CarComplaints.com Notes: For years, Nissan trucks and SUVs have had problems with coolant destroying the transmission. And for years, Nissan has done nothing about it.

The 2007 is no different than the 2006 and 2005. Just avoid it.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
118,133 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Nissan Frontier drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Nissan Frontier:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Nissan Frontier Owner Comments (Page 3 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #118

Mar 192015

Frontier

  • 86,256 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Frontier. The contact stated that while driving at 10 mph, the transmission cooler fractured and caused anti-freeze to spill into the transmission. The vehicle was taken to a dealer to be repaired. The details of the repairs were unknown. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 83,256.

- Burnsville, NC, USA

problem #117

Sep 282015

Frontier

  • 1,700 miles
Purchased the truck 8-1-2015, drove it about 2 months (1700 miles). While driving and turning left with oncoming traffic, the transmission hesitated nearly causing and accident. Took the truck to Nissan to be checked out. They diagnosed that the radiator cracked causing contaminatiion of coolant into the transmission. Since the transmission cooler was built inside the radiator. Which after reading a little research was a known problem by Nissan for 6 model years (2005-2010).

- Galloway, OH, USA

problem #116

Sep 012015

Frontier

  • 82,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Frontier. While driving 40 mph, the vehicle shook violently. The contact coasted to the side of the road and was able to restart the vehicle after thirty minutes. The contact also stated that the radiator cracked. The failure recurred numerous times. The contact was advised by the dealer that the vehicle needed a new transmission and radiator. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 82,000.

- Alexandria, AR, USA

problem #115

Sep 192015

Frontier

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Frontier. While driving at various speeds the vehicle would hesitate to shift gears. After examining the vehicle, the contact discovered that transmission fluid was present in the radiator coolant. The cause of the failure was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 80,000.

- Alexandria, AR, USA

problem #114

Sep 282015

Frontier

  • 140,000 miles
Transmission damage attributed to contamination by engine coolant. The source of the contamination is a cracked atf line that runs through an engine coolant chamber in the radiator.

- Tampa, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #113

Jan 232014

Frontier

  • 128,000 miles
For approximately 1 month prior to the transmission failing, I notice a "bucking" from the transmission following shifts and only at low RPM's. I had the transmission fluid levels checked during an oil change in January 2014, and fluid was added (the transmission was not flushed.) the "bucking" seemed to subside for a few days, however what I next experienced next was far worse. On three or four occassions, the truck suddenly acted at though the transmission disengaged, as if it were in neutral. Each of these incidents occurred on 4 lane highways, at highway speed. As I recall, on at least one of these occassions traffic was very light, and I was able to safely exit the highway. However, on the other occassions, the sudden loss of speed and ability to accelerate very very nearly caused a serious accident.

- Long Beach, MS, USA

problem #112

May 012015

Frontier 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Frontier. The contact stated that the vehicle was difficult to reverse. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 45,000. Updated 11/18/15 the consumer stated the dealer advised the vehicle was unsafe to be driven. The vehicle not reversing was the first sign of transmission failure. Updated 1/14/2016

- Export, PA, USA

problem #111

Aug 122015

Frontier

  • 92,100 miles
When the truck transmission shifted into 5th gear there was a grinding noise in the transmission. This problem has been repccuring and getting worse. The nissian dealer verified it is due to contaminated transmission fluid due to a leak in the cooling radiator.

- Topsham, ME, USA

problem #110

May 202015

Frontier

  • 117,000 miles
I was rear ended 04/20/2015, back injury, police report, other driver insurance taking care of bills, no settlement yet. In June, noticed transmission slip & leak in drive way. In repair shop on Friday, 07/31/2015. They advised me radiator crack and transmission fluid leaked into radiator. $1,200 to repair all. They instructed to do so.

- Charlottesville, VA, USA

problem #109

Jul 072015

Frontier

  • 60,000 miles
My 2007 Nissan Frontier heater would not warm up when idling. I took it to the dealership in December 2014 and they flushed the lines. Six months later the transmission began to slip. I took it back to the dealer and they informed me that due to a manufacturer's defect engine coolant leaked into the transmission and destroyed it! I would need a new transmission and radiator. Because the vehicle was now 8 years old, the warranty will only cover part of the cost and I am responsible for $2,500. After researching this problem, I found that one of the warning signs was a heater that would not warm up while idling. The vehicle could have been fixed in December of 2014 and covered fully by warranty, however, the dealer did not warn me! now, Nissan says there is nothing they can do! I'm frustrated to say the least and have purchased my last Nissan!

- Patton, PA, USA

problem #108

Jun 172015

Frontier

  • 91,172 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Truck started to vibrate like I was driving on a rumple strip around 40 mph. It seemed like the overdrive was struggling to engage or the automatic transmission couldn't find the right gear. I checked the atf and it was a red strawberry milkshake consistency that is often described when there is water contamination. This is a common problem that Nissan refuses to recall. It has just over 90K.

- North Bend, WA, USA

problem #107

Jun 192015

Frontier

  • 1,270,000 miles
Driving when car stopped moving and started rolling backwards. Had to put car in reverse. Intermittently got it in drive. Car was making a humming noise.

- New Britain , CT, USA

problem #106

Jun 152015

Frontier

  • miles
I purchased a 2007 Nissan Frontier in 2013, and just prior to reaching 109,178 my transmission started slipping badly so I took it to my local mechanic and he discovered that my "sealed" transmission was missing two quarts of oil and there were no signs of leaking on the external portion of the transmission. He replaced the missing oil and after a week of driving the transmission was slipping again. He checked the oil level and again it was quart low and slipping badly. It was then I started researching Nissan transmission problems and discovered that what I was experiencing was a well known (by Nissan) problem with their transmissions. Now at 109,275 miles the transmission has completely failed and it all could have been prevented had Nissan fixed the well known problem before they sold the vehicle to me. Funny the salesman that sold the truck to me suggested that I purchase a "power-train" warranty "just in case" because it was 4WD, I find that very ironic. I purchased the warranty and now I am being told that the repair cost for the blown transmission may not be covered because the transmission cooling radiator is the cause of the failure. I feel that Nissan is fully responsible for whatever the cost is to fix the transmission because of their negligence in failing to fix the problem prior to the truck being resold.

- Fairless Hills, PA, USA

problem #105

Mar 162015

Frontier

  • 140,000 miles
A couple of months ago, I began to notice a loud vibrating or shuddering sound at speeds around 35-40 mph. It seemed to happen as I stopped accelerating as if it were trying to up-shift for cruising. The sound began to get louder over the next few weeks before I could get it checked out. It now has a very difficult time shifting at those speeds and when it does shift, it's hard and makes a loud knock sound. It then began to run hot one day so after it cooled I check the coolant level and found that it had a light brown, milky looking substance which felt oily. I've recently discovered a lot of information from people with the same problem explaining that it is cause by the coolant and transmission fluid mixing and damaging each component.

- Conway, SC, USA

problem #104

Jun 092015

Frontier

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Frontier. The contact stated that when the vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic to be serviced, the technician stated that the radiator, transmission, and transmission control module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 100,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #103

Jun 022015

Frontier

  • 120,008 miles
I bought a used 2007 Nissan Frontier crew cab at Hyundai of roseville, ca a year and half ago on Jan 2014 and they never disclose to me that this car was known for coolant leaking into the transmission and eventually destroying it. After buying this, I only drove it for about 8,000 miles and this problem hits me June 2015. I bought it for $12,500 and still owe $8,000. The costs to repair this according to Nissan would costs me $7,500. I bought an extended warranty for $1,200, but it would not be covered because this is a "known pre-existing problem or defect by the manufacturer." So, this used Frontier would costs me over $20,000 which is about what the new ones are going for. This is terrible and I need some kind of justice. Either Nissan, the Hyundai dealership that I bought this from and or the extended warranty company need to pay for this. Nissan should pay because this was a known manufacturer defect. Hyundai dealership that I bought it from should also pay because they didn't disclose of this known defect. The extended warranty company called buy direct auto warranty should had not offer me a warranty knowing that can't pay for this kind of repair. They should either pay for the repair or give me a full refund. I need justice!!!

- Richmond, CA, USA

problem #102

May 182015

Frontier

  • 140,000 miles
2007 Nissan Frontier with 140,000 miles started vibrating and seemed sluggish when accelerating. I took to Firestone thinking maybe it needed tune up. Come to find out transmission is the issue. I have previously had to replace fuel sensor when Nissan refused to pay. I was over the mileage by 2000 miles for recall. Now I have read about issues with transmission and once again Nissan refusing to fix problems. Nissan should be taking care of these issues. I will not own another Nissan!!! my brother also had a 2009 Frontier with the fuel sensor issue and Nissan would not pay to fix. Nissan knows this issues is occurring over the 100,000 miles and know they have defective parts on vehicles.

- Maryville, TN, USA

problem #101

May 012014

Frontier

  • 105,000 miles
Radiator leaks into transmission and ruins both the radiator and transmission

- Kapaa, HI, USA

problem #100

Apr 232015

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 90,217 miles
Transmission was slipping bad, and the coolant was looking brownish red. Transmission fluid was in the radiator and through out both the engine and transmission. When I took it to the dealership to get check-out they said my warranty had expired and that this wouldn't be covered. Would need to replace radiator and transmission.... costing me $ $2,731.25. Although this is a known fact that Nissan is having a good amount of problems with various Nissan model including my Nissan Frontier. Very unhappy Nissan customer of many years..... now I'm starting to have timing belt issues which falls under another Nissan Frontier problem. Will have to get fixed at my own expense. My dealership know these things but are not open about these fact. I take my Frontier in for maintenance nothing ever said and never seem to get recall notices either....

- Seymour, TN, USA

problem #99

May 012015

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 138,000 miles
Like so many other Nissan Frontier owners, the radiator coolant got mixed with the transmission fluid. This is factory defect known by Nissan. Had to replace radiator and transmission since the car was not responding well and was not able to run properly. Called Nissan three times to ask for some financial support and they denied it.

- Allen, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?