Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,771 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Jeep Liberty windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 1 of 13)

problem #255

Apr 272015

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

3 broken windows one is stuck in door one is stuck up and back seat is stuck. All have broken within a week. I cant afford to get all 3 fixed at one time. Just for them to break again.

- Bourbonnais, IL, USA

problem #254

Apr 102015

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 91 miles
Windows regulators fail.windows just drop when you operate them. Every window has done this.for no known reason.

- Saintalbans, VT, USA

problem #253

Oct 142014

Liberty

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, the driver's side window failed to close and came off track. The failure recurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The vehicle repaired but recurred shortly after. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- Wheatridge, CO, USA

problem #252

May 132011

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 31,796 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have two (2) Jeep Liberty's both 2006 (1) renegade, & (1) sport, both vehicles have had the window regulator's fail, (2) - window regulator's failed on the renegade, (1) on the driver's front side window, the regulator had to be replaced on 02/12/11 & again (1) on the driver's rear window, the regulator had to be replaced on 05/18/12 this was on the 2006 Jeep renegade. (2) - window regulator's failed, on the Jeep sport, (1) on the driver's rear window, the window regulator had to be replaced on 09/19/11 & (1) window regulator again on the same window on 10/08/14 needs to be replaced, the same window regulator needed to be fixed twice within three years & 20 days, the dealer would not fix the window under warranty because it was over the exp. Date by 20 days, why is it always the window regulators because it's a plastic part and that's why it keeps failing, that's just bull I have spent over $1200 dollars on repairs on windows regulator's alone & it's the same part each time all 4-windows, I used to be a great fan of Jeep, I've owned Jeep for (20) years now, but I have become really disappointed with my vehicle's, the first time it happened I was on the highway driving at 65 mph when the window suddenly opened, the wind ripped through my vehicle started to blow things around so bad that I had to pull over and tape my window up so I could make it home, and I'm not the only one, alot of Jeep Liberty owners have had the same thing happen to them and had to replace the window regulators, thank you

- Klamath Falls, OR, USA

problem #251

May 052008

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
I have had multiple window regulators break in my vehicle. I have replaced 3 of them at least twice. I have replaced on once, which is the only one I did not have replaced by Chrysler. It is the only one that has not broken again. I have contacted Chrysler and they refuse to help out in any way to pay for these. It needs to be a recalled part, and they need to make a part that will actually not break. My small child has to ride in the back seat with a window down, my vehicle is open for anyone to just get into my vehicle at any time, and any time it rains, snows, anything else I get all type of weather in the vehicle. I have received terrible customer service from Chrysler.

- Owasso, OK, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #250

May 202014

Liberty

  • 76,000 miles
The rear driver's side window failed to go up after I had lowered it a little bit. This is the second time this window has had this issue and will be the fifth time I have had this issue since owning the vehicle since 2006. When I contacted the Dodge / Jeep / Chrysler dealership about this issue, they told me the warranty was no longer valid, in other words it expired in March of 2014 and I would now be responsible for paying for any work needed to be done to repair this window issue. This dealership does have my prior records on file in their computer system of the 4 previous times I've been there to have this issue repaired as well.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #249

Oct 242013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 94,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Today was the 3rd time my window electrical window mechanism has broke. The first time, Chrysler paid to fix it as it was one of their - hidden - defects that they do not wish to publish. Now they say that they no longer cover the defect as the car is older. If there is a design issue and a known one, should they not have to stand behind their product? now I will have to spend another $250 or more to get it fixed. Jeep needs to stand behind their product.

- Mauldin, SC, USA

problem #248

May 012014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 83,000 miles
I kept hearing this noise on right side....window went down and wont come back up..it was like a popping sound.

- Yirk, PA, USA

problem #247

Oct 092013

Liberty

  • miles
I have a faulty window regulator in my back right window. I have had each window fixed at least once due to a faulty window regulator. I have one window fixed twice. This issue was previously covered under an extended warranty; however, the latest issue occurred after the extended warrant expired. Currently the back right window won't stay up. I've pushed it up on a weekly basis and it slowly falls. I'm concerned that pretty soon I'll have to keep the window up using tape or other measures. It's not safe to drive with the window constantly falling, especially if and when I have children in the back seat of my car.

- Smyrna, DE, USA

problem #246

Dec 142009

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 39,955 miles
On the first incident the rear passenger window fell, so it was replaced. Then on 09/10/10 both front window regulators started to go out and one was completely out so I had both regulators replaced. Then on 08/29/11 the rear driver window regulator went out and the regulator was replaced. Then 01/20/14 the rear passenger window regulator went out again.

- Scott City, MO, USA

problem #245

Mar 032014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 126,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was sitting in a parking lot and my back passenger side window fell down. I didn't hit any of the buttons, it just fell. I took it to get looked at and they told me that the window regulator went bad again. This has happened multiple times and I believe it is crazy that this part isn't apart of the recall. The place didn't have any in stock (seems to be a problem probably because it has happened so many times to countless customers), so basically I was charged 110$ for them to look at and tell me what is wrong while me knowing it was either that or the lift plate. Don't think I have been more frustrated in my life.

- Okeana, OH, USA

problem #244

Feb 242014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
I pulled up to a stop at an intersection. The passenger lowered the passenger front-side window using the electrical button. The window fell into the door and did not come back up when the passenger tried to raise it again. This is the third window this has happened to. Each time the diagnosis was a broken window regulator.

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #243

Jan 112014

Liberty

  • miles
As I was driving with my sons in the back seat, we heard a loud bang on the right back passenger side. The window started to roll down into the door shift. I was able to pull over and catch the window and manually push it back up. It then fell completely into the door shift. It was 17 degrees outside and we had to ride all the wayhome with the window down. This is dangerous because the noise surprised us and could have caused and accident. Please research this.

- High Point, NC, USA

problem #242

Mar 182011

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 17,000 miles
Window fell in door, rear passenger on drivers side. Self replaced motor window in doorsystem. Plastic part inside snaps or shears off. Bought a replacement part that has metal stops. No problems. Have replaced all four window motors. They all snapped at different times. By husband

- Winston Salem, NC, USA

problem #241

Sep 122013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 90,500 miles
I was driving my vehicle near crater lake national park. The power window motor system broke on the left rear passenger door, thus allowing the window to free fall into the door frame. I have read that this is and has been an ongoing problem with this year of Jeep. Then now in decmeber, the drivers window motor system has broken again causing the glass window to free fall into the door frame. If this is all true about this system, and the fact that I now have 2 broken power window motors which will cost me nearly $900 to fix, I feel this item should be on a national recall list for Jeep to replace these items so they will not fail. It is a safety hazard as it could cause glass to break during driving time and injuring drivers.

- Clackamas, OR, USA

problem #240

Oct 172013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 90,054 miles
This has been happening for some time. When I fill up, the gas tanks gushes out gas when it is full. This happens almost every time that I fill up with gas. It seems extremely dangerous as there is enough fuel that spills on to the ground below the Jeep. I have replaced every regulator in my Jeep's windows. They go out all of the time. The last one went out while driving and the window crashed down and scared me to death.

- Pueblo, CO, USA

problem #239

Oct 032009

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
The window regulators for my 2006 Jeep Liberty have failed. This is a major complaint with the 2006 Jeep Liberty and this should be subject to a recall. There have been numerous complaints about this problem. Jeep needs to make this right. The window regulators for the drivers side rear window stopped working in 2009, and the window regulator in the drivers side front window stopped working in 2012.

- Columbia, KY, USA

problem #238

Jul 282010

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
Jeep Liberty 2006, manufactured in September of 2005. Repeated failure of passenger and driver side window regulators. A known issue and a cause for the recall, but only for cars made as of February of 2006. Window regulators are just as faulty on Jeep Liberty's 2006 that were made in previous months. Endless replacements at $600 each time. These cars need to be recalled as sudden window failures may result in unsafe driving conditions and as a result, in accidents.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #237

Jun 032013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • 75,000 miles
Have now had to replace all four power window regulators. 75,000 miles

- Sherwood, AR, USA

problem #236

May 012013

Liberty

  • 90,000 miles
We were driving down the road and we went to roll down the rear window and it fell into the door and wouldn't go up or down. When we stopped to attempt to fix the window the door will not open at all.

- Springboro, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?