Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.5

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
59,811 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Nissan Sentra engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Nissan Sentra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Nissan Sentra Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #67

Sep 112012

Sentra

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Nissan Sentra. While driving at 65 mph, the temperature gauge fluctuated from hot to cold and the service engine warning light illuminated. The failure occurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was informed that the ECM needed to be reprogrammed. The vehicle was repaired. The contact stated that the vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 07V527000 (engine and engine cooling). The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 90,000.

- Texas City, TX, USA

problem #66

Mar 012014

Sentra

  • 119,500 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Nissan Sentra. The contact stated that while driving approximately 50 mph, there was a knocking noise coming from the engine. The contact noticed the vehicle was smoking and oil was leaking from the vehicle. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer, who advised that the pre-catalytic converter and the engine would need to be replaced. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 03V084000 (engine and engine cooling) however, the vehicle was not included in the recall campaign. The vehicle was scheduled for repairs. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 119,500.

- Asheville, NC, USA

problem #65

Jun 132012

Sentra 4-cyl

  • 112,000 miles
Cylinder head gasket blown. Car 100 miles away from home and will not start.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #64

Jun 012011

Sentra

  • 160,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Nissan Sentra. The contact stated that repairs were made to the vehicle under NHTSA campaign id number: 03V084000 (engine and engine cooling:exhaust system:manifold/header/muffler/tail pipe). The contact later began to experience issues with the engine. The dealer and the manufacturer were notified of the issue with the engine but refused to repair the failure since the vehicle was previously repaired under the recall. The vehicle was not further repaired. The failure mileage was 160,000 and the current mileage was 170,000.

- Caledonia, MI, USA

problem #63

Oct 222011

Sentra

  • 121,500 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Nissan Sentra. The contact stated that when first starting the vehicle, exhaust fumes would enter the interior cabin with the illumination of the check engine warning light. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic for inspection where the contact was advised that the ECM needed replacing. The manufacturer was contacted and advised having the failure diagnosed by an authorized dealer. The diagnostic test confirmed that the ECM was defective. The manufacturer then advised that the vehicle was no longer under warranty and no assistance would be provided. The contact stated that the vehicle was non-drivable. The failure mileage was 121,500.

- Tavares, FL, USA

problem #62

Oct 012011

Sentra

  • 159,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Nissan Sentra. The contact stated that here was a burning odor coming from the vehicle as it stalled without warning. The dealer advised the contact to replace the electronic control module since it had failed as a result of the lining failure. The dealer repaired the lining under NHTSA recall number: 07V527000 ( engine and engine cooling). The manufacturer had not been notified nor was the failure corrected. The current and failure mileages were 159,000.

- Albany, NY, USA

problem #61

Sep 272011

Sentra 4-cyl

  • 130,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Hello- I want to know why Nissan dont recalls the Sentra 2002 with 2.5L with the same engine and catalyst with the same recall from 2006 Sentra, because my car happen the same problem of oil consumption, I know they change the catalyst for another one but is the same that the old one, not a re-design catalyst? this is that recall from the Sentra 2006 that happen in my car 2002 1. NHTSA campaign id number: 06V223000 recall date: 2006-06-21 summary: Certain passenger vehicles equipped with 2.5L engines may experience excessive engine oil consumption as a result of improper performance of the piston rings. Consequences: If the oil is not maintained at least at the minimum level, engine damage can occur and in extreme cases result in an engine fire. Remedy: Dealers will reprogram the electronic control module (ECM or engine computer). Your vehicle will also be inspected to determine if it has been consuming engine oil at a higher than normal rate. In a small percentage of vehicles, engine replacement will be needed. On June 9, 2006, Nissan notified owners of the possibility of excessive oil consumption and the importance of maintaining the oil at a proper level. Follow-up letter to owners advising them of the status of the recall was sent during August 2006. Followup letter to owners was sent on November 15, 2006. Owners may contact Nissan at 1-800-647-7261. Component affected: Engine and engine cooling potential cars affected: 85,000 notes: Nissan North America, Inc

- Camuy, PR, USA

problem #60

Apr 182007

Sentra 4-cyl

  • 72,108 miles
While driving the will stop running without warning or my service engine light will come on and my car will not start. This started about 5 years ago.

- Kansas City, KS, USA

problem #59

Jul 052011

Sentra

  • 112,034 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Nissan Sentra. The contact stated that the check engine light illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that the crank and cam shaft position sensor needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified, but offered no assistance. The vehicle was in the process of being repaired. The failure mileage was 112,034 and the current mileage was 112,060.

- Suffolk, VA, USA

problem #58

Apr 172011

Sentra

  • 79,650 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Nissan Sentra. The contact stated that the vehicle would sporadically fail to start and would often stall without warning while driving 40 mph and above. The contact stated that the ECM was faulty and referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 07V527000 (engine and engine cooling) but the VIN was not included in the recall. The contact did not feel safe driving the vehicle. The failure mileage was 79,650.

- Moss Beach, CA, USA

problem #57

Mar 312011

Sentra

  • 85,191 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Nissan Sentra. The contact stated that the vehicle would stall sporadically. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 03V455000 (engine and engine cooling) but to no avail as the vehicle continued to stall. The vehicle was taken to the local mechanic who performed a diagnostic that located the failure at the crank shaft position sensors. The local mechanic replaced the crank shaft position sensors and the manufacturer denied any assistance with the repair. The failure and the current mileage was 85,191.

- Columbia , SC, USA

problem #56

Oct 012010

Sentra 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Nissan Sentra. The contact was driving 15 mph when the engine stalled. The contact stated that the failure would occur intermittently without warning. In addition, the contact stated that the vehicle would intermittently fail to start. The vehicle was left at the dealers for five months for extensive diagnosis but the dealer was unable to determine the cause of failure. The manufacturer was contacted who informed the contact that there were no related recalls and did not offer any additional assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 80,000. Updated 2/28/11 updated 05/04/11

- Duncanville, AL, USA

problem #55

Oct 012010

Sentra

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Nissan Sentra. The contact stated that the engine light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealership regarding recall 03V455000 (engine and engine cooling) and the dealer replaced the insulation in the ECM. The contact asked the dealer to inspect the ECM to make sure it was functioning correctly and was billed for the inspection; however, the dealer also stated that the ECM needed to be replaced at the contacts expense. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact called the manufacturer who stated that they would call her back. The current and failure mileages were approximately 120,000.

- Naches, WA, USA

problem #54

Oct 142010

Sentra

  • miles
I took my vehicle a Nissan Sentra gxe 2002 for oil change at Nissan agincourt in scarborough in spring 2010. This time I took my vehicle to a mechanic for a oil change. The mechanic from carfax told me the the dip stick was broken when he open the hood and tried to do the oil change. He mentioned that their is a recall for the dip stick in this vehicle. I called the Nissan at agincourt where did my last oil change they told me that there is no recall for the dip stick. I was given to understand this is a common occurance for thie Nissan Sentra 2002 gxe. Thank you.

- Scarborough, 00, USA

problem #53

Sep 052010

Sentra

  • 160,000 miles
While driving my 2002 Nissan Sentra it shuts off no matter the speed now. Started only when I was at a stop light, sign, or going at a slow speed. This has been happening for 3 years, have the mass air flow sensor changed, fuel filter, and still stopping. Also the oil dip stick keep breaking off. Most recent Sept 5, 2010 now car won't start.

- Kansas City, KS, USA

problem #52

Aug 202010

Sentra

  • 100,000 miles
1. the engine stopped running without warning while the vehicle was driven. It could have caused a crash. I couldn't start the engine until the engine was cooled off. 2. it occurred once, but it is strongly believed to be related to a previous campaign (NHTSA campaign id number: 07V527000 and 06V223) the condition, events and the consequences are the same. 3. a mechanic fixed the condition by replacing the crank position sensor, but I am not sure the vehicle is in fair condition. Air flow meter was also replaced although it is not strongly correlated with the I have contacted the Nissan usa and a dealer (darcars Nissan), but I was told that there is no campaign for my vehicle.

- Bethesda, MD, USA

problem #51

Jan 012009

Sentra

  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Nissan Sentra SE-R. the contact stated that the vehicle had experienced recurring failures when it began to stall or fail to accelerate. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the throttle body was replaced. Approximately 2 months later, the failure began to recur and the vehicle was taken back to an authorized dealer where the throttle body was replaced twice. The contact began to notice that the vehicle was burning approximately one quart of oil a week. Approximately 6 months later, the failures began to recur and the vehicle was taken back to the authorized dealer who stated that the engine melted. The contact was informed of an engine recall and the engine was replaced by an authorized dealer. Approximately two months later, the vehicle failed to accelerate intermittently. The vehicle was not examined in order to determine the cause of failure. The failure mileage was 72,000 and the current mileage was 77,000.

- Cary, NC, USA

problem #50

May 302010

Sentra 4-cyl

  • 154,840 miles
Vehicle motor stopped abruptly at highway speeds while continuing to coast. Vehicle also stopped while idling at intersections. Battery maintained full cranking power, but restarting the engine successfully took anywhere from 5- 30 minutes. Abrupt engine stop occurred at a rate occurring between two minutes and an hour of driving. Motor continued to stop on road, leaving car to coast slowly or be braked without power brakes for several days until vehicle was serviced. When car stopped while idled at intersections, it had to be pushed from behind out of the intersection while in neutral gear. To service the vehicle, the dealer service center replaced the crankshaft sensor. This was the same sensor that was replaced under recall campaign 03V455000 during routine maintenance. Since the repair, the car no longer stalls at highway speed. I was informed by the service department of Nissan North America that the recalled part replacement is not under recall and the bill for replacement of the crankshaft sensor will not be reimbursed. As such, the replaced crankshaft sensor appears to have the same grounds for recall as the original part that was recalled. The defective crankshaft sensor was discarded by the local Nissan dealer service center after the repair was made.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #49

Apr 142010

Sentra

  • 176,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Nissan Sentra gxe. The contact referenced recall 03V455000 (engine and engine cooling) and stated that the repair work was performed in 2004. However, when she was driving at approximately 40 mph, the vehicle stalled. She coasted the vehicle to the side of the road and had it towed to her home. The vehicle was later towed to an authorized dealership where she was informed that the cam and crankshaft sensor were defective again. The vehicle had not been repaired at the time of the complaint. The contact called the manufacturer but was informed that the vehicle was no longer covered under the recall after the first repair. The current and failure mileages were approximately 176,000.

- Zephyr Hill, FL, USA

problem #48

Sep 082009

Sentra

  • 63,000 miles
Our 2002 1.3L engine Nissan Sentra shut off while driving. This left the car uncontrollable and unresponsive. Power steering was impaired and safe operation of the vehicle was compromised. We took the car to the dealership and the ECM crankshaft sensor was identified as "mis-reading" the condition of the car. It turns out that this incident is identical to the failure of the 2002 2.5L Nissan Sentra crankshaft sensor under recall 07V527000. Our car is not covered under this recall, though the part, system, and failure are the same. This issue will be fixed at my expense initially, but this issue could cause many safety issues and should be addressed immediately by the manufacturer.

- Roanoke, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?