Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
17 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
17 / 0
Average Mileage:
17,200 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Nissan Versa seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Nissan Versa:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Nissan Versa Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #34

Oct 142015

Versa

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My airbag signal is always flashing. When I went to Nissan dealer they fixed the problem by resetting, so they thought it's a connection problem. But it started flashing soon after they reseted, so I suspect it's not a connection problem. Besides, my friend also has a Nissan Versa 2012 with airbag signal flashing, but she hasn't gone to dealer because it's expansive to replace an airbag. We would like to hear back from you soon. Thank you.

- College Station, TX, USA

problem #33

Nov 072015

Versa

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Nissan Versa. While driving various speeds, the air bag warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the air bag indicator was shut off; however, the failure recurred. The contact also heard a loud knocking noise in the rear of the vehicle when driving over bumps. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but they determined that there was no failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #32

May 222016

Versa

  • 8 miles
Something making noise in the steering wheel inside when making turns... and pass airbag sometimes off sometimes on when driving... and the last one the brake pedal is not smooth as other cars and also you can hear a crack on it when pressing on it.

- Lebanon, PA, USA

problem #31

May 242016

Versa

  • 15,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Nissan Versa. The contact started the ignition and the driver side SRS air bag warning indicator illuminated continuously. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 12V055000 (air bags). The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 15,000.

- Brookhaven, PA, USA

problem #30

May 042016

Versa

  • 17,000 miles
The sensor does not recognize that someone is sitting on the passenger front seat. This happens when it is mobile.

- Edinburg, TX, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #29

Feb 272016

Versa

  • 22,500 miles
Mother in law was involved in a head on collision and air bags failed to inflate police report filed brownsville police department 16023840.

- Brownsville, TX, USA

problem #28

Jan 272016

Versa 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Nissan Versa. The contact stated that when the ignition was turned to the on position, the driver side air bag warning indicator illuminated. The failure recurred continuously. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the air bag module failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 70,000. The VIN was unavailable. Updated 05/11/16 the consumer stated the air bag failed at 20,000, the transmission was replaced at 32,000 and the wiper motor was replaced at 50,000. Updated 05/17/16.

- Oakridge, NJ, USA

problem #27

Nov 192015

Versa

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owned a 2012 Nissan Versa. The contact stated that while the driver was driving at an unknown speed, another vehicle failed to stop for a red light and crashed into the vehicle. The air bags did not deploy. The driver sustained injuries to the back and received medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed and deemed destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 12V055000 (air bags). The failure mileage was not available. Updated 02/05/16

- Whitestone, NY, USA

problem #26

Sep 222015

Versa

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Nissan Versa. While the vehicle was stationary in the driveway and upon entering and closing the vehicle doors, the air bags deployed without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the air bag deployment was a result of the driver forcibly closing the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 75,000......updated 10/19/15

- Athens, GA, USA

problem #25

Jul 132015

Versa 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
Air bag light is constantly blinking...this means the airbag is non functional...this has been a recall item but my vehicle is not listed.... means airbag is non functional..

- Shelton, CT, USA

problem #24

Oct 202012

Versa

  • 14,386 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Pulled into my friends driveway...the car was running I believe it was in nuetral, and passenger exited vehicle, and slammed the passenger door shut, the air bags deployed...updated 10/15/15

- Easy Hampton , CT, USA

problem #23

Jul 132015

Versa

  • miles
The airbag light has suddenly started flashing, warning me that neither the drivers or passengers side airbags will deploy in case of an accident. This is clearly a design flaw in the vehicle and I am afraid to drive it. I have heard of similar complaints about this vehicle. Will there be a recall?

- Oak Park, IL, USA

problem #22

Jul 042015

Versa

  • miles
I closed the passenger side door and the air bag from the door exploded. Just that easily.

- Lansing, IL, USA

problem #21

May 012015

Versa

  • miles
My airbag light is flashing, indicating that it would not deploy in case of an accident. Is this a design flaw or a systems malfunction? I understand that this is a common problem with Nissan Versa year 2012 models.

- Oak Park, IL, USA

problem #20

Jan 012015

Versa

  • 37,000 miles
The contact owned a 2012 Nissan Versa. While driving approximately 40 mph, another vehicle rear ended the contact's vehicle. The contact's vehicle went airborne and flipped over three times. None of the air bags deployed. The contact mentioned that all four occupants sustained injuries, two of which required medical attention for injuries to the head and neck. A police report was filed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was destroyed. The approximate failure mileage was 37,000.

- Wilmington, CA, USA

problem #19

Mar 042015

Versa

  • 3,961 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Nissan Versa. While the contact's vehicle was stationary, a second vehicle traveling at a high rate of speed crashed into the rear bumper. As a result, the contact's vehicle was pushed into the rear of a third vehicle causing significant damage to the front end of the contact's vehicle. The contact indicated that during the incident the air bags did not deploy and the seat belts malfunctioned. The driver suffered a contusion to the forehead after making contact with the steering wheel., but medical attention was not required. A police report was filed. The cause of the failure was not diagnosed and the vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 3,961.

- Stanton Island, NY, USA

problem #18

Dec 122014

Versa

  • 39,000 miles
My vehicle was stopped. Vehicle was then struck from the rear by a vehicle and then also was impacted in the front without air bags ever deploying.

- Sylvester, GA, USA

problem #17

Sep 192014

Versa

  • 41,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Nissan Versa. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 50 mph, a deer ran into the road and the contact abruptly turned the steering wheel to avoid crashing into an animal. As a result, the contact crashed into a telephone pole instead and the air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained a concussion, floaters in the left eye, whiplash, and minor cuts and bruises that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact was made aware of NHTSA campaign id number: 12V055000 (air bags) but the VIN was not included. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 41,000.

- South Windsor , CT, USA

problem #16

Jun 022014

Versa 4-cyl

  • 11,000 miles
4/5/14 car was purchased from a Toyota dealership with approximately 9,400 miles. 6/2/14 pressed on brake when approaching red light. Car did not stop. Slammed into another vehicle. Caused heavy damage, and the driver was hospitalized with injury. Airbags did not deploy. Car sustained more than $4,000 damage and was repaired by dealership. 6/27/14 damage repair completed and released to customer. 6/29/14 backed out of parking spot in a parking lot applying the brake. Car did not stop.

- Wilkes Barre, PA, USA

problem #15

Nov 122013

Versa

  • miles
On the above date I was driving a Versa leased by autozone auto parts in franfort ky 40601. The damage to the vehicle was front impact, driver side. The steering wheel bag deployed but driver side window did not. Injuries include continuous headaches, concussion, neck, chest, back, heart problems.

- Frankfort, KY, USA

Read the next 14 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?