Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
20,982 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Jeep Liberty fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 3 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #66

Apr 012013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 35,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Jeep sent a voluntary recall letter in April of 2013 about the fuel tank possibly erupting during a rear end crash. I have contacted the dealer several times and they still have no parts for this recall (15 months later). The very last sentence says, ".....we are extremely concerned about your safety." Apparently, Jeep (Chrysler) is not real concerned. How many people need to die before someone makes them do the right thing?

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #65

Nov 282013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Liberty 4X4. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) however, the contact was unable to have the vehicle serviced under the recall because the part needed was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Djr

- Enola, PA, USA

problem #64

Jan 062014

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure). The dealer and manufacturer were notified several times; however, they did not have the parts available to repair the vehicle and could not provide an estimated date of arrival. The dealer could not repair the vehicle for eight months. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Rochester, MN, USA

problem #63

Jul 172011

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Gas tank problem; every time I filled the tank when nuzzle stops filling it shut a line of gasoline out to the point that if you not know will wet all your clothing.

- Inglewood, CA, USA

problem #62

Jul 012014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2007 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to rear structure reinforcement recall notice. The consumer stated he received the recall notice five months ago. When she called the dealer, she was informed the parts were not available, and they would not put her on a list.

- Addison, IL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #61

Jun 192013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 45,521 miles
Received recall notice N46 in June 2013. The recall is to remedy faulty exposure of the fuel tank by installing a towing hitch to the vehicle. To date, one year and one month later, after numerous contacts to the local Jeep dealership, miller's Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram, 48 kelly island rd, martinsburg, wv, 25401, the recalled part has yet to be installed. This is an unacceptable amount of time to await a recall for a problem that could result in explosion of the fuel tank upon impact, and feel Chrysler Jeep should be held to a higher accountability and more timely resolution to this problem. Thank you.

- Bunker Hilll, WV, USA

problem #60

Jul 162014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure). The contact stated that the repair was not taken care of in a reasonable amount of time. The dealer indicated parts were not available. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the delay. Updated 9/19/14 updated 2/12/2015

- Lone Tree, CO, USA

problem #59

Dec 162013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure). The contact stated that she notified the dealer and manufacturer numerous times and they stated they have no idea when the parts would be available for the recall repairs. The vehicle was not repaired in a reasonable amount of time. There were no failures at this time. The manufacturer was not notified of the delay. Updated 08/19/14

- Algonac, MI, USA

problem #58

Dec 092013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
Received notice Dec 2013, dealer said did not have parts, no follow up letter N46/NHTSA 13V-252.

- Slatedale, PA, USA

problem #57

Jan 242014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
I have gotten a notice that my 2007 Jeep Liberty had a recall and a trailer hitch was to be put on it to prevent the fuel tank catching fire if in a rear end accident....I have not heard no more on it and was wonder when this was to be taken care of.....thank you.....N46/NHTSA 13V-252 ([xxx]) information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Minot, ND, USA

problem #56

Jun 262014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We received a recall notice approximately 4 months ago for the Liberty. The stated our vehicle has a small chance of experiencing a fuel tank leak during rear end collisions. The dealer is suppose to install an (ome) trailer hitch. We called the dealer over a month ago and the part is not available. If Chrysler knows of a hazard and issues a recall they should have the part available. We think that over 4 months is a reasonable amount of time to wait to have part available.

- St. Clair Shores, MI, USA

problem #55

Jun 132013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
There has been a recall on my vehicle (N46 / NHTSA 13V-252) since at least June of 2013 with Chrysler agreeing to install a new part to correct / protect against the problem. I have contacted my dealer on numerous occasions and have been told that no corrective part is yet available and they don't know when it will be. Within the last 2 months I did finally receive a standard letter from Chrysler notifying me of this "important safety recall" saying they were making "all reasonable efforts to obtain the (corrective) parts as quickly as possible." They gave no date as to when they would be available. Again on 6/23/2014 I took my Jeep in for service and requested they make the promised correction. The service department said they could not, they did not have the part, and had no idea when they would be able to correct my vehicles problem. I find this totally unacceptable. It has been over a year now, at least, since this recall was issued and my vehicle still has not been repaired and Chrysler cannot even tell me when they might be able to make the repair.

- Overland Park, KS, USA

problem #54

Dec 022013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of a manufacturer's recall in December 2013 relating to the fuel system. The contact called the manufacturer multiple times in reference to having the remedy performed. The contact was informed that the parts were on back order and no further information was provided. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Northon Shores, MI, USA

problem #53

May 292014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 92,000 miles
TL - the contact owns a 2007 Jeep Liberty. The contacts vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000, fuel system, gasoline, structure. The contact stated while approaching a traffic light a vehicle crashed into the rear of the contacts vehicle. There were no injuries. A police report was filed. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage were 92,000. Rk..updated 10/06/14

- Reading, CA, USA

problem #52

Jun 052014

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated she had received notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, and structure) the reasonable amount of time had exceeded to repair this defect. The dealer and manufacturer were made aware of the delay and stated the part was not available. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle has not exhibited the failure.the failure mileage was unknown. The VIN was not available.

- Wataugh, TX, USA

problem #51

Jun 192014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 26,000 miles
My Jeep Liberty has a safety recall (N46/NHTSA 13V-252) relative to the fuel tank leaking. A number of months ago, I visited my local dealer, in order to find out when the repairs would be made. I was told that they don't have the parts to make the fix, and that they will call me, that I shouldn't call them. Today I called the Chrysler recall center, and was told that they don't have the parts to make the fix. Isn't there a time limit for making defect repairs? my Jeep is already 7 years old. If Chrysler waits another 7 years, I' M sure they will need few if any parts to make repairs. I want my Jeep repaired, before it gets rear ended, and catches fire with me in it!!!!!

- Manhattan Beach, CA, USA

problem #50

Jan 082014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 75,400 miles
Received a recall notice 1-8-1014 about a problem with the fuel tank.the dealers keep telling me there are no parts to remedy the problem. I am worried about my grand children driving the car. Recall notice # N46 / NHTSA 13V-252.

- Elwood, IN, USA

problem #49

Mar 112013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Liberty. The contact received the recall notification related to NHTSA campaign id number 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure). ). the contact stated that the repair was not taken care of in a reasonable amount of time. The dealer indicated parts are not available. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was contacted.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #48

May 192014

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Liberty. The contact attempted to have her vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure). The contact was informed that the parts were unavailable. The contact stated that since the failure was reported in June of 2013, there should have been a remedy available before may of 2014. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Pine Beach , NJ, USA

problem #47

Dec 312013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
Recall notice sent to my home with a statement that we'd hear from someone regarding the repair. This was in regards to a fuel tank issue. The notice said the parts required were not available yet. It's been months. It does not appear a good faith to get parts and do repairs is being handled.

- Newtown, CT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?