Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,771 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Jeep Liberty windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 3 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #215

Jul 022012

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 86,000 miles


Both of my rear window regulators broke while I was rolling down the windows after being in the sun all day. This is the 3rd Jeep Liberty that I have had that has had this problem. Jeep wants me to pay $300 to get these replaced. This is a known problem and Jeep refuses to take care of it. Locking my vehicle is pointless since the windows fall down.

- Findlay, OH, USA

problem #214

Sep 192007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 16,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact was driving 65 mph when the rear driver side window independently opened and fell into the door panel. The contact had experienced the failure twice prior to the most recent failure. The identical failure occurred to the rear passenger side window as well. The vehicle was taken to the dealer twice and was repaired. The manufacturer was notified but offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 16,000 and the current mileage was 40,000...updated 09/04/12 the consumer stated there were six (6) incidents (3 each) involving the passenger and driver's rear window. The most recent window failure was on 7/25/2012. Updated 09/12/2012

- Bayville, NJ, USA

problem #213

Jul 082008

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 26,000 miles
The window regulators in my 2006 Jeep Liberty have broken and fallen down 10 different times in the past 4 years that I have owned the vehicle. The first 9 times were bothersome and about $450 each to get fixed but this last one is a safety hazard. I have a 10 week old baby and the window decided to fall down in the middle of a storm and I had to pull over on the interstate to pull the window back up to stop the flood of rain that was falling on my (at the time) 8 week old baby. My baby was screaming his head off as I am sure that much rain coming in the wide opened window at 50-60 (was driving slower due to low visibility in storm) miles an hour did not feel good. I had to find the right time to pull off the road then climb in back, undo car seat, slide it over and duct tape the window. I was alone and then had to reattach the car seat to the base and dry off my infant. I am thankful that no one hit us while I was parked on the interstate in a rainstorm with my child not buckled in to the car. I was in a panic trying to fix this. Now Jeep is refusing to fix this free of charge due to lack of recall. Please make them recall this defective part so this does not happen again. I live in mobile, al and it is scorching hot and I can't be driving him around with the window down. Also, it doesn't stay up for more than a day with the duct tape because of the heat melting the glue on the tape. It's just dangerous.

- Theodore, AL, USA

problem #212

Apr 052008

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the rear driver side window control arm was fractured and inoperable. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and repaired previously for the failure. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed the failure but the vehicle was not repaired. They stated that the vehicle was out warranty and offered no assistance. The manufacturer was also notified of the issue and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 18,000 and the current mileage was 49,000. Updated 08/28/12 the consumer the vehicle was fixed under warranty but, there is still a $100 deductible. Updated 09/04/2012

- Norht Freedom, WI, USA

problem #211

Jun 012012


  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that while driving 65 mph, the rear driver side window fell into the door panel haphazardly. The vehicle was taken to a personal mechanic who replaced the window regulator. Three weeks later the failure recurred. The vehicle had not been further repaired. The failure and current mileages were 70,000.

- West Allis, WI, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #210

Feb 232008

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 7,446 miles
The windows on my Jeep Liberty fall from the track for no reason. They fall when I don't even use them. They have been fixed at least 5 times since I have owned the Jeep. The new part that they install is apparently defective because they only last for a year and then they break again. This should be listed as a recall since I have seen thousands of owners of this Jeep complain about the same problem, some having fixed the windows 12 or more times. This is a safety issue as well because the windows suddenly falling down for no reason can cause loss of control and also a safety issue that someone can reach in your car and harm you or create a carjacking issue. This problem needs to be addressed immediately.

- Mercerville, NJ, USA

problem #209

Jul 292011

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles


Drivers side rear window fell down while vehicle was parked.

- Keansburg, NJ, USA

problem #208

Jul 012012


  • 106,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the rear driver side window regulator failed. The lift plate for the regulator was poorly designed and the plastic parts fractured. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for inspection or repairs. The failure and the current mileage was 106,000.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #207

Jun 132012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
I have reviewed that there are have been multiple complaints regarding faulty window regulators on these particular Chrysler vehicles. These plates in the window regulators give out causing the auto glass to slide down inside the door. I have had to have both rear regulators replaced twice and recently my front passenger regulator gave out. I have had 3 regulators replaced prior to my vehicle reaching 30,000 miles. My recent issue: My front window began to lower on its on while I was driving when I attempted to raise the window with the switch it then immediately fell down inside the door causing rain/hail to enter my vehicle while I was driving. I contacted Chrysler and they have offered no solution stating there is no recall for this part even though there are numerous consumer complaints about the faulty regulators.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #206

Aug 112006


  • 3,306 miles
Window mechanism failed while driving and window came open unexpectedly. All windows have failed multiple times since purchasing the vehicle new. Each time, Jeep replaces the mechanism with the same faulty parts. This is a safety hazard, because windows falling open while driving is a shock to the driver and causes a distraction, especially in bad weather. It also prevents parking the vehicle safely, because the vehicle is not secure.

- Signal Mountain, TN, USA

problem #205

Dec 072011

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 40,416 miles


The rear window regulators in the 06 Jeep Liberty are failing at an alarming rate. Ours has had both break once and the drives side twice now. I have contacted Jeep with my frustrations with zero help. There are countless claims online, with friends, acquaintances, and even my local Jeep dealer (easton, md) that all support that this is not an isolated issue. I have again been told that there will be no recall because this is not a safety issue. I disagree strongly!! when driving down the highway and the window regulator fails, the window drops. What happens if there is something leaning up against the window, a child in that seat, a pet" the risks are huge to the safety of the vehicle occupants and others on the road should something fall out. The other thing that is very alarming is that everything is beginning to present itself at a similar time for the vehicles showing signs of the problem. Jeep claims it is due to plastic parts failing due to not enough use?" this makes no sense. To support my claim that this is an issue affecting a large number of people and clearly not an isolated issue, please see the web sites listed below. thank you for your time and consideration.

- Cambridge , MD, USA

problem #204

Jan 022012

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The rear passenger side window regulator failed again. Driving and the back window dropped without notice. This is a costly repair and its an ongoing problem. You need to make the mfg step up and make a permanent solution for a ongoing problem. I see you have had several complaints on the same issue. This is a safety issue as well.

- Peyton, CO, USA

problem #203

Mar 162007


  • 8,745 miles
Windows falling into door. Since I purchased the vehicle, all of the windows at one time or another have fallen into the door, some of them 2 times. I have has them fixed 7 times. Window regulator needing to be replaced.

- Powhatan, VA, USA

problem #202

Oct 272011

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
My car was parked, when the regulator for the back passenger's side window broke causing the window to fall into the door. This is at least the 14 times one of the regulators has broken in my Liberty. This time I was lucky because my car was parked. There have been several times it has broken while driving which is a safety concern for my passengers. Jeep has not yet recalled the part even though they have acknowledged that the part is faulty.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #201

Oct 122011


  • 62,200 miles
Window regulator broke costing me $210. Chrysler refused to reimburse me because my vehicle was made in December 2005 prior to the extension of the warranty for the same problem effective March 2006. Also, I am the third owner. This is a known factory defect and is not a wear issue or a maintenance problem. This should not happen period.

- Shelby Township, MI, USA

problem #200

Nov 032006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 8,508 miles
This problem with the window regulators has been an ongoing problem since we bought this car new. The dates of repair are as follow from newest to oldest, 10/10/11,10/22/10,9/30/10,8/10/09,3/13/08,12/11/07,4/10/07,4/5/07,3/16/07,1/24/07,11/07/06,11/03/06. We have taken this car to the dealer this many times for the same problem. We have never paid a penny for the repairs. The manufacturer is now asking us to pay 100$ saying is a warranty issue. The problem is that they know they have a defective part but cannot fix it. They have recalled on some models of this car. Ours is not included in this recall. This trip for us to take this car in for the initial check is 230 miles then we have to wait for the authorization of repairs to take it back is another 230 miles. It is not reasonable for us to pay for the manufacturers faulty parts. We are out of pocket 12 times for the time and gas to go over there. This window regulator is defective and when it snaps the window rod breaks jams the door locking mechanism the door then will not stay closed or it will not open. We are also filing claims with the Consumer Affairs and national transportation safety board.

- Lake Isabella, CA, USA

problem #199

Sep 272011


  • miles
Letter from congressman brown on behalf of constituent regarding his 2006 Jeep Liberty; please respond to the cleveland office at 1301 East 9th street, suite 1710, cleveland, Ohio 44114 tel. 216-522-7272 fax 216-522-2239 the consumer stated the power windows failed three times. The consumer stated the same defective parts were being used as replacements.

- Amelia, OH, USA

problem #198

Oct 082011

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 1,375,462 miles
Failing window regulator on a 2006 Jeep Liberty, Chrysler is aware of the problem, does not want to issue a recall, or do a good will fix. Est. To fix over $ 500.

- San Juan Bautista, CA, USA

problem #197

Aug 292008

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 23,000 miles
Two weeks after purchasing a 2006 Jeep Liberty, the rear left window dropped and could not be rolled up or down. It was repaired under warranty. The next time it was the right rear window and it cost $429.26. Three weeks later the rear left window dropped again. This time we contacted Jeep/Chrysler and were told that although the warranty for this problem had been extended for the 2006 Jeep Liberty that mine was not included because it was built in October/2005. The agent said nothing could be done and there was no one else to talk to - it was a final decision. I called back and was told that the previous customer service agent didn't follow procedure and was "stunned" at the way I was treated and I was then assigned a case number and a case manager. There have now been 14 phone calls and nothing has been resolved. This is a safety issue. Small children ride in the back seat that could get out of safety restraints and be in danger. The vehicle cannot be locked up and secured and it's scary to have to get inside an unsecured vehicle at night. The interior is being destroyed by constantly being rained and snowed upon in a region of the country that has more cold and wet weather than anything else. Jeep refuses to acknowledge that there are hundreds of complaints on the internet about this problem, no standard policy being followed by Jeep to get this manufacturer's defect fixed, and no recall for a problem that happens over and over again on the same vehicle. If Jeep will not fix this problem with their product, then consumers should unite a file a class action lawsuit because the way Jeep is handling this is just plain wrong.

- Idaho Falls, ID, USA

problem #196

Sep 032011

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 48,100 miles
My 2006 Jeep Liberty's back driver's side window regulator is broken. The window will not stay up and falls down part way when you are driving and needs to be pulled back up manually when you stop. When you press the button for the window, you can hear the window motor running, but the window will not go up. This happened when the vehicle had just over 48,000 miles. This seems to be a very common complaint for the 2006 Jeep Liberty and an extended warranty has been issued by Chrysler to repair 2006 Jeep Liberty's with this problem which were manufactured after March, 2006. My Jeep was manufactured in Feb. Of 2006. This window regulator warranty needs to be extended to all 2006 Jeep Liberty's. according to comments on the internet, this repair can be $400 and up.

- Davenport, IA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?