NHTSA — Air Bags Problems

2012 Jeep Liberty (Page 4 of 6)

CarComplaints.com Notes: On August 16th, 2012 Jeep stopped production of the the Jeep Liberty, marking the end of a troublesome journey for the SUV.

All in all, the 2012 Liberty actually excels off-road, but since 99% of drivers never take this thing off pavement, that becomes somewhat of a moot point. The Liberty suffers from the worst fuel economy in its class (16/22 MPG) and offers an uncomfortable ride with suspect braking ability.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,433 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Jeep Liberty seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 4 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #44

Oct 172014

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Safety recall N36 (nht#13V-282 calls for flashing tipm & replacing occupant restraint control module. This VIN was not included in the recall, so when I took it in today (SRS light on), the charge was 400$. why was this VIN not included when others (ka, kk, etc, not kx) were. Seems fairly related.

- Gainesville, FL, USA

problem #43

Jun 032013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 40,775 miles
Air bag warning light is on. Jeep would not stand behind this in a one year old vehicle. They want me to pay $400 to repair and told me that I am in danger. If I don't repair then the airbag will not deploy in a collision. Since this is a safety item I think Jeep should correct at no cost to me. Also, the back window wiper stopped working and changing of fuses did not correct. I am assume electrical and maybe the airbag thing is also electrical.

- Byron, MI, USA

problem #42

Jul 012014

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V282000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part needed to remedy the recall was unavailable. The VIN was unavailable. The manufacturer was aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Hudson, FL, USA

problem #41

Sep 222014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 32,783 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Air bag warning light came on when car was started. Accordingly, air bags will not deploy if in an accident.

- Nanuet, NY, USA

problem #40

Aug 012014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 39,000 miles
Air bag is on and won't go off. It's been on since August 1st 2014. I want this fixed before it's blows up in my face or one of my family members. If that happens then there will be a lawsuit.

- Port Norris, NJ, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #39

Aug 172014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 43,200 miles
Air bag light stays on. Concerned because Jeep has a history of airbag problems.

- Temple Hills, MD, USA

problem #38

May 012014

Liberty

  • 38,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns 2012 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the air bag light remained illuminated. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V282000 (air bags, electrical system) however, the contact was informed by the manufacturer and dealer that the occupant restraint module would need replacing, which was not covered under the recall campaign. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 38,000.

- Garden Grove, CA, USA

problem #37

Jul 292014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
At 55000 miles( 7/29/14) my air bag warning lit on my dashboard and stayed on and continued to remain on until I brought the vehicle in to a Chrysler dealership on August 5, 2014. I brought the vehicle to my mechanic who told me through his experience when that light comes on, the vehicle is experiencing complete shut down of the air bag system! now, I received a recall notice a month or two prior from Chrysler that 2011-2012 Jeep Liberty's were being recalled for possible airbag failure and that Chrysler would replace one of two control modules and update the computer system at no charge. On Tuesday August 5, 2014 I brought the Jeep Liberty to a dealer which told me all my vehicle required was a computer update but they couldn't update the system because a module for the airbag system had to be replaced which was causing the red airbag warning light on my dashboard to come on and stay on steady. To fix this it would cost me $371!!! after arguing with the service manager he made the cost $100 plus $7 state sales tax as a co-pay as if it was a warranty repair. It felt as if the only way to have this problem fixed was to pay money as if my car was being held hostage or is Chrysler and its dealer trying to take advantage of me because of my age. This total repair should have been paid by Chrysler, not me. What is this" some type of scam Chrysler and/or their dealers have going"

- Columbia, NJ, USA

problem #36

Aug 022014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 43,609 miles
Called dealership August 1st for the recall on head restraints. I have an appointment for the 8th. The next evening when started my car the air bag deploy light stays on dashboard. The light by gearshift flashed at first and said air bag for passenger side not on.I saw another complaint at 43,000. Miles with same issue on this site.

- Drumore, PA, USA

problem #35

Aug 042014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 43,593 miles
Air bag warning light started continuous display at about 43000 miles. Dealer indicated this was covered by safety recall N38/NHTSA 13V-282. Called Jeep dealer for appointment in mid-July 2014. Dealer indicated that it is probably failed orc module. Research indicated this was a common issue on this model Jeep with numerous reports of failure of orc. Took vehicle to dealer on 28 Jul 2014. Dealer did not replace orc but "flashed" tipm at no charge. Did not resolve air bag light issue. Dealer indicated I would have to schedule another appointment for diagnostics and possible orc module replacement. Scheduled another appointment for 4 Aug 2014. Orc module replaced. Issued resolved. Was charged $326.53 for replacement of orc module. Dealer indicated that while this has become a common failure, this replacement was not covered by Chrysler for 2012 Jeep Liberty. I feel that since this is a serious safety issue for all 2012 Jeep Liberty owners experiencing this issue, Chrysler should reimburse for this expense. Safety recall N38 indicated "Chrysler will repair your vehicle free of charge (parts and labor) including replacement of occupant restraint module (orc).

- Lawrence, KS, USA

problem #34

Jun 022014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Submission from constituent re Chrysler recall notice. 2012 Jeep Liberty. The consumer received recall notice 13V282000. However, the dealer informed there were no such recall. Also, the consumer was having an issue with the vehicle not wanting to start, intermittently. In early June, the vehicle would not start. The dashboard lit up, but there was no noise, no clicking, nothing. He made several attempts, but it would not start. After the sixth try, it started. The dealer was unable to replicate the problem. The consumer stated it happened again, multiple times.

- La Fayette, NY, USA

problem #33

Jun 022014

Liberty

  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the air bag light illuminated. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V282000 (air bags, electrical system). The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 36,000.

- Bangor, WI, USA

problem #32

Jul 242014

Liberty

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the air bag indicator illuminated. The dealer stated that the VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V282000 (air bags, electrical system) for the tipm replacement. The contact was informed that the occupant restraint control module also needed to be repaired; however, it was not eligible for repair according to the recall because the vehicle was a 2012 model. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 45,000.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #31

Jul 012014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Approximately July 1, 2014, my 2012 Jeep Liberty showed an airbag warning light on the dash display. The light will not go off. On July 3rd I took my Jeep into a local Jeep dealership to have a safety recall performed. The recall was for the active head restraints to be reprogrammed. The reprogram did not correct the display light warning. I was told that the vehcle would have to be hooked up to a computer to tell me what was causing the airbag warning light to display but the cost was $85 for the diagnosis only and there would be additional costs for the repair. The vehicle has not been repaired.

- Mcdonough, GA, USA

problem #30

Jan 012014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
The airbag warning light came on and stayed on. I received a recall notice on the head restraint. I took my vehicle in to the dealership. (champion Dodge Chrysler, gulfport, ms) they said they repaired the defection on the recall notice with the head restraint. I told them about the air bag warning light has been on since Jan 2014. The manager said "well this head restraint recall may fix that problem too" I went to pick my car up and it did not fix it. He asked if I wanted to have it fixed and that it would cost around $300-$400. I told him no, this should be on a recall, he agreed but said it hasn't come out yet. My question: If it's a safety issue on a 2012 model why isn't it a recall" does someone have to be injured/killed before you issue a recall"

- Gulfport, MS, USA

problem #29

Jun 262014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
Noticed red warning light symbol on dashboard (seated icon with red circle in front). Looked it up because I had no idea what it was. It had been going on and off for a few days but today it stayed on 100% of the time. Was involved in accident a few months ago (other driver drove into my right front wheel causing right hand to be pushed into center (airbag region) of steering wheel (hand went into center piece of steering wheel and there was no airbag deployment. It looks like issue has to do with car and possible reason for no airbag deployment at time of accident.

- Costa Mesa, CA, USA

problem #28

Jun 252014

Liberty

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated the airbag warning light sensor illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that the oic module needed to be reprogram. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 60,000.

- Salisbury, NC, USA

problem #27

Jun 022014

Liberty

  • 58,000 miles
A few days ago the airbag malfunction light turned on upon starting my vehicle. Not sure what this meant, I took it to my local Jeep dealership in clear lake, Texas. When I dropped my car off, the man said it would not be ready today. It took clear lake Dodge a full 24 hours to complete this fix (and that was after begging the manager to have my car ready on time, they were going to push it back another day). On the recall form it said should only take 30 minutes for this fix. I received my car and the car was presumably fixed since the warning light was no longer on. However, when I get home, I realize my garage key had been stolen from my vehicle. This was a disaster, and I did not feel that my safety was valued as a person much less a paying customer at clear lake Dodge.

- Pearland, TX, USA

problem #26

May 172014

Liberty 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
Active head restraints recall, I got this recall almost a year ago now, and never got the second notice of parts being available to fix this issue. I see other people have also had this issue. Could this possibly be why my air bag light is constantly on"? when is the recall going to be addressed"

- Latrobe, PA, USA

problem #25

May 012014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 480,000 miles
Started car in the am on the way to work and after 10 minutes the air bag idiot light flashes and stays on. It is going on 10 days and the light is still on. I will stop by the dealer tomorrow 5-10-2014 to see what is needed and if the car is safe to drive.

- Yulee, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?