Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.3

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
40,313 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Mazda MAZDA3 wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Mazda MAZDA3:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Mazda MAZDA3 Owner Comments

problem #17

Jun 072016

MAZDA3

  • 59,036 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While servicing a customer's vehicle we inflated their tires. When the air chuck clamped on the valve stem, it broke causing all air to escape from the tire, immobilizing the vehicle.

- Pleasanton, CA, USA

problem #16

Jun 072016

MAZDA3

  • 59,036 miles
While servicing a customer's vehicle we inflated their tires. When the air chuck clamped on the valve stem, it broke causing all air to escape from the tire, immobilizing the vehicle.

- Pleasanton, CA, USA

problem #15

Jun 242015

MAZDA3

  • 83,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Mazda 3. while driving 65 mph, the rear passenger side tire exploded. The tire was replaced with a spare. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The mechanic stated that the TPMS sensor was corroded and the nut was fractured. The tire was replaced and the sensor was replaced with regular valve stems. The contact also stated that the dashboard was melting, which caused a glare from the sun. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failures. The approximate failure mileage was 83,000. Updated 09/14/15

- Plymouth Meeting , PA, USA

problem #14

May 242015

MAZDA3

  • 25,325 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Mazda 3. the contact stated that the tire pressure monitoring system failed. The contact noticed that the sensor was corroded and the tire valve was disintegrated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The contact was concerned that the failure might recur and requested rubber valves instead of the aluminum valves; however, the dealer did not honor the request. The manufacturer denied assistance with the repair. The failure mileage was 25,325. Updated 7/20/15

- Boston , MA, USA

problem #13

Apr 162015

MAZDA3 4-cyl

  • 52,116 miles
While adjusting the air pressure in a customer's vehicle the tire air valve/TPMS sensor broke and needed to be replaced.

- Pleasanton, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #12

Apr 192014

MAZDA3

  • 53,000 miles
On 4/19/14, I had a broken TPMS sensor which needed to be replaced. This sensor was on the passenger side, front tire. Then again on 6/2/14, I had the same problem on a different tire - the driver side back tire.

- Williamsville, NY, USA

problem #11

May 222014

MAZDA3

  • 59,025 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving on the highway my tire pressure monitor system (TPMS) light came on to indicate a low tire. I pulled into the gas station near my house right after and check my tire pressures. When checking the driver side rear tire pressure with a tire pressure gauge the TPMS sensor and stem pushed in and air blasted out, blowing several pieces of the sleeve that keeps the stem in place off of the wheel/stem. I picked up the 2 remaining pieces (one third of the sleeve was missing and presumed to have fallen off while driving) and they had cracked length-wise and had a large amount of white corrosion in the threads. The remaining stem was also covered in white corrosion on the threads and the tire had lost most of its pressure. I still have those pieces of the cracked TPMS sensor sleeve if needed to be examined. I took the vehicle and wheel to the Mazda dealership where they inspected that wheel as well as the others. They stated that 2 of my other TPMS sensors had cracked sleeves that could come off at any time in addition the one that had failed. If one of those had failed on one of my front wheels this could have caused a loss of control while driving.

- Crescent Springs, KY, USA

problem #10

May 182014

MAZDA3 4-cyl

  • 39,078 miles
In the Mazda 3, the TPMS sensor is connected to the air valve. The TPMS sensors break easily, causing the tire to deflate. If the outside part of the TPMS sensor breaks from corrosion or being hit against a curb, the tire will deflate. I have had 3 TPMS sensors break since I had the car, which has only been 4 years (approx 39,000 miles), and is expensive to replace. My tires are less than 3 years old. The part of the TPMS exposed on the outside will corrode, and if the outside part breaks off, your tires deflate. This is a common problem for Mazda owners. These things break and then cause a flat, leaving the driver in a possible emergency situation. The reason for the TPMS sensor is so drivers don't have blow outs, but the emergency light is very nonspecific, so the only way you know what the problem is when the flat has already occurred, which is unnecessarily caused by the TPMS sensor. This latest incident involved me stranded in the country, yet another TPMS sensor replacement ($200 approx), a new tire, and an alignment - almost $500 total. If the TPMS sensor hadn't broken, the flat would not have occurred at all.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #9

Jul 182013

MAZDA3 4-cyl

  • 45,800 miles
Within 2 days of driving, my Mazda 3 had two separate incidents, where the valves of the tire pressure monitoring system (TPMS) failed, on two separate tires. On Monday, July 18, 2013 while traveling at highway speed on rt. 25 in bourne, MA, the tire pressure warning light came on. I stopped at the nearest gas station. The driver's front tire was very flat. When I attempted to fill it with air, the valve pushed into the tire. Luckily, I was at a gas station and they were able to repair the tire with "standard" (non-TPMS) valve and I was on my way. As I was on vacation. I parked the car for a week. When I returned to my car (July 22), I drove the car for about 50 miles. I stopped to have lunch and noticed that the driver's side rear tire was very flat. When I attempted to put air into the valve, it too pushed into the tire. That is two TPMS valves that failed in two days of driving. I called Mazda customer service (800-222-5500, ext. 6) explained the situation to jose (ext. 1180). He was sympathetic, but would not commit to Mazda repairing the TPMS valve at no cost to me. I am having my mechanic put in non-TPMS valves in the remaining two tires on the car, as I feel they are a real safety hazard. I will not drive the car until it is repaired. I went on to the internet and there are numerous instances of valve failures on Mazda3 cars (). I plan to take the failed components to wellsley Mazda, in wellsley MA where the vehicle was purchased, for evaluation. I do not trust the reliability of the tmps system in my Mazda3, and apparently there are others who feel the same. The failure of the TPMS valves is a serious safety issue and one that the NHTSA should consider investigating. Tire failure at highway speed can lead to very serious accidents.

- Chelmsford, MA, USA

problem #8

Jul 142013

MAZDA3 4-cyl

  • 76,111 miles
While checking a customer's tire pressure the TPMS sensor broke causing all air to escape the tire, immobilizing the vehicle. We had a new TPMS sensor installed and the tire repaired for $81.41.

- Pleasanton, CA, USA

problem #7

May 181985

MAZDA3

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Bought a used 2010 Mazda 3 5-door in January 2013. I was driving down the highway on May 18th 2013 when I suddenly lost control of the vehicle, I cut off traffic to get into the emergency lane. Noticed that the driver side front tire was flat, put on the spare and took car to the closest tire repair shop (good year tire). Turns out that the tires TPMS (tire-pressure monitoring system) sensors threads striped causing the sudden loss of air pressure in the tire. Ironically the small little sensor that is supposed to prevent running on low air pressure was at fault in this traffic incident.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #6

Feb 092013

MAZDA3 4-cyl

  • 25,614 miles
My daughter was driving the Mazda 3 headed East on I-94 in brookfield, wi near the moorland road exit on Saturday afternoon, February 9, 2013 the car was moving at about 65mph. The low tire pressure warning light came on suddenly. Then a few seconds after that the steering became wobbly and the right front tire blew. She was able to get control of the car, decelerate and pull to the shoulder. The right front tire outside sidewall was completely shredded. With the help of state trooper david w. hanson she got the tire changed. On Monday, February 11, 2013 I took the car to a trusted mechanic. We found the tire valve and tire pressure sensor inside the shredded tire. The valve stem had blown into the tire. We didn't know what could have caused that. I had the mechanic, rob of erv's service in hartland, wi examine the other tires and valve stems on the remaining wheels of the car. He found another valve stem with a cracked housing that was ready to fail. I had the mechanic remove it and secure the valve stem. I retained the faulty parts. I believe the valve stem assembly failed causing the sudden loss of tire pressure, the shredding of the tire sidewall and near loss of control of the car. This could have resulted in a crash. Injuries and possibly loss of life.

- Hartland, WI, USA

problem #5

Jul 102010

MAZDA3

  • 100 miles
The tire pressure warning light came out one week after purchasing my new Mazda 3 in July 2010. I filled the tire with air but light would come back on several weeks later. Took the car to dealer in October 2010 and they couldn't find any problems. Took it back to dealer in October 2011 and now they find a bent wheel rim. Replaced the rim at my cost -- over $350. 4 weeks later, warning light comes back on. I checked the air on all tires and they are fine. My Mazda has only 6,000 miles on it. Mazda cannot seem to fix the warning light problem and they blame it on change in weather temperature! complained to the dealer and they say to bring the car back in. I refuse to pay a diagnostic fee when this is clearly a Mazda problem and the car is under warranty. I've owned Mazda cars since 1993; this is my 6th Mazda and I am very upset.

- Forest Hills, NY, USA

problem #4

Oct 142011

MAZDA3

  • 37,539 miles
While servicing a 2010 Mazda3 we checked the customer's tire pressure as required by law. The valve stem snapped off when an air line was attached to inflate the tire.

- Pleasanton, CA, USA

problem #3

Jun 082011

MAZDA3

  • 14,542 miles
Tire pressure and regulating systems - I own a 2010 Mazda 3 automatic (14,542 miles) --also purchased just over a yr ago. I have now had "three" valve stems that have broken; with slow leaks and flat tires. The last one leaving me stranded for 2 hrs until help arrived. This also happened 2 days after I had my car in for service for another tire with a "valve" stem replacement--costing me $198. Also told there is no recall and it appears Mazda having problems now with this for a few years. Also thought it funny that when dealership completing my papers they commented that they just completed exact same papers for car before mine !!!! I am a cautious driver and I know my wheel/tires where not damaged and that was the cause of the valve stem. I now have 3 new valves stems thru my cost ---just waiting for last one to go and then will see how long the "newer" ones last. Have a feeling this will be an ongoing problem. At least dealership changed the one today as a good will free of charge.

- Apollo, PA, USA

problem #2

Apr 042011

MAZDA3 4-cyl

  • 24,000 miles
I own a 2010 Mazda speed 3. purchased just over a year ago. I have a valve stem that has broken, which released pressure. The valve stems used on the vehicle are incorporated into tire pressure monitoring system (tmps), and the dealer requires that both items be replaced for $125. Aftermarket companies, such as dorman offer replacements that are modular, and allow the consumer to replace just the stem, if broken. The factory, conveniently does not offer them component individually. By the looks of online forums, this is a problem that has been around for a couple of years. I have owned vehicles for 30 years now, and I have never encountered a broken valve stem like this. There is no trauma to the wheel itself that would explain a busted stem that does not protrude beyond the rims outer edge. I believe that this dangerous problem could be eliminated if Mazda were to redesign the threaded portion of the stem to be thicker. The aluminum stems are machined so thinly, that they fail, or are easily damaged while performing basic maintenance. The Mazda dealer does not feel that the parts are faulty, and they refuse to cover this under warranty. The service manager says they have never heard of this broken stem problem. I find that extremely hard to believe. Resolution: I need to get my spare tire off the car, so I will be dropping the wheel off at a tire shop to replace the unit with a standard metal stem until I decide what route to take. My research leads me to believe that this will not be the last problem I have like this, until I get the dangerous factory ones off of my vehicle.

- Anaheim, CA, USA

problem #1

Dec 092010

MAZDA3

  • 32,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Mazda, Mazda3. While parked, the contact noticed the rear driver side tire was low on air and seemed as if the tire was flat. The vehicle was taken to a tire shop where the technicians stated the sensors were damaged and the tire was not flat. The failure also occurred to the front and rear passenger side tires. The vehicle was taken back to the tire shop where the technicians stated all three tire pressure sensors needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The dealer was contacted and stated the repairs would not be covered by warranty because the vehicle was originally taken to the tire shop instead of the dealer. The approximate failure mileage was 32,000.

- Monroe, VA, USA

Not what you are looking for?