Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,771 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Jeep Liberty windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 6 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #155

Sep 262010

Liberty

  • 24,301 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Window regulator has broke and window will not stay up.

- Paris, KY, USA

problem #154

Sep 272010

Liberty

  • 75,000 miles
The passenger side window regulator cable on my 2006 Jeep Liberty failed and the window dropped all the way inside the door panel. The plastic pin holding the regulator cable to the window channel broke.

- Killeen, TX, USA

problem #153

Sep 252010

Liberty

  • 57,255 miles
1. operating normally 2. power window failure. Occurs every 20K miles of normal use. Failure due to a broken plastic bracket that attaches the window to the regulator wire coil. When failure occurs, window may slip down resulting in possible weather damage and security risks. 3. the factory fix is costly and doesn't replace the plastic bracket. The permanent fix is to replace that bracket with a metal one for about $90 + 1 hrs labor per window.

- Herndon, VA, USA

problem #152

Apr 062010

Liberty

  • 47,813 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Jeep Liberty - three window failures within a four month period (two back windows and driver side front window. Paid over $600 to repair the back windows but when the 3rd one failed, we contacted Chrysler and we were told to have it repaired and Chrysler would pay the dealer for the repairs. We asked about the previous repairs and were told to write to Chrysler customer service and include copies of invoices. We are in the process of doing this and don't have any response yet.

- Decatur, IN, USA

problem #151

Sep 202010

Liberty

  • 31,300 miles
I have a 2006 Jeep Liberty that I purchased 6 mos ago with 25,000 miles. The back passenger window has stopped working. Still researching repair estimates.

- Albany, NY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #150

Sep 102010

Liberty

  • 95,000 miles
Within the last year all four windows on my 2006 Jeep Liberty have failed, one of them for the second time since I have owned the car. The first window failed September of 2009. I had my window partly down and when I went to roll it up it made a terrible noise and the glass fell into the door. I paid to have it repaired which cost me $600. In August of 2010 the back two windows began to fall into the door on their own, I had not tried to roll them down, as I was driving. This happened within a week of each other. When I took it to the dealer they suggested I call Jeep to request help. Jeep agreed to repair both of these windows for me. Within one week of the repair the front passenger side window fell into the door as I came to a stop in a parking lot. I am currently waiting to hear from Jeep about the repair of this window. I cannot believe that this happened to my car five times in total, (the first window went out about three years ago.)

- Murrieta , CA, USA

problem #149

Sep 202010

Liberty

  • 54,427 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2006 Jeep Liberty and this morning I was rolling down the window when I heard a pop and was unable to return the rear left passenger window to the closed position. I searched about this problem and found that this is becoming a common problem among 2006 Jeep liberties. A forum suggested that I report it. I had not experienced any problems before this incident.

- Northport, NY, USA

problem #148

Aug 232010

Liberty

  • miles
The regulators on the power windows on my 2006 Jeep Liberty break repeatedly. I just dropped my car off at my local auto repair to fix the rear passenger and the front driver windows. These have both been fixed before. These are incidents 6 and 7.

- St Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #147

Sep 052010

Liberty

  • 20,182 miles
My windows are falling into the well of my 2006 Jeep Liberty doors for no reason at all. Dealers are not openly offering to replace with updated parts. I was told that the cost would be up to $500 per window and offering to have Chrysler make good of the defect. I was told the window regulators were defected and that Chrysler was aware of the problem. If you know there is a problem, just have the dealer replace and file with Chrysler to make this a "good service policy".

- Gloucester Point, VA, USA

problem #146

Sep 172010

Liberty

  • 79,000 miles
2006 Jeep Liberty passenger side rear window falls on its own and will not come back up.

- Gideon, MO, USA

problem #145

Dec 202006

Liberty

  • 1,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a 2006 Jeep Liberty in tampa, fl September of 2006. This vehicle was purchased brand new, with approx 24 miles on it at the time of purchase. Since my purchase the rear window regulators fail 5 times as of the current date. 4 times the dealership in fl fixed without any cost to me. When this happened 9/15/2010 for the 5th time (3rd time on the same window) I called the local Jeep dealership and spoke to the service manager :explained the issue & wanted to know when I could bring it to the dealership to be repaired. He went on to tell me this: ¿you can bring it in anytime, there is a $100 deductible to have this fixed. ¿ ( I questioned why, as this was an obvious defect on the manufacturer) he responded ¿that is what the charge is, just be glad that this has not happened to all of your windows, this is a common problem with the 2002- current Jeep Liberty. Jeep is aware of the problem, but they are not going to issue a recall, nor are they going to do anything about it.¿ (I was shocked that I would be told this) ¿if you don¿T like this well, call Chrysler yourself, here is the number 1-800-992-1997.¿ after I hung up the phone with him, I called the original dealership in Florida to get the exact dates of the repairs. Right rear- 1/28/08 left rear- 12/20/2006, 7/8/2008, and 8/13/09. I did call Chrysler and spoke to someone, received a case number, and was told that someone would contact me in 24-48 hours with some sort of resolve to this. (that was Thursday morning.) I received a call from the case manager at Chrysler Friday around 9:50am. There was a message left to call back, or I could wait for them to call me back on Monday. Called back, spoke 2 gretchen: Sai the case manager had put notes in the case with the following: I had to pay the $100 up front and I could submit all the documents to be reimbursedasked to speak to the case manager and was transferred to matt (whom I thought was the case manager).

- Lafayette, LA, USA

problem #144

Sep 152010

Liberty

  • 38,000 miles
Faulty window regulators in Jeep Liberty. Window falls without warring. Windows do not have to be in use at the time they fall. Repair is $400. Dealership advised this is a common recurring problem, and may continue to happen after repair.

- Leland, NC, USA

problem #143

Aug 152010

Liberty

  • 42,000 miles
Left rear drivers side window fell. Will not go up. Door will not open or close properly. The other windows are starting to go out. I can tell now, by the sound. The rear window has been used 3 times. I have only had the Jeep for 18 months. The replacement part seems to fail right after it is put in. At $550 per window at my dealer I can not get them fixed. But now my kids can not ride in the backseat because I am afraid the window will fall.

- Selah, WA, USA

problem #142

Sep 112010

Liberty

  • miles
I was driving home in my 2006 Jeep Liberty, when the back passenger side power window fell again! this is the second time this week that one of the power windows fall. I have had this window and two other windows serviced for this very problem before and it and Chrysler continues to be unable to fix it! when it fell, it was raining, and I had to hurry to get home because it was raining inside of the Jeep. I should not have to keep a garbage bag in my vehicle just in case my window falls. This seems to happen to at least two windows every three or four months for us. When we bring it to the service department, it seems to work fine for a while until sooner or later it falls again. They tell us that a plastic clip holds the window up, and the window falls when the clip gives out. It seems like this plastic clip must be pretty weak to go out as often as this! we don't even put the window up or down at all. The service department says that the part can go out whether the window is in use or not because of the tension it holds. When asked about any recalls on this part, their response was that recalls are only issued when a safety violation can occur. It is a safety violation to me! when the windows fall, and my children are in the car and it is storming outside that certainly affects my driving because I am concerned for the safety of my kids! I wonder what damage would be caused if the window falls and shatters inside the door" how would Chrysler respond to that? Chrysler seems to take this as no big deal, but I believe that someone can get seriously injured because of this defect. Can we please get something done about this before something does happen to someone"

- Thibodaux, LA, USA

problem #141

Sep 082010

Liberty

  • 40,241 miles
I have a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The windows have broken three times. They fall into the door and cannot be raised. When this happens, the window is stuck in the full down position and is a great risk as objects can fly into the car...and great risks when parking overnight and the window not being able to be raised. This the third window broken, with one broken twice. The windows get fixed at a dealership at a cost of $100 per window and require me to miss a half to a full day of work depending on the service repair volume.

- Palm Desert, CA, USA

problem #140

Sep 022009

Liberty

  • 91,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that both rear windows and the drivers side window fell down while driving 45 mph during a thunderstorm. The failure occurred with two children in the back seat of the vehicle. The contact had to pull over and wait until the storm stopped before the contact could continue driving. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer who stated that since the warranty expired the contact would be responsible for the repairs. The contact stated that this was not the first time the windows malfunctioned. He was also familiar with numerous complaints regarding the window failure. The failure mileage was 91,000.

- Columbus, IN, USA

problem #139

Sep 062010

Liberty

  • 44,000 miles
Window regulators for Jeep Liberty.

- Bunker Hill, WV, USA

problem #138

Sep 042010

Liberty

  • miles
I bought my 2006 Jeep Liberty in 2007 (February) with about 15,000 miles on it. The warranty was still good for a little longer at that time. In that time at 2 of regulators on two different windows had to be replaced. Since that time 2 more have been replaced out of my own pocket. Now here in September 2010 the back driver side window is doing it again. The window will fall down out of place when rolled up and when you try to roll it up the motor will grind and the window will not go anywhere. This needs to be taken care of; people are out hundreds of dollars for this issue.

- Mt. Washington, KY, USA

problem #137

Dec 182009

Liberty

  • miles
2006 Jeep Liberty, owned since new in late 2005 currently 75,000 miles. All windows have broken at least once, some more than once, I have lost count. First three times fixed under warranty. Last four or five times fixed at my expense.

- San Angelo, TX, USA

problem #136

Aug 032010

Liberty

  • 48,103 miles
Failure of power window components causing window to crash into inner door... almost caused an accident by frightening me to the point of panic. After some investigation, I have found out that this is an ongoing problem with the Jeep Liberty that Chrysler has refused to deal with... it will eventually be dealt with after someone is killed or maimed. Why don't you do your job and deal with this problem before someone gets killed or maimed.

- Fort Walton Beach, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?