Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

1.6

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
107,465 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Jeep Liberty electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #31

May 142014

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not provided.

- Pueblo, CO, USA

problem #30

Nov 262014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 1,127,546 miles
I was driving to my dad's for thanksgiving, and on the pa turnpike my Jeep suddenly dropped from 60mph to 20mph and under the hood looked like smoke. I immediately pulled over and popped the hood and noticed the whole driver's side near the battery was engulfed in flames. I immediately called 911 but because I was on the turnpike they came first. I had left my hood up and because it was raining the fire went out. The turnpike official cancelled the fire truck and we waited for the tow truck. The Jeep was towed to the closest garage to my house but they have had it over 2 weeks and I am concerned that they might not know how to fix it. I saw a similar problem on a Jeep chat room and this guys Jeep was totaled because he had to wait for the firetruck and they had to put out the fire.

- Bristol, PA, USA

problem #29

Oct 302014

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system). However, the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to advise when the part would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Shirley, AR, USA

problem #28

Feb 242014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 112,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a stock 2007 Jeep Liberty with the 3.7L V6 and automatic transmission. While driving home the vehicle shut off unexpectedly on a busy five lane 50 mph road. As I coasted into a driveway I saw heavy dark black smoke pouring from under the hood. As I opened the hood there was 5-6 inch flames on most of the stock wiring under the hood. The positive cable that runs under the engine rubbed under the engine until it shorted on the grounded engine block shorting out the electrical system. The fire department showed up and put out the fire and cut the negative cable to stop the outbreak of another fire. All of the cables are now melted and burned together. The repair estimate is close to $5000 without fixing what actually caused the problem, just fixing the melted wires. The fire was started by stock wires on a stock vehicle. The vehicle was taken to parkway before we bought it and went through completely "fixing anything and everything that was wrong or bad with the vehicle." They clearly missed this major problem that could have killed two teenagers. I have already contacted Chrysler about this problem and they told me this was not their fault. I believe it is, and I want to fix the problem before it does kill someone. I am open to phone calls, I am open to emails anyone you want to contact me would be perfect. I can meet you at the dealership or anywhere you please. I will travel, tell me what actions need to be done and they will be done. There is a lot more of information that can be obtained and will be available on demand.

- Chesterfield, MI, USA

problem #27

Mar 192013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 93,892 miles
On 3/19/13 the rear passenger window dropped into the door frame while the vehicle was not moving, sitting in driveway. Vehicle repaired under 2006/2007 recall by dealer. On 7/16/14 the front passenger window dropped into the door-frame and the vehicle was sitting the driveway again. This was reported to Chrysler claims and the August Dodge Chrysler Jeep dealership at 1201 greenville ave, staunton, va 24401 (540)885-0875 on 7/16/14. Spoke to julie, employee id JE779 refused claim on 7/16/14, because of mileage. She was informed that the window was never properly repaired on the former recall. On both occasions the window completely just fell out on its own, just sitting in the driveway. This is a very serious safety issue and windows do not just fall out. I am requesting that this modification be correct and complete and reimbursed by the above dealer which did not do a complete repair the first time. This vehicle has never been in any accident. Currently I have had a recall for a recall on the fuel tank modification and that has never been done. I have had that for months and months and this is still pending.

- Lexington, VA, USA

problem #26

May 192010

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start until after numerous attempts. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who stated that the battery and battery connector needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The approximate failure mileage was 36,000. Updated 08/27/14 updated 09/3/2014

- Claremont, CA, USA

problem #25

Jan 052014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Why has their not been a recall on the Jeep Liberty window motor that breaks, this is dangerous, this winter when it was 20 below wind chill my daughter and her 3 month old baby were driving in the middle of South Dakota when the window fell down, ( this is the 3rd time a window motor has gone out in 2 years, ) I had to keep the baby inside my coat to keep him warm, it took us an hour and half to get home"this has been bothering me for 3 months, and writing now because the window motor broke again". please give this email to someone who actually cares.. grandma,

- Valley Springs, SD, USA

problem #24

Mar 122012

Liberty

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated while driving at various speeds, the ABS and traction control lights illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who replaced the entire wiring harness but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 65,000.

- Phonex, AZ, USA

problem #23

Mar 302014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
Glass lift plate& motor have both given out at least twice in less than 2 years. It costs over $200 to have the dealer fix it. The window just falls for no reason. Come on we need a break. I don't know about the rest of the world but when I have to pay to fix something and it is very expensive I expect quality.

- Slc, UT, USA

problem #22

Aug 282013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated on morning the contact's vehicle failed to start was towed to the dealer for diagnosis. The dealer stated that the ignition switch cylinder would need to be replaced. The manufacturer was not alerted of the failure. The vehicle was repaired at the owner's expense. The failure mileage was unavailable.

- Thermopolis, WY, USA

problem #21

Feb 122014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 1,390,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When placing the key in the ignition no crank, no start, wiring harness and central sending unit replaced, and returned to me 2/28/2014 a Friday afternoon upon receipt or SUV from dealership repair returned home will not shift out of park and dash lights illuminate ie esp and antiskid it appears as though the car does not recognize the key and will not allow the car to shift from park care returned to for repair 03/03/2014 apparently some type of relay and sensors have malfunctioned and "smoked" per the dealer in the dash and steering column.

- Leraysville, PA, USA

problem #20

Jan 082014

Liberty

  • 91,027 miles
The front wiper and rear wiper stopped working simultaneously. Checked and replaced fuses but did that did not fix the problem. Was told by a mechanic that it is an electrical problem and will cost quite a bit to find/replace the issue.

- Oshkosh, WI, USA

problem #19

Apr 082012

Liberty

  • 75,023 miles
Three power windows, driver, passenger and back passenger side have gone out due to motor failure. One was replaced but the window still tilts when lowered and raised. All three windows had same issue prior to failing. Apparently this is a widespread problem and I am beginning to wonder why there is no recall.

- Oshkosh, WI, USA

problem #18

Jul 302012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 59,415 miles
The ABS control module alerts there is a problem with the ABS system randomly while driving. We were told there is a recall F50, NHTSA campaign id #06V49300, regarding this from our local mechanic. We had the vehicle serviced on 07/30/2012 at a authorized Jeep service center dealership regarding this problem, module and associated wiring were replaced at our cost. This didn't fix the problem. We didn't resolve the issue any further until now, since we were not satisfied with our experience at this service center dealership. Today we contacted another local authorized Jeep service center dealership and the daimler Chrysler recall center regarding the N46 recall [gasoline storage tank assembly/hitch] and the previous F50 recall. Both said the F50 recall is not associated with for our VIN. However, after doing some further investigation on the NHTSA website it seems the F50 recall is assigned to 2007 Jeep Liberty 2wd only. Therefore, it appears that this may be the reason our vehicle is not eligible for the is recall and we must now pay out of pocket again to fix this major safety hazard. We have schedule an appointment with an authorized Jeep service center dealership for them to reprogram the ABS electronic control unit per the remedy assigned to NHTSA campaign id #06V49300 at our own expense. The purpose of this complaint is to notify you that this problem is also on the 2007 Jeep Liberty 4X4wd and if you could please correct/add 4X4wd VIN numbers to this recurring problem so that possibly we may be eligible for reimbursement from Chrysler. Thank you for looking into the matter. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Armada, MI, USA

problem #17

Dec 212013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
In 2010 I purchased a used 2007 Jeep Liberty from a dealership. Within the first month of the purchase the mechanism inside the front driver's side door broke causing the window to drop into the door rendering it unusable. I took the vehicle back to the dealership and they repaired the mechanism for free. In 2012 the same mechanism in the same door broke again. This time I was told that this is a common occurrence but was forced to pay for the repair myself as Jeep has not yet recalled the mechanism. Yesterday, December 21, 2013 the mechanism broke again this time in the front passenger side door. I have called the dealership again but have not yet scheduled a time to fix the unit. I do not feel as if I should have to pay for this repair as it is an on-going issue and obviously a defective product.

- Montclair, NJ, USA

problem #16

Aug 242013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 148,482 miles
I was driving back to salisbury, md from Washington DC when I heard wind coming into my Jeep. I checked all my windows in be sure they were up but the noise continued. When I visually checked the windows I found the driver side rear window all the way down. I pulled over to check it and found that the window would not roll back up electrically. I had to drive 3 hours with the back driver's side window down. I had this window repaired for the same thing 2 years ago and now again. Just this year in April I had to spend money to fix the driver side window due to the same problems. And each time it was the regulator and only once did Jeep refund me my money. The other problems is the gas. When the Jeep is full it doesn't cut off, the gas spills all down the side of the car regardless.

- Salisbury, MH, USA

problem #15

Dec 022008

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 8,000 miles
I bought my Liberty when it was a year old from a dealer. One month later, the drivers side window fell into the door. It was still under warranty, the dealer fixed it with new parts. A year ago in June 2012 the rear window dropped into the door. The rear windows are never even used. I had to pay a mechanic to raise it up and hold it up with duck tape because the regulator and repair is going to cost over $400!!the window would slowly start to drop before it finally went into the door completely when I was driving and the noise from the outside was so loud I thought I was having a flat tire and had to pull over. Not to mention the constant attention I had to pay to make sure the window was still being held up with the awful looking duct tape! so angry and disappointed with Chrysler. I read online of so many other owners having this same problem. I could never risk putting a child back there because of this risky problem. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Boise, ID, USA

problem #14

Jun 062011

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 68,177 miles
Multiple fan & control switch failure - see Chrysler recall # 63816 - Chrysler will not honor this on my Jeep. Repair costs were $ $437.35 and then $ $419.41 same issue, same failure mode. Problem described in the recall notice. Spoke to Chrysler on the 800 number they provided with the recall and they referred me to your site and suggested I need to have this problem "officially" listed before they will act upon it? recall id # 63816 - electrical system recall date Mar 09, 2007 component electrical system model affected Liberty recall date: Mar 09, 2007 model affected: 2007 Jeep Liberty summary: On certain passenger vehicles equipped with valeo heating, ventilation and air conditioning (HVAC), the blower motor may overheat. Consequences: This could cause an interior fire. Remedy: Dealers will replace the HVAC blower motor free of charge. The recall began on May 28, 2007. Owners may contact DaimlerChrysler at 1-800-853-1403. Potential units affected: 149605.

- Auburn, NH, USA

problem #13

Oct 012012

Liberty

  • 60,000 miles
I own a 2007 Jeep Liberty sport, with no warranty. A few months ago, the rear, driver side window regulator and motor went bad and I had to replace this out of pocket. What is more frustrating is that this has happened to my driver front widow now. Since my last repair, larry H. miller Jeep in sandy Utah has inflated the price of the part. They are very aware of the need of this faulty part and are taking advantage of customers. I now have no window (it is cracked inside my door and I am not in financial position to replace it). It is approximately 30 degrees in my state right now, this is almost unbearable. I have also owned a 2006 Jeep Liberty prior to this and the rear driver window regulator and motor also went out. I also had to replace this at my cost. This makes three times for the same part! I am asking for a recall and for the dealership to replace this at no additional cost to me. I feel it is already unfair that they provide a bad part, but even worse that they inflated the price part recently and are taking advantage of consumers. This is also unsafe, I have to drive with a garbage bag to my window which blocks my line of sight, but is the only way to keep dry in this fall/winter weather. Please help me, I am at a loss right now and this is my only means of transportation. The dealership's number for where I purchased the vehicle is: (866) 653 3505. Thank you again. Thank you

- Sandy, UT, USA

problem #12

Oct 062012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 5,700 miles
When going to put the drivers window down, I accidentally pushed the switch for the back seat window behind the driver's seat. When I hit the switch it made a funny noise. So, I left the window alone with plans to get it fixed. The window was up at this point. I went to work and when I returned to my car at the end of the day, the window was all the way down. I attempted to put it up using the switch and it made the same funny noise.

- Orlando, FL, USA

Read the next 11 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?