Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2008-2011 Mercury Mariner has a dangerous problem with the power steering that Ford says they fixed when they didn't -- at least not 100%.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
100,789 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Mercury Mariner steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Mercury Mariner:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Mercury Mariner Owner Comments (Page 3 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #92

Dec 272015

Mariner

  • 135,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power steering assist failure error code appeared 12/27/15 while I was driving and immediately I noticed the steering was very stiff and difficult changing lanes and turning plus almost unmanageable especially from a standing/stopped position

- Park Forest, IL, USA

problem #91

Jan 022016

Mariner

  • 240,049 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Mariner. The contact stated that while driving 75 mph on the highway, the power steering assist warning light illuminated. The vehicle was serviced under the NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering), but the remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 240,049.

- Helena, MO, USA

problem #90

Dec 182015

Mariner

  • 96,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Mariner. The contact stated that while driving at 2 mph, the steering wheel seized. The vehicle was taken the dealer where it diagnosed that the torque sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. Prior to this failure the vehicle had a software update under NHTSA campaign 14V284000 (steering). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 96,000.

- Ellensburg, WA, USA

problem #89

Dec 072015

Mariner

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Mariner. While driving various speeds, the power steering seized. The vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering), but the remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the torque sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Helena, AR, USA

problem #88

Jan 022015

Mariner

  • 126,000 miles
Spring of 2014 is when the power steering had began to go out randomly and it would come back on once you shut the ignition of and restarted it. I called the local Ford dealership and they said there was nothing they could do about it right at that moment because they were waiting for a recall to be established because they didn't have the software to fix it. July of 2014 a recall notice was received in the mail. I didn't have the recall performed until December 4th 2014 and when they hooked the computer to the Mariner they were advised to reprogram it and then the recall would be complete. It worked just fine with no problems like before for only month. Then on January 2nd while my husband was driving in the snow at night the power steering went completely out. We take it back in and we find out that the entire steering column now has to be replaced costing us 912.65!! the dealership said they talked to Ford corporation about what they would do but they responded that since the recall was performed it was our responsibility to pay the bill because the steering column went out on it's own (you who is reading this, I assume, knows this is just a load of crap!) now its November 2015 and still no new news on how this investigation is going but I encourage we get the word out and have as many people as possible write complaints!

- Spokane, WA, USA

problem #87

Oct 182015

Mariner

  • 127,000 miles
Steering tork sensor and motor improperly detects inputs, caused loss of electrical power steering while I was driving. Mariner had been recalled in summer of 2014, recall # 14S05, just software was updated. Software update only does not correct the problem.. this failure is life threating. I would like to file a petition and request a hearing for determination from NHTSA regarding whether Ford adequately met its obligation to remedy recall 14S05.

- Gloucester, MA, USA

problem #86

Nov 082014

Mariner 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2008 Mercury Mariner. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle manufacturer refusal to pay recall repairs. The consumer stated while driving, he lost power steering. The consumer lost power steering again, a month later. The dealer reprogrammed the modules to prevent sudden loss of power steering assist. Five days later, the dealer replaced the torque sensor. However, it did not resolve the problem. Recall # 14V284000.

- Kodak, TN, USA

problem #85

Sep 022015

Mariner

  • 99,500 miles
My parents purchased a 2008 Mercury Mariner this last spring, and just started to notice that the electric power steering is cutting in and out. We took it to our local garage who diagnosed the problem (error code that came up was B1342-2F) and recommended we replace the steering column. Since that is a large expense ($800) I decided to do some research and called the local Ford dealer. They looked up our VIN and told me that there was a recall on the electric power steering and that the work for the recall on the power steering was already done. (Ford's recall number for this is 14S05) my question is since we are experiencing the same failure (meaning the fix didn't seem to last) is there any recourse for us to have Ford fix the problem now" also, how long are these 'fixes' supposed to last? the date the recall was published by NHTSA is 2014-06-05, and we are only in September of 2015. I was thinking that a recall fix should last longer than a little over a year. Is NHTSA in the process of reviewing this issue"

- Glenburn, ME, USA

problem #84

Jul 252014

Mariner

  • 108,906 miles
I had the letter for the recall # 14S05 after having trouble with power steering just going out without warning and having close calls of hitting on coming traffic. The dealer acknowledged the recall letter and the vehicle was brought in and they upgraded the software and cluster panel to warn me when it would happen. It did not solve the issue with it still going out! I called a few times about it and they said that was what it was supposed to do. It would happen randomly sitting at a light and beep but no message on panel and then be ok. Recently went on a trip and was getting gas and message power steering assist malfunction came on. Computer hooked up at local repair shop (was weekend) stated "torque sensor malfunction" he hit option for auto config and helped temporarily. I notified Ford that Monday set appointment and car was doing it off and on all weekend and had a near miss with a head on collision as I could not even steer manually. The dealer stated it was the torque sensor and needed the steering column replaced. Ford said no it was my problem to pay to fix but dealer said was related to recall. They only updated software because of the code at time but still has been a problem since, and now much worse and more often. I can not afford $1,500 for this and don't feel I should have to as was a defect with Ford and 1.1 million others had this. My wife is disabled and now she can't even go to the local grocery or dr because she can not steer car when power steering goes out. The updated software just warns me by message and alarm but doesn't fix the issue and I can not drive without wondering when next near miss is an accident!! I know this recall is closed but had been given a case # by Ford 07/24/15 #7564118 and spoke to maureen at 800-392-3673...updated 11/04/15

- Torrington, CT, USA

problem #83

Oct 012014

Mariner 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
We had the steering recall performed. Not sure what they did but it seems worse. Since the recall the steering feels loose when traveling at high speeds and the vehicle can dart.

- North Bend, WA, USA

problem #82

Mar 072015

Mariner 4-cyl

  • 160,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Mariner. The contact stated that while driving at 10 mph, the steering wheel was difficult to turn. The contact had to apply force to the steering wheel in order to turn the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that the torque sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The failure mileage was 160,000. Updated 7/21/15

- Marana, AZ, USA

problem #81

Mar 222015

Mariner

  • 171,000 miles
I took my 2008 Mercury Mariner in for service recall 14S05 for the torque sensor that can cause the power steering to revert to manual. Within the last week the electronic power steering assist had quit at least 4 times. At the same time, the steering wheel began to vibrate and shake when the vehicle was stopped or idling. After taking the vehicle in for the recall issue, I was notified that they vibration/shaking is due to the steering gear that is not covered by the recall. This issue occurred only after the recall issue and I do not believe that it is a mere coincidence that this happened simultaneously and is not as a result of the bad torque sensor. Ford states that there is no other documented problems with this and that I will be responsible for the cost of the repairs for the steering gear. There have been many known issues with this vehicle including a previous recall for the transmission cooler leak and defective tone rings in the ABS (I've replaced the passenger side once and the driver side twice in a six month period with each individual repair costing on average $350).

- Clare, MI, USA

problem #80

Mar 092015

Mariner 4WD 6-cyl

  • 193,800 miles
I had taken my vehicle in for the recall #14S05, in 2014; it was fixed in a matter of 2 hours. After that my steering was very flexible and very loose, which I thought I would have to get used to. Then within a few months the steering column started to tremble while in park or with applied brake. I thought it was front end issues, which I took to the shop and found nothing wrong. A month went by and while driving on the highway on March 9, 2015 going about 60mph with my 5 year old great niece in the car, the power steering went out. It took all my strength to keep it from crashing. I noticed on the dashboard that it read "power steering assist fault". immediately I thought to myself; I took this in for the recall, why is this happening. I made it to a safe place and called the Ford dealer and explain everything to them. They said that they wouldn't know if it is related or not until they run a diagnostic. Later that next day they call and said that it is not related to the software that was replace, which I disagree, and they quoted me a large amount to fix. I told them that it is Ford responsibility because I feel that it was related to the recall. I could had died and my great niece as well. This is not acceptable. I had to pay for tow and diagnostic and the problem still not fix and I still feel strongly that its Ford responsibility. When a recall is performed and the problem still happened then it's no accuse or denying that it is indeed a recall issue. This has cause mental stress, loss of wages, mental stress due to avoiding an accident and keeping me and my great niece out of danger. This issue needs to be address and fixed, before something like this happens to someone else. Whether or not the recall was done it did not perform like it should have and it caused a danger.this needs to be addressed immediately. Thank you.

- Oakdale, MN, USA

problem #79

Feb 272015

Mariner

  • 73,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Mariner. The contact stated that while driving at 20 mph, the vehicle suddenly lost power steering. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering); however, the remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the torque sensor and the steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 73,000.

- Dover , DE, USA

problem #78

Feb 182015

Mariner 6-cyl

  • 97,000 miles
We bought our 2008 Mariner in January 2013 and have never had any problems with it until now. We received a recall notice about the steering and had it fixed. We still never have had any problems. Last week, about February 18th, 2015, I noticed that while in park with vehicle running, the steering wheel started to vibrate/pulsate without me even touching it. Since then, it has only gotten worse, and I can somewhat feel this pulsation even while driving. It is not only pulsating now, but also making a clicking or clunking noise when it pulses/vibrates. I have researched this problem and have run across numerous complaints of this same problem, and people losing power steering because of this, and when they have called Ford was told that it was not their problem. I am really scared to drive it now, but don't have a choice because this is the only vehicle we own.

- Elkhart, IN, USA

problem #77

Feb 222015

Mariner 4WD 6-cyl

  • 143,000 miles
Never had a problem till I received a paper back in Nov.2014 for a recall on power steering so I took it in they said it checked out they updated it and ever since there just wasn't something right about our steering. At red lights the steering wheel would vibrate and jerk back and forth without me touching it and then today I heard 3 chimes and seen nothing pop up on dash then bam the warning light came on and said power steering assist failure and I had to use everything I had to steer it home.

- Greenwich, OH, USA

problem #76

Feb 102015

Mariner

  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Mariner. While driving approximately 5 mph making a left turn, the steering wheel became difficult to turn without warning. The failure recurred on two other occasions. The contact also stated that while driving forward, the vehicle would pull to the right. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering); however, the failure persisted. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer or diagnosed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 58,000.

- Crawfordsville, IN, USA

problem #75

Feb 042015

Mariner 4WD 6-cyl

  • 125,326 miles
3 months ago I took my 2008 Mercury Mariner into Ford for the power steering recall. They were to do one of three things: Update the software for the power steering, replace the torque sensor or replace the power steering column. They only updates the power steering system software. Day 1 after it being fixed, I was experience an extremely shaky steering wheel and a "power steering assist fault" indicator that would randomly show up now and then. Ford said they could look at it but that it would not fall under the recall. February 4, 9:00am, my power steering goes out pulling into work. I took my car into Ford today and they exclaimed that my power steering motor and column need replaced but again this has nothing to do with the recall. I experienced no problems with my power steering prior to the software update. After reading several (a couple hundred) reviews by other customers, they experienced the same exact incidents a few months after the update, but Ford said they had to pay the full $1,200 to replace the steering column. It is sickening to know that this "update" is actually causing power steering to malfunction and putting people's lives in danger. On top of it, Ford says once the update is ran, there is nothing more they can do under the recall, when they know full well know what the update is doing and putting money in their pockets. Someone please look into this. Lives can be lost due to this malfunction that should not be swept under the rug.

- Newark, OH, USA

problem #74

Jan 302015

Mariner

  • 112,363 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Mariner. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (tires). While driving at 30 mph, the steering wheel seized and the vehicle was turned off. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the electric power steering needed to be replaced and stated that the vehicle would not be repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (tires) due to a recent repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 112,363.

- Hornell, NY, USA

problem #73

Dec 152014

Mariner

  • 103,719 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Mercury Mariner. While driving at 35 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to maneuver and the power steering assist fault warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who diagnosed that the steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The contact believed the failure was related to the recall. The failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 103,719.

- Fairmont, WV, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?