Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,771 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Jeep Liberty windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 2 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #235

May 252013

Liberty

  • 37,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is the sixth time one of the windows has gotten stuck all the way down. I have a child, and cannot drive with open windows. Not only am I worried about theft, but I don't want anything flying into the car while driving. It is Saturday, and I won't be able to get in touch with the dealership until Tuesday, due to the memorial day weekend. I will morre than likely have to miss work because I can't drive on the freeway with a window down, and I have to park in an area that is not good.

- Santa Fe, NM, USA

problem #234

Apr 092012

Liberty

  • 91,000 miles
I own a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The rear left window fell. I never received any recall letter stating there was a problem with the windows. April 2013 I came out of work to find my diver side window down. Called the dealership and they informed me that there was only two months before the recall was over. Last year I started having problems with my check engine light coming on. I was told that it could be 1 of 2 things plugs or O2 sensors. I had the plugs and the upper and lower bank O2 sensors done 9 months ago. My check engine light has gone on and off over the last 7 months. I can't afford to do the sensors every time the light goes on. I have had fuel spill problems that started about a month ago. When filling my gas tank the pump doesn't shut off fast enough and there is an overflow of gasoline. Not only is this a fire hazard but with the price of gas its a lot money wasted. Also two weeks ago my Jeep has been losing power while driving.

- Dudley, MA, USA

problem #233

Apr 182013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 92,500 miles
My rear driver side window stopped working and would slide down until it slid down so much I had to pull it up just for it to fall completely into the door the next day. I called the dealership and they wont fix it because it was manufactured before the recall date. I have two small children and cant drive them anywhere because its to cold and the wind is to much. I can barely afford food much less a $240 window repair.

- Kingsville, MD, USA

problem #232

Apr 212013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 1,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Continued issues with window regulators. This is the forth time the same part has broken. The two rear windows have broken and been fixed 3 times and now the front passenger side window regulator. During all of the incidents we have been driving the vehicle. Jeep knows about this issue and has many many complaints about it. Mopar knows about this issue and has changed material that they part is made out of.

- Victoria, TX, USA

problem #231

Jul 272012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 76,254 miles
Driver rear window fell down. Tested and repaired rear window regulator and assembly.

- White Marsh, MD, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #230

Sep 082012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 99,000 miles
While driving the 2006 Jeep Liberty across the country from pa to tx the 2nd back window fell into the door with our dog in the back, this could of caused an accident. This happened to both my back windows, both these are child safety windows, and if someone had a child in a car seat in these Jeep could have had a potential accident when this happened, winter months, storms etc. Please recall these hazardous window regulators on the 2006 Jeep Liberty. I was told by the local dealership, the Chrysler company will pay 1/2 for the repair, . I am asking for an immediate recall and replacement for the window regulators before someone gets seriously hurt.

- Edinburg, TX, USA

problem #229

Sep 012012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving a passenger on the rear left side of my car attempted to roll down the window. We then heard a pop and the window was half way down and began to fall. We were able to keep the window from falling into the door. The motor continued to sound as if it was working but would not allow the window to go up or down. Approximately 6 months later the rear right side window was being rolled down and we again heard a popping sound and the window again would not roll up or down. After research it seems that this is a common occurrence and due to having two out of four windows on my car alone experience this problem it seems very strange to me that this has not been issued as a recall and is costing owners of these vehicles over $400 per window to fix this problem. This is a safety hazard for the risk of someone breaking in to a vehicle and also the risk of the window falling and breaking putting anyone in the back seat of the vehicle at risk of injury, including my daughter.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #228

Feb 142013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 113,000 miles
Driver side window dropped - it's the window regulator - again. Have replaced the other window plates and regulators in this car 4 times! really scary when you're driving and the window suddenly drops! especially nice when it's pouring out! previously was reimbursed by Chrysler for repairs, but now they've 'changed their policy' (really"??"). this will cost me $375 at my own shop as opposed to $508 at the Jeep dealership. I wouldn't care if it was twice the price, I'm not giving Jeep a dime! this should have been a recall item, they should be ashamed of themselves.

- Massapequa, NY, USA

problem #227

Feb 132013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
The windows fall down into the door. This has happened repeatedly, sometimes when driving on the highway and is dangerous. Jeep should replace the faulty window regulators.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #226

Jan 012013

Liberty

  • miles
2006 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to defective window parts installed in vehicle. The consumer stated the window has been replaced five times within the last four months, in addition, to the previous 11-12 replacements in 2007. The consumer stated using the same defective parts was not going to fix the problem. Also, when the windows were down, there was a thumping and wind noise, that was unbearable. The consumer stated things were stolen out of his vehicle, because the windows would not go up. Also there was a noise coming from the rear of the vehicle and the doors would vibrate when the windows were down.

- Cathedral City, CA, USA

problem #225

Nov 202012

Liberty

  • 94,830 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In August of 2011 my rear passanager window fell down while I was driving. August Nov 20 2012 my window again fell down where my infant sits and its the start of winter. I understand there is an issue with this on models 2004-2007 however they are not covering this as a recall. This is clearly a safety issue. The manager bill said that he pretty much didnt care neither did gloria the csr rep whom hung up on me when she said she was going to put me on hold after 10 min or brenda who said that they just don't do good this kind of service for people.

- West Dundee , IL, USA

problem #224

May 122010

Liberty 4WD 8-cyl

  • 28,000 miles
Driving vehicle, rolled down the driver side rear window with power window button, attempted to roll window up later and heard a "pop" sound. Arrived home, removed the interior door panel, noticed the window slide regulator had broken from the plastic. Used zip ties to keep window held in the up position, rendering the window useless. Unable to afford to have it fixed. Several months later, rolled down the passenger side rear window and experienced the exact same thing as above. November 12, 2012, wife is driving home from work, rolled down the passenger front window and experienced again what happened to the last two instances. Attempted to contact Chrysler support, was told to get an inspection from a dealership and then contact them back.

- Zeeland, MI, USA

problem #223

Nov 012012

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
Left rear power window regulator assembly failed when trying to raise the window. I heard a loud pop, followed the sound of the motor working, but the window wouldn't raise. Scary, as my small child was in the seat next to the window. I have been given an estimate of $428 to fix the problem. I am adding my complaint to the long list in the hopes that Chrysler & Jeep would finally fix this systemic issue. Since this is both a safety and security issue, maybe the NHTSA can help!

- Navarre, FL, USA

problem #222

Oct 282012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 59,999 miles
The right rear passenger window while driving 65 mph the right rear window without warning dropped all the way down into the door. This startled my 7 year old son who was sitting there and it almost caused me to lose control of the vehicle because my sons reaction startled me.

- Tolland, CT, USA

problem #221

May 112010

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 17,110 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty 4X4. The contact stated that as she attempted to open the rear driver's side window, the window exhibited a loud, abnormal screeching noise. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection where they stated that the regulator needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified and stated that the vehicle was not under warranty or recall. The failure mileage was 17,110...updated 12/06/12 the consumer stated the second window failedon the rear driver side in October 2012 repaired 11/19/2012. Updated 12/07/2012

- Airmont, NY, USA

problem #220

Dec 072010

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 56,651 miles
The 2006 Jeep Liberty window regulators continue to fail. I have had to repair the driver side window regulator twice, the left window regulator once and the right regulator twice. The first three repairs were covered under warranty, the fourth one I had to request re-imbursement from Jeep which was granted after correspondence with Jeep. The fifth time I am still negotiating with Jeep. They are aware of the issue as there have been many complaints with the same issue.

- East Brunswick, NJ, USA

problem #219

Jul 152008

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 34,000 miles
This is the 3rd time in 5 years that the ds rear window regulator has failed causing the window to slide down the track. The lastest occurrence happened while driving down the freeway at 60 mph. The window was not being operated at the time of the failure.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #218

Aug 272012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 102,000 miles
Left rear power window regulator failed causing window to fall. Inability to closed window creates cabin pressure oscillations at all speeds. The pressure oscillations create a distraction to the driver and impair the driver's hearing.

- Lancaster, CA, USA

problem #217

Aug 172011

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
Right rear power window regulator failed causing window to fall. Inability to close window creates cabin pressure oscillations at all speeds. These pressure changes are intense and cause a distraction and limit driver's hearing.

- Lancaster, CA, USA

problem #216

Aug 152012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 97,000 miles
This is the 2nd time I have accessed your website with a complaint for the same problem.. I reported my other complaint on 09/20/2010. My rear windows just fall down for no reason. On 8/15/12 I walked out and noticed my rear driver side car window was down. When I tried to put it up, it just made a grinding noise. It just slips down into the window space leaving me with an open window while driving down the interstate in the rain. The same thing happened two years ago to both rear windows to the same vehicle. I was told by the dealership there was a defect in the 2006 Jeep Liberty's where this happens. It appears the windows and part that raises and lowers the window is one unit which is made of plastic. Apparently it is very cheap and fragile and breaks for no reason. You have to buy the whole window/mechanical assembly and it is very expensive. Please help me get my window fixed.

- Flintstone, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?