Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
96,264 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Kia Sorento engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Kia Sorento:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Kia Sorento Owner Comments (Page 3 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #20

Apr 222014

Sorento 4WD 6-cyl

  • 30 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Kia Sorento. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact had the vehicle towed to the dealer. The dealer stated that the crankshaft pulley bolt had seized in the crankshaft and had broken. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 80,000. The consumer stated as her daughter was driving, the check engine light illuminated, and there was a horrible noise coming from the engine. The vehicle was taken to the nearest service center, one mile down the road from her home, but the vehicle became more difficult to steer and when her daughter pulled in the parking lot, she could no longer steer the vehicle and all of the instrument panels light illuminated. The mechanic stated the repair would require the engine being pulled and to repair or replace the crankshaft or replace the engine entirely. Either way, it would be costly. Updated 05/19/14 updated 06/10/14 updated 06/13/2014

- Fenton , MO, USA

problem #19

May 162013

Sorento

  • 56,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Kia sorrento. The contact stated that while driving 20 mph, she heard a loud banging as the power steering and brakes failed. The vehicle was towed to a certified mechanic and they stated that the harmonic balancer was fractured and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred a few months later. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 56,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Edge Water Park, NJ, USA

problem #18

Feb 142014

Sorento

  • 99,002 miles
I got this car about a month ago and 3 days after the purchase I could smell the catalytic converter it was extremely strong, then a rumble sound under the car from the exhaust. A day later I was driving to work and the A/C compressor started squealing extremely loud and there was a ticking sound. Took it to the auto dealer I got it from and they said it was the compressor belt, dealer replaced belt and there is still a noise of ticking and a faint screeching noise.. they also said they fixed the exhaust but I am still having issues with the smell. This weekend I was on the highway and I was at 65 mph, there was a loud noise and the engine bogged down and sounded like it died and came back on. I made it home without anymore problems. Today I was driving 40 mph and the engine made a noise and the car bogged again. I was stopped at a light and got up to 40 mph again and the engine did the same thing. This is going to cause serious injuries to somebody. My car is going into the shop Thursday but after reading all the reviews it looks like I just wasted all this money on a piece of junk. Something needs to be done about this before somebody gets killed. I'll contact help me hank as well.

- Worcester, MA, USA

problem #17

Mar 202013

Sorento

  • 58,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

System was in the shop for routine maintenance I.e. new spark plugs, drive belts, and spark plug wires. Picked up the vehicle and drove fine for a day. Upper cat converter got clogged... things just went down hill from there. Crankshaft seal busted, oil pump failed, water pump had to be replaced. Engine rods started knocking. Engine has to be rebuilt. Have been unable to drive my Sorento since March 2013. Bought the Sorento in October 2012. Just had the Sorento in the shop for engine rebuild. Had money set aside from tax returns. I paid the original quoted amount to have the rebuild done. It is costing me $2000 in addition to the base cost that was originally quoted. I don't have that kind of money just laying around for those types of repairs. Oh well... guess I won't be driving my car for another whole year. Oh... one more thing.... since I am the second owner Kia refused to service the vehicle without them wanting over $8000 for a new motor... fyi.... Kia warranty's and BBB are both worthless..

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #16

Feb 272014

Sorento

  • 106,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Kia sorrento. The contact stated that while driving 50 mph, the vehicle stalled as the check engine warning lamp illuminated. The contact mentioned that once the vehicle stalled, he lost control of the steering wheel and crashed into a tree. A police report was filed and no injuries were reported. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but the technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 106,000.

- Wallace, SC, USA

problem #15

Feb 022014

Sorento

  • 73,100 miles
2006 Kia Sorento complaint: Engine, steering, electrical system, exterior lighting, throttle position sensor I am changing the head lights every 4-5 month and I think it needs to be looked at. Was driving 35 mph when the engine light and brake light came on with no warning. And just last week 2/2/2014 the engine stopped and I had no power steering and also no brakes. I was able to coast to a side road and barely got the vehicle to stop. The vehicle was taken to an mechanic, who diagnosed and had to replace a throttle position sensor and a mass air flow meter and air filter and the harmonic balancer. This is crazy these problems and requires extensive and expensive repair to the engine. This indicates to us a manufacturer's design flaw and probable safety issue that should be addressed by Kia worldwide. It's disturbing with how many other complaints I'm reading on this site about the same exact thing! is there any help out there this is too expensive for all these repair. The failure mileage was 73,100.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #14

Nov 212013

Sorento 6-cyl

  • 79,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Wife was driving 40 mph when the engine light and brake light came on with no warning. The engine stopped and she had no power steering and also no brakes. She was able to coast to a side road and barely got the vehicle to stop. The steering was very difficult. If it would have broke another 200 feet ahead she would not have been as lucky since there is a very sharp and dangerous curve. The curve has a single guard rail that she more in likely would have went through resulting in a 400 foot drop down a steep hill. Possibly resulting in a fatal crash.the vehicle was towed to coughlin Kia dealership in newark Ohio. We were informed that the crankshaft bolt had broke in the motor. This caused the timing pulling and main pulley to break off. The result was major engine damage.the service manager contacted his Kia regional rep.and was informed the damage was not covered under the 10 yr./100000 mile warranty. We did have the same dealership replace the timing chain 2yrs. Earlier at appr. 57000 miles as Kia requires this maintenance done before 60000 miles.they also replaced the crankshaft bolt as Kia recommends it also. This was a cost of nearly $800 for this service. The estimate for the engine replacement is $4000 on a vehicle valued at $6000. Kia refuses to deal with this issue on these motors. Their was arecall on the 03 & 04 engines but the problem still exist. It is just a matter of time before someone will be killed driving these vehicles.

- Howard, OH, USA

problem #13

Mar 222011

Sorento 6-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
We are the original owners of this vehicle.the engine shuts down-quits at any speed (even idle) last time at 60 miles an hour on the freeway. Luckily was able to get to the shoulder w/O being rear ended. The vehicle refused to start for about 10 minutes. Then I got it started and ran rough a couple of minutes then cleared up the rest of the way. Another occasion the engine quit in the middle of an intersection in 5:00 traffic, causing bad conjestion. The engine light is triggered occasionally but no repair codes are seen when the computer is hooked up. This is happening about every 3 -4 days and maybe 2 X's in a day. This has happened ever since the dealer changed the timing belt-regular maintenence about 80,0000 mi. The vehicle was running and sounding just great before the Kia dealer did this. On the way home, the vehicle went dead and had no power. Got the dealer to take it back. Things were not plugged in--alternator etc. The mechanic was in a hurry to leave for the weekend. Now left lifter bank clatters upon startup a code was given that the dealer did not clear the computer when the belt was changed. We cleared it and the engine still quits. The dealer went out of business (go figure). Also the air conditioning quit due to a line that was split possibly when the mechanic was working on the timing belt. Someone is going to get hurt (accident) if this vehicle continues to do this.no one seems to know what is wrong.

- Newman Lake, WA, USA

problem #12

Nov 232012

Sorento

  • 97,000 miles
I was merging onto a highway when all of a sudden I heard a loud thud and my battery light & E brake light came on and I lost power steering. I was able to drive the vehicle to a local mechanic who informed me that the harmonic balancer had fallen off due to the crankshaft bolt shearing off. Once it was fixed by an ase certified mechanic, approximately 8000 miles later I was driving to work and the car started shaking like I was driving on rumble strips. I took it back to a service garage and after replacing the harmonic balancer and crankbolt again they came to the conclusion that the crankshaft was bent. The garage suggested replacing the entire crankshaft and balancer and then having the engine rebalanced or a complete engine replacement both of which are greater than $3500 to repair on a vehicle that's worth about $5500..it's been approximately $2000 that I've already spent to correct this problem and the problem still exists. It's at a local Kia dealership now, where I purchased the vehicle and they told me that it's not fixable and they can only recommend to replace the engine which would cost $6,700 for a used engine with 71,000 miles on it. It seems that this same issue happens on these motors between 60K and 90K miles then from doing some research, it seems after repairs are done the same problem happens approximately 6K-10K miles later. After looking into it, it leads me to believe that the only cause of this problem would be manufacturer defects and faulty parts. This has caused me to be out of a vehicle since mid November of 2012. It's disturbing with how many other complaints I'm reading on this site about the same exact thing!

- Slippery Rock, PA, USA

problem #11

Jul 162013

Sorento 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 99,440 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Kia Sorento. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph, the brake and battery lights illuminated as the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart moments later. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection where they stated that a bolt in the crank shaft was fractured and the engine would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 99,440. 8/26/13 the consumer also stated the belts and crank pulley broker

- Springfield, OH, USA

problem #10

Sep 272011

Sorento 6-cyl

  • 94,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

From 9/2011 to 7/2013 my 2006 Kia has had this problem 3 times and is currently in the shop. While driving I hear a weird noise and then all the dashboard warning lights come on and I lose power steering. When checking under the hood, the belts have all fallen off, a pulley is laying under engine as is a bolt. The last time the bolt had broken off causing the pulley to fall off. Mechanic found that the crankshaft sprocket was broken. I'm not sure about today as the car is at the shop with the bolt laying under the engine, but the drive pin that goes into the sprocket of the pulley fell out the bottom when being lifted onto the tow truck.

- San Leandro, CA, USA

problem #9

May 292013

Sorento 6-cyl

  • 237,000 miles
I was driving and noticed the 4-wheel light came on. I stopped the car and waited a few minutes. When I turned the car back on it was making a noise. Upon further investigation, I found the crankshaft very loose. The car is presently at the repair garage awaiting an estimate.

- Glenwood, IL, USA

problem #8

Apr 072013

Sorento 6-cyl

  • 92,700 miles
My 22 year old daughter was driving the car at college when it suddenly lost power steering and then shut down in traffic in the middle of an intersection. Luckily she was not on a curvy road when the power steering went out. We had the car towed and after mechanic's inspection were told that the crankshaft bolt "wobbled" loose and disrupted the timing belt assembly shutting down the engine. This $2 bolt has caused an estimated $3500 repair bill or even an engine replacement. Our research has uncovered to us that this is a common problem with this 3.5L engine. This bolt either breaks or wobbles out of it's threading to cause timing belt problems and requires extensive and expensive repair to the engine. This indicates to us a manufacturer's design flaw and probable safety issue that should be addressed by Kia worldwide.

- Roswell, GA, USA

problem #7

Mar 312013

Sorento

  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Kia Sorento. The contact stated that while driving 55 mph, the motor pulley failed on the engine. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The current and failure mileage was 78,000.

- Burdett , NY, USA

problem #6

Jan 122013

Sorento 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 83,500 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Kia Sorento. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph, the alternator, brake and temperature warning lights illuminated and the power steering failed. The vehicle was moved to the shoulder. Upon inspection, the contact noticed that the crankshaft bolt fractured and caused the fan belt and the water pump to become inoperable. The vehicle was not taken to a mechanic. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified and advised the contact to take the vehicle to the dealer for diagnostics. The failure mileage was 83,500. Updated 3/20/13 the consumer stated the alternator and engine lights illuminated and the power steering failed. The crank shaft bolt broke and caused the steering damper to shift sideways, which caused the two belts on the damper pulley to be thrown off.

- Lowell, OH, USA

problem #5

Sep 122012

Sorento 4WD 6-cyl

  • 59,800 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Kia Sorento. The contact stated while traveling 40 mph the all of the warning lights on the instrument panel illuminated. When the power steering malfunctioned the brakes failed to stop the vehicle when they were applied. The contact merged onto the emergency lane; however, he was able to continue driving to his destination where the vehicle was towed to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The dealer confirmed that the bolt to the harmonic balancer failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted. The failure and current mileage were 59,800. Updated 10/02/12

- Buffalo, NY, USA

problem #4

Aug 132012

Sorento

  • 46,400 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Kia Sorento. The contact stated while driving 40 mph the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact was able to pull to the side of the road and attempted to restart the vehicle but the vehicle would not turn over. The vehicle was towed to a local mechanic who suggested the contact take the vehicle to an authorized dealer. The vehicle was then towed to the dealer who stated that the crank shaft bolt was fractured, as well as the push rods. The dealer advised that the engine needed to be replaced. The contact did not have the engine replaced. The failure mileage was 46,400.

- Kendallville, IN, USA

problem #3

Jul 052012

Sorento 6-cyl

  • 92,300 miles
Driving 65mph on turnpike heard a loud screeching noise brakes were hard to apply steering was difficult and dash board lite up pull to the side of the road and was towed to the nearest Kia dealership to be told that crank shaft bolt broke. At 60000 miles we did the required maintenance to the tune of $663.65 and had the timing belt replaced. There was also a memo to the dealerships to replace the bolt when replacing the timing belt. According to my itemized statement the bolt was not replaced. I feel this should be covered since I followed the rules and got the required service they were negligent not replacing the bolt. However they refuse to accept responsibility for there mistake. Now I am stuck with a considerable bill.

- Canonsburg, PA, USA

problem #2

Mar 302012

Sorento

  • 64,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Kia Sorento. The contact stated that while driving approximately 30 mph, the engine stalled without prior warning. The engine restarted after waiting a few moments. The failure occurred two times. The vehicle had not been diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 64,000.

- Stone Mountain , GA, USA

problem #1

May 182011

Sorento

  • 60,000 miles
At 60,000 miles took my 2006 Sorento in for manufacturer's recommended service - change timing belt and new plugs, etc., never had a problem before then. Got the SUV back from mechanic and the following day, the belts came off, lost power, overheated. Crank shaft bolt came loose. Now at 82,290 miles, bolt broke, harmonic balancer came loose and chewed up the end of the crankshaft. $3200 fix. SUV has been in shop for 5 weeks and will remain there for at least 5 more until I can get the money to fix it. Kia should recall this model as well, they already recognized the problem in 2003 and 2004 models. I am a single mom, raising boys without the benefit of child support or any other help. Kia should stand behind their workmanship!

- Perris, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?