Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Steering Problems

2007 Pontiac G6 (Page 14 of 19)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: Unfortunately the 2007 Pontiac G6 continues a serious trend of steering problems from the prior model year.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
16 / 7
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 1
Average Mileage:
93,374 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Pontiac G6 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 14 of 19)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #114

Jun 162010

G6

  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I financed this used car in 2010 at 27,000 miles. Since I have had this car I have not had the chance to really enjoy it because I am constantly fixing on it. I ave had a lot of problems. I have replaced brakes 2X once with rotors and they are goin out again including rotors. I am constantly replacing tires. My steering wheel pops when turning and I have had this fixed once. Traction gone. Had heat/air on and smoke smelling like a firecracker came from passenger dashboard. My biggest problem right now is that I had the whole suspension system replaced and now I am constantly replacing the lugs on my front left tire because the constantly pop off. Brake lights and headlights constantly goes out. Air bag, engine, and traction light goes on and off (sometimes staying on). Power in driver door gone out for windows resulting in 3 windows unable to roll up/down but will work when wants. Only one will go down using its own panel. Replaced a crack in lca. Remote starter gone out. Car wheel shakes occasionally. Interior lights doesn't work except front dashboard but minus where gear shaft at (went out after smoke from dashboard). Needs struts to be replaced. Also jerks with a huge pop that you can feel when putting car in gear. When accelerating you can feel it shift gears. I am currently only at about 83000 miles. Nothing but trouble. Scared serious accident may happen because of the lugs constantly poppin off. We don't know why. I called Pontiac and GM and no recalls on this car except power-train and warranty for trans and none of this was covered by warranty or them period. Tired of this car so tired!! GM and Pontiac need to do something this is terrible to only be a 2007.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #113

Feb 132008

G6

  • 42,135 miles
First the darn radio stop working off and on after I got it and all the way to now, for as long as I owned it. And then the steering wheel started making popping sounds and now the headlights keeps blowing bulbs because the darn wires are burning. On top of that the manual says that it gets 30 mpg and I only can get up to 23 mpg. If I knew this I would of left that darn car on that lot.

- Utica , MS, USA

problem #112

Sep 052012

G6 4-cyl

  • 14,000 miles
The power steering will go out while you are driving down the road. Now everytime I start the vehicle the steering wheel shakes and then the power steering goes out. They recalled the G5 for this problem why haven't they recalled the G6 since its the same issue?

- Bennington, OK, USA

problem #111

Aug 232012

G6 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When leaving work one night I put the car in gear and heard a warning bell. I noticed that the words power steering lit up on my radio console. I figured it was low on fluid and decided to check it when I got home. During the 15 minute drive to my house the warning light came on several more times each time I was coming to a stop and/ or turning. Once home I found that there was no way for me to fill or even check the fluid levels. It has gotten progressively worse and the power steering has begun to fail. I had the car checked out at a dealership( as instructed in the owners manual) but they were unable to pull a code nor had they ever heard of this problem. This car is generally driven by my wife and this issue needs to be addressed.

- Lansing, MI, USA

problem #110

Sep 212010

G6 4-cyl

  • 16,430 miles
This was the first occurrence of steering problems - a thumping noise when turning left and accelerating - intermediate steering shaft, it was replaced under warranty. On 07-18-2012. I was driving the car when I felt it would not properly turn- had to force steering wheel. On 07-19-2012 my wife was driving and the car would not make a 130 degree right turn. She wound up in the opposing lane of traffic. The car was repaired the next day, the steering rack gear had to be replaced. This vehicle had only 39,002 miles on the odometer. The car was never in an accident and was very well maintained. I talked to customer service at General Motors, Pontiac division because I feel this should not happen with such low mileage. I asked for some reimbursement, which they refused, but the most important thing is to get this reported. I hope this gets looked into and perhaps a life saved. Thank you

- Macungie, PA, USA

problem #109

Nov 232011

G6 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
On highway traveling out of town averaging 60-65 in my 2007 Pontiac G6 I lightly pressed brakes approaching an exit for gas when a the steering wheel started shaking. I had to press the brakes again to stop after exiting the highway to stop. The shaking was noticeably worse. I purchased the car used about 2 months before this event so I did not expect any brake issues. After several months my wife mentioned a noise from the brakes. I had the brakes inspected and the service person said the brakes were fine but my front and rear struts were bad. I asked him if this would cause the steering wheel to shake when breaking at highway speeds and he said yes. I took the car back to the dealership of purchase and they did a brake inspection even though I asked to have the struts looked at and stated that rotors were warped. After this I searched for problems with the steering on the model and year of my car. I found thousands of customer complaints of all the symptoms and issues I was having. I did find a service bulletin about the intermediate shaft in the steering.technical bulletin no.: 06-02-32-007G date: April 05, 2010 subject: Clunk, knock or rattle noise from front of vehicle while driving or turning over bumps at low speeds (diagnose noise and perform outlined repair) models: 2004-2006 Chevrolet Malibu maxx 2004-2008 Chevrolet Malibu classic 2008-2010 Chevrolet Malibu 2005-2010 Pontiac G6 2007-2010 Saturn aura supercede: This bulletin is being revised to update the parts information for the bolt. Please discard corporate bulletin number 06-02-32-007F (section 02 - steering. At this point I believe a recall should be issued on the entire front suspension including the factory rotors which warp within 2K-3K miles. Re-surfacing these rotors increases the braking problem. And a non-metallic ceramic brake pad should be installed by a GM certified service department.

- Desoto, TX, USA

problem #108

May 042011

G6 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I currently own a 2007 Pontiac G6 sedan 4 cylinder. When the weather gets hotter and towards the summer months, every time I start up the car make a turn, I get an illumination on my radio that reads "power steering" and my power steering shuts off, making it extremely hard to turn the wheel and navigate the vehicle. Multiple times it has happened while trying to turn onto a busy road, causing near accidents due to sudden loss of steering control. I have called the Pontiac dealership and was told they had heard nothing of this issue. From reading many articles online, I find that very hard to believe and I think this is an issue many people would like to be solved. They issued a recall for the G5 series for power steering failure, but not the G6 which seems to have the same problems.

- Tallman, NY, USA

problem #107

May 052009

G6 4-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
I have replaced the steering rack 3 (three) times since may of 2009, the first time at approx. 20000 miles. The steering rack is going out for the forth time. The General Motors dealer says there is no recall for this recurring problem, so they won't cover the cost of repairs although they do acknowledge it does exist.

- Huntsville, AL, USA

problem #106

Feb 142012

G6

  • 101,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while driving 55 mph, the steering wheel seized and a power steering warning illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was stopped and shut off. Upon restart, the vehicle operated as normal. The failure had since recurred twice. The vehicle was not taken to have the failure diagnosed or repaired. An authorized dealer was made aware of the failure and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 101,000.

- Lancaster, OH, USA

problem #105

Jun 112011

G6

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. While parked, there was an abnormal grinding noise coming from the steering compartment. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing where the mechanic stated there was a power steering leak. The power steering hose was replaced but the failure continued after the repair. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic three times for the replacement of the power steering hose but the failure persisted. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- Cornelius, NC, USA

problem #104

Jan 182012

G6

  • 162,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power steering locked up. Contacted GM customer service provided them with the last seven digits of my VIN was told that there are no recalls for this vehicle. However, after a thorough search via the internet looks like the same problem occurred with the 05-06 models. Other 07 have also reported having the same issue. Took car in for an estimate (new power steering motor, column, and labor = $1300). GM should really take a serious look at this issue for the 07 G6 models as well.

- West, MS, USA

problem #103

Jan 202012

G6 4-cyl

  • miles
This car makes a thumping or cluncking sound everytime I turn... I have ready a lot of complaints about this happening to this car and wanted to know what the problem is and if it is dangerous to drive, because I purchased this car used and I didn't hear it when I test drove it but now it is bothering me. Please let me know if this problem can be fixed permanately or not. Car has 97,000 miles on it and is still in great condition and I love the way it looks. I don't want to give the car up but I will not endanger the lives of my family or myself. Thanks

- Conyers, GA, USA

problem #102

Jan 112012

G6

  • 112,000 miles
I was turning my 07 Pontiac G6 going approximately 10-15 mph and the whole steering system locked up, thankfully no one was in the other lane while turning since my turn now had to be wide. I also noticed that the display said "power steering", I pulled car over to the side and turned hazard lights on. I made a phone call to my brother who told me to try to get to the nearest parking lot, I was extremely upset at this time as even driving straight to the nearest lot was hard for me to control at a low speed. I made it and physically could not turn car into a spot. My brother came to pick me up. The car was turned off for about a half hour, when he restarted the car the power steering seemed to work again, as I was afraid to drive home, he drove it home for me which was about a half hour away. Turning to the right feels like it wants to give out again. I contacted GM Pontiac who said to take it to the dealer to have inspected. Today I took in and waiting for a call back from the service center. I have read multiple complaints regarding same issue and I am truly afraid to drive car as this is bound to happen again, I have 3 children that I will not put in car now until something is done. GM needs to take responsibility for the defective product that they made. As of right now they are telling me no recall on this year and model. Service person at the dealer said some VIN# are included in the other model/year recalls he would have to check mine. Something needs to be done before lives are lost due to this. I paid my car off upfront when I purchased it and do not feel the need to pay for it again. Anything you can do to help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

- Wilmington, IL, USA

problem #101

Dec 012010

G6 4-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
My passenger side low beams were burning out, I took my vehicle to the dealer in Dec (2010), one year later, it's back. I noticed the connection was completely shorted and burnt. Prob won't last much longer. This past Aug (2011) my fuel pump started leaking fuel, it was the assembly which had a hairline fracture which was unrepairable, had to replace the complete assembly for $350. For the last couple years my steering does a popping sound and feel when I make slow sharp turns (as in U-turns). The dealer temporary fixed it once, but it returned before I could even forget about it. Their solution was greasing the steering joint. My ac/heating fan was making a ticking sound while it was on a couple years back (around Nov 2009), the dealer fixed the ticking but it returned last year. Though it's not as loud or annoying as before I've learned to tune it out, not too fun for my passengers though.

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #100

Nov 232011

G6 6-cyl

  • 11,000 miles
I was pulling into work when my car filed with smoke in cab and coming from under the hood. I tried to pull into a park spot to get out to safety. The power steering not working, it took everything I had to make the turn. The rubber power steering line was installed against the exhaust up near the fire wall and had burned though.all the power steering fluid was pouring onto the hot exhaust. I called GM trying to get them to fix this safety issue as I am not the first one with it and wont be the last. Took the car into the dealer moss brothers in moreno valley ca. So fair there only concern is making a few bucks from the repair. I will keep you all updated as to how GM is going to handle correcting the safety hazard in their design.

- Sun City, CA, USA

problem #99

Nov 112011

G6 6-cyl

  • 75,354 miles
The vehicle's rubber power steering return hose is resting against the underside of the exhaust pipe. There is a reflectant covered fabric as a radiant barrier, but I suspect is not designed to prevent heat (from right after the pre-catalytic converter) from seeping through due to conduction. I have made an inspection through my fingers as there is no way of seeing the damage until the hose is removed. The reflective surface material is clearly off of the rest of the material and it feels to be completely burned through. The loss of power steering fluid could have been catastrophic for two reasons. First was the virtual loss of steering (luckily my wife was not driving at a high rate of speed). Second, that power steering fluid could have caused a vehicle fire had it hit a hot exhaust instead of the one that was barely warm after less than 1/2 mile of driving. Just the same, it created a lot of smoke convincing my wife that her car was either on fire or about to be. I have pictures of the hose routing and I'll be making repairs this week-end. Please let me know if I can be of assistance in this matter. It is hard for me to fathom that the vehicle was designed to have this rubber hose containing a flammable fluid to rest against a hot exhaust pipe. This is either a design defect or somebody forgot to ensure clearance during assembly. GM seemed unconcerned when I phoned them this evening.....updated 06/28/13 updated 07/2/2013

- Waleska, GA, USA

problem #98

Nov 102011

G6 6-cyl

  • miles
Was at the dealership getting a new regulator put in for my power window and the tech there did a inspection of my car and told me there is a problem with my steering wheel the shaft. He then continued to tell me that about 2 years ago Pontiac came out with a new part to fix this problem in all the new G6S. Why was there not a recall on this matter to the Pontiac owners" this is a safety matter. And there should be no expense to me or anyone else who has this issue. What can we do about this"

- Caerpentersville, IL, USA

problem #97

Nov 012011

G6

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while attempting to turn left, the steering failed without warning. The contact had to apply force to the steering wheel to be able to complete the turn. The contact inspected the vehicle and located the failure at the power steering which caused the power steering fluid to leak. The manufacturer was contacted and advised the contact to take the vehicle to the dealer to be diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and the current mileage was 45,000.

- Dayton , OH, USA

problem #96

Oct 262011

G6

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the power steering fluid lines failed, causing power steering fluid to leak onto the engine. When the failure occurred, smoke was emitted from under the hood and the cabin was filled with smoke. The vehicle was previously taken to a mechanic who replaced the power steering lines. One week later, the failure recurred as smoked entered the vehicle. The dealer was notified of the failure who advised that there were no recalls for her vehicle. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 85,000.

- Springfield, MA, USA

problem #95

Sep 082010

G6 4-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
Power steering first started shaking from side to side mentioned it to the dealer when the car was in for another problem and they said it was just the electric powering steering. Problem has gotten much worse, car is hard to hold on the road because power steering shacks from side to side now at 75,000 miles power steering goes out. This is a safety hazard. Earlier models were recalled. Do we have to wait until someone is in a serious accident. I am afraid to drive the car. This car needs to be recalled it is a safety issue.

- East Hampton, CT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?