CarComplaints.com Notes: For years, Nissan trucks and SUVs have had problems with coolant destroying the transmission. And for years, Nissan has done nothing about it.

The 2007 is no different than the 2006 and 2005. Just avoid it.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
118,133 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Nissan Frontier drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Nissan Frontier:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Nissan Frontier Owner Comments (Page 4 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #98

Apr 132015

Frontier

  • 111,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Was driving 2007 Nissan Frontier when 4WD light came on and check engine light came on. Slowed down and came to a stop. When I tried to accelerate, there was no response. Apparently, transmission is ruined due to a known defect with the radiator where coolant leaks into the transmission. Nissan never issued a recall for the radiator assembly, just extended the warranty to 100,000 miles, leaving the consumer responsible to fixed catastrophic transmission failure. Cost $6500.

- Chino Hills, CA, USA

problem #97

Mar 162015

Frontier

  • 76,000 miles
Making a noise when traveling at 35-40 mph accelerating. Nissan dealership states it is the radiator leaking coolant into the transmission which is causing the transmission to fail. Warranty expired on 12/2014. Nissan dealership states a co-pay of $2500 is what will be charged to fix.

- Kearns, UT, USA

problem #96

Mar 132015

Frontier 4WD 6-cyl

  • 79,000 miles
2012 class action suit extends warranty for leakage of antifreeze into transmission which causes engine to stop running properly and break down. Apparently this is a common feature on Nissan vehicles. This truck was driven to Florida by a college student on spring break. At 79,000 mark trouble started. He drove it home to Virginia and bingo the odometer went over 80,000 miles. At 80,300 miles he takes it to the dealership and because odometer is over 80,000 miles the manufacturer requires $2500 owner co-pay to repair what could have been a preventable repair before the transmission tanked. Had he taken it to a dealer in Florida at 79,000 the whole thing would have been covered. They require written proof of mechanical failure. These vehicles need to come with a warning label.

- Centreville, VA, USA

problem #95

Mar 112015

Frontier

  • 97,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Truck would not start. Towed to auto garage. Told radiator has a defective coolest line that runs thru transmission. This caused cross contamination of radiator fluid and transmission fluid, causing breakdown of transmission and radiator. Found out online that this happens with three types of Nissan vehicles made between 2005 and 2010. Nissan will only cover if under 100,000 miles but I have to pay first 3000 on a fix averaging 3800 to 4000. I was never notified of any problems by Nissan. They knew their was a problem and I believe that are stalling and covering this problem. They should be 100% responsible for this liability. Car company's paid for all types of recall for their design flaws, what is the difference here other than the amount needed to do what is right.

- Pinehurst, NC, USA

problem #94

Feb 132015

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 111,000 miles
A defective radiator installed by manufacturer, rotted, causing a mix of transmission fluid and coolant permanently damaging the transmission.

- Maywood, NJ, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #93

Jan 052015

Frontier 4WD 6-cyl

  • 135,000 miles
Started experiencing radiator overheating and erratic transmission shifting. Mechanic found radiator and transmission fluids mixed. Radiator and transmission need to be replaced +/-$4000 estimate. Normal driving history and vehicle in good condition otherwise. www.nissanproblems.com/trends/coolant-leaks-destroy-transmission/ www.nissanassist.com/web/radiator/faqs.php"menu=22 classaction.kccllc.net/caseinfo.aspx"pas=nissanatoilcoolersettlement.

- Vero Beach, FL, USA

problem #92

Dec 102014

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 106,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I first began noticing a problem with my 2007 Nissan Frontier when the heater was having trouble heating up the cab as I was driving. At first the problem was intermittent and the heater would warm up for a while and then get cold again. Shortly after that I began to notice a vibration or shuddering at higher speeds as if I was hitting a rumble strip. I began doing some research on the internet and found that this is a very common problem with several Nissan models between 2005 and 2010. I took the truck to the local dealership and they knew immediately what the problem was and what was needed to repair it. The radiator develops a crack that leaks into the transmission and starts tearing up the internals of the transmission. The dealership recommended replacement of both the radiator and the transmission. The cost to do this repair was about $5,100. The cost was not covered in the Nissan extended warranty because the truck had over 100,000 miles. I am extremely frustrated that Nissan does not stand behind their vehicles. I did not receive any notice from Nissan that there was an engineering defect in their cars.

- Highlands Ranch, CO, USA

problem #91

Dec 172014

Frontier

  • 109,500 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Frontier. During a routine oil change, the technician informed that the transmission and radiator needed to be flushed and replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 109,500.

- Lakewood , CO, USA

problem #90

Dec 172014

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 117,000 miles
I took my vehicle in for service 12-17-14, since the heater was not working properly and just found out the that radiator cracked and leaked radiator fluid into the transmission, possibly contaminating the transmission. They are replacing the radiator and flushing the transmission a few times to try to salvage the transmission. They informed me of a recall on this problem but I'm past the permitted mileage. I bought the vehicle used in 2012. The service dealer said the recall included a new radiator and transmission for $3800 but that the deductible was $3000"?" this is a serious design flaw that should be fully covered and fixed by Nissan!

- Mahwah, NJ, USA

problem #89

Oct 262012

Frontier

  • 1,012,321 miles
First thing that happened the gas gauge just quit working second the fuel line started leaking on the frame just after gas gauge fixed then transmission messed up transmission radiator and thermostat fixed and no running hot took it to dealer says nothing wrong with it also code is showing egr valve.

- Cabot, AR, USA

problem #88

Aug 292014

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 109,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Defective power train transmission system on 2007 Nissan Frontier.

- Kailua-Kona, HI, USA

problem #87

Oct 062014

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
The D for drive would no longer show -to took it transmission place and they detected coolant leak into transmission. Found out Nissan had lost a class action suit over this and realized my truck is over limit for milage this is second major repair for this vehicle had a transmission control module replaced and was partially reimbursed after a big fight with dealer and Nissan. Will never buy another Nissan after this I hope you hang them out to dry over this.

- Hampton, VA, USA

problem #86

Aug 162014

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 120,695 miles
Purchased the vehicle on 8/16/2014 and I was driving the vehicle to work and transmission wouldn't shift out of gear along with the check engine light came on. I scanned the vehicle and pulled a code for the transmission output sensor. Took the vehicle to the dealership where they said they found coolant in my transmission and I was outside of the previous extended warranty and they've never seen this before. They told me I needed a whole new transmission and radiator. And Nissan wouldn't cover any of the damages due to it being out of the last extended warranty that was added to the vehicle. Now they want to charge me $6,756 to repair my vehicle I've owed for less than a week.

- Tamarac, FL, USA

problem #85

Jul 092012

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 85,500 miles
Took it to the dealer "nemer" they told us that there was coolant in the transmission told us it would cost $5000 to $7000 to fix we took it to a place to have it flushed out that helped then after 109000 miles the transmission died been parked in driveway sense 12/13/13.

- Bennington, VT, USA

problem #84

Jul 162014

Frontier

  • 125,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Frontier. The contact stated that while driving 40 mph, the engine stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnose that the radiator housing fractured which caused the radiator fluid to penetrate the transmission. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 125,000.

- Norcross , GA, USA

problem #83

Jul 162014

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 126,000 miles
Transmission fluid leak into radiator.

- Chattanooga , TN, USA

problem #82

Jun 162014

Frontier

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Frontier. The contact stated that while driving 40 mph, the vehicle jerked violently and stalled without warning. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where the failure was unable to be diagnosed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 130,000.

- Littlerock, CA, USA

problem #81

Jun 092014

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 93,000 miles
Radiator and transmission cross contaminated due to a cracked atf line.

- Kingsport, TN, USA

problem #80

May 282013

Frontier

  • 81,000 miles
Transmission failed due to radiator leakage into transmission fluid. Just out of warranty! Nissan claims powertrain warranty will not cover since it is a radiator problem which causes the failure. ----- leaking coolant causes transmission failure an alarming number of Nissan xterra, pathfinder and Frontier owners are stepping forward with stories about how cracked radiators are causing coolant to leak into the transmission. Once mixed with the transmission fluid this lethal combination kills the valves, seals and torque converter -- rendering your entire transmission useless. This issue is currently contained to the 2005żż2010 model years. Some articles online claim that being aware of the proper warning signs may help prevent your Nissan from needing a rebuilt transmission. These warning signs are: Heavy vibration while shifting heavy vibration while accelerating abrupt stalling shuddering noises car doesn't warm up when sitting owners who have had their radiator crack are claiming that even if you catch it early, your transmission is still doomed trouble due to this engineering / manufacturing defect. You can read their stories over at carcomplaints.com for the three Nissan models that are showing the defect: Pathfinder: 2007, 2006, 2005 xterra: 2005, 2006, 2007 Frontier: 2005. 2006, 2007 perhaps even more troubling is owners who have already had their transmissions "repaired" by an authorized Nissan dealer are still reporting catastrophic transmission failure. Through no fault of their own, Nissan owners who are out of warranty are left to cover the hefty repair bill, which can be over $4,500 when all is said and done.

- Ballston Lake, NY, USA

problem #79

Dec 122013

Frontier

  • 111,000 miles
Over the course of approx 2 weeks the vehicle experienced transmission slippage and engine overheating. Then the transmission ceased to function. The vehicle had to be towed to a transmission shop. The transmission failed due to radiator coolant leakage into the transmission. The vehicle needed a completely rebuilt automatic transmission, and radiator. Total repair fees were $3495 including towing. Was told by transmission shop that this was a very common problem for Nissan radiators. Called Nissan local dealership, they quoted a price of over $5500 just for the transmission. Radiator and towing would be extra. I was informed that Nissan refused to offer warranty or other compensation.

- Longwood, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?