Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
43,397 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Nissan Sentra electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Nissan Sentra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Nissan Sentra Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #26

Nov 092016

Sentra

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Positive battery terminal caused irregular voltage and burn the engine control module ECM to burn/die causing car to stop while on movement.

- Hollywood, FL, USA

problem #25

Oct 042016

Sentra 6-cyl

  • 104,000 miles
I just purchased my 2010 Nissan Sentra used from reputable car dealership 3/4/16. On 7/10/2016 my battery died and was completely dead and could not be recharged. On 10/4/16 I was waiting on my daughter to get off of work. The car starting trying to die out. I turned off vehicle checked all my lubricants and radiator everything was fine. She got in was in process of backing up car electrical systems(dash lights, head lights, and all the other warning lights) started flashing car felt like it was hesitating and died out. Could not get to crank. Used jumper box to check battery was not completely dead. We pushed vehicle back into parking place and let battery charge. Car would start but not catch. Few days later battery completely dead. Read about recall associated with my vehicle. Loose positive cable terminal causing drop in voltage essentially damaging ECM. Vehicle towed to Nissan dealership. Diagnosis is ECM is dead and needs replaced, positive terminal cable needs replaced. Cost of repair $1250 and now I am having to pay to fix repairs. Per Nissan dealership and Nissan corporate my VIN number was not part of the recall and therefore will not be covered by them. Definitely not right especially when diagnosis is exactly what recall of 33,803 vehicles was for.

- Odenville, AL, USA

problem #24

Aug 202016

Sentra

  • 123,236 miles
"takata recall"the vehicle was working perfectly since 04/14/2016 until 08/20/2016 I drove the vehicle for 30 minutes then I park it at my place, and the next day I try to start it and was completely dead. It just had the airbag light. I replaced the battery for a new one, it started again. I went for a drive for 1 hour and when I stop at the car wash place to vacuum my car it didn't start at all, acting the same way as the day before. It was completely dead.

- Coral Springs, FL, USA

problem #23

Jul 022016

Sentra

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Nissan Sentra. While reversing in the driveway at approximately 10 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle failed to restart and was towed to an independent mechanic and dealer. It was diagnosed that the battery was dead and the engine control module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was invalid. The failure mileage was 90,000. Udated 09/22/16

- Pinebrush, NY, USA

problem #22

May 142016

Sentra 4-cyl

  • 111,355 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Nissan Sentra. While driving at a low speed, the contact depressed the brake pedal to make a left turn and the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was able to restart after numerous attempts. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 111,355......updated 08/11/16 the consumer the repair shop replaced the intake tube. Updated 08/17/16.

- Amston, CT, USA

problem #21

Oct 252015

Sentra

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Nissan Sentra. While driving at various speeds, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact discovered that the cables connected to the battery were loose. The failure recurred twice. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 11V579000 (electrical system). The failure mileage was unknown.

- Coachella, CA, USA

problem #20

May 052015

Sentra

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Nissan Sentra. The contact stated that the vehicle overheated and stalled several times. The vehicle was inspected by a mechanic who diagnosed that the battery was not keeping the proper voltage and needed to be taken to an authorized dealer for further inspection. The battery had to be charged more than twice due to the failure, but the vehicle continued to stall. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 10V555000 (electrical system) and 11V579000 (electrical system). The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was not available.

- Decatur, GA, USA

problem #19

Jan 082015

Sentra

  • 121,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Nissan Sentra. When attempting to stop, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 121,000.

- Miramar, FL, USA

problem #18

May 032013

Sentra

  • miles
When I am driving on the expressway I can't pick up speed. I can have the peddle all the way down and it will not pick up speed. It has slowed down and I have had to pull to the side of the expressway. The most recent incident was May 3rd. I took to the shop and got a code P0744. Check engine light was on. I was told that I need a new transmission.

- Henrico, VA, USA

problem #17

Dec 102014

Sentra

  • 100,000 miles
Mechanic and I found a recall on my make and model car. Nissan denied the recall three times saying my model is not affected. I disagree and think my car should be investigated as it shows exact symptoms as recall. Its very possible that maybe my make and model is just starting to be affected. Vehicle engine stops running while the vehicle is in motion, causing an unsafe condition, and increasing the risk of a crash. I lose brakes and have almost been in an accident twice with my kids in the car.

- Lancaster, CA, USA

problem #16

Dec 072014

Sentra 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2010 Nissan Sentra and the ECM has gone out due to a factory defect. There was a recall on certain 2010 Nissan Sentra, however my particular VIN# was not included and therefore Nissan will not make the repairs. Not long after I purchased the car, I started having issues with what I thought was the battery. It wouldn't start at times. I purchased a new battery, however still had the same issues. I took the car to a few mechanics and they couldn't determine what the problem was. Eventually the car just stopped. I don't remember the exact date, but it was around 12.7.14. Thankfully, I wasn't driving at the moment, however looking at other people's stories, theirs did. The car was towed to my local Nissan dealer and that's when I was told about the ECM. After doing my own research, I saw the recall and the people had the same exact problems I was having with my car and then their ECM died. I don't feel like I should be stuck with this car or have to pay for those repairs, however Nissan will not fix it because as mentioned, my particular VIN# was not included in the recall. That is bullcrap at its finest.

- Monroe, LA, USA

problem #15

May 012014

Sentra

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Nissan Sentra. The contact stated that the vehicle was unable to start and the battery was replaced. The contact also stated while driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle lost acceleration without warning. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic who replaced the air mass sensor. The failure recurred multiple times and the contact was made aware of NHTSA campaign number: 11V579000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was notified of the failure, but the VIN was not included. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Tracey, CA, USA

problem #14

Sep 142011

Sentra

  • 9,000 miles
The first incident I was reversing out of spot and the engine just shut off, I had no control of gas however lights and dashboard errors were displayed. I put car in park, turned ignition off and tried to start up car with success. So I thought maybe something strange happened and I went on with my life. Over the next few years this kept happening months even years apart at the strangest times. For example the most recent time it happened I had stopped at a stop sign and when starting to accelerate the car just shut off like it has so many times. By now I started thinking maybe this is more than a coincidence and actually saw a recall online for the same problem. Only this time the car wouldn't start back up. I had it towed to Nissan and told them my suspicions on the recall and I get a call back a few days later saying I need a new engine and they can't check the electrical recall bc they can't start the car. What do I do now!?

- Huntingdon Valley, PA, USA

problem #13

Aug 152014

Sentra

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Nissan Sentra. The contact stated that the vehicle failed start. The battery was replaced, but the failure persisted. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer. The technician stated that the ECM needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 11V579000 (electrical system) and NHTSA campaign number: 10V555000 (electrical system). The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Hanover, MD, USA

problem #12

Jan 192014

Sentra 4-cyl

  • 64,107 miles
I was in a head on collision on 1-19-14, my airbag did not deploy when it hit the tree, only my passenger curtain bags. I was not diagnosed with my injuries by the er, I received 15 fractured ribs diagnosed on 1-31-14 and an acetabuler fracture diagnosed last Wednesday. I am unable to put any weight on my right leg as it is a displaced fracture.this injury is directly related to my airbag not deploying. I have exhausted all the time I can possibly take from work. I am working 10 hr days and work in a call centei was in a head on collision on 1-19-14, my airbag did not deploy when it hit the tree, only my passenger curtain bags. I was not diagnosed with my injuries by the er, I received 15 fractured ribs diagnosed on 1-31-14 and an acetabuler fracture diagnosed last Wednesday. I am unable to put any weight on my right leg as it is a displaced fracture.this injury is directly related to my airbag not deploying. My car hit the tree head on dead center of the front. The car was totaled.

- Trenton, OH, USA

problem #11

Jun 182013

Sentra

  • 35,631 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Nissan Sentra. The contact stated that while driving 65 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was not taken for diagnosis or repairs. The failure mileage was 35, 631.

- Manard, MA, USA

problem #10

Nov 072013

Sentra

  • 28,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Nissan Sentra. The contact stated that the front end of the vehicle caught on fire overnight and extinguished itself. The contact was not aware of the failure until the following morning. The contact inspected the vehicle and noticed that the entire front part of the vehicle was completely burned. The vehicle was ruled as being destroyed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but did not offer any assistance because the cause of the fire was not determined. The failure and current mileage was 28,000.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #9

Aug 062013

Sentra

  • 99,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Nissan Sentra. The contact stated that while driving 60 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the technician diagnosed that the ECM was burned and the positive post terminal was fractured. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileage was 99,000.

- Regalwood, NC, USA

problem #8

Jan 012013

Sentra

  • 83,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Nissan Sentra. The contact stated that all attempts to start the vehicle failed. The vehicle was towed to a dealer for diagnostics. The test results showed a defective ECM. The faulty ECM was replaced. The manufacturer was contacted and informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign I.D. number 11V579000 (electrical system). The failure mileage was 83,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Hartford , WI, USA

problem #7

Nov 122012

Sentra

  • miles
Left car with hazard lights on and engine off for about 10 minutes and when tried to start car again, car would not start. I had just drove the car for my morning commute of about 1 hour. This is the second time this has occurred on this vehicle's stock battery. I am suspicious that there are recalls for the same part on different vehicles, but not the one I have.

- Woodside, NY, USA

Read the next 6 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?