Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: For years, Nissan trucks and SUVs have had problems with coolant destroying the transmission. And for years, Nissan has done nothing about it.

The 2007 is no different than the 2006 and 2005. Just avoid it.

2.7

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
53,863 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Nissan Frontier fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Nissan Frontier:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Nissan Frontier Owner Comments (Page 1 of 6)

problem #103

Sep 022013

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Frontier. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. In addition, the contact stated that the fuel and check engine warning lights illuminated. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign number: 08V690000 (air bags) but did not confirm if the VIN was included. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 75,000. Updated 01/23/15

- Alberquerque, NM, USA

problem #102

May 072014

Frontier

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Frontier. The contact stated that the fuel gauge was reading inaccurate fuel level as a result the contact was unaware when the vehicle was empty. The contact also stated that the check engine light was illuminated. The contact was made aware of NHTSA campaign number: 10V075000 (fuel system, gasoline), however, the VIN was not included. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000.

- Yuccavalley, CA, USA

problem #101

Jan 072014

Frontier 4-cyl

  • 88,000 miles
My vehicle no longer registers how much fuel is in my tank because of a faulty fuel sending unit. I ran out of gas on the freeway. Why wasn't a recall issued to fix the known problem? stalled vehicles pose a hazard.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #100

May 012014

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Fuel gauge shows empty when its the tank is full and causes the "check engine" light to go on. I can't tell when I'm out of gas.

- Palm Harbor, FL, USA

problem #99

Jun 022014

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
Fuel gauge shows empty when its full or vise versa. Gauge does not work because fuel tank has warped and float wont read it properly. Nissan is aware of their problem but Nissan in reno nv wants $400 to fix it. Their faulty parts and they wont stand behind them. Weak.

- Carson City, NV, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #98

Apr 122014

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 120,457 miles
I was told that my vehicle does not have a recall due to the VIN but yet when I went on the safecar.gov website and the issue's that I am having with my truck is what is on the list. What I don't understand why the place that I get it repair will not honor this. I have the ABS/vdc wheel speed sensor and the fuel gauge issues.

- Hillsborough , NC, USA

problem #97

Mar 032014

Frontier 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 109,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Frontier. The contact stated that immediately after refueling, the fuel level gauge would not move to register the fuel level. Additionally, the check engine warning light was illuminated. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 10V075000 (fuel system, gasoline) however, the contact's vehicle year and model was not included in the recall campaign although he was experienced the same failures. The manufacture was alerted of the failure and advised the contact to have the vehicle diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate current and failure mileage was 109,000. Updated 05/28/14 MA updated 05/29/2014

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #96

Jan 142014

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
My wife ran out of fuel on the road while driving our 2007 Nissan Frontier. I called Nissan since a voluntary recall for the fuel gauge not working was issued by Nissan, see: www.nissanassist.com/web/fuel-sending-unit/programdetails.php?menu=3 now they are telling me that the recall ended in Feb 2013, I bought the truck used in 2012 with 36,000 miles on it. The letter that Nissan published specifies that the warranty was extended to 72,000 miles without a year specified on the letter, my truck only has 52,000 miles and Nissan refuses to fix my truck. Instead they sent me to a dealer that wants $500+ to fix it. This should be a mandatory recall, my wife could have been in a accident due to this problem.

- Santa Clara, CA, USA

problem #95

Dec 062013

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
Gas gauge quit working goes between half and quarter tank and stops, letting you run out of gas. Next item is timing chain howl on cold starts for over a year now then I read bulletin that chain tensioners are wearing and causing timing chain failures and Nissan has never notified owners I was just in to dealer about gas gauge problem about 2 weeks ago and no one mentioned timing chain problem.

- Springfield, OR, USA

problem #94

Sep 252012

Frontier 4-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
The check engine light came on while starting the truck. It was place on the diagnostic machine and the result was that a sensor in the gas tank was not working. I received a recall notice one week after the warranty had expired. The notice stated that the warranty would take care of the problem. I emailed Nissan to complain and never heard from them.

- Winston Salem, NC, USA

problem #93

Jan 012007

Frontier

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2007 Nissan Frontier fuel sender unit service engine the fuel gauge goes empty and yellow is on.

- Fl, FL, USA

problem #92

Sep 012010

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 58,500 miles
If left idling longer than 3 minutes (+-), the gas gauge drops to "E" and warning lot comes on. After fill-up, the gas gauge will not move for approx. 120 miles, after which I assume it is accurate.

- Whitewater, MO, USA

problem #91

Jun 202013

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
After filling up my gas tank, the fuel gauge stayed on empty when I started my 2007 Frontier. As I was driving along the highway, the gauge slowly moved to the full position (roughly an hour after fill-up) yesterday, 7/14/13 I filled up- thinking the previous incident was a fluke. This time the check engine light came on(still on) and the gauge is only at half a tank. The local Nissan dealer quoted me $500 to fix the issue, and told me that 72,000 miles was the cut-off for the warranty again, it has 85,000 miles on it.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #90

Dec 272012

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 92,546 miles
The fuel gauge has issues with proper amount of fuel in tank. The service engine light on with a PO0643 code. The 2006 and 2008 models are covered by a recall, but not the 2007 for the same exact problem with the same parts being used. Something must be done!

- Daphne, AL, USA

problem #89

Jun 112013

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 91,800 miles
In February of 2013 my 2007 Nissan Frontier began to display a tire pressure warning light on the instrument panel. Regardless of the tire pressure in each tire, the light remained on. It flashed with engine start up before being steadily illuminated. Also, in late March 2013 the fuel gauge began to indicate a problem. Upon filling up the vehicle's fuel tank the gauges needle would fall to E (empty), the low fuel indicator light would illuminate, and the needle would remain on E until driving approximately 20-25 miles. When the needle reached F (full) the service engine soon (ses) light would come on and remain on until the vehicle was driven enough to burn approximately half the tank of fuel. After researching the issue online it is apparently quite common with Nissan Frontiers, xterras, and pathfinders in this range of production years (e.g. 2007). On June 11, 2013 I finally took the Frontier to a Nissan dealership. An evaluation was made, and the service staff identified the trouble as being a tire pressure sensor and fuel sending unit for the respective causes of trouble. My online research corroborates this. I received an estimate of approximately $793 for repair of the two components. Nissan needs to continue to provide warranty/free repair or replacement for these components as they continue to be faulty based on copious internet research. Both of these faults present a hazard to drivers and occupants as the display center, which a driver may rely on for vehicle information, will not function properly when needed so that a driver is not certain what level of fuel is available in the tank, and if/when a tire is low or flat. This may result in the driver being stranded without availability of assistance as well as a vehicle accident.

- El Dorado, AR, USA

problem #88

May 222013

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 80,116 miles
Fuel gauge drops to empty after filling up with gas. Engine check light comes on. Sometimes the gauge will go slowly back to normal position then engine check light goes off.

- Cleburne, TX, USA

problem #87

Jun 012012

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
After filling up and entire tank of gas, my needle dropped to empty, and my odometer read -------, not reading anything at all. Every fill up after, it is the same thing. I looked online and read that there is an epidemic with Nissan and my vehicle with this situation, however, after going to the dealership and asking if there was a recall, I was told 'no' and I would have to pay out of pocket, for a common problem, with the Nissan Frontier/pathfinder, from the manufacturer.

- Oceanside, CA, USA

problem #86

Aug 142012

Frontier 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
This refers to my 07 Nissan Frontier with 90K miles. Since August 2012, fuel gauge is erratic indicating erroneous fuel level. May show fuel when empty or empty when tank if fuel. Potential for running out of gas on highway creating hazardous circumstance. Diagnostic code is P0463. Internet search reveals many with same problem on Nissan. Allegedly same problem resulted in recall for 2006 but not for 2007 models with same issue. Why? customer service at local Nissan dealer and Nissan main office not particularly helpful except to say local dealer will fix for 400-500 plus 120 for initial diagnosis. Blatantly unfair to customer for this safety issue. This is not a worn out part, it is a defective electrical fuel sensor sending unit.

- Averill Park, NY, USA

problem #85

Feb 012013

Frontier 4-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
Nissan extended a limited warranty for a fuel gauge sending unit which displays incorrect amount of fuel. My Nissan has passed the year of extended warranty not the miles. So Nissan failed my "hardship request" that they sent my case through. Though I did not have any problems with the fuel sending unit until after the warranty expired, Nissan's decision was to deny my fix. I don't see how I can report a problem if it has not occurred. The Nissan official told me over the phone that I had not spent enough money at the dealer ship/has not had my vehicle serviced there enough though my vehicle was there times before and I had maintenance performed at another qualified service center.

- Laplata, MD, USA

problem #84

Nov 062012

Frontier

  • 65,000 miles
Fuel gauge sensor corroded and gauge no longer works.

- Lanham, MD, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?