Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
23,336 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Nissan Murano electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Nissan Murano:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Nissan Murano Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #46

Aug 182014

Murano

  • 103,101 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Murano. While driving 40 mph, the engine stalled and all the warning indicators illuminated. The failure occurred on several occasions. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic who stated that the alternator failed to charge the battery. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 103,101.

- North Hampton, PA, USA

problem #45

May 032010

Murano

  • 61,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Murano. The contact was driving approximately 2 mph in reverse. When pressure was applied to the accelerator pedal there was a loud noise on the front passenger side of vehicle. The engine was turned off and restarted. The battery and brake warning light indicators were illuminated on the instrument panel. The warning light remained illuminated until the engine was turned off. An authorized dealer stated that there was a recall repair performed on the vehicle per NHTSA campaign id number 05V319000 (electrical system: Alternator/ generator/ regulator). The failure occurred after the recall repair was performed. The failure mileage was 61,000.

- Isanti, MN, USA

problem #44

Jun 222009

Murano

  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Murano. The contact noticed that the vehicle was losing power while driving at an unknown speed. A few seconds later, the vehicle regained power. He took the vehicle to the dealer and they replaced the battery and alternator; however, the vehicle still did not have power. The dealer stated that the transmission also needed to be replaced at the estimated cost of $5,000. A report was filed with the manufacturer (number 6529588) and they stated that they would call the contact back. The current and failure mileages were 78,000.

- Valley Stream, NY, USA

problem #43

Aug 202008

Murano

  • 97,465 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I never received a recall notice on my vehicle from Nissan, as I was driving home on Wednesday, 8/20/08 my vehicle just stopped operation as I was going through an intersection, luckily there was no traffic. I coasted to the side of the road and turned off the car. After having it towed I found out it was the alternator which cost me $456.73. I found out from the garage that this vehicle had a recall, I again was never informed and would like to received reimbursement for this expense.

- Mendon, MA, USA

problem #42

May 192008

Murano 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,095 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Murano. While driving approximately 60 mph, the alternator and brake light indicators illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle came to a complete stop and was towed to the dealer. The dealer stated that the alternator was the cause of the failure. The dealer replaced the alternator at the cost of $874. The manufacturer stated that the dealer in Vermont replaced the alternator under NHTSA campaign id number 05V319000 (electrical system:alternator/generator/regulator). The dealer in Connecticut stated that the recall repair was never performed. The manufacturer stated that the campaign expired in 2006; therefore, they were not responsible for reimbursement and would not provide documentation with the recalled information. The failure mileage was 46,095 and current mileage was 46,095 updated 06/16/08

- Newington, CT, USA

problem #41

Jan 202008

Murano 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,535 miles
Re: NHTSA recall # P5215/05V-319, Nissan motors recall of defective alternator. Alternator was replaced in Jul 06 as per recall, replacement alternator failed 20 Jan 08 as per same symptoms that initiated recall. Vehicle belongs to daughter and Nissan would not replace for free, submitted arbitration to Nissan hq and was denied. Updated.

- Security, CO, USA

problem #40

Nov 162007

Murano 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,240 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Alternator tensioner bracket failed (snapped) prematurely due to metal fatigue in the part causing loud rattle to come from vehicle. Tensioner assembly (bracket and belt) had to be replaced at a cost of $352. Vehicle was barely out of warranty.

- North Vancouver,Bc, Canada, 00, USA

problem #39

Mar 232007

Murano 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,928 miles
Fan / alternator belt shredded on 04' Murano with less than 26,000 miles. Caught and taken to dealer before complete failure. Same thing happened on 02 maxima with approx. Same mileage. Maxima belt failed completely, needed jumper box to charge alternator enough to get home. Dealer has no explanation for belt failures, but both vehicles have the same engine, and seems like a design flaw.

- N. Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #38

Jan 292007

Murano 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,108 miles
Alternator adjusting bracket - Jan 29, 2007 today, I had to have my 2004 Nissan Murano serviced due to a coolant leak that I noticed. When looking at the vehicle, entire underbody was filled with coolant and no coolant remained in the resevoir. The dealer serviced the vehicle and documented the issue as the alternator adjusting bracket having broken and rupturing the hose, fan pulley and the power steering belt being negatively impacted. After speaking with the service tech., there have been multiple times that he has seen this issue. With an obvious repeating issue in the vehicles, the severity of damage to the vehicle (bracket breaks, alternator loosens in hood and damages surrounding mechanisms, or occupants (operation of vehicle not ideal with bracket broken, impacting surrounding mechanisms (power steering belt, fan, alternator, coolant system) that could result, and the customer dissatisfaction of having this issue and incurring the costs to repair.

- Greenfield, IN, USA

problem #37

Nov 092006

Murano 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,066 miles
: the contact stated while traveling 25 mph on dry normal road conditions, the vehicle stalled, and was able to be restarted. The vehicle stalled again, after traveling 10 yards. It was towed to the dealership, who performed a diagnostic, and determined that the alternator needed to be replaced. The check engine and battery light were illuminated prior to the incident. The stalling recurred a year later on 07/17/06 while traveling 30 mph. The check engine light was illuminated prior to the incident. The vehicle was restarted and driven to another dealership, who replaced the throttle meter. This corrected the problem. On 10/24/06, the problem recurred while traveling 30 mph, and was towed to another dealership, who could not service the vehicle due to lack of parts needed for the diagnostic. The vehicle was towed to another dealership, who determined the automatic transmission was defective, and was replaced. This remedied the problem. The contact wrote a complaint letter to the manufacturer and dealer on 10/29/06, but had yet to receive a response. Updated 12/28/2006 -

- New Carrollton, MD, USA

problem #36

Oct 062005

Murano 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 Murano was recalled for bad alternators - I never received recall notice; however, while driving in 6 lanes of traffic, warnings lights came on. The alternator was replaced by a Nissan dealership, whether from the campaign recall or my extended warranty, unsure. Now, I had to replace the battery, which no allowance has been applied to the above recall for the roll out affect. There has been 3 recalls for this vehicle, so far.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #35

Jul 232006

Murano 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,420 miles
: the contact stated, while traveling at 50 mph., the brake and battery warning lights illuminated just before the vehicle lost power and the engine stalled. The vehicle was towed to a service dealer, where an inspection found a defective alternator was the cause.

- Banning, CA, USA

problem #34

Jun 232006

Murano 6-cyl

  • 7,390 miles
2004 Nissan Murano broke down, upon inspection mechanic determined it was the alternator. The alternator was replaced. Consumer was not notified about a recall on the alternator. ***** the consumer requested reimbursement.

- New York, NY, USA

problem #33

Jul 052006

Murano 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles
: the contact stated the vehicle stalled intermittently. A NHTSA recall, #05V319000 was performed on the vehicle on March 28, 2005 concerning the electrical system; alternator/ generator/ regulator however, the recall did not remedy the problem. The dealership would not offer a second repair without charge under the recall.

- Buda, TX, USA

problem #32

Feb 062006

Murano 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Had the alternator replaced on a recall - subsequent the vehicle stopped 3 times without warning in traffic - transmission not engaged and no power - rolled to stop on highway and battery is dead so cannot restart - returned to dealer twice and first said they had forgot to reflash the engine after the recall installation of the alternator - after that it stopped again in traffic without warning for the third time - returned to dealer and they said this time the alternator cable was loose - since I felt the vehicle unsafe to drive, I asked they contact Nissan at least for a new alternator and was willing to try one last time - Nissan service refused to help and then I considered the vehicle unsafe to drive - unfortunately I am able via our lease company to dispose of this vehicle and get another - please check your records because in my case, the problems started after the alternator change and it is very dangerous to stall unexpectedly in freeway traffic - all happened in first quarter 2006 - service details available if requested.

- Bloomfiled Hills , MI, USA

problem #31

Nov 222005

Murano 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,000 miles
The contact stated the charger warning and brake warning lights illuminated. He immediately took the vehicle to the dealership. He spoke with half a dozen people in the dealership, who stated they were unaware of any problem with the vehicle in regard to the lights. The next morning he called the dealership to make an appointment for service. Upon looking up the VIN, they found there was recall 05V319000 concerning the alternator. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the work was performed. Approximately 24 days later he received the recall letter concerning the alternator. The contact was concerned that he did not receive the letter in a timely manner, and they only sent it because of the failure. The manufacturer has not been contacted. Updated 3/17/2006 - the recall letter was received four month after the failure occurred. When the alternator failed the vehicle went into safe mode and could not be drive forward, only in reverse.

- Estes Park, CO, USA

problem #30

Jul 272005

Murano 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
The contact had NHTSA recall campaign 05V319000 repairs performed concerning the electrical system: Alternator/generator/regulator. Afterwards, there was a loss of power and the engine died without warning. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The dealer was unable to determine the source of the problem.

- Leesburg, VA, USA

problem #29

Oct 042005

Murano 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,500 miles
I lost engine power while in motion and hit a pole. Related to NHTSA recall id number: 05V319000. Same issue happened 5-27-05. Recall date July 14, was not notified of recall. Car was in Nissan dealership on 3 occasions since original repair, and had just left the shop 3 days prior to engine failure and collision.

- Long Beach, NY, USA

problem #28

Sep 282005

Murano 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,250 miles
My vehicle is at 22,000 miles. I am on my way to work, when the check engine light suddenly comes on. No sooner than the light came on, my car suddenly looses power, and coasts to a stop. I called giles Nissan of lafayette, la, and had the vehicle towed in. I had an appointment set up from 2 weeks before this for the alternator recall and because my cd player kept saying check disc, and would not play a cd. This happened the Wednesday before my scheduled appointment. So my car is at Nissan overnight before I get a call saying they are just getting to my car, and that they do not have a loaner for me. I was told that it was the "throttle position sensor" that was bad, and that they had overnighted the part, but that the alternator and cd player would take longer. Which really blew my mind, since I had an appointment to have those two things fixed. After almost 5 days without a vehicle, we bugged the dealership enough, that they finally got me a loaner car. On the Monday. On Wednesday, they called and said my car was ready. I picked the car up, and on my way home, the check engine light came on again. I was so afraid that the car would stop on me again, and now I'm in the middle of 5:00 traffic. The car is sputtering. Kind of jumping. Idling really high, and then when I go to stop, the car's rpms jump up above 1, and then back down before stopping. This causes the car to jump forward or jerk forward a bit. I dropped the car off this morning, and they said now one of the cylinders is misfiring. I don't know why my car was given back to me if it was not fixed. The problems I am having a serious. These could be potentially deadly problems.

- Carencro, LA, USA

problem #27

Aug 062005

Murano 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,000 miles
Contact owns a 2004 Nissan mirano. He received recall 05V319000 about one-two months ago concerning the alternator. He contacted a dealer about 2 weeks after receiving the letter. They told him they had no parts, and did not know when they would get the parts. They refused to take the contact's phone number because they did not have a clue when they would get the parts. The contact called the Nissan hot line number, and they gave him a file number/ also, they told him they would call him. They have not called him back. The contact called them back three times since then, and each time they said they will call him back, but they have not. This dealer was the closest dealer to him, therefore, he has not notified another dealer. He did not know of a another dealer close to him at this time.

- Bronx, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?