Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: For years, Nissan trucks and SUVs have had problems with coolant destroying the transmission. And for years, Nissan has done nothing about it.

The 2007 is no different than the 2006 and 2005. Just avoid it.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
119,658 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Nissan Frontier drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Nissan Frontier:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Nissan Frontier Owner Comments (Page 3 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #112

May 012015

Frontier 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Frontier. The contact stated that the vehicle was difficult to reverse. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 45,000. Updated 11/18/15 the consumer stated the dealer advised the vehicle was unsafe to be driven. The vehicle not reversing was the first sign of transmission failure. Updated 1/14/2016

- Export, PA, USA

problem #111

Aug 122015


  • 92,100 miles
When the truck transmission shifted into 5th gear there was a grinding noise in the transmission. This problem has been repccuring and getting worse. The nissian dealer verified it is due to contaminated transmission fluid due to a leak in the cooling radiator.

- Topsham, ME, USA

problem #110

May 202015


  • 117,000 miles
I was rear ended 04/20/2015, back injury, police report, other driver insurance taking care of bills, no settlement yet. In June, noticed transmission slip & leak in drive way. In repair shop on Friday, 07/31/2015. They advised me radiator crack and transmission fluid leaked into radiator. $1,200 to repair all. They instructed to do so.

- Charlottesville, VA, USA

problem #109

Jul 072015


  • 60,000 miles


My 2007 Nissan Frontier heater would not warm up when idling. I took it to the dealership in December 2014 and they flushed the lines. Six months later the transmission began to slip. I took it back to the dealer and they informed me that due to a manufacturer's defect engine coolant leaked into the transmission and destroyed it! I would need a new transmission and radiator. Because the vehicle was now 8 years old, the warranty will only cover part of the cost and I am responsible for $2,500. After researching this problem, I found that one of the warning signs was a heater that would not warm up while idling. The vehicle could have been fixed in December of 2014 and covered fully by warranty, however, the dealer did not warn me! now, Nissan says there is nothing they can do! I'm frustrated to say the least and have purchased my last Nissan!

- Patton, PA, USA

problem #108

Jun 172015


  • 91,172 miles
Truck started to vibrate like I was driving on a rumple strip around 40 mph. It seemed like the overdrive was struggling to engage or the automatic transmission couldn't find the right gear. I checked the atf and it was a red strawberry milkshake consistency that is often described when there is water contamination. This is a common problem that Nissan refuses to recall. It has just over 90K.

- North Bend, WA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #107

Jun 192015


  • 1,270,000 miles
Driving when car stopped moving and started rolling backwards. Had to put car in reverse. Intermittently got it in drive. Car was making a humming noise.

- New Britain , CT, USA

problem #106

Jun 152015


  • miles


I purchased a 2007 Nissan Frontier in 2013, and just prior to reaching 109,178 my transmission started slipping badly so I took it to my local mechanic and he discovered that my "sealed" transmission was missing two quarts of oil and there were no signs of leaking on the external portion of the transmission. He replaced the missing oil and after a week of driving the transmission was slipping again. He checked the oil level and again it was quart low and slipping badly. It was then I started researching Nissan transmission problems and discovered that what I was experiencing was a well known (by Nissan) problem with their transmissions. Now at 109,275 miles the transmission has completely failed and it all could have been prevented had Nissan fixed the well known problem before they sold the vehicle to me. Funny the salesman that sold the truck to me suggested that I purchase a "power-train" warranty "just in case" because it was 4WD, I find that very ironic. I purchased the warranty and now I am being told that the repair cost for the blown transmission may not be covered because the transmission cooling radiator is the cause of the failure. I feel that Nissan is fully responsible for whatever the cost is to fix the transmission because of their negligence in failing to fix the problem prior to the truck being resold.

- Fairless Hills, PA, USA

problem #105

Mar 162015


  • 140,000 miles
A couple of months ago, I began to notice a loud vibrating or shuddering sound at speeds around 35-40 mph. It seemed to happen as I stopped accelerating as if it were trying to up-shift for cruising. The sound began to get louder over the next few weeks before I could get it checked out. It now has a very difficult time shifting at those speeds and when it does shift, it's hard and makes a loud knock sound. It then began to run hot one day so after it cooled I check the coolant level and found that it had a light brown, milky looking substance which felt oily. I've recently discovered a lot of information from people with the same problem explaining that it is cause by the coolant and transmission fluid mixing and damaging each component.

- Conway, SC, USA

problem #104

Jun 092015


  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Frontier. The contact stated that when the vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic to be serviced, the technician stated that the radiator, transmission, and transmission control module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 100,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #103

Jun 022015


  • 120,008 miles
I bought a used 2007 Nissan Frontier crew cab at Hyundai of roseville, ca a year and half ago on Jan 2014 and they never disclose to me that this car was known for coolant leaking into the transmission and eventually destroying it. After buying this, I only drove it for about 8,000 miles and this problem hits me June 2015. I bought it for $12,500 and still owe $8,000. The costs to repair this according to Nissan would costs me $7,500. I bought an extended warranty for $1,200, but it would not be covered because this is a "known pre-existing problem or defect by the manufacturer." So, this used Frontier would costs me over $20,000 which is about what the new ones are going for. This is terrible and I need some kind of justice. Either Nissan, the Hyundai dealership that I bought this from and or the extended warranty company need to pay for this. Nissan should pay because this was a known manufacturer defect. Hyundai dealership that I bought it from should also pay because they didn't disclose of this known defect. The extended warranty company called buy direct auto warranty should had not offer me a warranty knowing that can't pay for this kind of repair. They should either pay for the repair or give me a full refund. I need justice!!!

- Richmond, CA, USA

problem #102

May 182015


  • 140,000 miles


2007 Nissan Frontier with 140,000 miles started vibrating and seemed sluggish when accelerating. I took to Firestone thinking maybe it needed tune up. Come to find out transmission is the issue. I have previously had to replace fuel sensor when Nissan refused to pay. I was over the mileage by 2000 miles for recall. Now I have read about issues with transmission and once again Nissan refusing to fix problems. Nissan should be taking care of these issues. I will not own another Nissan!!! my brother also had a 2009 Frontier with the fuel sensor issue and Nissan would not pay to fix. Nissan knows this issues is occurring over the 100,000 miles and know they have defective parts on vehicles.

- Maryville, TN, USA

problem #101

May 012014


  • 105,000 miles
Radiator leaks into transmission and ruins both the radiator and transmission

- Kapaa, HI, USA

problem #100

Apr 232015

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 90,217 miles
Transmission was slipping bad, and the coolant was looking brownish red. Transmission fluid was in the radiator and through out both the engine and transmission. When I took it to the dealership to get check-out they said my warranty had expired and that this wouldn't be covered. Would need to replace radiator and transmission.... costing me $ $2,731.25. Although this is a known fact that Nissan is having a good amount of problems with various Nissan model including my Nissan Frontier. Very unhappy Nissan customer of many years..... now I'm starting to have timing belt issues which falls under another Nissan Frontier problem. Will have to get fixed at my own expense. My dealership know these things but are not open about these fact. I take my Frontier in for maintenance nothing ever said and never seem to get recall notices either....

- Seymour, TN, USA

problem #99

May 012015

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 138,000 miles
Like so many other Nissan Frontier owners, the radiator coolant got mixed with the transmission fluid. This is factory defect known by Nissan. Had to replace radiator and transmission since the car was not responding well and was not able to run properly. Called Nissan three times to ask for some financial support and they denied it.

- Allen, TX, USA

problem #98

Apr 132015


  • 111,000 miles
Was driving 2007 Nissan Frontier when 4WD light came on and check engine light came on. Slowed down and came to a stop. When I tried to accelerate, there was no response. Apparently, transmission is ruined due to a known defect with the radiator where coolant leaks into the transmission. Nissan never issued a recall for the radiator assembly, just extended the warranty to 100,000 miles, leaving the consumer responsible to fixed catastrophic transmission failure. Cost $6500.

- Chino Hills, CA, USA

problem #97

Mar 162015


  • 76,000 miles
Making a noise when traveling at 35-40 mph accelerating. Nissan dealership states it is the radiator leaking coolant into the transmission which is causing the transmission to fail. Warranty expired on 12/2014. Nissan dealership states a co-pay of $2500 is what will be charged to fix.

- Kearns, UT, USA

problem #96

Mar 132015

Frontier 4WD 6-cyl

  • 79,000 miles
2012 class action suit extends warranty for leakage of antifreeze into transmission which causes engine to stop running properly and break down. Apparently this is a common feature on Nissan vehicles. This truck was driven to Florida by a college student on spring break. At 79,000 mark trouble started. He drove it home to Virginia and bingo the odometer went over 80,000 miles. At 80,300 miles he takes it to the dealership and because odometer is over 80,000 miles the manufacturer requires $2500 owner co-pay to repair what could have been a preventable repair before the transmission tanked. Had he taken it to a dealer in Florida at 79,000 the whole thing would have been covered. They require written proof of mechanical failure. These vehicles need to come with a warning label.

- Centreville, VA, USA

problem #95

Mar 112015


  • 97,000 miles
Truck would not start. Towed to auto garage. Told radiator has a defective coolest line that runs thru transmission. This caused cross contamination of radiator fluid and transmission fluid, causing breakdown of transmission and radiator. Found out online that this happens with three types of Nissan vehicles made between 2005 and 2010. Nissan will only cover if under 100,000 miles but I have to pay first 3000 on a fix averaging 3800 to 4000. I was never notified of any problems by Nissan. They knew their was a problem and I believe that are stalling and covering this problem. They should be 100% responsible for this liability. Car company's paid for all types of recall for their design flaws, what is the difference here other than the amount needed to do what is right.

- Pinehurst, NC, USA

problem #94

Feb 132015

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 111,000 miles
A defective radiator installed by manufacturer, rotted, causing a mix of transmission fluid and coolant permanently damaging the transmission.

- Maywood, NJ, USA

problem #93

Jan 052015

Frontier 4WD 6-cyl

  • 135,000 miles
Started experiencing radiator overheating and erratic transmission shifting. Mechanic found radiator and transmission fluids mixed. Radiator and transmission need to be replaced +/-$4000 estimate. Normal driving history and vehicle in good condition otherwise."menu=22"pas=nissanatoilcoolersettlement.

- Vero Beach, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?