into the door frame. The contact also stated that the engine light remained illuminated, but the vehicle did not stall. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer filed a report and advised the contact that she would receive a call back. The failure mileage was 32,000 and the current mileage was 111,000.

- Alpine , AL, USA

problem #184

Jun 302011

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 52,300 miles
This will be the fourth year that I have had to replace the rear driver side window mechanism in my 2006 Jeep Liberty. Each year, the mechanism has failed while my vehicle was parked and not running (August 2007, June 2009, July 2010, June 2011). I have been told there is a recall for some models of Jeep's to fix this problem but not for my VIN group. I feel this is a safety issue as I cannot secure my vehicle while I am away and someone would be able to get into my vehicle and could be waiting for me to come back. Also, the integrity of the interior is compromised if an accident would occur due to the window not being up. The window mechanism has been replaced each year but with the same part. No modifications have been done to help ensure this problem will not happen again. I have called Jeep customer service and was told to use this website to lodge my complaint. My local dealerships have been very helpful with resolving this problem each year.

- Selah, WA, USA

problem #183

Apr 042011


  • 76,000 miles
Driver side power window stuck midway and I could not open the door, the regulator cable hung up with door latch, had to replace the regulator assembly. Glad I did not have to make an emergency exit.

- Gilbertsville, KY, USA

problem #182

Jun 132011


  • 57,000 miles
My Jeep Liberty 2006 has huge window issues- already have had 2 regulators replaced and working on the third- Jeep says they will only fix the window lift plate, but it's the whole regulator that's bad and they refuse to fix it- if I have it fixed, it's over $300 per window, and charged me a $90 diagnostic fee to tell me this- when is a recall going to be issued" not a safety issue"! tell that to those of us with small children in the back seat and a window falls down @ 55 mph! Jeep needs to replace all four window regulators and at their cost, not mine! and not just the lift plates! it's only good buisness, especially when I've already paid over $20,000 to Jeep for this Liberty and now can't even drive it because my windows are crahing down!

- Colonial Beach, VA, USA

problem #181

Jun 062011

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 79,000 miles
2006 Jeep Liberty has defective windows that fall down and present a safety hazard. The 2007 Jeep Liberty vehicles have a lifetime warranty for the same defect. This is dangerous and should be covered by the same warranty.

- College Station, TX, USA

problem #180

May 262011


  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty diesel. The contact stated that while attempting to close one of the rear automatic windows, the vehicle exhibited a loud pop and the window would not close. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the plastic window tray fractured and caused the malfunction. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was not under warranty. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 70,000.

- Golden , CO, USA

problem #179

May 242011

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 28,000 miles
We own a 2006 Jeep Liberty sport, and the rear window regulator broke and had to pay $250 to the Jeep dealership to replace. In the bill we notice it read "updated window regulator" which made me do some research and apparently there are thousands of Jeep liberties with the same problem, but Chrysler will not recall the part. For us it was a safety issue since we have a baby in the rear seat who was exposed to the elements. Of course the car company and the dealerships still charge you $150 for diagnostic (although they know exactly what it is) and $100 for the part plus other fees. Some people I found have had all windows replaced to a cost of aprox $1000 this is not fair, they know the part is defective, they should fix it. They do accept government money to be saved but the consumer is on its own. Please do something about this.

- Tigard, OR, USA

problem #178

Mar 302011


  • 40,000 miles
Rear driver's side power window regulator broke after only 40,000 miles on a 2006 Jeep Liberty limited 4X4. Window received only light used, was not used while frozen with ice. This failure results from a plastic part that is specified in the regulator design that is not durable enough for this application. This failure renders the vehicle unsecure as the window either falls down on its own or can be pushed down from the outside by hand. It also causes a safety issue as the window can fall down unexpectedly. This is especially an issue during winter or storm conditions. Incurred $250 in repair costs. Replacement parts have the same design flaw and can be expected fail again in similarly short peroids of time.

- Hastings, MN, USA

problem #177

Mar 242011


  • 63,000 miles
My mother bought a used 2006 Jeep Liberty has never had a problem, so in March of 2010 me and my husband decided to purchase a used 2006 Jeep Liberty from a trusty car dealer. Within 2 months of having this Jeep our right rear window dropped into the door as we were driving to a family function. My biggest fear was that 1 of our 3 kids could have been hurt by broken glass. My father repaired the window by wedging a piece of wood between the door and the window. I later called Jeep who told me there was no recall on this Jeep and that they would gladly split the cost with me which only cost $600 per window and they won't warranty because they know it will happen again. I left it alone cause we could not afford this at the time. A few months later in November 2010 the left side rear window slipped, once again my father repaired it at best he could. I finally went online to see what I could do repair the problem myself at a cheaper cost. I came across a web site the gentleman who owns this company has created a replacement piece for the broken part and it works great. I replaced it myself with no knowledge of repairing cars. The only hard part was working in such a tight space..thank god my hands are small enough to squeeze in between the door and the window area. The part is about a $100 with shipping and handling and so far seems to have solved the problem it took about an hour to do all the work on 1 window. Thats not our only problem with this lovely vehicle we have also had problems with the fuel spilling out when filling the tank. The tank seems to build pressure or catch air. I don't know all I know is it scared me really bad the first time.and we have also had problems with the esp especially when you hit a turn to hard or hit a big bump. How wonderful a 4X4 vehicle who doesn't like big turns, bumps or snow. And the most expensive part is the broken window..they told me its called a binding crack it happens to all Jeep so don't force your Jeep to do its job..and work.

- Pampa, TX, USA

problem #176

Dec 272010


  • 41,400 miles
In July 2009 the left, rear passenger window in my Jeep Liberty fell down by itself. In Dec. 2010 the right rear passenger window in the same vehicle fell down by itself during a snow storm causing approximately 6 inches of snow to accumulate in my vehicle. These are windows that are rarely used. Both the service manager and customer service reps at Chrysler advised me that there is a faulty window regulator in the Jeep vehicles which causes this problem, but no recalls have been made.

- Latham, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?