Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
92,720 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Nissan Rogue engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Nissan Rogue:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Nissan Rogue Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #22

Mar 132016


  • 94,000 miles


My car had a lost power driving back from rocky mountain national park and I was forced to pull over and turn off my car it started up and I was able to make it back safe but I think it has something to do with the cvt. I really sucks and I don't feel safe driving my car right now.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #21

May 032015


  • 171,000 miles
I was driving on I-5 from los angeles traveling about 65mph. I had been driving for about 55min when my vehicle RPM's started to increase and my mph's started to decrese. I tried to push the gas pedal down to accelerate but just the RPM's would rev up and car kept lossing speed. I had to pull over various times and let the car sit while off for about 20-25 min before I could drive safely again. This only lasted for about an hour at the most before I would have the same problem again and have to pull over to let the car sit for a while. Also I checked all fluids when I pulled over and everything was at optimal level as required. The car was not over heating either.

- Newman, CA, USA

problem #20

Apr 172015

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 155,000 miles
Important: If you have a complaint about your transmission, acceleration problems or loss of power you need to also a complaint with the federal trade commission (ftc 877-382-4357) regarding your dealings with Nissan. I just spoke with the ftc and they told me that while they don't respond to individual complaints if they see patterns they do. The only way we will get Nissan to respond to us is by complaining about their business practices as well as their safety issues. These dealerships and corporate Consumer Affairs know that until enough of us complain to the right people and stop just paying for Nissan's known problems with the cvt and other issues, they will keep giving us the run around. I have to put my 2nd transmission in my 2008 Rogue in 12 months. Nissan tells me my last new transmission (April 2014) was out of the 12 month/12,000 mile warranty. Their business practices are horrible. These cars are unsafe and putting people in danger. Please make your voice known at the ftc as well as here. Tell others to do the same. We deserve better. Contact me at [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Grove City, OH, USA

problem #19

Jan 152015


  • 96,400 miles


For the past few weeks, my gas gauge has been reading incorrectly and when I would go to fill out the vehicle, it would never show completely full. In some cases, I would turn on the vehicle and it would read sufficiently less than what was in the tank and then climb back up to what I assume was the correct level. My last fill up, the gauge read 3 bars left of fuel and I pumped 14.5 gallons of gas at the station which is exactly my gas tank size. I then looked online and discovered several other people with the same make, model, and year and other models were having the same issue but no good fixes appear to have been found.

- Menlo Park, CA, USA

problem #18

Nov 172014


  • 90,000 miles
The car will be at a complete stop and you will press on the gas pedal and it will not accelerate, you can floor the gas pedal, and it will have very little reaction. In addition, when this issue is happening all your lights stop working so the person behind you does not know you are not at a complete stop. This is not a consistent problem but you never now when it will happen - it's like the car goes into this amnesia stage.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #17

Sep 082014

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 121,000 miles
Was returning from trip North Carolina back home to Tennessee once about hour away felt car just start slowing down car wouldn't accelerate when pushing on gas. Was able to get to right hand lane and get off interstate just before car went to a crawl. Car was making whining noise while trying to move car from highway. Car came to stop and unable to move again. Had car towed back to my house sent to shop to find out that transmission had malfunctioned. Doing research on transmission found out the Nissan rouge is using cvt transmission and that Nissan extended the warranty to 120K or 10 years. My research also found out that other Nissan owners of Rogue and muranos were having issues with cvt transmission. When I found out that about the warranty I called Nissan consumer care to inquire about this. I was told my model and make qualified under warranty and that mileage didn't matter. Nissan decided not to assist me with repair and replacement of transmission. I tried to tell Nissan about letter that stated they would decrease cost even above 120K. They refused to do so. I had no warning sensors that there was problem with transmission. This could have been a bad accident if the transmission had of went out during heavy traffic. It appears reading about other owners experiences with cvt transmissions that Nissan doesn't want to own up to having a faulty transmission. Even speaking with mechanics from outside and with Nissan that this transmission is faulty and many have issues and complainants about it.

- Antioch, TN, USA

problem #16

Oct 122014

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 81,111 miles


When driving for a long distant and past the over 99.7 miles the gas pedal get stock and car losses power; also after driving for a period of time it stop at a traffic light car wound take off will take time to pick up speed. Have taking it to the a mechanic which the gas pump was replace and it keep doing it. I'm not the only person with the same issues.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #15

May 032014

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
May 2014: On a trip to AZ, vehicle suddenly began to decelerate and could not be driven more than 3000 rpms. Suddenly and drastically slowing down without using brakes and with no brake light warning to following vehicles could have caused a serious rear-end accident. Problem occurred without warning more 20 times. Took Rogue to economy Nissan to repair problem. They replaced dip stick and drained off some transmission fluid and stated this would correct what they said was a transmission fluid overheating problem. July 2014: On another cross country trip problem re-occurred. Went to dave solon Nissan in pueblo colo. They advised not to continue driving Rogue until a transmission cooler kit was installed. This part was on perpetual back order. In reality we were informed that at that time there was no fix for this problem. Because of our schedule, we traded the Rogue in for a used Nissan pathfinder. We later found out that dave solon Nissan got tired of waiting for the part and took Rogue to a car action. It is unclear whether they informed the public of problem or just sold the vehicle with a serious safety problem that could not be corrected. To date there appears to be no fix to this problem. We believe this should be a recall issue given the high potential for serious rear-end accidents.

- Pagosa Springs, CO, USA

problem #14

Apr 292014

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 98,600 miles
I first experienced a loss of power in my vehicle while stopped at a red light. When the light turned green I started to go, even with the gas pedal pushed all the way to the floor the car would barely move. The engine would rev, but the car barely had any power. I drove it straight to the dealership where I bought it (hayes Chrysler in gainesville) the stated it was they though the transmission needed to be replaced and sent it to the carriage Nissan garage. After having it there for a few days the technician said he could not duplicate the problem! I left and before I could even get 15 miles down the road I was going approximately 60mph, when all the sudden I started losing speed. Regardless of the fact that I had the gas pedal too the floor! I turned around and took it straight to Nissan, however in the last 10 minutes of my drive to the service shop the problem stopped! they kept it for another day and still could not duplicate the problem and they stated that it was most likely the ABS senor that needed to be replaced. We replaced the sensor and I thought all the problems had been solved! wrong!!!! there have been 3 instances were I have had the cruise control set while driving down the interstate, and all of the sudden I start losing speed! there have been 4 instances where I have almost been T-bones with my 2 small children in the car because the car has lost acceleration in the middle of an intersection!!! the morning I took my car to the shop this time (8-25-14) I was almost hit by a semi when my car couldn't get through the green light before it turned red. I have read hundreds of complaints, and fights for a recall on this transmission! my Nissan tech states that if there is no code thrown during the incident then they cannot replace the transmission, yet every case I've read say that no code has shown up at all! this is a danger to owners of this vehicle.

- Homer, GA, USA

problem #13

Jul 112014


  • 168,000 miles
The transmission died on my 2008 Nissan Rogue. After purchasing the vehicle in June 2008, we heard "whiring" noises. The vehicle was taken to the dealership of purchase and we have the notation that customer complained of whiring. Result was there were no issues. Car has continued to whine through the years, in the past year, it became worse. We took it to our mechanic to be evaluated, and immediately he knew the problem- the cvt transmission. The mechanic did some research and found that Nissan had extended the warranty, very quietly. Since I drive 70+ miles to/from work, my car was already over the warranty limit. Hence, left with 2 options, replacement via a Nissan dealership costing $5,000 as no viable mechanic will touch the problem. Or get rid of the car. This type of repair was not in our budget nor were we in a position to purchase a new vehicle ( this one was paid for). There was no guarantee when the transmission would go out, other than it eventually would. Lately, the noise had become much worse and we feared the worst. Thank goodness, the car died in our driveway and not the highway. Nissan knew this was a problem, apparently from the beginning, and is not accepting responsibility.

- Weston, FL, USA

problem #12

Jul 042014

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 112,700 miles


While driving on the highway at about 60 mph my car started to make a winding sound but my dashboard did not show any warning lights it quickly started to lose power and I immediately tried to get out of the freeway. When exiting the freeway and crossing a busy intersection my card would not respond when stepping on the gas, it was not accelerating at all; my son quickly acted and pushed my vehicle from the back to help me cross the intersection and park safely. It is extremely unsafe and dangerous that a car can decelerates so fast without warning.

- Norwalk, CA, USA

problem #11

Jun 182014

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
Traveling long distance on the highway. Engine would not respond to the accelerator in a normal manner accompanied by whiny noises. Pressed accelerator to the floor and rpms would increase extremely slowly and not above 3000 rpms. Continued for the remaining 2.5 hours of our trip. This happened again on our way home multiple times. Had extreme difficulty after exiting the highway and having to stop. Vehicle barely moved forward.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #10

Nov 142012

Rogue 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
My girlfriend and I own a Nissan Rogue that has a faulty cvt transmission that has needed to be replaced twice within the past two years. We discovered that it was faulty because the vehicle decelerates while on the freeway. As the car slows, you can press on the accelerator, but the car will not go above whatever speed it was lowered to. If you need to slow for whatever reason, the car will be relegated to a crawl which is a huge danger on the freeway. With that said, Nissan replaced the transmission initially and while we believed our problems were solved, about a month ago we discovered that the car was once again decelerating while we were bringing my girlfriend┐'s year and a half year old niece back home with us from los angeles. Thankfully we were able to make it back home and immediately took it to a Nissan dealership. Again, it was the same issue with this transmission and again we got it replaced. We were told by the Nissan mechanic that the phoenix heat quickly causes the cvt transmission to break down and told us that it will likely happen again within two years. It was at this point that we decided to contact Nissan and push for a lifetime warranty on this transmission. We can't afford it financially and we don't want to risk it and continue on with our vehicle if we know that if we push it, it could be unsafe. I escalated this issue through their Consumer Affairs department, but after speaking with their representatives, I was told that there was nothing that they could do. Not only that, but they contradicted their own mechanic and refused to admit that this is a real issue. Instead they opted for a lets wait and see approach. This is completely unacceptable for myself, my family, and anyone else who may be affected by this faulty transmission.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #9

Nov 202008


  • 10,000 miles
I started to notice the problem when trying to pull out on to a busy road that was on a slight hill. For some reason the car would not go when you hit the gas. After a while of doing this a light came on and I took it to have it looked at. Whatever they did seem to have fixed the problem of the car not accelerating when on a hill. But the problem still remained that if you drove for so long (5-10 min) on the interstate 65+ mph then came to a complete stop the car again would not accelerate for a few minutes (I sat through a stop light and a half trying to get the car going). I think this is related to the funny sound the car makes when stepping on the gas. Any ways I took the car in to see what was wrong as this could cause a problem if it allows you to roll halfway into an intersection but then will not accelerate. The Nissan dealership said it sounds like the transmission cooler assembly needs to be replaced. They said this would be covered under the 120,000 mile extended warranty Nissan placed on 2008-2010 Rogues. It seems like Nissan is aware of the problem since they have extended the warranty but they have not recalled the parts for some reason. My mom has a 2010 Rogue with the same exact problem.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #8

May 302014

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 78,445 miles
We bought a car last Monday on May 26, 2014 at antwerpen Nissan security dealership (1701 woodlawn drive, baltimore, md 21207). Please find the car details: Year: 2008 make: Nissan model: Rogue body type: 4dr sl fwd trim: Sl black VIN: [xxx] odometer: 78321 with a dealer warranty for one month or 1000 miles, powertrain only ; for the total cash delivered price of $13,000 (thirteen thousand us dollars) already paid by check on May 26, 2014. The second day we were facing problems with the car as the motor was overheated in very few miles, it was smelling smoky inside and the motor was making cracking noises even when it was turned off. We called immediately the sales manager and let him know that we want to turn the car back as it is not functioning properly. The day after we almost get an accident in the traffic that put our life in danger. The car lost power while driving: Gas pedal was fully pushed down and the tachometer showed 3500 RPM while the speed hardly reached 20 mph for about 2 miles till we pulled over at bel air road. We decided to call the general manager for turning the car back as it was within the warranty and I was very clear to him that I do not want that car any more. He agreed to do so, and on last Friday May 30th, 2014, they carried the car from our home location. We requested the money back. Since that day we have being waiting for days and hours in the dealership offices for a response of our request, but they lied to us all the time and last night after many attempts on deaf phone calls the response was: No, they are not giving us the money back. The car dealer pretend that this dangerous car has no problems at all !!! information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Nottingham, MD, USA

problem #7

Mar 012014

Rogue 6-cyl

  • 75,584 miles
Nissan Rogue 2008 would not accelerate while driving on freeway incline. Vehicle topped out at 45 mph in 65 zone. Unable to accelerate, vehicles honked and passed by. This continued until top of incline, then vehicle resumed acceleration. Took to local Nissan dealership to learn that Nissan offers extended warranty for cvt transmission and that this issue qualified for the extended warranty. Dealer ordered transmission cooler kit on 3/3/2014. Dealer has since informed me that part request is restricted and can give no timeframe of replacement. This has been going on for 2 weeks ( now 3/19). Nissan Consumer Affairs also unable to expedite part. Acceleration issue has happened 2 additional times within last two weeks, again on the freeway in the middle of 65 mph traffic. Nissan has indicated they will not provide replacement vehicle while awaiting part. I expressed concerns that this is a vehicle safety issue in which Nissan Consumer Affairs again was unable to commit to providing replacement vehicle. Case # [xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Riverside , CA, USA

problem #6

Mar 062014


  • 79,000 miles
Please help us have Nissan do a recall on the engine. I have had my Nissan rouge for about 4 years. I was driving my car from san francisco to los angeles. I was driving about 70 miles per hour when all of a sudden my vehicle started to reduce speed. This happened later in the night so there wasn't much traffic. If it was during rush hour I am pretty sure this would have caused an accident. Every time I would I tried to increase speed it would. I had to drive at about 40 miles per hour until I found a safe place to stop. I had to wait for about 3 hours and the tried driving again and it worked fine. I can┐┐T take this vehicle on trips any more because I am scared this may happen again. I hope this can be recalled and fixed before someone really gets hurt if no has been yet.

- Newark , CA, USA

problem #5

Jun 142013

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 93,000 miles
This is one of several similar incidents. I was on a road trip to nyc, driving on the highway with the cruise control on at 73 mph. In all incidents, I noticed that after having the cruise on for over an hour, all of a sudden the cruise would just "kick off". it would stop working. And my car would start to decelerate. Being on a main highway, traveling 73 mph with everyone around me going equally as fast, if not faster, and then all of a sudden decelerating was like putting on the brakes with no brake lights. It was positively dangerous and scary. To make matters worse, after it got down to between 60 and 65, it would not accelerate. I put my foot to the floor and there was no acceleration. I got into the right hand lane as quickly as I could, and prayed the entire time to not be killed. After about 5 minutes, I was able to accelerate up to 70. But the cruise would just kick off as soon as I set it again. Maddening, dangerous and scary. And it happened more than once. Exactly the same way each time. And only after being in the car with cruise on for over an hour.

- Farmington, NY, USA

problem #4

Jun 082013

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
The cvt transmission in the 2008 Nissan Rogue is very dangerous. The car loses acceleration after traveling a distance (over 40 miles) and when it comes to a stop, it will not take off. Saturday, June 8, 2013 I drove from college station, tx to houston, tx (85 miles). When I came a stop sign after exiting the freeway, I stopped and then attempted a right turn into oncoming traffic. Once I depressed the gas, the car rolled into the intersection and stalled with traffic barreling toward me. Cars had to swerve to avoid hitting me. This car has always had acceleration and deceleration problems since I bought it and no warning lights ever come on. The first time the car broke down was on the first road trip I took in the car. In 2012 as I was driving to atlanta, Georgia and the car broke completely down in birmingham, Alabama. I had to get a loaner from the local dealership in birmingham to complete my trip. The cvt transmission is a very, very dangerous technology and it should be recalled and a class action suit should be initiated against Nissan. Nissan has extended the warranty from 60000 to 120000 in all cvt transmission vehicles. Why would they do this if they do not think there is a problem.

- College Station, Tx , TX, USA

problem #3

Mar 112013


  • 70,000 miles
I was turning from a residential street onto a main road, when I went to accelerate the car red lined, but did not accelerate. I was only able to go 5-10 miles an hour. I managed to pull over without getting hit and had to get the car towed to the dealership. The transmission was replaced and I was told this had happened numerous times with the cvt in the Rogue.

- Providence, RI, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?