Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
82,856 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Toyota Corolla seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #22

Oct 312016

Corolla

  • 273,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. While the vehicle was parked, the horn independently activated. Also, both frontal air bags and seat belt pretensioners deployed inadvertently. No injuries were sustained. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was towed to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V043000 (air bags) and 15V286000 (air bags). The failure mileage was 273,000.

- Deltona, FL, USA

problem #21

Oct 162015

Corolla

  • 202,718 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that the seat belt would not connect to the harness. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 202,718. Updated 07/13/16

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #20

Sep 192015

Corolla

  • 157,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that the seat belts failed to retract and connect into the harness housing. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 157,000.

- West Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #19

Aug 152015

Corolla

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. While driving at any speed, the seat belt warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 50,000. The VIN was not available.

- South Weymouth, MA, USA

problem #18

Jan 012013

Corolla

  • miles
Roughly two years ago, January 2013 according to the letter, I received a safety recall notice on my car. The letter states that the recall is still in interim status, so there is nothing I am able to do as of yet. Over the past two years I have called my local dealership checking the status of not only this recall, but another I received a year later. There has yet to be a change in the status of either safety recall. I feel that I have been extremely patient in waiting for solutions to the potential equipment malfunctions in my vehicle, however this problem still had yet to be remedied.

- Lake Havasu City, AZ, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #17

May 272015

Corolla

  • 166,000 miles
The contact owned a 2003 Toyota Corolla. While reversing at 15 mph, another vehicle crashed into the passenger side of the contact's vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy and the seat belt failed to restrain the contact. The contact sustained head injuries and ear loss that required medical attention. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 166,000.

- Hopwood, PA, USA

problem #16

May 282015

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owned a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact indicated that the driver side seat belt would not retract and had a loose connection upon latching. While traveling approximately 30 mph, the contact's vehicle was rear ended. The contact indicated that the seat belt was not tight and the driver sustained a head injury and a lacerated ear. The front passenger sustained whiplash and minor bruising. The driver and front passenger received medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was not available. Updated 7/16/15

- Hopwood , PA, USA

problem #15

Jan 012013

Corolla

  • miles
The recall has been in place for over a year and they still say they don't have the parts and don't know when they will. It is becoming apparent that they don't intend to fix this problem.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #14

Mar 032015

Corolla

  • miles
I have been to our local totota dealer and called many times regarding the recall for air bag. They will now not return my call. My first visit was O3 March 2015. I was told parts would be in as early as the next week. I have only 53000 miles on this car and would like to keep it. One person there said not to drive it until it was fixed and another said not to allow anyone to sit in the passenger seat. Neither of these options are satisfacory. Can you please advise and help me. Thank you

- Portland, ME, USA

problem #13

Jun 132012

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 12,000 miles
This car is now 12 years old with two active recalls involving SRS and airbag system. Toyota keeps modifying recall in what appears to be a scheme to reset their "reasonable" time clock. It is apparent that there are enough of the replacement systems to install in new cars, yet there is a continuous delay in repairing the older autos now on the road. Attrition is not a fix, and the value of my car is down with the current remedy of "do not allow anyone to use front passenger seat", and my safety is being compromised. By any sensible scale, Toyota's "reasonable time" to remedy this situation has long passed. Modifying the recall should not relieve manufacturers of their responsibility.

- Lenexa, KS, USA

problem #12

Apr 072015

Corolla

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. While driving approximately 55 mph, a loud booming noise suddenly emitted from the front driver's seat area. After stopping and inspecting the vehicle, the contact discovered that the front driver and passenger side seat belts retracted and could not be used. The plastic buckle covers for the seat belts came apart. In addition, the air bag and seat belt sensors were flashing. The cause of the failure was not diagnosed. The manufacturer was not notified. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 90,000.

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #11

Jan 222015

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V312000: (air bags) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 6/8/15 updated 11/6/15

- Logan, OH, USA

problem #10

Sep 192014

Corolla

  • 190,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. While driving approximately 25 mph, the seat belt suddenly tightened, the air bag sensor illuminated, and sparks appeared from the driver and front passenger side air bags. The contact indicated that the front driver and passenger side air bags emitted a substance from the injectors that filled the vehicle, but the air bags did not deploy. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V312000 (air bags); however, the dealer indicated that the part would not become available for months. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 190,000.

- Aiea, HI, USA

problem #9

Aug 202014

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 109,000 miles
I was stopped at a traffic light when the for no apparent reason the seatbelt pretensioners deployed. The car was returned about one year before to the dealer for a recall to address a problem with the airbag control module that, if not corrected, could cause the airbag and/or seatbelt pretensioners to deploy. The dealer I returned it to was girard Toyota Scion, 543 coleman St., new london, ct 06320.

- Waterford, CT, USA

problem #8

Feb 172011

Corolla

  • 50,000 miles
1. electrical: Driver & passenger side electric windows would not roll up after rolling them down. Drivers side window button was not broke...& physically worked when pushed down or pulled up but did not roll the window up. Passenger side window button actually broke/caved in when pushed to roll window down. Once rolled down...it would not roll up. 2. unknown or other: Air conditioner barely blows any air out of vents. When set on "highest fan option"...U can hear it working & can feel cool air but U have to have your face 2 inches in front of vent to feel it. 3. seat belts: Passenger side seat belt will not click/lock into locking device to keep seatbelt on. Don't know of anything breaking it...just wouldn't "click" into locking device one day.

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #7

Mar 012013

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
Advised of recall for seat belt harness system. Made appointment took for repair. Advised by Toyota dealership that parts had to be ordered - a harness system and seat belt computer. Three months later, after several calls to dealership asking about the parts - dealership contacted us to bring car in which we did on June 13, 2013. We were advised that computer was no longer needed to "fix" the recall. Harness system was replaced. The seat belt warning light has been on for approximately 5 months and continues to be on. Dealership says problem is the spiral cable and will be $450 and advised air bags may not work in a crash if we don't have spiral cable replaced. We were told the first time the car was taken in that the dash light being on was because of the computer. Not happy with this whole situation. Not happy that Toyota issues a recall with repair parts unavailable. Not happy that seat belt light remains on - we don't feel that the recall problem has been taken care of.

- Boonville, IN, USA

problem #6

Apr 252013

Corolla

  • 299,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated the rear driver's side seat belt malfunctioned. The contact did not take the vehicle to the dealer or a mechanic. The failure mileage was 299,000.

- Kosciusko, MS, USA

problem #5

Apr 052010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
There is a problem with the drivers side seat belt not retracting. I hoped when I took my car to the Toyota dealer for the recent supplemental restraint system (SRS) electronic control module recall that the problem with the seat belt would be fixed too. This was not the case the tension is not right on this seat belt and many times the seat belt becomes so loose when I am parking my car, I can't close my car door without moving my seat belt mechanism out of the way.

- Reseda, CA, USA

problem #4

Mar 282013

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
No incident.........just complaint......received notice from Toyota on recall for electronic control module & supplemental restraint system.told me contact dealer to fix free, do immediately, important safety recall.dealer, dorchel Toyota, rochester, NY, says no parts, not for over a month, maybe longer. Air bags& seat belt pretenioners can deploy.how many cars driving like this with no parts?

- Webster, NY, USA

problem #3

May 212012

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 48,105 miles
When stopped at a traffic signal, both the driver and passenger seat belts and air bags deployed with no warning. There was no accident; the car had been completely stopped at the light. Vehicle was maintained in excellent condition before this event. No injury was sustained. A certified Toyota service center determined that it was a malfunction in the airbag sensors and a short in the pre-tensioner assemblies. Alerted Toyota manufacturing of the issue....updated 06/18/12 updated IVOQ 06/21/12

- Folsom, CA, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?