Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
43,871 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Nissan Armada brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Nissan Armada:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Nissan Armada Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #69

Aug 032013

Armada 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 108,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Armada. The contact stated while traveling at any speed, the ABS sensor illuminated and there was a loud springing sound intermittently coming from the brakes. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer. The technician cleared the computer for the vdc code, replaced the ball bearings and the differential housing. The failure recurred. The contact had to continuously turn off the vehicle and restart it in order to reset the ABS sensor and the vdc sensor to no avail. The vehicle was to be inspected, diagnosed and repaired. The contact was not included in NHTSA campaign id numbers: 07E046000 (equipment). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 108,000. Pam updated 8/11/14

- Hazel Crest, IL, USA

problem #68

Jun 102013

Armada 8-cyl

  • 94,000 miles
On above date I was driving my vehicle down on the hwy slowing down to exit off. I turned on my air conditioning unit and it started to make a hissing noise from underneath the dashboard. I couldn't figure what could have gone since I recently had my vehicle inspected at conocelli Nissan on ridge pk. I took my vehicle back in and I was told me air conditioner lines were rusted and leaking. I asked how can that happen? no one could give me an answer. No one understood how my lines rusted on a vehicle that is not that old. I was told Nissan is supposed to use rust free lines for the Armada's. last year I had to pay for my muffler to be replaced for the same reason. I am being charged a great deal of funds for repairs that can not be explained as to how these things occur, my vehicle is not that old. If you have any answers please let me know. I too like other Armada owners has had numerous breaking problem which almost lead to a collision, that would have put my family at risk. The dealership couldn't figure out what was going on. They believe it was the ABS system but they rather try to reset the electrical system first..

- Phila, PA, USA

problem #67

Jun 062012

Armada 8-cyl

  • 80,102 miles
On June 6, 2012, while traveling approximately 10 mph I applied the brakes to stop and the pedal hit the floor, there was little or no resistance on the brake pedal and I heard crunching, metal on metal sound. Also, the vdc off, slip and ABS lights were on. I immediately pulled over, turned the truck off and on to reset it, and it worked, however, I began to travel a few miles and it happened again. I went to a local service station and code C1179 delta stroke sensor popped up. The technician test drove the truck and it ran well with no problems. The truck was fine until June 13, 2012, while leaving the supermarket it happened again. I was traveling no more than 10 mph and the brakes failed. I tried to reset it as I did before, however this time it didn't work. I had to turn the car off and on several times in order for it to reset. Once it was reset, I began to drive home and it happened again. So again, I pulled over to reset it and after several attempts it worked. This issue is very unsettling due to the fact that I have small children. This is my only method of transportation and I need this resolved as soon as possible.

- Lakewood, CA, USA

problem #66

Apr 022012

Armada 4WD 8-cyl

  • 76,491 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving my vehicle at approx 45mph I was coming up upon a traffic light intersection and attempting to slow down. When I applied the brakes, the brake pedal went to the floor and I heard a loud grinding noise from the front of the vehicle. Luckily I was able to get through the intersection without injuring or killing someone. I immediately pulled to the side of the road and called for assistance. The vehicle was checked out by my mechanic and he advised me that a C1179 dtc was showing up in the computer. He also said tsb was on file for this problem but that I would need to take it to the dealer to have it fixed. I scheduled an appointment with the dealer and they "performed the repair". a week later, I was driving the vehicle and the same thing happened, the brake pedal went to the floor, the grinding noise was heard. I have another appointment scheduled with the dealer. Nissan must be aware of this serious problem and should do something about it. There are many complaints for this problem when I searched the web. I also found a lawsuit against Nissan that is being heard in us district court on 4/26/12. The NHTSA should act on this quickly before someone is injured or killed. Nissan has done nothing accept charge for the "repairs".

- Washingtonville, NY, USA

problem #65

Oct 162008

Armada

  • 59,000 miles
While exiting the interstate, went around the exit ramp. The brakes depressed farther than normal and made a grinding sound. The brake indicator lights came one. The vehicle shook while I tried to brake. I narrowly missed the guardrail and managed to keep the vehicle in control. I was able to slow down, although it took longer than it should have, and I drove slowly to a service station nearby. The vehicle was examined, and I was told I had been driving with the parking brake on and that the brakes had just "heated up". I wasn't driving with the parking break on though. It happened again a few weeks later and was taken to a different service station. They informed me that it needed to go to the dealer to have the service codes pulled, and that there had been braking issues with the model and year. Further investigation online revealed it can be fixed by shutting car off. It has happened several times since then, at random times with no antecedent. I drive cautiously and leave plenty of braking room, as I am nervous about the performance of the brakes and my ability to stop. Please have Nissan address and fix this dangerous problem!

- Spotsylvania, WA, USA

problem #64

Mar 182009

Armada

  • 86,000 miles
I was driving down highway when I heard a light knock and noticed brake light on. When I tried to apply brakes they started making a grinding sound and it was very hard to stop the vehicle. I pulled over to a nearby parking lot and turned vehicle off, when I restarted brake light was off and brakes where working. This has happened several times. Mechanic said brakes were fine each time.

- Christiansburg, VA, USA

problem #63

Jan 222009

Armada 8-cyl

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

With in five minutes of driving the brake light came on and when the brakes were applied, there was a lack of brake pressure and a grinding sound was heard. The vehicle had very minimal breaking power and I would not be able to stop the vehicle by the brakes alone, coasting is required. If the vehicle is turned off and restarted, the system will reset and the brakes will return to normal operating condition. Within the last year this has happened at least once a month. Last year, the brake light came on and I carefully drove it 2-3 miles to a local Nissan dealership. They ran a diagnostic test, while the brake light was on, which revealed a failure of the delta stroke sensor (C1179). I asked the mechanic to drive it and experience the lack of brakes but by the time he drove it the system had reset itself. The diagnosis cannot be done unless the brake light is on. There are numerous complaints online about other's having this problem as well as class action lawsuit pending.

- Hershey, PA, USA

problem #62

Jan 012011

Armada

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Armada. While driving 25 mph, the contact applied pressure to the brakes but they failed to operate and did not stop the vehicle. She would turn the vehicle off and then on again but the brakes remained operable. The failure occurred intermittently since January 2011. The dealer replaced the rear parking brake shoe on the passenger side and both rotors however, the failure persisted. The contact was awaiting further repairs. The current mileage was 83,000 and the approximate failure mileage was 75,000.

- Durham , NC, USA

problem #61

Mar 112009

Armada

  • 100,000 miles
While driving at only 10 mph coming to a stop at a stop sign, the brake light came on and the brake failed to work. A grinding and scrapping noise was made and eventually the vehicle came to a stop. Turned the car off and on again then brake light turned off and brakes worked fine. This has happened 7-10 times since then at sporadic times. The last time I was on the highway going 60 mph with my 3 children in the car. This is going to kill someone if it is not taken care of. I have had the brakes and rotors done twice. I continually take it to the dealer for them to find something wrong and repair it, each time I am told nothing can be found. Please fix this problem!!! it is extremely dangerous.

- Plainfield , IL, USA

problem #60

Aug 012011

Armada

  • 90,000 miles
Sudden and complete failure of the braking system. Brake pedal becomes hard to push and the brakes issue a scrapping and grinding noise. Very scary. Brakes become unusable and it is clear that the ABS controller has somehow come one at an inappropriate time such that the braking system is not operating properly. If this occurred at high speed, it would surely cause a major accident. This has happened several times with this vehicle and there are many other accounts with other vehicle. You are referred to the website of Armada.com for the same. Nissan should have recalled these vehicles long ago for repairs. I am told that some dealers are reprogramming the computer and are charging owners for this inherent defect in these vehicle and poor design from the factory. This rampant condition which affects thousands of vehicle in the U.S. both Nissan Armada of all years 2004-present and Nissan luxury companion vehicles under the infinity qx design. The above prevalent defect is a clear and present danger to all owners of Armada and qx vehicles. Nissan knows about this, but has failed and refused to issue a recall. They should be directed to do so, or be heavily penalized for failure to repair these vehicle to prevent future injury to vehicle owners and their families. Updated 08/31/11

- Patchogue, NY, USA

problem #59

Aug 192011

Armada 8-cyl

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 Nissan Armada brake failure while driving, this is at random times causing us to panic in traffic.this has been an on going problem with no fix and this is very scary and unsafe.and the only solution is hope that you get to a safe place without injuries or death occurring. Turn it off and back on and drive until it does it again. So taking a risk everyday and praying that something be done with this is like an awakening nightmare waiting to happen just don't know when. Thanks for your cooperation with this safety issue.

- Frisco, TX, USA

problem #58

Aug 112011

Armada 4WD 8-cyl

  • 165,000 miles
2004 Nissan Armada; I've been monitoring these reports for years and find it ridiculous that Nissan is incompetent in dealing with this issue. This has been an issue since the advent of the Armada platform. I have had this same ABS issue since we purchased the car in Feb 2005. Although the issue can be resolved or reset by turning off the engine and restarting, it does nothing to ward off close calls in traffic or busy streets with pedestrians. I've heard everything from replacing the computer, brake booster, pressure equalization valve...etc. These are all blind attempts to do something if not anything. The problem needs to be resolved definitely and the remedy applied unilaterally across the Armada line. The grinding noise, I believe is not at the rotors, it is a spring like resonance that comes from the brake booster and the millisecond pressure reaction to each of the wheels. It sounds like someone hits a large coil spring with a hammer. I can't tell, but is this problem limited to just the 2004 models? come on Nissan...do the right thing before someone gets hurt!

- Pleasanton, CA, USA

problem #57

Aug 032011

Armada 4WD 8-cyl

  • 71,000 miles
Driving 2004 Nissan Armada SE off road traveling at low speed (20 mph or less) in traffic. Brake light comes on in the dashboard, brake pressure goes to near nothing (have to push pedal all the way to floor to stop car) and brakes make a grinding noise under the steering column. Car stops eventually but no confidence car would stop suddenly. Problem is fixed temporarily if car is turned off and restarted. Happens intermittently could go 3-4 weeks without a problem, but everytime seems to be at low speed in traffic with repetitive use of the brakes. Nissan dealer can't replicate problem and can't diagnose problem without seeing car with brake failure indicator still on. They are recommending potentially replacing ABS computer $1,500 but no guarantee that will fix problem.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #56

Jul 202011

Armada 4WD 8-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
I have a 2004 Nissan Armada, and I was driving when the brake light came on and the ABS system engaged on its own and I lost braking power. I shut the car off and the problem went away this is a very serious problem that someone can get hurt or be killed from. I contacted Nissan, and im going to take it to the dealership for diagnosis. Please look into this matter before someone dies.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #55

Jan 262011

Armada

  • 93,470 miles
Symptom: Nissan vehicle looses braking ability when this symptom happens. Brake light comes on the dashboard, brake pedal goes all the way to the floor, and there is grinding noise from the front end toward the wheels. Vehicle braking ability is reduced to 10% or less. Turning ignition off/on resolves for short time, but not a permanent fix. Nissan has tsb ntb06-040 to clear the code C1179 from brake module. I had preformed at my cost and issue came back. Called Nissan and opend a file number 7181591, but they are blaming it on me, not the flaw that is happening to 100's of other Armadas including me. I am requesting safecar.gov to probe Nissan about the brake issue that is affecting 2004 Armada, titan, and infinity QX56 and to find out if they are doing anything to fix it. Links of discussion on different forums: townhall-talk.edmunds.com/direct/view/.F0ffea4/0 www.titantalk.com/forums/titan-problems-dealer-service/111660-brake-light-came-soft-ABS-feeling-pedal-2.html www.clubarmada.com/forums/showthread.php?T=12333

- Snohomish, WA, USA

problem #54

Jun 032011

Armada

  • 121,000 miles
2004 Nissan Armada. Brake failure, loud grinding, vibration, would not stop. Turned car off, then back on, and problem was gone. I suspect its a computer related issue that will eventually cause a serious accident.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #53

Apr 202011

Armada 4WD 8-cyl

  • 123,000 miles
Vehicle brake light comes on, brake makes a springy sound, brakes become spongy and it is difficult to stop. Once we came to a stop turned the vehicle off then on and the issue went away. It's scary to put my family back in the vehicle.

- Evington, VA, USA

problem #52

Jul 012010

Armada

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Armada. While driving approximately 35 mph, the contact applied pressure to the brake pedal and came to a complete stop when the brake pedal locked. He then applied the accelerator pedal and the vehicle would not accelerate. The vehicle had to be restarted in order for the brakes to function properly. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostics or repairs. The failure occurred three different times. The approximate failure mileage was unknown.

- Monahans, TX, USA

problem #51

Feb 082011

Armada

  • 67,287 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Armada. While driving approximately 20 mph, the contact applied pressure to the brakes and heard a loud grinding noise. He was unable to bring the vehicle to a complete stop, causing the pedal to jerk. He was forced to use the emergency brake in order to stop the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who performed a diagnostic test which concluded that the brake booster failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer did not offer any assistance. The current and failure mileages were 67,287.

- Lawndale, CA, USA

problem #50

Jan 262011

Armada

  • 93,460 miles
Brake failure on 2004 Nissan pathfinder Armada: There is a known issue that Nissan is not doing anything to prevent accidents from catastrophic accidents due to failure of ABS system. They have a tsb ntb-060 out and dealer would re-flash the ABS system to fix the issue for an hour labor charge. I had this happen to my Armada on 1/26/2011 and found 1000's of user with issue on different discussion forums on the internet. I am filing this complain to make sure Nissan usa will take this matter seriously. Symptom if issue: Brake light comes on, brake paddle will go to the floor and spring cracking noise comes from front end. Brake does not work 95% to the capacity. Nissan dealer will try to sell a new brake booster pump for $1000 if customer is not aware this is a known issue with 2004-2005 Nissan Armada, and titan. I had my baby in the back and had to drive 5 miles to home with non existing brake. Please follow through Nissan to make sure they take care of issues so it does not happen to other people and lives are lost due to a defect that manufacturer should recall. I have uploaded a 23 second ling video at www.youtube.com/watch?V=R3lvsfqjxxq [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Snohomish, WA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?