If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
19,601 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Toyota Corolla fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments

problem #8

Nov 162010

Corolla

  • 37,243 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On November 16, 2010, while trying to park my Toyota Corolla 2003, the vehicle accelerated unintentionally crashing into a fence continued by crashing into some wooden pallets. I am the original owner of the car. My daughter a few weeks before noticed that the car will stay accelerated to a minimum of 1800rpm. The air bags were not activated and I did not received major injury. My neck was hurting for a while. I was lucky because there were two propane tanks following the fence. My son notified Toyota in puerto rico and filed a complaint #CR12287. He was told that my car was not included in the recalls because it did not have an electronic fuel control unit and that the gas in my car operated by a cable. The auto shop mechanics that repaired all the front damage of the car noticed the car accelerator too high. On November 24, 2010 the car was picked up by my son and was taken to Toyota for inspection. The Toyota employee tried to convince my son to sign an authorization to access all the data in the car computer memory but will not provide a copy of the data to the customer. My son refused to sign the release form. Waiting for the results of the inspection.

- San Juan, PR, USA

problem #7

Oct 232010

Corolla

  • 39,097 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact started the ignition and the check engine warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. The warning indicator remained illuminated until the engine was turned off. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnosis. The technician informed that rodents had chewed through the fuel tank line. The vehicle was repaired with the replacement of the fuel tank line. The failure mileage was 39,097. Updated 03/08/11 updated 11/22/11

- Brentwood, TN, USA

problem #6

Sep 152009

Corolla

  • miles
The check engine light came on, the diagnostic said it was the O2 sensor which was replaced. The light went out and came back on again the next day. A mechanic checked it and said it was the catalytic converter. I read where catalytic converters don't go bad by themselves, therefore the problem has to stem from a manufactures defect and we should not have to pay for continual repairs.

- Lithia Springs, GA, USA

problem #5

Feb 232009

Corolla

  • 15,670 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The check engine indicator illuminated and the contact took the vehicle to the dealer. She was informed that the filler neck and gas cap needed to be replaced. There was no recall for this failure, so the contact would be responsible for the repair costs. The failure mileage was 15,670. Updated 3/24/09 updated 03/27/09.

- Bowie, MD, USA

problem #4

Nov 042007

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My check light went on. I took the car to dealer and they told me there was a problem with the pipe sub-assy, fu. There was a small leak detected. Evap malfunction.

- Ttitusville, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #3

May 262006

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles
On passenger vehicles with vehicle identification numbers (VIN) starting with 1nx only and built from January 8 through February 13, 2002, it is possible for the bolts that join the rear brake and hub assembly to the rear axle carrier to be loose due to insufficient tightening during the assembly process. After experiencing a noise from the rear of the car, I brought my 2003 Toyota Corolla to the dealer. One interesting not, is I never had the estimated gas mileage on my Corolla, and brought this to the dealers attention numerous times. I would only get 31-33 mpg on the highway and worse in the city. I think the bearings on the 2003 Corolla are defective. I have a friend who also has a 2003 Corolla and had the same problem after only 2 years of driving. Our vehicles did not make the recall, but all 2003 Corollas should be included.

- Abilene, TX, USA

problem #2

Dec 102005

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,300 miles
Dear NHTSA, I purchased a 2003 certified pre-owned Toyota Corolla le on 9/17/05. I love the car, and it gets excellent gas mileage. However, I recently encountered a couple of problems with the car: -the car stalls at the traffic light and sputters and jerks like it is running out of fuel. -the resume function on the cruise control works occasionally, but not all of the time. I've taken it to two Toyota dealers in this area, but they can't fix the problems because they claim they can't duplicate the problem. On 12/16/05, I'm taking the car back to the Toyota dealer that I purchased the car from, and hopefully they will fix it.

- Goose Creek, SC, USA

problem #1

Nov 152002

Corolla

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,500 miles
Purchased car new on 10/4/02. Within a month noticed a very significant sulfar odor expecially when coming to a stop at traffic lights particularly when the engine is cold. I have taken it to the dealer twice and they tell me that nothing is wrong. Their explanation is that some gas stations put additives in their gas that create this odor.. they have done nothing further to solve this problem.

- Alpharetta, GA, USA

Not what you are looking for?