Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
75,628 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Nissan Armada brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Nissan Armada:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Nissan Armada Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #75

Dec 172014


  • 92,014 miles


I bought the vehicle used fall 2014. Dec 2014 (1st instance) I was leaving parking lot when my brake light came on and my brakes made a weird grinding noise & I couldn't stop. When I did get it to stop I tried pumping the brakes thinking it was fluid, but I checked and fluid level was full. I started it again and seem like it was fine. Didn't happen again til mth half later, same thing. I pumped brakes, shut vehichle off, restarted and it cleared up. However, yesterday June 29, 2015 I was trying to get off interstate and was coming down off ramp behind other vehicles trying to exit and my brakes started acting up again. I know that I have new brakes and plenty of brake fluid. I took it to the garage where I normally have work done and was told I need to take it to dealer. Since I bought it used, there is no longer warranty and I don't have money to get it fixed. I have to have vehicle, im single mom taking care of my mom and 2 disabled sisters. Im the only one driving but I don't want to risk their life, someone elses life or mine if I cant get brakes to work properly.

- Inwood, WV, USA

problem #74

Jun 162009


  • 30,000 miles
I was driving and suddenly the brake lights came on and their was a loud grinding noise, when I press the brake it was hard to stop the vehicle. I pulled off the road and the vehicle eventually stopped. I turn off the veh and restart and the problem went away. This have happened several times over the year with the vehicle. I brought to the dealership and was told I need a new brake pads, I had new brake pads installed and the issue just kept on happening. This is definitely a manufacturing defect with the brake system. I finally brought my vehicle to a different dealership and im being told that the issue is within the brake booster.

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #73

May 012015


  • 114,000 miles
Today Friday May 01 2015 ive had the brake problem twice, first I was driving around 20ml/hr suddenly I see the vdc, slip and brake signs on then I had to park and turn off and on the engine for reset but 15min later when I reached the walmart parking lot the same problem happened again, I made a video and picture.

- Gulfport, FL, USA

problem #72

Apr 202015

Armada 4-cyl

  • 114 miles


Me and my wife bought a 2006 Armada in August 2014, I did not really drive it that much but last month March 2015 ive got the same experience as everybody, I wall pulling to sams club parking lot and suddenly I lost the brakes and I felt a grinding that was so scary and thank god I didnt hit that truck was passing, then when I was leaving sams club the problem went away, I wasnt sure what the problem because I never experienced that, then last April 20 2015 right on the red light I got the same problem I was around 20mil/hr, I went straight to the mechanic, they said this problem need to be fixed with Nissan dealership and they cant do anything unfortunately, I scheduled an appointment with crown Nissan for fri 24 2015, all they did its reprogramming and im still waiting because im pretty sure this will not fix the issue according to people experience.

- Gulfport, FL, USA

problem #71

Dec 122013

Armada 4WD 8-cyl

  • 88,546 miles
The vehicle differential control stopped working and caused a brake failure. The vehicle slide through a red light into an intersection where it was struck in the side by another vehicle. After the incident, I checked the brakes and it had stopped. This was one incident of many. The vehicle's brakes stop working and makes a grinding noise. If I turn the vehicle off and restart it, it will stop doing it. The vehicles brake pads, calipers, and brake booster has been replaced and it still continues to do it. There is no consistency to this occurring. It does this periodically with the same result. I researched the problem and it seems this is and has been a problem involving Nissan Armadas nationwide with serious consequences. There are tens of thousands of complaints being reported on the internet all of these complaints are described the same way. In fact I received a notice on a class action suite being filed against Nissan for this problem. I work for NHTSA and attempted to discuss this problem with ODI to no avail. I would expect some sort of response when me and the public make complaints that can and will be life threatening. How many complaints and or how many people need to be involved in crashes, injuries, and/or deaths before something is done. The incident described is one event among many. It has also occurred on the interstate at much higher speeds. The only way to clear it is to turn the vehicle off and crank it back up again. The dealer will not recognize there is a defect, instead they continue to replace brake parts, at the owners expense hoping this will fix the problem..

- Ashburn, VA, USA

problem #70

Feb 062015

Armada 8-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
'was driving and getting ready to stop on a 3 way stop intersection, as soon as I step on the brake, a grinding noise was heard coming from the brakes at the same time the brake light on the dash came on. Seems like the brakes lock up and it's hard to make a full stop. Fortunately, 'was able to pull over on the side of the road. Turned key in the ignition switch on and off, the brake light on the dash disappeared and the grinding noise went away.this is the second time these incidents happened. The first time it happened (about a year ago- same issue), I brought the Armada to mossy Nissan poway. They have to re-code the ECU and I have to pay something like $300 for the work done. Nissan should do something about this safety issue. NHTSA, please order a recall for this vehicle before an injury or something fatal happens to anyone who drives it.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #69

Aug 062008


  • 58,000 miles


Multiple times, our Nissan Armada has had incidents with the brakes. The brake pedal modulates/shutters, stopping distances are increased, and a loud vibration can be heard and felt from the front of the vehicle. I've done some research on this and found many other Armada and titan owners have experienced this. See "Armada delta stroke sensor" or "Armada brake problem" in a google search. Also, Nissan has just settled a class action lawsuit: this is an issue that affects the safety of these vehicles and should be addressed.

- Cottonwood, CA, USA

problem #68

Oct 232014


  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Armada. The contact stated while driving at various speeds attempting to engaged the brakes, an abnormal noise emitted from the rear of the vehicle as the ABS, slip and vdc warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 45,000.

- Fleming Island, FL, USA

problem #67

Oct 132014


  • 92,000 miles
Was driving my son to football practice and went to stop at stop sign and the brakes were really hard to push down, was making a bad grinding noise and didn't want to stop, luckily I was only driving 35mph. Finally after getting the vehicle to stop I let of the brake pedal trying to find out what was going on and it made a springy clicking noise like the pedal was resetting to a certain spot and the brake light was on. After turning vehicle off for 2-3 minutes started back up and brake light was off and brakes worked perfectly. This could have got someone killed or severely injured....Nissan needs to do something about this!

- Arcadia, FL, USA

problem #66

Aug 292014

Armada 8-cyl

  • 83,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Armada. While driving various speeds, the brake light illuminated on the instrument panel and the brakes were non responsive. The contact also heard a loud grinding noise coming from the brakes when the brake pedal was depressed. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 83,000. Updated 02/20/15 the consumer stated the power brake booster was replaced. Updated 10/28/2015

- Alexandra , VA, USA

problem #65

Oct 042013

Armada 8-cyl

  • 93,925 miles


This issue occurred as we were stopping at an intersection. The brakes seemed to lose power and there was a springy, metallic noise emanating from the front of the car. It almost felt like there was slipping going on or that the discs came off track. We drove back to a house where we had been staying and the front tires were removed to ensure all was intact. Everything was fine and we drove 110 miles to our home. Since then this has happened several times. I finally realized that it must be an electrical problem because it would reset after turning off the vehicle. This last time it arose on a long drive into the city. It was 9/22/2014 and after a long drive into the city I parked in a shopping center. When I restarted the vehicle and reversed I noticed the brakes were malfunctioning again. I pulled over and turned off and turned on the car several times. It did not reset. I had an appointment so I drove another five street miles in a gingerly fashion. If I had adequate time to stop at a safe speed I could drive the car but it was harrowing. When I arrived at my destination I realized that the brake light was on in my console. I decided to let the car rest for five or six hours while I was at my outing. When I returned later that day the brakes operated fine. It worked okay on my 110 mile drive back home. This has happened at least 5-6 times in the last two years that I have owned the car after buying from a private party. I have had the brakes inspected religiously and a cause has never been found. A friend suggested I should search online for this issue and here I am. Something needs to be corrected.

- Rancho Mirage, CA, USA

problem #64

Jun 052014


  • 86,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Armada. While driving approximately 45 mph, the brakes failed without warning. The failure occurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to both a dealer and an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing, but the cause of the failure could not be determined. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 86,000.

- Dunnellon, FL, USA

problem #63

Sep 032014

Armada 8-cyl

  • 83,000 miles
I was driving my kids to school, as I was reaching a stop sign I went to hit my brakes when all of the sudden I had no brake power, made an ugly grinding noise and stopped in the middle of the intersection luckily there were no kids crossing the road or could of been something really bad! please help us!

- Stockton , CA, USA

problem #62

Apr 162014

Armada 4WD 8-cyl

  • 33,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Armada. While driving approximately 40 mph, the vehicle hesitated to stop when the brake pedal was depressed. The dealer stated that the brakes and the brake system needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 33,000. Updated 10/24/2014 updated 7/14/2015

- East Hartford, CT, USA

problem #61

Aug 082014

Armada 8-cyl

  • 190,000 miles
Replaced ABS pressure sensor after ABS warning light was illuminated in 5/'14 and reprogrammed ABS control module. Originally heard squeaking coming from the front end when brakes were engaged. It sounded like a shock or strut problem to me. I took it to a mechanic and engaged the brakes to duplicate the squeaking. The brake pedal pulsated and I heard a loud, grinding noise as I braked. Also, there was very little braking capacity. Brake light was lit on the dashboard. Turned engine off, and it seemed to reset itself. Brakes were working fine after that. I took it to Nissan for service, but they couldn't find anything wrong. The squeaking was attributed to aged bushings in the front end and were lubricated. It started to squeak again one day last week. As I was driving, I noticed the brake light come on. I braked and again heard the grinding noise coming from the brakes, the pulsating brake pedal, and decrease in braking. Because I was afraid to drive it, I had it towed to Nissan and they said there was nothing wrong with it and to not worry.

- Bear, DE, USA

problem #60

Sep 052014

Armada 4WD 8-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
Brake pedal goes flat on the floor and vehicle wouldn't stop. This is about the 3rd time it happened. In the previous occurrences it was towed to the dealership and they changed the ABS/vdc system and brake pressure sensor. The cost about $3000. It was towed to them yesterday after the occurrence and now dealership doesn't know what wrong with the truck because they have test and haven't experienced, and so they are not going to do nothing. Since the whole thing random I'm scared of driving my family in it and most especially when the manufacturer has no clue about what's going on. Can you help me? [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- East Hartford, CT, USA

problem #59

Aug 292014


  • 70 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Armada. The contact stated that while traveling at approximately 30 mph and attempting to stop, the brake pedal traveled to the floorboard when depressed and there was an abnormal noise coming from the vehicle as it shook. The contact stated that the ABS warning light illuminated and excessive force on the brake pedal was required in order to stop the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 70.

- Sierra Vista, AZ, USA

problem #58

Jan 142014


  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Armada. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the brake lights illuminated independently and an abnormal noise came from the front end of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the brake pads were replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 40,000.

- National City, CA, USA

problem #57

Aug 222011

Armada 8-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
On a regular normal perfect to drive day, brake becomes spongy and making a compressed-spring like noise. Will not stop car right away. Had to turn engine and restart to get rid of problem. On occasion, ABS light come on.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #56

Aug 022014

Armada 8-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Second time this has occurred. Brakes went out, grinding, had to push hard on the pedal and brake light came on. Was in a parking lot and was very lucky that I didn't hit another person. Had my children in the car with me. My mechanic states that my delta stroke sensor is out and I have to replace the power brake booster assembly unit. This is a $1,000 fix. Called Nissan and they will charge me more and say they have not recalls on this or found issues. Not true. There hundreds of reports out there that list these exact symptoms with Armada brakes. There is a class action law suit pending since 2011 but someone needs to make Nissan correct this problem now before there are casualties from accidents when the brakes go out.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?