Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Steering Problems

2006 Pontiac G6 (Page 9 of 47)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2006 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2006 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2006 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for this power steering issue, up to 10 years/100k miles. However a large number of 2006 G6 owners have reported they were not covered by this campaign, based on VIN#.

As of late 2013 the NHTSA had well over 700 steering complaints on file for the 2006 G6, with 21 crashes & 12 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2006 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2006 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
40 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
17 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,550 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Pontiac G6 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 9 of 47)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #773

Mar 012014

G6

  • 140,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated the while drove at various speeds, the power steering warning light illuminated however he was able to maintain the steering wheel under control. The dealer advised that the electronic power steering needed to be replaced however the manufacturer advised that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number 14V153000 (steering).the vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 140,000 and the approximate failure mileage was 143,000.

- Banhart , MO, USA

problem #772

May 282014

G6 6-cyl

  • 87,000 miles
Reference to:NHTSA id number: 10594629 just locks and "power steering" (no kidding!) comes on the radio w/chime. All or nothing. You can still drive with major arm workout. It can happen while your driving, when you first get in the car and turn the key or even if you leave it warming up and come back out. Right now with me it's like russian roulette everytime I turn the key and even if it starts ok it could happen three times on the way to work or be fine all day.

- Mechanicsville, VA, USA

problem #771

May 282014

G6

  • 84,000 miles
I was going around a curb and notice the wheel turning was very difficult. Than I saw that my radio show in red the steering wheel was a problem. It was very hard to turn the wheel in any direction. It was stiff and hard to move. I shut the car off and notice that it was not stiff any more and I could drive the car as normal. Very afraid that it will lock up again. Please help.

- Mechanicsville, VA, USA

problem #770

May 202014

G6 6-cyl

  • 108,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was at a complete stop and waiting to turn left onto my road, as I began to turn left the steering wheel locked up and jerked out of my hands back to the right. Luckily there were no oncoming cars at the time. I then came to a stop and turned the car off and back on and the steering returned to normal until I turned into my driveway. I have contacted GM repeatedly by phone and have been told that there is nothing wrong with my power steering B/C my VIN number is not included in any of their recalls. They have not looked at my car and act like they do not believe me when I call. Every issue that has been recalled, I have experienced, so I do not see why mine is not also included. I have completely stopped driving my car all together and feel that the power steering issues are very extreme that they may result in a horrible accident.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #769

May 222014

G6

  • 124,000 miles
Why are the parts for the steering recall for the Pontiac G6 not yet available from GM" how many more crashes must take place? has a class action suit been filed yet on this matter? if so, how do I enter my name into that suit" [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Nanuet, NY, USA

problem #768

Mar 122014

G6

  • 72,126 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the vehicle lost electric power steering without warning. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 72,126 and the current mileage was 72,405.

- Auburn, IN, USA

problem #767

May 012012

G6 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My wife and I were driving on the highway and the power steering warning came on our radio unit. I cleared it and didn't think much of it until we got off the highway and noticed it was extremely hard to turn. So I turned off the car and turned it back on. It happened a few times after this throughout the next few months and it seemed like turning the car off and turning it back on solved the issue. I'm not sure the exact date it happened first as it happened quite some time ago, but it has randomly happened since. I noticed the recall on the news and was doing research on it and thought I should report it. I honestly should have reported it then. The most recent occurrence was a few months ago.

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #766

May 022012

G6 6-cyl

  • miles
Used from hurd R.I my Pontiac G6 2 years ago and about 3 months after I was having trouble with the steering, they replace something but never give me paper work then around 8 months ago the heater blow went and had to replace it the steering light on dash go off at least 2 time a months the first time I thought I need steering flu I was told you don't put that in this car..air bag my seats are after market leather seats and sometimes the light indicates the seat is on they also have heated seats that work when they want to..my brake the I had it changed 4 time this past year I bring it to the place I brought it and they push me off and say it's fine.

- Cranston, RI, USA

problem #765

Mar 052012

G6 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
My power steering light comes on, loss of steering, also air bag light goes off. I am unable to steer the car. It just happened a couple weeks ago again. It is dangerous and happens without warning! my car was manufactured 2 months later than the recall is through. Obviously, all cars have not been recalled appropriately.

- Johnson City , TN, USA

problem #764

Jan 012014

G6 6-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
When the issue started to happen, the display occasionally would display powersteering. Nothing seemed wrong other then the message on the display screen. Then one day I was driving and my powersteering when out going 45mph on my way to work. I had to turn off the car and start it back up in order for the powersteering to work. This since has gotten worse. Powersteering is displayed every time I turn my car on and the powersteering frequently goes in and out. This is very very dangerous and I feel completely unsafe in my car. I am very very luck I have not harmed anyone else or myself. I am scared to get into my car and drive it because I have no idea when the powersteering will decide to cut out. I don't think I should be held responsible for paying $800-1,000 to replace this faulty part. I know I am just one of thousands who have this same problem. I called the dealership about a month ago and they told me I would have to pay for the fix because my VIN number has not been recalled. I hope this dangerous issue gets fixed before it causes thousands of injuries or possible fatalities. Thank you.

- Highland, MI, USA

problem #763

Apr 272014

G6

  • 179,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a used 2006 Pontiac G6 (179,000 miles) for my son on April 26, 2014. A few times since then the power steering has locked up on him, causing him to have to veer off the road, put the car in park, turn the car off, and restart the car so the steering will again work.same issue happened when I drove the car on May 11, 2014. I looked up on-line to inquirer if this was part of recall, but when I entered the VIN, this vehicle was not in recall. Called dealer they stated that GM has policy out there if not on recall they are only fixing vehicles under 150, 000 miles. Huh? so because this car was driven more, it is not covered but is having the same issue as those covered. Please help.all cars with this issue should be covered, my childs safety is on the line.

- Belleville, MI, USA

problem #762

Jan 062014

G6 6-cyl

  • miles
Power steering went out as I was driving.

- Montgomery, AL, USA

problem #761

May 102014

G6 6-cyl

  • miles
My first experience was when I came to a stop light turning left, the steering wheel jerk pulling right. I lost control of the steering wheel due to the steering wheel jerking. My car ended up on the sidewalk of lowe's trees. I was so afraid because the steering wheel was so hard to turn. Right then my car became unsafe to drive. I call the tow truck to tow my car home. That was a scary experience. My arms and hands hurt due to the steering wheel jerking in any direction.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #760

Apr 292013

G6 4-cyl

  • 102,000 miles
While car was in motion (going straight) I was coming to the street I needed to turn right on and my steering locked and I could not do anything but go straight. I have to slowly pull over, turn car off and when I turned it back on the steering reset and I was able to make turns. I brought the car to my mechanic and the trouble code on the car was CO545 which indicated that there is a problem with the power steering. Upon research I have found that there have been many problems with the steering in 2005-2006 and more current Pontiac G6 however when I took it to the GM dealership to see if my car is covered under the 10 year/150,000 mile special policy I was told no based on my VIN. This upset me since there has obviously been many reports of problems with the power steering.

- Addison, IL, USA

problem #759

Mar 192014

G6 4-cyl

  • 76,021 miles
Continuously while driving the steering will lock putting the car into straight position, while in turns, bends, cures, . etc. This has left me I N to oncoming traffic, nearly side swiping cars beside me, heading front on with cars not being able to steer and have control.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #758

May 012014

G6

  • 123,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the steering wheel became difficult to turn. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the contact was advised to replace the power steering. There was a recall under NHTSA campaign id number 14V153000 (steering) but the VIN was not included. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 123,000. Updated 6/27/14 the consumer stated as he was backing up, the steering locked up and he hit an object and damaged the trunk.

- White Ville, NC, USA

problem #757

Feb 092014

G6 6-cyl

  • 123,139 miles
Steering failed while attempting to turn from highway onto an interstate ramp. While braking the steering response became erratic and car spun into the guard rail. No personal injuries during the wreck; however, car body damage was $3300. No previous steering failure had been experienced. GM dealership indicated power steering control module (22837369) was cause for steering failure. GM dealership replaced this module to return power steering to service and charged me full cost of parts and labor.

- Muncie, IN, USA

problem #756

Apr 012011

G6 6-cyl

  • miles
My power steering shut off while driving - electrical on my car comes and goes several times daily problem with airbag lights as well as all dashboard shuts off frequent engine trouble. This car has been nothing but an investment failure I have put so much money and time into this vehicle and have not had a real solution to all the problems I've had since purchasing this vehicle.

- Pitttsfield, MA, USA

problem #755

Nov 052013

G6

  • 100,000 miles
TL- the contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while driving approximately 45 mph the power steering suddenly malfunctioned making the steering wheel very difficult to turn. The contact indicated that after turning the vehicle off and restarting the engine the vehicle operated as normal for approximately 2 miles before the defect reoccurred. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified and no solution was offered. The contact was informed that the vehicle was not included in the NHTSA campaign number 14V153000 (steering). The contact stated that the vehicle experienced that the same defect listed in the recall. The failure mileage was 100,000. Jft

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #754

Apr 172014

G6

  • 180,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while driving 55 mph, the power steering malfunctioned and the wheel became very hard to maneuver. The dealer was contacted and notified him that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileage was 180,000.

- New Burnside, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?