Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.1

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
45,252 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Mazda MAZDA3 wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Mazda MAZDA3:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Mazda MAZDA3 Owner Comments

problem #19

Mar 122016

MAZDA3

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Tire pressure sensors defective. I have had to replace all 4 of the sensors because of broken retaining nuts or corroded stems. 3 of the sensors failed during driving, causing an immediate loss of tire pressure, causing me to also replace 3 of my tires. Another failed as I was checking the tire pressure, falling into the tire. Per Goodyear tire stores, other manufactures have gone to a replaceable rubber stem because of this, but not Mazda. First sensor replaced at Mazda dealership approximately mid 2011, second sensor replaced 6/01/2013, third sensor replaced 9/17/2014, and fourth sensor replaced 3/12/2016 all by Goodyear tire stores.

- Marquette Heights, IL, USA

problem #18

May 012014

MAZDA3

  • 35,000 miles
Driving on highway, tire pressure light came on, immediately went to side of road and tire ruined. Had trouble directing car to side of road. Fortunately, nobody was around. The tire sensor came apart. On 2 other tires, the were breaking, so had to be replaced. Ruined tire happened in 2014, but repaired tires were in 2015.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #17

Feb 162016

MAZDA3

  • 92,000 miles
Tire pressure sensors corrode and fall apart causing tires to go flat instantly. I have had 3 of the original sensors fail and the most recent one (2-16-16) also destroyed the tire. This happened to my wife on 2-16-16. These original sensors are a safety hazard and should be recalled.

- Jenison, MI, USA

problem #16

Jul 252015

MAZDA3

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving on the highway I heard a loud clatter like a rock in the wheel well and the saw something bounce out from the side of my car. Moments later the car began to shake and veer to the left. I was able to move over and pull of to the side of the highway to find that my valve stem on my wheel had lost the nut holding it in place so that the valve fell into the tire leaving a large hole. After having the tire replaced (it was destroyed) I saw that the valve (which was part of the TPMS) was corroded and could be easily snapped in half. Another of these valves had failed four months prior so I think this is a common problem. Mazda refuses to believe there is anything wrong with their part and suggests that I continue to drive with the remaining sensors.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #15

Jan 222014

MAZDA3

  • miles
Tires pressure monitors sensors won't hold air.tires go flat.

- Holcombe, WI, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #14

Feb 102014

MAZDA3

  • 50,000 miles
The tire sensors valve stems cracked and the tires wouldn't hold air in the tires. Mazda did replace 2 but said it was done as a one time offer. Now the other stems won't hold air pressure the tires are always leaking air. I am afraid that the stems might break off as driving on the highway. These are defective stems.

- Holcombe, WI, USA

problem #13

Nov 252013

MAZDA3

  • 52,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I constantly have issues with my tire pressure being low. I went to fill my tires up for the 3rd time in 4 months and as I put the compressor to the tire valve, the valve snapped off. All the air poured out of my tire. Luckily I wasn't driving at the time. I changed the tire to my donut and drove immediately to my tire center. They looked at the broken valve and told me it had corroded and that the whole tpm system would have to be replaced. He also went on to tell me that this is common. I asked him "so, should I be worried about this happening again with a different tire?" and he said that he would be lying to me if he told me that I shouldn't be concerned. $150 and 4 hours later, I had a new tpm system in that tire. Keeping my fingers crossed every day that it doesn't happen again.

- West Chester, PA, USA

problem #12

Aug 142013

MAZDA3

  • 51,291 miles
Two of the TPMS (tire pressure monitoring S___?) sensors were cracked and replaced at a discounted cost to me of $325. The car is only 4 years old with under 52,000 miles and two of them crack at the same time (!). the Mazda dealer said that they get a number of these problems and that they think it is due to poor quality metal being used. This is clearly a safety issue since they crack too early in the life of the vehicle and the customer has no way of determining this or even knowing how or where to look. I am now very nervous about the remaining two.

- Woodcliff Lake, NJ, USA

problem #11

Aug 162013

MAZDA3 4-cyl

  • 67,979 miles
On August 16th 2013 I was on the highway and the tire pressure warning came on and a few miles later felt the car pulling towards the left and realized I had a flat tired and pulled over. I changed the front drivers side tire and continued on my way. The next day I took it to a local mechanic shop and requested they look at the tire. They informed me the tire was perfectly fine and what caused the tire to go flat was the TPMS sensor. The sensor threads had corroded and released all of the air from the tire. They then informed me all of the remaining sensors were in just as bad shape and could fail at literally any moment. I then took the vehicle back to the dealership. The dealership looked the vehicle and confirmed that TPMS sensor was what caused the tire to go flat and the other sensors are bad and ready to fail as well. I had three sensors replaced and I went home and decided to call Mazda directly and speak with a representative and see what could be worked out. I spoke to a representative by the name of [xxx] and I asked if there was any recall on the vehicles TPMS sensor. She informed me that there was not a recall on the item I specified and that it was going to be documented. That was it. Basically I was told good luck with my problem. I went back to the dealership and had them replace the final TPMS sensor since it was going to fail soon and I didn't want another flat tire or worse, an accident. I've looked around the internet and found other people complaining of the same issue on Mazda vehicles in a very close year range as mine. I feel this is a huge safety issue. It is not normal for an item of a vehicle to fail and release all of the air from the tire if the item wasn't damaged by some sort of external force. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Lebanon, OH, USA

problem #10

Jul 112012

MAZDA3 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
I have had three oem valve stems rot out and completely fall into the tire causing a rapid deflation and risk of control loss of the vehicle. The first valve stem rotted out in 2012 and was replaced. I assumed it was an isolated incident (stuff happens). In the last 2 months the second and 3rd valve stem rotted out and have been replaced by belletire (2nd in July, 3rd today). Luckily I was driving on side roads when these occurred. It might have been much worse if I was on the freeway. I looked up and saw this is a common occurrence with the 2009 Mazda 3 so I called to file a complaint and was told corrosion is never covered in warranty. This is not about corrosion, this is a safety hazard that needs to be addressed.

- Pinckney, MI, USA

problem #9

Jun 152011

MAZDA3

  • 38,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Mazda Mazda 3. the contact stated that while driving 55 mph, the TPMS failed and the tire went flat. The vehicle tire was changed. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for inspection and they stated that the valve stem needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 38,000.

- Richfield, OH, USA

problem #8

Dec 262012

MAZDA3

  • miles
12/26/12, tire pressure light came on, pulled off highway immediately, tire flat, nut holding pressure stem had disintegrated and stem went inside tire. 1/2/13, another tire went flat in parking area, neighbor came over to put air in tire, nut holding pressure stem had disintegrated and stem went inside tire. Mazda dealership made repair and said the other two tire stem nuts would go in about two weeks. All four tire stem nuts were replaced. Research on internet shows that this same problem has occured to many people owning different make/model/year vehicles. Apparently a defective nut and stem system with one of three serial numbers were on all the vehicles experiencing this dangerous situation. I believe these nut and stem systems with these serial numbers should be recalled as soon as possible as to avoid anyone experiencing a dangerous blowout. A nut on the wheel should not be made of a material that disintegrates in less than 4 years even if it is in contact with road salt. This is very dangerous. The fact that two nuts disintegrated in 8 days and probability of next two in two weeks should raise red flags immediately. This should not happen to anyone! I am submitting this information for my daughter as she is still very upset over this having happened and having incurred great expense on her part.

- East Aurora, NY, USA

problem #7

Dec 052012

MAZDA3

  • 76,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Mazda Mazda3 equipped with siemens sensor cdov 847D tire valves. The contact stated that while checking the tire pressure, both of the rear tires and the front passenger side tires collapsed inward and became deflated. The valve stems were replaced with rubber valves stems. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer but was repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure and current mileage was 76,000.

- Rome , NY, USA

problem #6

Oct 072012

MAZDA3 4-cyl

  • 58,612 miles
Tire pressure light came on I pulled over and valve stem blew a pin out. Road side assistance called to help me and verified it was a pressure valve stem fault. Seems to be a long reported issue with this make and year. Was informed to check all other tire stems for defects.

- Newton, NC, USA

problem #5

Aug 182012

MAZDA3

  • 65,000 miles
Mazda has a major problem with the valve stems breaking even with the oem caps but they still insist operator error and or there where aftermarket ones on at the time of the breakage.

- Lousiville, KY, USA

problem #4

Aug 102011

MAZDA3 4-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
Aug 2011, I was driving on the autobahn in germany when my rear tire suddenly and completely deflated at high speed. The mechanic said the tire pressure sensors valve hex nut broke off and caused the tire to deflate, also destroyed my tire. Jan 2012, the same thing happened. This time the front tire was nearly flat and the sensor hex nut was broken and barely attached. I touched the nut and it disintegrated in my hand. The tire immediately lost pressure and deflated. The inside of the nut was completely corroded, along with the sensor valve. I wrote Mazda and they said they couldn't help me because the mileage was past my warranty and they do not guarantee life expectancy of any part. They didn't address my safety concerns about a tire suddenly deflating at high speed. I strongly suggest Mazda investigate this corrosion problem with the tire pressure sensors. Any problem that can cause the tire to suddenly deflate at high speed is a serious safety hazard and needs immediate attention. I replaced all my sensors at a cost of around $450, plus an additional $180 for a new tire.

- Apo, AE, USA

problem #3

Jan 212012

MAZDA3

  • 65,000 miles
Please note: This is the third instance of this part/system failure! the aluminum tire air valve is susceptible to cracking and breaking! the metal tire valve cracked while driving, causing a sudden and instant loss of tire pressure. These are faulty valves, this is the third time this has happened on different tires. If the temperature drops the chances of this failure accruing is severely multiplied. These valves rot and just give out with no warning. Please recall this part! there are hundreds of reports and videos online about this problem. I have contacted Mazda after all three of these occurrences and they are claiming "driver error"! they refuse to admit this is a problem even though there have been thousands of complaints about these valves.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #2

Jun 302011

MAZDA3

  • 15,000 miles
Driving on the highway at highway speed, there was a sudden loss of air pressure in the right rear tire. The TPMS warning came on. On inspection the tire valve was missing, it looked sheered off. Took the car into a tire repair/replacement center and had a new TPMS valve installed. I've since discovered that this is a very common failure in Mazda 3's, and likely many Mazda's. at the time, I contacted a Mazda dealer who offered no explanation as to how a valve stem can sheer clean off while driving on a flat, clean highway. All they offered was a replacement part, not warranty, even though the car was under the basic warranty at the time. Since then we've had another tire air valve sheer off on a second Mazda 3 (2009) we have. We bought 2 - 2009 Mazda 3's at the same time. The second Mazda 3 had low tire pressure. On inspection, the valve cap was removed and the valve broke off. It broke was the cap was being removed. This is a verydangerous condition as these things can sheer off any time while the car is in motion, and you have a sudden loss of tire pressure at highway speed, which is extremely dangerous. We've now experienced 2 failures on 2 cars, and one failure occurred at highway speed that resulted in a very scary experience for a younger lady of college age. This is dangerous. Mazda needs to properly address this problem and manufacture a proper valve that can be used in a very common use scenario, namely, driving during the winter months when salt is being used for safety reasons. That should not be used as an excuse as to why that part fails. Here are at least a couple of websites where you can see this problem is common. www.aboutautomobile.com/complaint/2009/Mazda/Mazda3/tire+pressure+monitoring+system.

- Crown Point, IN, USA

problem #1

Jul 302010

MAZDA3

  • 15,900 miles
Purchased my 2009 Mazda in January, 2009. I had to replace the tires 7/ 30/10 because they were almost bald. They didn't even have 16,000 miles on them! less than 16,000 miles in 18 months shows I'm not a hot rodder who abused my tires. I had them rotated at least once during the time I had them; I don¿T think lack in rotating the tires would cause all four tires to go bald! good thing I noticed it before I got a blow out. Even if they are specialty/performance tires, to need replacement of tires before 16,000 miles is ridiculous! this is my 4th Mazda and I must say I am disappointed at the quality of tires they have on a new vehicle, less than 16,000 is not acceptable. I now have new tires which have 10,000 miles on them and you can hardly tell they have been used. Cost me $650!

- Oceanside, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?