If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

8.4

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$6,800.00
Average Mileage:
104,445 miles
Total Complaints:
34 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (18 reports)
  2. replace engine (9 reports)
  3. engine overhaul (2 reports)
  4. poor engine desighn (2 reports)
  5. replace head gasket (2 reports)
  6. replace piston rings (1 reports)
2000 Toyota Corolla engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2000 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2000 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #34

Dec 032001

Corolla CE 1.8L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Well it has been a pain with this car...new from dealer....The dealer never wanted to check this problem, claiming that was normal oil consumption...It has about 136K now on Jul 2014 and still burning oil like new! Oops I should not be supposed to say that..Like New,,,,,Well maintained by my self since new. Considering tear down the engine to try fix the problem by changing pistons and bearings with new drainage holes so the oil can drain and not get stuck into the cylinder chamber and piston rings...So I hear that newer models have the same problems and that people are more aware of them...

- , Bayamon, PR, Puerto Rico

problem #33

Nov 292012

Corolla

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

The car burned waaaaayyyyyy too much oil. I bought it used from a guy who, of course, failed to mention the oil problem. When I bought it, I checked the oil and it was 3/4 full. A few weeks later, the oil light came on and I checked the oil only to discover that it was empty. I dismissed it as a fluke or error on my part, filled the car completely up to the brim, and drove it for another 3 weeks before checking the oil only to discover it was empty again. I put 700 miles on it. I did some research and discovered that this particular model has a good filter that masques the black exhaust smoke that usually indicates high oil consumption, and the solution to my problem is to put in a new engine... Not something I wanted to do.

- , New Wilmington, PA, USA

problem #32

Jun 222012

Corolla CE 1.8L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 127,297 miles

So my wife and I are really pissed off! We bought this car back on June 15, 2008 for $6000 with around 98,000 miles on it from beaverton mitsubishi (no longer in business). When we bought the car, the check engine light was on and we had them fix this before we took the car home. This light has never come on again since it was supposedly fixed. We decided today to take it to our toyota mechanic (Duke Bishop), where we regularly take our car for service, for a tune-up and for a rough engine idle so we can get it through deq with no problems. Come to find out that an engine overhaul is recommended because the car has a heavy knocking noise and is burning oil significantly! He asked us if the engine check light ever came on and we said no. A couple of years ago we drove the car around 800 miles round trip and when we got home we noticed the oil was pretty much all dried up on the stick and in the engine itself. We didn't think much of it at the time and just went ahead and filled it up. Well, with in the last couple of months it has been going through oil like crazy. My wife, the primary driver of the car, has been keeping an eye on it a lot, but about a week ago, the oil light started flashing and when she checked it, it was down 3 quarts. Our mechanic says there are no oil leaks anywhere. There is also no black smoke coming from the exhaust either. He also says that it is not gelling or sludging. I know they made this year with an aluminum engine block and I think that somehow this may have something to do with this oil burning problem. Why Toyota didn't recall this car is beyond me? So now we have only had this car for 4 years and this was supposed to be our good car and now we are out $6000 dollars and can only drive close to home, not long distances, and are just waiting for the day our engine will fail. What ever happened to a toyota going for a good 300,000 miles before any type of engine problems developed? This is just ridiculous that we are just over 100,000 miles and the engine is failing. We have decided that we are going to either sale this piece of junk or donate it for a tax write off. We have no idea how in the world we are going to afford another car. We are not even sure if we will ever buy a toyota again. It seems like every time we purchase a product that we have had good luck with in the past that the manufacturers today just won't stand behind them anymore. They will just deny that there are any problems with their products and leave it on us consumers to figure it out! We had to refinance our house 4 years ago just so we could afford to buy this car. I am not sure where all these complaints were when I did the research on this car 4 years ago? Of course, we owned an 1985 toyota corolla for 15 years with some oil leakage, but never a car with an oil leak as bad as this. We had just put our trust in the toyota name. Also, my mother-in-law bought the same exact car, year, model and make and she got the same diagnosis about a year ago. Her car sits in her driveway collecting dust! Coincidence or what? All I can say now is "shame on toyota" for not recalling or acknowledging this engine problem!

Update: I have checked online with the NHTSA and apparently this model (corolla) is nowhere to be found on their website from the drop-down list of models provided.

- , Portland, OR, USA

problem #31

Apr 012007

Corolla LE 1.8L

  • Manual transmission
  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I've owned this Corolla since 2001. Oil consumption was near zero until 2007 or so, with 100,000 miles. After that I began to add a quart or two between oil changes. By 2010, around 140,000 miles it was using 1 quart per 1000 miles. It continued to get gradually worse. Now (2012) it has 176000 miles and is burning 1 quart of oil per 300 miles!!

Always had regular oil changes. I used to use synthetic oil until the oil consumption went up and it got too expensive. Now I use the cheapest I can find since it disappears so quickly. Spark plugs are not fouled. There is no visible smoke or odor of burning oil, so somehow it is burning it cleanly. No leaks, never have been.

Some online discussion groups suggested either bad valve stem seals, but one other person here on carcomplaints.com said that was no help. Another theory out there is bad sludge build-up on these engines that jams the oil rings and prevents them from sealing well against the cylinder wall. Tried Sea Foam to clean sludge but no difference. There is another product auto-rx getting some recommendations. I will try that and see if it helps at all, but I have doubts. If that doesn't work I'll be done with this car.

- , Waukesha, WI, USA

problem #30

Jan 252007

Corolla LE

  • Manual transmission
  • 92,000 miles

I purchased my used 2000 Corolla in 2007 with 92,000 miles on it. I know that's a lot of miles, but for a Toyota I expected better. It burned oil from the day I brought it home, until the day it died. It burned about a quart of oil every 2-3 weeks, and then about 5 months ago (170,000 miles) it just went all downhill. Not only was it still burning oil (which got worse over time), the engine was also losing power. It got so bad that when I tried to go up a slight hill after being stopped at a red light, I actually had to put my flashers on because I couldn't get the car to move! Eventually I got the engine revved up enough that I was able to get it going, but that was the last time I ever drove that thing. I assume the loss of oil and compression is due to worn piston rings (it wasn't worth paying the money to get it checked out). To fix it the engine would probably have to be rebuilt or replaced. I have lost my faith in Toyota for their Corolla, but my mom has a Camry that has treated her well for about 10 years now, and still going strong. DON'T BUY THIS YEAR OF COROLLA!

- , Coatesville, PA, USA

problem #29

Jan 012008

Corolla VE 1.8L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

Toyota extended the warranty for this specific problem to 125,000 miles / 7 years. Mine was 7 years and 2 months old and 70,000 when I heard about the extended warranty and they would not honor it.

Now, at 140,000 miles I add a quart of oil every 150 miles.. It is sure getting to be a major pain!

- , None, MN, USA

problem #28

Aug 112010

Corolla VE 1.8L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 142,915 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

good car, reliable. but oil burns alot and pick up lags.

- , Montreal, Quebec, canada

problem #27

Nov 152009

Corolla VE 1.8L V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 186,000 miles

I bought my Toyota Corolla from a fellow employee. He'd bought the car fairly new and always had regular engine maintenance on the vehicle done at the Toyota dealer. He did have the car in often, it seemed to me, but never complained of any excessive problems. I bought the car with 123k miles in 2007 and had everything from new battery, driver window mechanism/motor failure, new hub bearings put on the front, replace the windshield twice (I live close to a rock quarry and trucks passing by on highway throw rocks), new struts, new breaks on the rear once and on the front twice, then in late 2009 the car started using oil more frequently. I have always been a believer of checking the oil often and getting it changed every 3000 miles and having other regular maintenance as recommended. This oil problem grew worse as time went on, and no mechanic could figure out why/how it was using so much oil and never any oil drips on my driveway and wasn't smoking either! It got to the point I was using a quart or more per week to maintain good oil levels. Finally a reliable mechanic told me it sounded like the rings and/or pistons and/or head gasket was going bad and maybe I'd maybe get another 20,000 miles or so out of the car. The car did seem to run fine all the while. Low and behold, three months later the engine finally died! I'd always heard that buying a Toyota would be a good investment and it would last me many years and probably get 300k miles easy from a Toyota. Almost everyone I work with own Toyota's, but not Corolla's. I'm so disappointed. On a fixed income, I have no vehicle now, and at a loss to think of what other used car I may be able to find that actually has a good reputation!!

- , Richland, WA, USA

problem #26

Jan 012011

Corolla CE

  • Automatic transmission
  • 180,000 miles

I bought this car about 4 years ago and for the most part everything was going fine until about a year and a half ago I started to realize the excessive amount of oil I have been adding to the engine. I took it to a repair shop that I usually go to and they said they couldn't really do anything unless the check engine light was on. Just my luck on the way home what appeared? It was the check engine light. It was like they did that on purpose. They checked it out and couldn't find anything wrong and thought maybe there was a leak , but there was nothing in my driveway so it couldn't have been a leak.

After a few weeks of the engine light still on I started to smell the exhaust was really bad and while I was driving on the highway the car started jerking really bad and the engine was making a real funky noise. I ended up taking it back to the shop in which after looking at the car more thoroughly they said the first 2 coils were misfiring and the coils and engine were just totally full and gunked up with oil. So to fix the problem they said I would need 2 new coils and my wires and engine cleans out from the oil which cost me about 300 dollars. I thought the problem was fixed finally. After 2 days the check engine light came back on in which I took the car back to the shop only for them to say it was actually the problem with the gaskets in which I need all brand new. This comes to a total of 1,350 dollars in which is most/all of my savings. This process took a total of lets just say When I dropped the car off at the shop I had just turned 3 months pregnant and the time I got my car back after threatening them I was at the end of being 5 month pregnant.

The funny thing is the process was only supposed to take a week according to them. But they failed to mention the fact that the had to send my engine over to toyota so they can work on it so on and so forth. After spending 1,650 dollars of what I didn't have I thought everything should be fine. After having my car back for about 4 days The check engine light is back on again and I am still putting about 5 quarts of oil in a week and it's only getting worse. Now they shop told me that the problem is the rings that are leaking the oil and that would cost more to replace those and my best bet would be to have them replaced or to put solution in with the oil to help expand the rings to hole in more oil. The solution helped for about a week. But now my car still has that slight jerk and the engine light is on and I have to put oil in every 3 days. I'm 7 months pregnant and I'm tired of this, broke, Scared to get stuck on the side of the road someday. The worst thing is I share the car with my husband because we only have one car at the moment and cannot afford to buy another car or trade this one in at the moment and If Something does happen then he cannot get to work and we will be screwed like crazy and I don't know what to do anymore. I didn't even want this car from the beginning :-( Just horrible

- , Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #25

Jun 012005

Corolla

  • Manual transmission
  • 78,000 miles

I bought this corolla back in 2005 with 87k miles on it. It currently has about 145k miles. I noticed excessive oil consumption almost immediately. I changed to a higher weight engine oil, from 5-30 to 10-40 and that slowed the consumption. It has progressively gotten worse to now it will go through the heavier oil at about 1.5 quarts per 1k miles. I did attempt to fix it. My guess is it was valve guides so I changed the valve stem seals. The cost was about $100 in parts (from dealer) and another $100 in a special tool to remove the keepers so that I could change the seals without removing the head. It is not the valve guides! Since new seals should end the oil consumption through bad guides for around 10k miles, that was not the source of the consumption. That leaves the rings. All the plugs have the same oil carbon buildup, so there is not a broken ring. Obviously, the problem is poor wear of the ring/cylinder.

Toyota knows about this and figures its reputation can withstand it. I think that they probably can since they only have to beat the quality of Detroit. I will do a better job of researching problems on cars before I purchase!

- , Scotts Valley, CA, USA

problem #24

Dec 222007

Corolla VE 1.8L V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought this car, a 2000 Corolla from my Aunt in July, 2001. It had 2300 miles on it. She kept up with the maintenance. On my first oil change I used Mobil 1, and have been using synthetic ever since. In December of 2007 my daughter had driven home from college, about 150 mile trip. I check the oil and it was 3 qts. low. The idiot light never came on. The car had 86000 miles at that time. Since then it has been losing 1 qt. every 300 - 400 miles. The engine finally died at 114000 miles. My mechanic replaced it with a used engine which had 56000 miles on it. My cost was $1800. This engine also lost 1 qt every 400 miles. He replaced it with another used engine, which is also losing oil. There should have been a recall on these vehicles, especially these engines. I believe it is the 1.8L V4.

- , Mountaintop, PA, USA

problem #23

Aug 012008

Corolla CE

  • Manual transmission
  • 170,060 miles

I bought this car used in 2008, it was my first stick shift and i must say i was pretty happy about it. I bought it from a private seller and the check engine light was on. The guy said the check engine light has always been on and all he had to do was put some oil in it every couple weeks and it was fine. Boy if i had done a google search of 2000 toyota corolla burning oil then i would have never bought this POS. The car ran semi-ok for the past year and a half, however it went from burning about 2 quarts of oil every week, to almost 5 quarts of oil a week. Now the thing acts really weird when i try and take it anywhere, i'm afraid it's just going to give out on me so i haven't been driving it. I called toyota, and of course there is no recalls and "there's nothing they can do." I find this to be absolutely ridiculous. I would like to try and organize something against toyota to get all of our cars fixed. Possibly a lawsuit. Please please contact me with your cars info and if you have any idea of what we can do here. I setup a special email just for this, i urge you to please please contact me so that we can do something here. The email is: corollapos@gmail.com Once again please help me in getting this to the corporate f*ckers at toyota.

- , Grand Island, FL, USA

problem #22

Jan 032009

Corolla CE 1.8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 162,000 miles

Bought the corolla 3 years back with 134000 miles, started to notice the oil level drops very fast in the first few couple of weeks. Now at 162000 miles, the car burns less oil by adding Engine Restorer. The check engine light will light up once in a while, probably due to the oil burning and O2 sensors. The car runs fine as long as you change the oil regularly and top it up once a week.It seems to be annoying but that is the only way to keep the car alive from hefty repairs.

- , Wichita, KS, USA

problem #21

Nov 182009

Corolla VE 1.8L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles

There should be a recall on these engines, its only got 57000k on it and uses a quart of oil every 400~500 miles! How can't Toyota order a recall on this??????????

- , Wolcott, CT, USA

problem #20

Mar 172010

Corolla VE 1.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 97,000 miles

The problem started when I bought the car. The engine sounded bad but my mechanic assured me that, since it was a Corolla, it couldn't be anything major. It had a cracked valve, and the entire head was replaced, but it still leaks oil like a sieve - I literally get about 40 - 60 miles per quart of oil. It turns out to be two common problems with Corollas made between 1998 - 2002 that the rings crack and the timing chain seal leaks. Everything I've read on the problem says that doing a ring job is very hit-or-miss, which means replacing the engine. My mechanic says that will be about $3500 which, for a VE, is about 2000 dollars more than the car is worth. Watch out for Corollas in these years!

- , Bennington, VT, USA

problem #19

Apr 012009

Corolla

  • Manual transmission
  • 62,000 miles

Around 60,000 miles, engine started to sound terrible....really knocking and loud. Took to our regular and much-trusted mechanic....he gave us the bad news. He said it was about the 6th corolla he had seen that had developed an "oil absorption" problem. His recommendation was to only use the car around town, but it would not be wise to drive long distances....he also recommended that we check the oil on a very regular basis. We kept the car for almost a year, never drove it on interstates, etc. Finally traded it in....watching current toyota problems with interest....have to wonder if they had known about this oil problem, but never admitted it??? Have owned toyotas for years, but really questioning if we will own another.....only got 72,000 miles out of the corolla...expected twice that amount!

- , Erie, PA, USA

problem #18

Sep 012009

Corolla LE

  • Automatic transmission
  • 91,000 miles

I would say that I put 3 quarts of oil in my car about every other week. It is a pain in the ass , my mechanic gave it a tune up and cleaned all of the oil off the engine block. He says he doesn't know where its coming from. He contacted Toyota for me and they denied they ever had 1 complaint...yea right!!!

- , Royersford, PA, USA

problem #17

Jan 022010

(reported on)

Corolla

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles

I'm so disappointed in my car. Reading 16 people saying they have EXACTLY the same problem, and most saying it started at almost EXACTLY the same mileage ($90K). This is just an inexcusable problem. Should be a recall. None of my friends can believe a Toyota needs head gasket replaced. Anyone with suggestions on what to do, I'd appreciate it. My mechanic says if i don't fix it, I risk the oil damaging the starter and all the rubber around the leak and I could ruin the whole car. Cannot afford a new one, so figure I HAVE to fix this. Any ideas?

- , Overland Park, KS, USA

problem #16

Jul 012006

Corolla CE 1.8L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 115,000 miles

I bought this vehicle (used) as a "first-car" for my 16 year old son in 2006. It's held up well, despite being operated by a still-learning yet responsible operator.

Being a former Army Officer vehicle maintenance was something I've grown to rely on and understand the importance of so checking oil is always "routine" in all my vehicles .

(at least once every two weeks) in all vehicles.

Shortly after purchasing this vehicle (after about a 2-3 weeks) I checked the oil and found it to be a little low. I added about a half-quart and checked it about again after about 2 weeks. It was down about a half quart again. Since this vehicle already had 115,000 miles on it I took a guess at "worn piston rings" . I was told by a retired Toyota mechanic that a lot of Toyota vehicles did this and the simplest fix was to "keep and eye on the oil (once weekly) and add more as needed".

So far this vehicle has been a great car for my son to "learn" on. So now, he's learning about "adding oil when needed".

I'm still curious about finding where the oil is being lost as it doesn't visibly show (exhaust-smoke) and there is no loss of power or performance.

I did notice that around the "oil-fill" that there is some "excess-oil" and I was told that the "PCV" valve (worn) may be the problem. (and perhaps a quick fix).

or, maybe a bad oil-fill cap (another potentially cheap-fix)

I'm going to try that and I'll post the results later.

Ed

- , Pleasant Hill, Iowa, USA

problem #15

Jul 102009

Corolla

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73,500 miles

I bought my Toyota Corolla new in 2000. I was told that this car would last me for at least100,000 providing that I take care of it. Guess what? I took care of my car and it needs a new engine. Turns out this car is an oil burner. Toyota does not recognize that it is a design defect although it seems to be very prevalent in these cars(98-2002). Problems with the struts. Of course manage at Toyota blames my driving habits for the problems. If my driving habits were the cause then I wouldn't have a problem. I am a poor retired teacher and thought that I could depend on Toyota. I guess that Toyota misled me. Instead of fixing the problem I am having to do with out the car. I am walking or riding the public bus system. Perhaps Toyota management needs to be in this predicament and lets see what happens.

- , Louisville, KY, USA

Read the next 14 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?