Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: There must have been something in the water at the plant where they built the eighth generation Corollas, especially the 1998 and 1999 model years.

Outside of airbag problems being reported to NHTSA, this is about as dependable a car as you’ll find. But good luck finding one; owners say they want a new car, but can’t justify trading in their Corolla because the darn thing just keeps rolling.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
23,761 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Toyota Corolla seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #32

Jul 062015

Corolla

  • 250,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle involved in a front end crash. The seat/shoulder belt did not lock and the air bag did not deploy

- Bloomington, IN, USA

problem #31

Mar 172008

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Airbag light started flashing intermittently. Took it to the dealership who charged $ 100 for diagnostics and told me it would cost $500 to fix. I then took it to a self employed mechanic who had worked for Toyota. He said it had just become disconnected under the seat. He was able to fix it, it seemed, for a period of time, but the problem keeps coming back. I recently learned online that this is a common problem and huge safety concern. Several who have shelled out the money to Toyota to have it "fixed" say the problem has not gone away. I am so angry that Toyota hasn't taken responsibility and NHTSA is not holding them accountable.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #30

Jul 142011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
At this approximate date, I began getting a warning light re. My air bags. My dealer said I would have to replace the faulty steering wheel air bag assembly costing me between $1000-1500 or more to replace it. Now, other Corollas are being recalled but mine is not being recalled. It appears that my car has had the same problem for an even longer period of time than those that are being recalled. I have not yet been able to afford to have it repaired. I recently read in the news that these problems began in 1998, the year I purchased my car. My car has just now turned 100,000 miles and I feel that I should be included in the ongoing recall that includes other Toyota owners. I believe that it is not only arbitrary but dangerous for me for you to exclude me from this recall. I hereby request that you include my car in this recall. Thank you.

- Chico, CA, USA

problem #29

Jul 072011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 86,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Air bag warning kept flashing that the air bags needed to be serviced. We took car to dealer, it was not under warranty, dealer said we would have to "repair it ourselves" if we could find a console that would repair it and he thought there was only one in the United States for approximately $2000. We wrote to Toyota who eventually wrote back to us stating that Toyota would not repair this car and had no intention of recalling this car due to this issue and we would have to repair this car ourselves at the dealer location. Now we see in the news that Toyota is recalling 1.3 million other cars for what appears to be the same issue--the control of the air bags. Dealer told us he did not know how this would affect if the air bags would go off in an accident or not in the future or any other time. The console constantly shows that a door is open and that the air bag needs to be serviced and there is nothing we can do about it except to hope it will react properly.

- Chico, CA, USA

problem #28

Aug 202004

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
I own a 1998 Toyota Corolla. In August 2004, the airbag went defective. An authorized Toyota dealership in NJ ordered a replacement central airbag assembly and the airbag was replaced on Sep 1, 2004. However after a few months, the same airbag problem reoccured and I took it to the dealership. After many attempts to identify the problem, the dealership finally concluded that the entire airbag circuitry was defective. Since they quoted me an exhorbitant price, I took the car to another authorized Toyota dealership. This second dealership after a few attempts, identified that the same central airbag assembly that was replaced in Sep 1, 2004 was defective. They ordered a second replacement and fitted my car with the new part. This happened in Nov 2006. However 2 months after the airbag replacement, in Feb 2007 the same airbag problem reoccured for a 3rd time. I contacted Toyota motor sales usa, Inc at 1901 South western avenue - wc 10, torrance, ca 90501 to explain the problem with my car. I sent them all the supporting documentation. However inspite of explaining the threat to my life caused by the defective airbag, Toyota has not come forward to address the problem. I have spent close to $1500 on the problem already over the course of 3 years. Even though the car is a 1998 make, the airbags were replaced in Sep 2004 and Nov 2006 and are still under warranty. I request you to instruct Toyota to repair the airbag at no extra cost to me. Toyota's reference number for my case is 200706250076.

- Memphis, TN, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #27

Sep 012006

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
1998 Toyota Corolla air bag indicator light blinked continuously after repaired. Upon inspection mechanic determined that the airbag harness was faulty and needed to be replaced.

- Richmond, CA, USA

problem #26

Sep 132006

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated without incident, the airbag light illuminated on and off. The dealership determined the connections were loose. The connections were tightened and the code was reset. The consumer was told the air bag would probably not deploy if the light was flashing. Updated 11/21/06.

- Boise, ID, USA

problem #25

Jan 062006

Corolla

  • miles
The airbag indicator light on our 1998 Toyota Corolla blinks continually. Computer analysis indicates the cause to be a faulty airbag harness. Correction of the problem requires replacement of the harness -- a $500 expense. Toyota dealership indicates that this is a commonly seen problem in this model year. If the airbag harness fails, the airbag might not deploy or might not deploy effectively in the event of an accident. Such a problem therefore represents a broader safety issue for all owners of these vehicles.

- Richmond, CA, USA

problem #24

Aug 302004

Corolla

  • Manual transmission
  • 61,132 miles
Air bag light came on in August of 2004 for no apparent reason (car has no history of accidents). Took it to the dealer where it was purchased (in the states- we now live in Canada), air bags not covered under the purchase warranty. Dealer split the cost of replacing the left side air bag out of good will (we paid $418.25). Light continued to come on repeatedly after fix. Dealer replaced computer component, adjusted harness, repeatedly tried to fix wiring. It is now June of 2006 and the light is still coming on- we have just replaced the right side air bag (at the cost to Toyota- we paid for labor), and light is still coming on. Dealer has informed me that air bags will not function in the event of an accident when the light is on. This is concerning because we bought the car for the safety of the air bags and we are worried of being injured in a crash. Dealer is currently in contact with Toyota regarding replacing computer components again. We are going on 2 years of having the same problem! an estimated $5000 has been put into fixing the vehicle, including labor for our 14+ visits to the dealer. The vehicle is considered unsafe and defective and we are unable to sell it.

- Abbotsford, 00, USA

problem #23

May 012006

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
Multiple air bag sensor replacements.

- Webster, NY, USA

problem #22

Sep 302005

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1998 Toyota Corolla le, air bag light comes on and starts blinking as soon as I start the vehicle. This is the second time the air bag light has come on. First time, there were air bag light and seat belt light on in Aug 2005. I took the car to Toyota dealer. He replaced the seat belt(cost was $350). That fixed the air bag light and seat belt light on problem. Today(Sept 30, 2005), the air bag light has again come on and keep blinking while the engine is on. I believe it's a manufacturing defect with the 1998 Toyota Corolla. Please investigate the matter.

- Brea, CA, USA

problem #21

Jan 012005

Corolla

  • miles
This is referencing a previously filed complaint, #10118167. Dealer offered to make a goodwill repair at its his cost because there was a safety issue involved, wiring harness for airbag system. I am pleasantly surprised, and want to make sure dealer gets credit for doing this!

- Oak Park, IL, USA

problem #20

Jan 012005

Corolla

  • miles
Air bag light continually flashing. Dealer says I need a wire harness replacement. Without it the air bags are inoperable. Toyota has had enough complaints about this on 1998 to 2000 model Corolla that it issued a technical service bulletin for the problem. Dealer indicated that essentially this was a defective part. Despite this, Toyota stated it was covered only under 3 years, 36,000 mile warranty. After that, they won't cover it by warranty. My warranty has expired.

- Oak Park, IL, USA

problem #19

Feb 042004

(reported on)

Corolla

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Airbag light was flashing. Took vehicle to the body shop, and was told that airbags won't deploy in an impact. This was due to an electrical circuit being agitated when driver's seat was moved back and forth.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #18

Jun 232003

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles
The vehicle has been involved in two accident in which the air bags failed to deploy.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #17

Apr 012003

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The air bag and seat belt light illuminated on the dash board, also when a sudden stop was made, the seat belt did not restrain the consumer properly.

- Appleton, WI, USA

problem #16

Mar 282003

(reported on)

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8 miles
The air bag light illuminated and stayed on.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #15

Sep 062002

Corolla

  • miles
While driving and with no warning air bag light came on. Air bag could be inoperative in the event of an accident. Dealer notified.

- Rochester, MI, USA

problem #14

Mar 142002

Corolla

  • miles
Air bag sensor light comes on and stays on allday. This could result in air bag deploying permaturely or not deploying at all.dealer contacted.

- Oakland, CA, USA

problem #13

Jul 082002

Corolla

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
Airbag light is flashing, vehicle has not been examined by dealer.

- Elbert, CO, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?