Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
51,913 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Nissan Murano windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Nissan Murano:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Nissan Murano Owner Comments (Page 5 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #42

Mar 012009


  • 45,000 miles


Nissan Murano 2004: Driver visor no longer stays in upright position and can fall randomly during driving. There are dozens of similar reports on the internet regarding this. I reported this as a safety issue to my local Nissan dealer and national Nissan and they fail to consider it a safety issue - they want me to pay $300 to replace the visor. The visor is very large, and when the visor drops straight down, it can completely obscure vision out the windshield. I am afraid to continue driving this car.

- Maplewood, NJ, USA

problem #41

Oct 082004

Murano 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Murano. The sun visor continuously falls down which distracts and blocks the contact's view while driving various speeds. The problem began 3 months ago. The contact is concerned since the failure could result in a crash. Updated 02/17/10. Updated 02/18/10.

- Ellicott City, MD, USA

problem #40

Sep 152009

Murano 6-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Murano. The contact stated that the driver side visor would fall down at random without warning. He took the vehicle to the dealer and was told that the visor was not covered by the warranty; however, the visor needed to be replaced. The vehicle had not been repaired. He had not consulted the manufacturer to-date. The current mileage was approximately 56,000. The failure mileage was approximately 52,000. Updated 01/20/10 updated 01/22/10.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #39

Sep 172008


  • 36,000 miles


The sun visors failed twice within 36000 miles. They swing down and block your line of sight. They needed to be replaced both times.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #38

Dec 202009


  • miles
The driver side sun visor on my 2004 Nissan Murano falls when ever I hit a bump in the road. There has not been an accident yet but when it falls it causes me to loose sight of the road in front of me and also causes me to take my attention off of driving while trying to fix it. This is a very dangerous situation.

- Haddock, GA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #37

Jan 012007


  • 55,000 miles
Own a 2004 Nissan Murano and it is a common problem for sun visors to fail and hang straight down while driving obstructing your view of the road. Nissan probably does not show alot of replacement visor being sold since they charge over $300 for each visor. Just came from dealer and he said it was a common problem and to just use velcro"???"

- Ardmore, OK, USA

problem #36

Jun 012009


  • miles


The sun visor will not stay up. It falls down, constantly and blocks my husband's view (he is taller). It doesn't block my view, but is startling when it drops down and it does restrict my field of vision. This is not covered under my extended warranty. It is a $300 + replacement. I have read several different forums concerning this problem and there are people who have replaced the same part more than once.

- High Point, NC, USA

problem #35

Sep 012009


  • 121,300 miles
On my 2004 Murano SE, the driver's sun visor fails to stay in place when use and falls to block the driver's vision. It also does not stay fully in the up position and I fear that it could fall down to block the driver's vision as well.

- Clinton, NJ, USA

problem #34

Aug 202009


  • miles
2004 Nissan Murano's driverside sunvisor drops down causing visual distraction.

- Modesto, CA, USA

problem #33

Nov 012009


  • 72,134 miles
The driver's visor falls suddenly blocking vision. Nothing has been done to cause this. I have read of many similar complaints by Murano owners online. This is a safety issue that Nissan is ignoring.

- Maumelle, AR, USA

problem #32

Jan 012007


  • 45,000 miles


Driver-side sun visor will not stay in place and falls, blocking driver's view. The only alternative is to not use it and keep it in the "up" position; however, without being able to use this to block the sun, the morning and late afternoon will blind you. Sunglasses do not help that much. I emailed Nissan about this app. One year ago but never received a reply. The extended warranty will not cover it, either. There are complaints about this from others that I have found online. Replacement cost is expensive, about $240 and entire visor must be replaced, not just a part of it.

- Bloomingdale, GA, USA

problem #31

Sep 152009


  • 55,000 miles
2004 Nissan Murano sl drivers side sun visor falls down and blocks the view of the driver unexpectedly. Started at about 6 months ago. Dealership denies responsibility.

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #30

Mar 182009


  • 79,881 miles
Passenger & driver side visor will not stay up. Falls to down position blocking the view of oncoming traffic. This problem prevents safe operation of vehicle. This is a wide spread problem. Look at a few posts at

- Saratoga Springs, NY, USA

problem #29

Sep 252009


  • 35,000 miles
2004 Nissan Murano driver side sun visor does not stay in place, drops down and affects vision.

- Paxinos, PA, USA

problem #28

Apr 102007


  • 85,000 miles
The sun visor no longer stays in the mid-position. When flipping it down, it will only go in one position - completely down. Luckily I am short and can see under it to drive, although it prevents my being able to see very far ahead without having to dip my head to do so. If I were any taller, this would be a major safety problem. There is apparently no fix for this without replacing the whole visor, which I am told is unreasonably expensive.

- Goodlettsville, TN, USA

problem #27

Oct 102008


  • 48,000 miles
Driver's side visor will fall down unexpectedly blocking driver's view. Started out only 1 or 2 times per week, when you hit a dip or bump. Now falls down 15 to 20 times per day at random times. We have velcroed it to the ceiling (which is very unattractive) and doesn't work 100% of the time. Dealer has no suggestions other than total replacement. Have also had both passenger and driver's side locks fail and have to be replaced. Just quit unlocking. Windshield had to be replaced after rearview mirror fell off along with a huge chunk of the windshield. Bose 6-cd player quit working over 2 years ago. Driver's side seat moves when you accelerate or stop.

- Joplin, MO, USA

problem #26

Aug 172009


  • 50,000 miles
2004 Nissan Murano driver's side sun visor drops suddenly obscuring visibility.

- Grand Prairie, TX, USA

problem #25

May 012009


  • 68,000 miles
Driver's side visor suddenly drops, completely obscuring view of the road. Will not stay in place. Now I have to hold it up with my hand while driving.

- Van Buren, AR, USA

problem #24

Jan 012008


  • 42,000 miles
Both sun visors in my 2004 Nissan Murano drop unexpectedly and won't stay in position. This creates a sudden and unexpected visibility issue. Problems began about 18 months ago at about 42,000 mi. Problem continues to worsen. I called Nissan corporate but they were unable to correct the defect.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #23

Aug 012007


  • 40,000 miles
Interior sun visors in 2003-2008 Nissan Muranos fail to stay in position and swing down in the driver's face. This occurrence is well documented and I have only heard of one case in which a Nissan dealer covered the replacement under the extended warranty. I was told by the dealer that the extended warranty does not cover "trim parts", even when I insisted it is a safety issue. Nissan quotes $300 per visor to replace, but there is no guarantee that the new visor won't break. If you google "Nissan Murano sun visor" you will get thousands of hits of people who are having the same problem. The Nissan dealer would not reason with me that it is a safety issue when I brought it to them while still under warranty and they would not replace it. There was a recall on the clip that holds the visor, but this is a different issue. There is something wrong with these visors internally that cause them to drop and hang right in your line of sight. I have temporarily remedied the problem by affixing velcro to the ceiling, but I cannot use my visor when the sun is in my eyes. This is a serious safety hazard and should be recalled by Nissan. I have put together a 20 page document of all the complaints I have found online relating to this issue, and I am determined to hold Nissan accountable for this problem.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?